Centrica Energy Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Joint Venture Accountant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 May 2017
I enjoyed working at Centrica Energy. I was able to apply my creative style to improve many processes during the Suncor acquisition. This was the most enjoyable part of the job. The workplace structure of an open concept was challenging to concentrate. I adapted and continued to perform very well.
Pros
Freedom to Create
Cons
Systems needed to be adapted to the new business.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good learning experience and friends made
Pigging/ Operator (Current Employee) –  Edson, AB12 March 2016
i really enjoyed my job on a day to day basis. from the beautiful landscapes that i had the pleasure of working in, too the cooperation and guidance of fellow co workers. i learned a lot about the transportation of natural gas and oil through pipelines and facilities. i would say the hardest part of my job was working in highly dangerous atmospheres with h2s gases. i try to learn as much as i can in any surrounding. the only thing someone can never steal from you is your knowledge. in which in this state of employment i reached my limit of learning and advancement, which is the reasoning for my search for something new and exciting.
Pros
great schedule. benefits. landscape
Cons
dangerous gases. no room for expanding
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company in Canada
Service Desk Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 March 2016
Everything is great about the company minus the control that Centrica UK had over operations and ultimately caused lay offs due to decisions despite Canada being cash flow positive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is under experienced for the times
Operations Super. - Wildcat Hills Gas Plant (Former Employee) –  Cochrane, AB25 February 2016
Oil and gas price took the fun out of this company. Safety and well beingof employees and contractors was always paramount.
Pros
Technically challenging
Cons
Oil and gas price
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Centrica Canada highly recommended.
Senior Buyer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 February 2016
There is a myriad of talent at Centrica that enjoys collaboration and keep things simple to get the job done.

Most of the noxious personnel inherited during takeover from Suncor is gone, and the remaining people is good to work with.

Good work life balance.
Pros
Most of the people is nice to work with
Cons
Centrica Canada will sell all its assets; conditions may change with new management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work,
Manager HSE/Operations (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 November 2015
I enjoyed my time at Centrica working with a great group of people. There is lots of room for advancement and opportunities to relocate to Europe.
Pros
Great People
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Millwright (Former Employee) –  Cochrane, AB26 October 2015
great place to work
would go back in a second if I could
great people
clean and safe place to work
management could be a little stronger and define roles better
work place had a lot of changes since Centrica took over (formerly Petro Canada/Suncor Energy)
Pros
great pay, close to home
Cons
economy caused a staff reduction which I was a part of
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Actual employee from Canada and not from UK
Accountant (Current Employee) –  Calgary30 October 2014
Over the last 2 years multiple employees including two long term VP's have left this organization. Turn over is high and there are questions as to why they are not paying their vendors on time.
Do yourself a favour and investigate fully before taking any position within this organization. The Canadian company makes all of the money for the organization but was recently partially sold to Qatar.
Most people I know are looking for positions elsewhere right now.
Pros
We receive flex days each month
Cons
Hr
Was this review helpful?Yes 57No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Learning experience
Joint Venture Contracts Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 August 2014
Centrica is a great company to work for, there's lot of opportunity to learn.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Nuclear Commercial Manager (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ENG1 January 2014
Great Place to work. Strong focus on learning and development of the teams.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 8Report

See more Centrica Energy reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Centrica Energy. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 24 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
3.2
Culture
3.5

Centrica Energy Reviews by Location