CH2M

351 reviews

CH2M Employee Reviews

Found 29 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and we complement each others' effort.
Highway Construction Inspector (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ONOctober 30, 2015
A typical day would be 4 hours of field inspection and the rest would be spent in the office writing reports. The most enjoyable part of the job is working with a team which supports and complement each others' effort in getting the job done and that makes working easy and productive at the end of the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employ own company
Project Manager/ Process Engineer (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BCApril 20, 2015
A friendly environment and great projects to work on. This company is well structured and safety is their number one goal.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Civil Design Technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMarch 11, 2015
Very cooperative team, helpful seniors, All job did on time and with perfect accuracy. I got lot of experience and learn lot of things in this company. When you go there, you will see lot of good things.................. missing a lot
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company with excellent employees
Heavy Equipment Operator/HSE Advisor (Former Employee) –  Fort Nelson, BCJanuary 21, 2015
Great coworkers, good management.
Comfortable accomodations, job security.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe Environment with a team culture
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Conklin, ABJanuary 6, 2015
Excellent company which offers good opportunities and benefits in a work safe environment.
Pros
job recognition, with a good salary
Cons
working away from home
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laying off good staff all the time
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  CalgarySeptember 17, 2014
This company is not making a profit and has not done so for a long time. It laid off lots of good staff this year after they bought Tera Environmental Consultants. They cannot get a foothold in Alberta. There are far better companies to work for than this one. They go on and on about their little yellow book and how you should enjoy working there. They make you work long hours with little or no reward. The only reason this company is advertising jobs is to try and save face.

Advice - stay away from CH2MHILL!
Pros
could be a great company if they respected their staff
Cons
always making you justify your position.
Was this review helpful?Yes31No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Pipeline Project Engineer (Current Employee) –  calgary albertaAugust 10, 2014
Cenovus treats their employees exceptionally. They are focused on safety and delivering a great product. I really enjoyed working here.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team to work with
Document Control Manager (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABJuly 22, 2014
Participate in Project Services meetings under Project Services Manager with
other project services management team members.
Participate in other management meetings and project meetings as required
Coordinate with other managers to actively insure adaptation of new or existing software systems are utilized as appropriate.
Arrange for and insure all DC staff are appropriately trained for their roles.
Work with all DC staff to charter them in their roles, both generally and project specific as appropriate.
Provide detailed estimates for Document Control Services for all new projects.
Participate in all project coordination, kick-off, alignment, and weekly meetings as required
Pros
great benefits
Cons
long long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Similar to other big construction firms
Pipefitter foreman (Former Employee) –  Conklin, ABMay 7, 2014
I was on two different jobs with this company the first one I really did not like. This was mostly due to the overwhelming amount of temporary forgien workers (very little english spoken on the jobsite). The second job was very good I advanced my career and made a lot of money.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, fun to work.
IT Support & Operation Technician (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONMarch 17, 2014
- Checking emails
- Checking Service tickets
- Troubleshooting problems
- Learned communication skills with end users and co-workers
- Enjoyed travelling another office location to fix issues.
Pros
free coffee
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?Yes6No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
did not care
Labourer/Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Conklin, ABFebruary 17, 2014
the job was great the people were great just the management did not care about the employee
Pros
flights provided
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes11No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CH2M Hill
Carpenter Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Statoil Conklin, AlbertaJanuary 31, 2014
My experience was a first as a camp job. I enjoyed it very much along with the benefits and opportunities to meet new people. The safety aspect is incredible and work was enjoyable. I am looking forward to my next opportunity in the construction field looking for another camp job. 14/7 is preferable.
Pros
many perks and rewards for safety promotion
Cons
some camps were worse than others
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would work for them again
Welder/Ironworker (Former Employee) –  Conklin, ABJanuary 2, 2014
A little bit unorganized
Foremans and management were very reasonable people
A lot of Unhappy Co-workers
Not the best work most days
Pros
good pay
Cons
poor travel arrangements
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety Advisor Postion
Safety Advisor (Former Employee) –  Can-West Projects LtdDecember 5, 2013
Did incident reporting and investigate the incidents to come up with corrective actions and prevent the reoccurrence. I took care of all weekly and daily meetings with all crews. I made sure that all monthly inspections were complete.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review of 4 Month Contract
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  GreenlandNovember 15, 2013
Found all personnel with CH2 approachable and professional. Probably the best managers I have had the opportunity to work for. Most difficult aspect of the job was remote location and solid 4 month duration. Most enjoyable part of the job was my coworkers.
Pros
good salary, including hazard pay.
Cons
remote location
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
Intermediate Draftsperson (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABNovember 6, 2013
Decent environment. Supportive staff. Good lunch and learn sessions.
Pros
free lunches and lunch-and-learns are there almost every month
Cons
sometimes hours may be too long for some people
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good old american company
Pipefitter (Former Employee) –  Fort Nelson B.c.July 21, 2013
It was my first and only time employed with this company. Good leadership was presented and strong safety ethic, I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK
Electrical and Instrumentation General Foreman (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABJune 21, 2013
CH2M has huge potential in Oil and Gas. Management needs to listen to the experience in the group.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CH2M HILL CALGARY
Instrumentation Design Technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMay 31, 2013
I was fired by a manager who spent his last week seeing how I would react to being fired. The manager misled everyone and moved to Shell after taking a two week vacation in Florida.
Cons
not interested in training
Was this review helpful?Yes15No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
helpdesk coordinator (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ONApril 29, 2013
the job is an ever learning one and the people are fantastic by far a great place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 351 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture