Find companies:
Centerplate
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
160 reviews

Centerplate Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Event Based
Assistant Merchandise Manager/Buyer (Former Employee), Newark, NJOctober 17, 2013
Work in a professional sports arena.
Work is event based so it is long nights, weekends and holidays.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day at work.
Cook, Customer Service (Current Employee), San Diego, CAOctober 16, 2013
Pros: lunch is provided
It can get busy but for the most part its slow and consistent. Most enjoyable part of the job would be cooking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved the job
Line Cook (Current Employee), Miami, FLOctober 9, 2013
meet new people
learn to navigate in the city
learn the importance of cleaness and safety
learn how to work as a team
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pased Concession
Cashier (Former Employee), New Orleans, LAOctober 8, 2013
Pros: attending different types of events
Cons: no breaks
Prepped for sporting events, concerts etc.. Food service type of job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace was intense and extremely long hours.
Executive Assistant to President and CEO (Former Employee), Stamford, CTOctober 1, 2013
Pros: compensation
Cons: 12-13 hour days
The culture at Centerplace was very intense, but not in a good way. The office wasn't being managed properly. Hours were very long 12-13 a day with little break.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Centerplate
Assistant Supervisor to Concessions (Current Employee), Central Islip NYSeptember 24, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Cons: long hours
Typically I show up to work at 11am and begin prepping the stands til 2. Then if required, I begin setting up for the daily event that ranges from 50-300 people. Then I begin prepping the daily specials for concessions. The most enjoyable part is being able to work outside at a baseball stadium.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Kitchen Supervisor (Former Employee), Bronx, NYAugust 27, 2013
Pros: everthing about the job was great
Cons: seasonal, no healthcare, no set hours
working at Centerplate/ Yankee Stadium was fun. I got a chance to watch the players practice as we prepared the food to serve to the customers. The Managers and co workers were very friendly and supportive. We were a unit. The hardest part of the job is the late nights. sometimes we wouldn't leave until 11 12 at night. We had to make sure the kitchen – more... was spotless every night no matter how late it was – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice easy going atmosphere
Steward/Stewardess (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INAugust 27, 2013
Pros: free food.
Cons: hours are on again off again.
Good second job or job for a retired person. It's not that bad during football season and after that you may not get many hours at all for months.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work for football fans
Beer Tender (Current Employee), San Diego, CAAugust 19, 2013
Pros: free meal
Cons: hours vary due to game, not too many games
Hardest part of job is denying customers alcohol if intoxicated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good pay but only working on special events at the convention center
STEWARD (Former Employee), San Diego, CAAugust 18, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: only working on special events being held at the convention center
working in the kitchen doing stewarding duties like dishwashing, cleaning silverware, sweeping and mopping floors, taking the trash out
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancement
Stand Leader (Former Employee), Tacoma, WAAugust 14, 2013
If you work hard, and show you are trustworthy you can move up. I advanced quickly through my time there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier/Teller
Cashier (Current Employee), Minneapolis, MNAugust 6, 2013
Pros: working with my co-workers, getting exercise, and feeling good when i balance.
Cons: long nights when there's an event.
I work at the Metrodome on Viking games as well as Monster Jam events. I walk with a Mpls. cop to vendors and collect their deposits twice in one shift. I then have to run the money through machines and must make a deposit and balance for each deposit. The final deposit comes directly from the vendors in the window right there in front of us. I have – more... 12 co-workers who I enjoy working with every event. Management is so nice and are helpful if any questions that may arise. The hardest part of my job is walking through the crowds when collecting deposits. The best part of my job is working with my co-workers and having all my deposits balance. I have learned to have thick skin because at the end of the event, some of the vendors are not the nicest and they have no patience but I try to be fast yet accurate with their deposit. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
non productive, dead end job
Cashier (Former Employee), Fort Lee, VAAugust 5, 2013
Pros: free lunch if u work over 5 hrs, the customers
Cons: no benefits, fire u if u get too much overtime, people in charge, bias environment
A typical day at cenetrplate at first is very diverse and fun going. and u would think that you would enjoy the job until u realize how un organized they are and bias. If you have rank in the military you can go very far or even if u are married they think by getting women that husbands are in the military to work there it will help their catering business. – more... If your a civilian and u want to work there give it up unless your ok with being overpowered by someone just because of theirs husbands rank. I dont recommend it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large workplace fun at times good co-workers
Cashier/ Barista (Former Employee), Dallas, TXAugust 5, 2013
Pros: free lunches, good overtime
Cons: only one mandatory break, long hours in hot spaces, same food
A typical day a starbucks is interacting with customerswhile preparing drinks, and serving pasteries. I learned how to work with a team in small quarters. Management was strict and strudy on jobs that were to be done. but sometime did not know how to communicate that to the team. My co-workers were normal people with normal problems which made the days – more... mor interesting. Most enjoyable part of the job for me was the interaction with customers from all different backgrounds and cultures. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Centerplate Review
Cook/Dishwasher (Current Employee), Columbus, GAAugust 4, 2013
Nice and easy way to earn a decent check. Being there taught me that i can do any job that i choose to do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place including great opportunities
Cashier/ Stand Manager (Former Employee), Fayetteville, ncAugust 1, 2013
Pros: we were able to get half off lunches and see celebrities
Cons: very short breaks and sometimes events get cancelled
A typical day at work is fun because of our coworkers. I learned more about how to manage food/inventory. I also learned management positions. Learning managers and coworkers is very exciting and a positive outlook for me. There is actually no hard part about this job i wish security was tighter. The most enjoyable part is hosting all the events.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Suite Server - Part-Time (Current Employee), Portland, ORJuly 30, 2013
Centerplate is a food service company for stadiums. Working as a server for the games I enjoy being able to talk with patrons and serve various types of food and drinks while they are enjoying the games. Management is run fairly well, I haven't had any problems with discrimination or unfair treatment in this company. The hardest part of this job is – more... having to carry various food and drink items up and down stairs and sometimes having to deal with unruly customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and helpful
Custodial Worker (Former Employee), Central Islip, NYJuly 27, 2013
Easy work place
Learned how to clean and sanitize
Management good
Very nice coworker
Being able to learn new skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pasted and safe work enviroment
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCJuly 24, 2013
The employeer always pressed safety first and I also offered chance for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
cashier (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INJuly 20, 2013
this place is always busy, very fast paced, friendly co-workers, the management was nice and the hardest part of the job was not getting behind on the extremely long lines