Find companies:
Charles River Laboratories
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
72 reviews

Charles River Laboratories Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very static/boring environment
IT Specialist II (Former Employee), Montréal, QCOctober 1, 2013
Pros: very flexible
This company is frozen in the past, not willing to advance in processes.
As a research company should be more passionated and IT driven.
Old processes dominated the technology implemented.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor culture
IT PROGRAM DIRECTOR (Current Employee), Montréal, QCMarch 11, 2013
Pros: proximity to home
Cons: poor culture and immature managment
A typical day consisted of dealing with politics and employees that were afraid of management due to a culture of fear that was propagated by many in management. The hardest part of the job was the culture and a constant feeling of needing to watch my back because I learned the hard way that management could not be trusted.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay and option for overtime
Lab Technician (Former Employee), Charleston, SCAugust 28, 2014
Pros: overtime was available
Cons: short breaks
A typical work day included prepping the lab at 6:00 am for horseshoe crabs. The horseshoe crabs are brought in and we sterilize equipment and crab for blood to be taken. The blood is transferred to the lab for further washing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with devoted colleagues
Support Technician (Current Employee), Wilmington, MAAugust 12, 2014
Pros: great work enviroment
Cons: far from home
My day at Charles River would consist of watering, feeding and providing bedding for laboratory pets. I learned how to care for animals, numerous diseases in the workplace, and safety procedures. The management there was very reliable and helpful in general. I met a lot of great colleagues who I interacted with on the daily and learned a lot from about – more... work related matters and other topics. The hardest part of the job had to be carrying the enormous bags of trash to the compactors. The most enjoyable part of the job had to be taking care of the animals and socializing with my colleagues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Place of Employment
Study Coordinator II (Current Employee), Horsham, PAAugust 11, 2014
This career has suited my lifestyle and has put my education to good use. I have learned many life skills as well as expanding my knowledge in the preclinical research field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work experience, ample opportunity
Bio-assay Services Laboratory Technologist (Current Employee), Wilmington, MAJuly 25, 2014
Pros: versitle company, healthcare, dental care, flexible hours
Cons: compensation, no room for growth
A typical day at Charles river labs varies, new projects are always coming in with different methodology. It is a constant learning environment since there are so many different types of testing and assay development within the company. Supervisors and managers are easy to communicate with, very understanding and flexible to ones needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok company
Financial Assistant / Facilities Coordinator (Current Employee), Germantown, MDJuly 21, 2014
Pros: great coworkers
Cons: unstable job security
ok company to work for. Great group of people to work with. Excellent benefits. Unstable jobs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
CLINCIAL PATHOLOGY TECH II (Current Employee), Reno, NVJune 16, 2014
Benefits are great, Great people. Just not the right place for me in what I do best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Project Coordinator/Breeding Technician (Current Employee), NEW YORKMay 12, 2014
Great Company and Great environment.

Management seems to understand the needs of employees, and work together for the customer satisfaction in all aspects of the Biomedical field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding
Research Technician Assistant (Current Employee), Reno NVMay 11, 2014
This is a very rewarding job, challenging and able to learn a variety of new skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning opportunity
Associate Quality Assurance Auditor (Former Employee), Redfield, ARMay 10, 2014
Nice opportunity to learn about QA duties within the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to begin career
Research Technician I (Former Employee), Wilmington, MAMay 5, 2014
Great place to learn, younger staff fresh out of college. High turnover and burn rates due to wages.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding and unreasonable work environment
I prefer not to identify (Current Employee), Wilmington, MAApril 8, 2014
Work/life balance does not exist with the overbearing and unreasonable management team
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible hours,poor conditions and horrible supervisors
Maintenance Electrician (Former Employee), Edinburgh, SCTMarch 29, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: breaks, salary, work conditions, mangers.
Poor salary and long hours,lone call out work in unfamiliar buildings,abrubt and devious managers and unpleasant work conditions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Work To place
Animal Technician I (Former Employee), Wilmington, MAMarch 27, 2014
Pros: people work together to accomplish tasks as a team
Cons: job loss due to department re-organization
During the time of my employment with Charles River I came to understand that the people who work in laboratories ? Scientists, vets, animal texhnicians are human being like everyone else and work hard to help in the developing of new drugs. for many of them it is their primary responsibility to look after the animals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Research Technician (Former Employee), Ballina, MOMarch 20, 2014
Great place to work, fantastic co-workers and sadly missed
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Tech (Former Employee), Wilmington, MAFebruary 21, 2014
Close-knit, family-oriented atmosphere. Many employees have been working there 20+ years and their family members go on to work there as well. Salary and benefits are not as competitive as other places with similar work. Impossible to commute to without a car. Good cafeteria.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly workplace environment
Technologist (Current Employee), Portage, MIFebruary 9, 2014
Charles River has taught me how to face challenges when working in a fast paced production environment. The Management team is always willing to help the employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Comfortable workplace
Senior Lab Technologist (Current Employee), Wilmington, MAJanuary 15, 2014
It is a good place to work where I have acquired a lot of skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Project Manager/Senior Analytical Research Chemist
Project Manager/Senior Analytical Research Chemist (Former Employee), Horsham, PAJanuary 9, 2014
Managed analytical studies (GLP) for pharmaceutical clients
Method development and validation
Coordinated stability testing.
Supervised and trained analytical technicians performing project work.
Reviewed and released analytical study data.
Installed additional HPLCs to increase sample throughput capabilities.
Troubleshooting, maintenance and repair – more... of HPLC, GC and UV-Vis instruments.
Wrote SOP’s, protocols, analytical methods, study deviations and final reports.
Performed OOS and OOT investigations and addressed study audits.
Performed analytical testing of pharmaceutical samples.
Received a promotion. – less

1 2 3 4

About Charles River Laboratories

Chickens and rats have an important part to play in Charles River Laboratories International's specialty portfolio of medical – Read more