Find companies:
Chartwell's
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
14 reviews

Chartwell's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
Food Preparation Worker (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLAugust 7, 2014
Pros: free meal
Cons: short breaks
i would come in every morning and either prepare the pizzas or salads. i learned how to work big stoves and ovens that i dont usually deal with. my managers and co-workers all have been nice to me and i have always been the youngest at all three schools but everyone welcomed me with opened arms. the hardest part of that job would have to be washing – more... the dishes only because some of them are so big. the most enjoyable part would be when the kids come through the line. depending on the age though but i really like the elementary school kids. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place of employment, fast paced
Barista (Current Employee), York, PAFebruary 4, 2014
●Maintained visually appealing and effective displays for the entire store
●Offered exceptional customer service
●Balanced the needs of multiple customers simultaneously in a fast-paced environment
●Offered direction and gave constructive feedback to motivate team members
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place but co workers and staff members there dont treat everyone the same
cashier/ cook (Former Employee), fairfield ctAugust 17, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: short breaks to much favoritism and people who work there longer get treated better
A typical day at work would be me first clocking in and then going to either a deli station to set up or to the cash register to count my drawer. then cleaning tables and keeping all the students/ my classmates comfortable and taking there mind off of there school work and to make them feel as if they were home. Customer service is always good if the – more... customer is happy and you not breaking any company rules. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have worked for Chartwell's for almost 13 years, and I have learned many things since I have been with this company
Cashier/Food Service Worker (Current Employee), Fitchburg, MAAugust 10, 2013
Pros: close to home, husband works down the street and works same shift, i get to see many customers, and it is steady work
Cons: never get a 10 min. break, not enough workers, get laid off for 6 weeks at christmas time, and finally i get laid off during the summer for 3 months
I have worked for Chartwell's Food Service for almost 13 years this November. When I first came to this company my job consisted of beverage runner, server, and releave person. In the 13 years, I have learned many things. After a few months, I was able to switch my job for catering assistant, which included delivering food to college personelle such – more... as teachers, professors, students, and the staff as well as the president of the college. After working with the caterer of the company, I realized that I was not working as many hours and I needed my other job back. After the summer was over, I asked to be able to work across the street where Chartwell's runs a cafe. In that time, I have learned how to prep food, make specialty sandwiches, pizza, calzones, quesidilas, make speciality coffee drinks hot frozen or iced. I have learned how to promote products to be sold, design the tables to make the products to be sold more appetizing, run a Bistro, head cashier, how to be friendly to all customers no matter what the situation, if there any complaints or needs I am the go to person that the customers generally seek.

The hardest part of my job is having to wake up every morning Monday-Friday at 5:00 a.m. to get ready for work and then catch a ride at 6:00 a.m. Lastly, the pay is not as good as it could be and my husband and I both get paid every two weeks. Unfortunately, we both get paid on the same two weeks. This makes it sometimes difficult to make ends meet. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chartwell's at The Mix
Pastry Cook/Barista (Former Employee), North Miami, FLApril 14, 2013
The managment hires anyone and does not lead the team. This is not a productive or friendly enviornment to work in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
American Red Cross
Customer Service (Former Employee), Manchester, NHMarch 7, 2013
Pros: working as a group.
Cons: not enough hours.
Getting together with a group of volunteers, learning new things, and working together. We learned lots of different things each day, how to work as a team, talked about short and long term goals, became CPR and First Aid certified, and helped the American Red Cross building however they needed help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for college students
Barista (Former Employee), Springfield, MOFebruary 19, 2013
Pros: on campus
Cons: can be stressful
Great job for college students living on campus. They allow flexible hours and hire a variety of diverse people. The hardest part of the job was when the espresso machine was down and I had to tell customers we weren't serving drinks. I loved working with the different people though and having that contact with students. I learned many skills including – more... how to handle cash, how to interact with customers, how to deal with angry customers, and how to take lead when being promoted. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My work at Chartwell's
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Bowling Green, OHFebruary 3, 2013
All I did there was dishwashing.
The management team there is great.
I got along with most of my co-workers.
Getting wet everyday including winter.
Interacting with the co-workers that were there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managers need guidance
Cashier/Food Preparer (Former Employee), Hamden, CTOctober 1, 2012
Pros: free lunches, raises every 6 months
Cons: under appreciated, people who aren't managers make managerial decisions
A typical day at work would be stocking my register which would include, potatoe chips, lids, cups, utensils, straws and napkins and also cashing out student orders. While periodically ensuring my work station was clean.

Management were somewhat flexible however, had no backbone. They allowed co-workers who were not managers to guide them in how to – more... reprimand other co-workers, instead of using their own intuition on the matter at hand.

The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to interact with some of the students.

Hardest part of the job was the negative energy from some co-workers. Having to go to work everyday with people who dislike you for no reason sucked majorly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job would never be considered a career and committment is very rare through these employees.
Supervisor (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCAugust 16, 2012
Cons: not many areas to expand or move up in the organization, all members at the same levels do not work equally/fair
A typical day at this job includes serving customers with hot and fresh quality food with such excellent services that it can be remembered; coordinating tasks that need to be completed by team members and ensuring they are completed efficiently; monitoring product and labor cost; etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good People-Some Flexibility- Higher Ed Environment
Catering Manager/higher ed (Former Employee), UW-L La Crosse, WIJuly 25, 2012
Pros: flexible schedule for catering manager, versatile position with many different tasks and duties...not a boring position by any means..
Cons: employed through contract and bids, job can be lost due to lost contract, although relocation is possible if one is able to relocate
Good company to work for except if a bid is lost and one is unable to relocate! My unit lost the bid due to a low bid by another company. Chartwells has been gracious enough to give me the opportunity for continued employment for a time as part of a transition team opening a new account in another city. Working in a higher education setting has been – more... enjoyable for the past 11 years. Student staff are valued as are regular full time staff members. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work isn't always fun.
Catering Sous Chef (Current Employee), Edmond, OKJune 23, 2012
Pros: i.m always doing something different
Cons: no set schedule, lots of weekends.
Check catering schedule, get parties done on time for set up and serve. Learned everything i needed to know about catering events. best park about this job is i'm always doing something different. Hardest thing is to not have a set schedule and get to choose family time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice campus job
Janitor (Former Employee), Cape Girardeau, MOApril 4, 2012
Pros: ok pay, flexible schedule
Cons: might have to work over breaks
nice people, nice environment, and fun. I liked it. It was the nicest place i have ever worked.