Find companies:
CH2M HILL
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
224 reviews

CH2M HILL Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Current Job Review
Industrial Engineer (Current Employee), Portland, ORJune 2, 2014
Pros: great projects
Cons: management system
There are no typical days at work here, but that's part of the fascination. I learned to be flexible and to work hard on everything, because even the small projects may be what brings you the bid. My co-workers are very intelligent and great to work with, but the management structure is terrible and constantly re-organizing. The hardest part of the – more... job is managing your manager, but the people you work with and the projects we win are the most rewarding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This project was an interesting place to work.
High Voltage Technician, Lead (Former Employee), South San Jose, CAMay 31, 2014
Pros: an enjoyable project to work on.
Cons: the compensation is below industry rates.
For a maintenance technician, this job is interesting and there is always variation in the work. The management is supportive and easy to work with. The supervisors are exceptional. The customers are outstanding people, and it was a privilege to support their operation.

The management recognizes good work, and gives out small bonuses from time to time.

The – more... most challenging part of the job is solving mechanical breakdowns in a timely manner to keep the process from trending out of spec. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive enviroment and professionalism within the company
Plant Operator II (Current Employee), Sugar Land, TXMay 20, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: lunch breaks are 30 minutes, and insurance is great.
Enjoy working with this company that has skilled training.It offers a respectible enviroment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun in playing chess
Sr. Inspector / Construction Supervisor (Current Employee), Abu Dhabi, AZMay 20, 2014
Pros: free lunch, accommodation
Cons: long hours
Daily construction monitoring on contractors daily progress
to supervise contractors and to show as a model in the site
manage safety awareness in site to all
a good team member
to issue and NCR to contractors and must rectify immedialtely
going along with different nationality and consider them as a freind
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Company, Good People
Process Engineer (Former Employee), Spartanburg, SCMay 15, 2014
Enjoyed working with co-workers, location not the greatest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A professional company
Regional Security Manager - Europe (Former Employee), Swindon, WiltshireMay 15, 2014
Within the security environment you could never predict a typical day as you never knew what was going to happen and how your priorities would change. Typically the job involved ensuring the safety of our staff across all UK and European offices in terms of office accommodation and staff travelling to 'hostile' environments on a global basis where I – more... would be responsible for analysing the travel risk as to whether the person could travel. I was also responsible for analysing/generating/evidencing computer forensic logs in terms of alleged computer misuse by employees and whether there was 'a case to answer'. I also provided security consultancy services in terms of reports/audits of assets owned by the M25 and Thames Water Utilities. As part of the major emergency response team I was involved in emergency excercise/training with the UK management team and assisted the Region in the production of Business Continuity plans.

As there were only two of us within the European team I had a excellent working relationship with my direct manager as well as the other International Regional Security Managers.

The hardest part of the job was to remain calm and in control in terms of crisis/emergency situations i.e. dealing with our staff during the London bombings etc

I enjoyed the variety in the job mixing with all levels of staff and solving challenges that were frequently presented.

Unfortunately, due to restructuring, this post was made redundant in May 2013. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
low paying
Operator 1 (Former Employee), Boring, ORMay 13, 2014
Pros: hours
Cons: pay and bennefits
not a bad company if in the right circumstances, not much for advancement, health insurance is terrible and but hours are good and home work balance is good
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Structural Welder/ Iron Worker (Former Employee), Vineyard, UTMay 10, 2014
I really enjoyed working for CH2MHill. The pay was great for a structural welder at $32 an hour. The hours were great and they always gave some time off for holidays - we had like 2 weeks off for Christmas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Similar to other big construction firms
Pipefitter foreman (Former Employee), Conklin, ABMay 7, 2014
I was on two different jobs with this company the first one I really did not like. This was mostly due to the overwhelming amount of temporary forgien workers (very little english spoken on the jobsite). The second job was very good I advanced my career and made a lot of money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3.5
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Gainesville, FLMay 6, 2014
Licensing for Engineers, order, process, and approve invoice payments for PE seals, Data input scheduling for Engineers (Set up Resource and Task schedule on Microsoft Projects following a sample), did some travel arrangements, passport photos, and passport processing for some engineers, assist with Specifications processing, including editing, accepting – more... track changes, making PDFs, proofing, etc,. help Project Assistants when needed, and miscellaneous jobs such as copying, labels, notebooks, filing, faxing, and phone. Have also processed, followed up on, and sent out submittals for Engineers; this included sending copies to clients, distributing, following up on, and faxing change orders, and other documents, filing originals, and also re-submittals. I also transferred information from Drawings. Talk with Vendors to set up lunch & learn seminars, book rooms, and order food. Also approved and processed payments for vendor food orders for lunch and learns and group meetings, and kept the files. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VERY SERIOUS PROFESSIONAL SAFE COMPANY
GENERAL FOREMAN (Former Employee), PRUDHOE BAY AKMay 5, 2014
OUT STANDING, Great Team work, Safety Implemented & Followed / Observed & Audit Reports; Professional Quality Chosen Crew
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
En la parte administrativa, la empresa es excesivamente burocrática.
Jefe de Inspección (Current Employee), Buenos Aires, BApril 24, 2014
Pros: buena calidad humana, buen trato.
Cons: muy burocratica
Administrativamente regular. Trato muy bueno. Buena calidad de gente.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for!
Admin (Current Employee), Dunbar WVApril 8, 2014
Pros: co-workers
Cons: contract job
Document control, input hours worked, scanning, copying, filing etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Working Environment, totally professional attitude of all the colleague irrespective of their level
Senior Consultant (Former Employee), Gurgaon, HRApril 4, 2014
Pros: occasional parties like birthday, promotions etc.
Cons: long hours of work and commitment with schedule
Too busy from the morning till the evening. all the friends and colleague were very cooperative. boss also too helpful though he was much younger than me but always had a lot of respect for me. Every month they organize a sort of fun competition which could be participated by any one irrespective of their level and winner is given a price.all boys girls – more... used to enjoy and make fun of each other.

It was my best experience of working with such an organisation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Modis Contract
Service Desk Analyst/ Technical Assistance Center (Former Employee), Denver, COApril 4, 2014
Pros: grerat communication
Cons: call center environment
Great contract job. The helpdesk was more of a call center than a true helpdesk, focusing more on time spent and limiting all calls to 15 minutes before escalation; however, the environment and programs available to employees were nice. As a contractor; my agency took good care of me and consistently checked up on my p[progress and happiness there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An ok place to work.
Project Director (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCMarch 28, 2014
Pros: ch recognizes different lifestyles and how personal needs work for each individual
Cons: limited opportunity for advancement especially for those over the age of 50
Overall I would rate CH as 3 star company. Not the best, not the worst. Young people have a good opportunity for advancement but will hit a brick wall at some point in their career. So CH is not a good company for a long term career. Good stepping stone otherwise. As far as pay, good for younger employees and not so good for older ones. Benefits are – more... probably average. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Busy Project Environment
Engineer Material Contorl (Former Employee), Denver, COMarch 27, 2014
My typical day was spent supporting power projects. I learn much about SP Design Tools and work process.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Environmental Technician (Current Employee), Sacramento Ca.March 26, 2014
I work for CH2MHILL and enjoy it, my direct supervisors are a breeze to work with and the freedom to manage my own schedule and work life is a great thing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive safety and quality
General Maintenance Technician Tanks & Vessels O&M (Former Employee), Prudhoe Bay, AKMarch 20, 2014
working in the oilfield is very challenging, safety is very good high priority, lots of maintenance work long hour shift was very fun schedule of 2x2 weeks was good
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Business Development is ruining this company
Substation Design Engineer (Current Employee), Denver, COMarch 19, 2014
Pros: great pay. great co-workers.
Cons: not going to get new work.
The substation design team here is outstanding. There is one person in charge of getting work that is the worst I've ever experienced. We have little to no work and he turns work down. He also blocks any of the engineers here from using their contacts to get work.

About CH2M HILL

Since its founding in 1946, CH2M HILL has been building a better and more sustainable planet—delivering challenging projects – Read more