Centre for Newcomers Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Showing all 9 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of variety in culture
Full-time Participant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 June 2017
Full-time participant, learned lots of job skills from basic to essential. all very important to me. Learned lot about the Canadian work force and culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diversity of staff
Career Practitioner (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 March 2017
It is a nice environment for people who appreciate diversity as there are people from different countries, religions, races, etc. There is a spirit of service to the clients.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place for newcomers from across the world
Career Development Job Search Services (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 May 2015
best place to get started for new job in Calgary for newcomers.Provide help to get jobs and help to learn new things and achieve our goal
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multicultural
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 May 2015
Answering and forwarding phone calls
Manage client relationship and answer clients’ questions
Assure high standard and quality of service
Elevate customers satisfaction by investigating and solving complains
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and got some experience
Tax preparer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 January 2015
Enjoyed working with different colleagues. The most thing I liked was preparing tax for my clients.
Pros
Free lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace Environment and opportunity to work with multicultural staff
Administrative Support Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 January 2014
The Center is open from 8:30 am to 4:30 pm walk in services are available for immigrants looking for settlement counselor and Career counselor upon appointment.
Co- workers are very helpful and knowledgeable about services available in the center and out.

The hardest part of the job sometimes is language barrier when a client walk in and they are not able to communicate in English and sometimes we do not speak the same mother language as the client.

I enjoy seeing the clients leaving the Center satisfied with services provided.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meet new people from different cultures and values
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 May 2013
Volunteering with centre for newcomers was really entertaining and it was really good experience to know people from different backgrounds. I learned about their life and situation they are going through and if they need help. I loved volunteering with centre for newcomers.
Pros
Multicultural
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun people to wrok with
Youth Practitioner (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 May 2013
Helping youth and families
Culturally sensitive place
The food is excellent
Pros
Very good food
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Centre for Newcomers. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 9 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
4.4
Management
4.1
Culture
4.6

Centre for Newcomers Reviews by Location