Find companies:
Century 21
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
351 reviews

Century 21 Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
produtive
Warehouse Representative/clerical (Former Employee), secausus,njMarch 26, 2014
A typical day of work was occupied because it is a company with many orders that to replace. I learned to work doing payboll, I learned to work with different culture and different opinions. My co-worker were good and we help each other in anything we needed even if we had different opinions. The part more difficult of the work was when some of the – more... workers did not agree with what we had to do. The part enjoyable was when everything was going out well and the supervisors were satisfied with our work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier (Former Employee), Westbury, NYMarch 21, 2014
Learned how to deal with unruly costumers and work in a very fast pace environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the greatest place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYMarch 20, 2014
As a customer you will love it, but working there is pure HELL. LOW PAY, SHORT BREAKS, RUDE MANAGMENT. C21 Brooklyn,NY BAY RIDGE
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), New York,NYMarch 16, 2014
Pros: good location
Cons: pay
Helping and interacting with customers.Sometimes some people need a little encouraging when looking to buy a product.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like working with people
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Morristown, NJMarch 12, 2014
All of the co-workers and the management were the best and I loved the discount> The hardest part of the job was carrying home the things I bought with my discount and it was the most enjoyable also.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It can be busy and hectic but, it was a good experience.
SALES ASSOCIATE/CASHIER (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 12, 2014
I was a sales associate/cashier. The job mostly required assisting customers with any problems that they had. Also, making sure the stock was properly displayed. I learned how to work with a cash register and became more of a peoples' person on the job. The management was very strict but, it was good because they kept everything in order. Most of my – more... co-workers were great people who I enjoyed working with. I don't think anything that I had to do here was exceptionally hard. The most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with the customers and my co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for Century 21
Sales Cashier (Former Employee), manhattan nyMarch 7, 2014
Pros: helping guest, set schedule
Cons: short breaks, poor management
A typical day for me was doing an 8 hour shift behind the register dealing with many different types of people. I learned many different ways to tell a fake bill from a real bill without using a money pen. The management was ok. I felt like they didn't really care about what the smaller positions ( cashiers, floor workers etc) had to say. If we felt – more... like a supervisor was being rude or unfair to us it didn't matter. Being promoted was also hard. Although I was only there for 6 months, I wanted to do more. I wanted to become a Register Complex Supervisor (RCS). Every time I brought it up i was told I wasn't fit for the job by my Current RCS. The hardest part of the day was trying to communicate with the many tourist that came from a different country and didn't speak English. The most enjoyable part of the day was being able to help the different guest and see them leave with a smile knowing that you helped them have a great experience at the store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional work enviorment
Handyman and trash out of vacant properties (Former Employee), Tri-cities (Fremont, Newark, Union City & others)March 4, 2014
Pros: enjoyed being part of a team effort and working for my grandparents.
Cons: often there could be too much time between jobs, especially as the boom market declined..
This job started while still in school. After graduation the real estate boom of foreclosures was at its peak. Was very busy for a couple of years, with some downtime between jobs as new listings became available.

A typical day was receiving a job order for "trash out" of a new listing or bank owned property. Each property was different in what was – more... needed to prepare it for the real estate market. Duties included yard work, tree trimming, removing personal belongings and objects (furniture) left behind, window, bathroom, kitchen appliances, floors....basic house cleaning and removal of interior/exterior debris, hauling to dump or charity.

Co-workers were customarily my brother and Mom as the jobs were provided by my grandparents who are real estate brokers/owners. So it was a family endeavor.

Jobs were labor intensive requiring strength and endurance, some more than others. Because it was my grandparents business reputation, I enjoyed their approval in knowing they were satisfied and I helped them to sell a clean property. I learned alot about small job repairs that will be useful throughout my life and someday, home ownership. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Teamwork
Assistant (Former Employee), Moorestown, NJMarch 3, 2014
Pros: partners and team players
Cons: not being a licensed broker
Mass mailings, created mailing lists, research on properties and real estate culture in US. Management was amazing, we were a team, everybody pulled to help everybody succeed. The hardest part of my job was not having real estate license so unable to do certain things that would have helped further the goals of the company. The most enjoyable part of – more... the job was helping others. I was appreciated and respected, you don't find that everywhere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strict, Not flexible with schedules, Disrespectful to employees
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Morristown, NJFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: wonderful customers
Cons: management
A typical day at Century 21 would start at the security office, once cleared I would go to the third floor to punch in and start my shift. I work the display floor then the fitting rooms, by the middle of my shift I work the stock room handling shipments and receiving new supplies.
I've learned to handle shipments going out and in to the store.
I can – more... only speak for the manager I worked with. I must say she was very disrespectful and inconsiderate.
My co-workers were very nice and we all worked as a team to get everything done.
The hardest part of the job was trying to do everything my boss wanted exactly how she wanted it to be.
The most enjoyable part of my job would be that I have very friendly co-workers that kept me going through out the day and helping customers pick out the best clothing for them according to their size, style, favorite color, and what season they were shopping for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Elmont, NYFebruary 27, 2014
not a good place to work low pay more work. residents are nice and some staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment and work schedule.
Assistant/Receptionist (Former Employee), Chicago, ILFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: the hours and the training process
Cons: when work slow down you get laid off.
I love interacting with a vast variety of people. My hours were great and I worked for this company in the comfort of my own home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good work place
Sr Software Engineer (Former Employee), 70 Enterprice Ave Seacoucas NJFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Nice company with a very excited projects. Nice company with a very excited projects.Nice company with a Nice company with a very excited projects excited projects
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
--
Clerk (Current Employee), Secaucus, NJFebruary 9, 2014
a typical day at work

what you learned

management

your co-workers

the hardest part of the job

the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
at first tiring but get used to it
Sales Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 1, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: no cons
stocking and fixing lanes
maintaining a clean department
Helping customers with what they are looking for as in a style in clothes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and challenging
Sales associate/cashier (Current Employee), New York, NYJanuary 29, 2014
Cons: short lunch breaks and low wage
A typical day working at century 21 would be very busy especially on holiday's.There are a lot of tourists that shop there due to the fact that it is located in Manhattan right near the world trade center so its all different kinds of races I deal with on a everyday basics so it can be challenging at times.
I've learned how to be professional while – more... working in a retail that has so many mixed races
my co workers are very work dedicated and friendly
I don't find this to be a hard job at all
The most enjoyable part of working here is being able to show my good customer service skills and seeing all different types of people from all over the world shop there – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and motivational atmosphere.
Register Complex Supervisor (Current Employee), Westbury, NYJanuary 25, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: lack of healthcare benefits.
Usually routine not much variation in job duties.However, through hard work i was able to advance in job title.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cool temp job
Housekeeping (Former Employee), North Myrtle Beach, SCJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: being on the beach
Cons: not being able to stay
typical cleaning of condos, co-workers vary since its a temp job. most emjoyable get to see the various vacation places
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not an ideal place to work
Sales/ Cashier Associate (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYJanuary 23, 2014
Working in Century 21 department store is not an easy job. It is very stressful with the demands of customers and management. A typical day would be restocking and organizing merchandise. Dressing window displays and repacking merchandise. Customers weren't really nice to workers and many times belittled them or got in to conflicts with them. They do – more... not pay well and there is rarely any job advancement. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Document Control Processor
Document Control Processor (Former Employee), San JoseJanuary 22, 2014
Assist a team of 5 Realtors top producers. Managed all inventory, controlled all active or open files in escrow, affiliated with title companies, customer follow up on a timely matter, short sale negotiator specialist, document preparation, document review, followed up with file until the date of closure. worked with many referrals. I was able to learn – more... much about the business that I was able to get a great opportunity with a large bank. This line of business if my passion, not only do I enjoy what I do but I am the best. – less

About Century 21

Century 21 Department Store is a legendary New York City retailer offering top designer merchandise at incredibly low prices. – Read more