Find companies:
Centerplate
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
167 reviews

Centerplate Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You get to attend all professional ball games while working for the company
Area Supervisor (Current Employee), Spartanburg, SCNovember 1, 2013
Pros: you can attend the ballparks for free by working for the company
Cons: healthcare isn't so great
Great Company to work for and fun, you interact with the fans and the players. Working for this company gives you insight to what and how concessions operate. The food for concessions are changing from Doggie Diner style of Service to Hospitality Service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable workplace with high volume sales
cashier (Former Employee), Spokane, WAOctober 24, 2013
Pros: met all kinds of people from all over the u.s.
Cons: had to quit cause other job split day
Began as cashier then became stand manager responsible for at least 5 cashiers,their tills,and open and close inventory at Sporting
events and concerts in Spokane Arena.Passed all Health inspections
and later moved to high volume alcohol sales.Responsible and accuracy on till.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Retail Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), miami,floridaOctober 24, 2013
Pros: free lunches, free parking
Cons: long hours, and one lunch
A typical day at work is just helping customer find a size for a shirt.What I learned customers really like memories to take with them when they come to a game.Management always look out for your best interest when it comes to breaks and food.Co-workers was very informative they taught me the ropes of the job.The hardest part about the job was it was – more... really boring.The most enjoyable part about the job you make a lot of money in one day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your Only As Good As Your Last Event!
Assistant Banquets & Suites Manager (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INOctober 23, 2013
Pros: all the different events and people i have already met.
Cons: there are slow times in both venues during the winter, i love working and constantly learning about the hospitality industry.
I have learned so much about high volume service from working at Centerplate, the Indiana Convention Center along side Lucas Oil Stadium are two of Centerplate's most profitable venues. I have also been increible focused of always putting the guest first and Centerplate has showed me even more ways how to go above and beyond for someone, to create a – more... memorable experience each and every time. There is honestly only one thing I dislike about my job, I love the people that work for me, the events we host, and I love the long hours we work, the one and only dislike is the location. Indiana has been my home for 23 years, I want to get out and see the world and meet new people and expand my network even further. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun fast paced work environment, with advancement capabilities
Operations Manager, Bar Manager, (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCOctober 22, 2013
Pros: ability to network and and apply customer service skills
Cons: sometimes working outside the conditions were a little extreme(hot, rainy)
Day starts with the set up of venue, preparing for concerts, plays, banquets, etc. making sure to be open for buisness prior to doors opening for service. I learned that no event could be completed without a team of dedicated workers. My management team were a great group of individuals. All of my co-workers were enjoyable and easily coached. The hardest – more... part of the job was having multiple events at one time in different locations. The most enjoyable part of this job was the availability, and opportunity to satisfy the customer and the client. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a very fast pace productive place to work at and fun!
Manager (Current Employee), San Francisco, CAOctober 21, 2013
Pros: free lunches, free sodas and discounted employee parking.
Cons: no time to enjoy a game!
a typical day at work is checking in, count starting moneys/inventory, checking-in everybody coming to work at my food stand; assigned duties and make sure everything is working properly. I had learned how to delegate, to manage a work place without always being supervise and to be accountable for, Management is okay, always on top of their game, co-workers – more... always need supervision but, most of them are fun to work with and are hard workers. The hardest part of this job is when everybody is gone home and you still have to stay late and be accountable for everything that went on that night or day at work! Nevertheless, it is very pleasant to be surrounded by people that care about you, weather they work with you or not there is always somebody that brings a smile on you! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
HR ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT (Former Employee), Greenville, SCOctober 17, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Everyday was different. I loved what I did.
N/A
N/A
N/A
N/A
N/A
N/A
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Event Based
Assistant Merchandise Manager/Buyer (Former Employee), Newark, NJOctober 17, 2013
Work in a professional sports arena.
Work is event based so it is long nights, weekends and holidays.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day at work.
Cook, Customer Service (Current Employee), San Diego, CAOctober 16, 2013
Pros: lunch is provided
It can get busy but for the most part its slow and consistent. Most enjoyable part of the job would be cooking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved the job
Line Cook (Current Employee), Miami, FLOctober 9, 2013
meet new people
learn to navigate in the city
learn the importance of cleaness and safety
learn how to work as a team
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pased Concession
Cashier (Former Employee), New Orleans, LAOctober 8, 2013
Pros: attending different types of events
Cons: no breaks
Prepped for sporting events, concerts etc.. Food service type of job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace was intense and extremely long hours.
Executive Assistant to President and CEO (Former Employee), Stamford, CTOctober 1, 2013
Pros: compensation
Cons: 12-13 hour days
The culture at Centerplace was very intense, but not in a good way. The office wasn't being managed properly. Hours were very long 12-13 a day with little break.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Centerplate
Assistant Supervisor to Concessions (Current Employee), Central Islip NYSeptember 24, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Cons: long hours
Typically I show up to work at 11am and begin prepping the stands til 2. Then if required, I begin setting up for the daily event that ranges from 50-300 people. Then I begin prepping the daily specials for concessions. The most enjoyable part is being able to work outside at a baseball stadium.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Kitchen Supervisor (Former Employee), Bronx, NYAugust 27, 2013
Pros: everthing about the job was great
Cons: seasonal, no healthcare, no set hours
working at Centerplate/ Yankee Stadium was fun. I got a chance to watch the players practice as we prepared the food to serve to the customers. The Managers and co workers were very friendly and supportive. We were a unit. The hardest part of the job is the late nights. sometimes we wouldn't leave until 11 12 at night. We had to make sure the kitchen – more... was spotless every night no matter how late it was – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice easy going atmosphere
Steward/Stewardess (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INAugust 27, 2013
Pros: free food.
Cons: hours are on again off again.
Good second job or job for a retired person. It's not that bad during football season and after that you may not get many hours at all for months.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work for football fans
Beer Tender (Current Employee), San Diego, CAAugust 19, 2013
Pros: free meal
Cons: hours vary due to game, not too many games
Hardest part of job is denying customers alcohol if intoxicated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good pay but only working on special events at the convention center
STEWARD (Former Employee), San Diego, CAAugust 18, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: only working on special events being held at the convention center
working in the kitchen doing stewarding duties like dishwashing, cleaning silverware, sweeping and mopping floors, taking the trash out
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancement
Stand Leader (Former Employee), Tacoma, WAAugust 14, 2013
If you work hard, and show you are trustworthy you can move up. I advanced quickly through my time there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier/Teller
Cashier (Current Employee), Minneapolis, MNAugust 6, 2013
Pros: working with my co-workers, getting exercise, and feeling good when i balance.
Cons: long nights when there's an event.
I work at the Metrodome on Viking games as well as Monster Jam events. I walk with a Mpls. cop to vendors and collect their deposits twice in one shift. I then have to run the money through machines and must make a deposit and balance for each deposit. The final deposit comes directly from the vendors in the window right there in front of us. I have – more... 12 co-workers who I enjoy working with every event. Management is so nice and are helpful if any questions that may arise. The hardest part of my job is walking through the crowds when collecting deposits. The best part of my job is working with my co-workers and having all my deposits balance. I have learned to have thick skin because at the end of the event, some of the vendors are not the nicest and they have no patience but I try to be fast yet accurate with their deposit. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
non productive, dead end job
Cashier (Former Employee), Fort Lee, VAAugust 5, 2013
Pros: free lunch if u work over 5 hrs, the customers
Cons: no benefits, fire u if u get too much overtime, people in charge, bias environment
A typical day at cenetrplate at first is very diverse and fun going. and u would think that you would enjoy the job until u realize how un organized they are and bias. If you have rank in the military you can go very far or even if u are married they think by getting women that husbands are in the military to work there it will help their catering business. – more... If your a civilian and u want to work there give it up unless your ok with being overpowered by someone just because of theirs husbands rank. I dont recommend it. – less