Centennial College Employee Reviews for Tutor

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarding work, low pay/ poor arrangements for tutors
Peer tutor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 October 2017
worked as a peer tutor. very personally rewarding job for those who enjoy to teach. inconsiderable towards students hours. had to stay in school extra 10 hours every week in case somebody does book an appointment (sometimes 5 min before the actual appointment). some weeks, nobody booked appointments, so staid extra hours in school frequently with no appointments and no pay at all (paid only per hour when i have an appointment).
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is glad that I ever worked in Centennial
Electrical Engineering-Peering Tutor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 May 2017
I am so happy I had chance to work in Centennial College. Ii is a precious experience. During I was working there, the hardest part is how to guide students to understand content in textbooks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall experience working here was great!
Environmental Technologist Peer Tutor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 April 2017
Had the opportunity to work as a Peer Tutor and develop more as a person and share what I learned using different learning style via training. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting new people from different cultures and gaining positive feedback from the students I tutored.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning enviornment
Peer Tutor (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON24 April 2016
You get to develop your communication skills. We get a lot of things to learn. As a peer tutor, I tutored on hourly basis according to the appointments made by students. The staff is friendly and co-operating.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work!
Peer Tutor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 April 2016
Peer Tutoring position is a very nice position to practice my communication skills as I help my fellow junior students with their assignments and anxiety related to the school work. I am able to, not only promote the success of my fellow peers but I was able to practice skill of effectively communicating for the needs of each and individual student.

Overall - Centennial College Learning Center makes it a very welcoming and supportive environment for their tutors.
Pros
Choosing you own times
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoying
Cost Control Tutor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 February 2016
At Centennial I am part-time cost tutor.
I love this idea to share my knowledge with other students and help them to improve they knowledge and school marks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Peer Tutor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 May 2015
I learned new things everytime I worker with a student. Sharing experiences built our relationship and the student was more trusting of me as a tutor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experience
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON13 January 2015
first of all i took the tutorial of autocad course, because i have a good score in this subject. i am very happy to teach somebody else. its awesome.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Peer Tutor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 September 2014
you will like the environment. you will balance your life and work there. Meet a lot of people.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with diversity
Peer Tutor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 June 2014
The working environment is highly professional and challenging that helped to be more organized and planned.
Pros
Wide recognization
Cons
No career advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to study and to teach.
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 March 2014
I am student of centennial college. After completing my 1st semester I was appointed as a tutor of my course. I was working for 10 hours per week. From that experience I learn how to understand the problem of the other person and how easily I can solve his/her problem.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good school
Par-time tutor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 May 2013
practical hands on experience given. good teachers. nice campus. new equipment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a good company/School
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 August 2012
It is a very fair and great work place. Everyone is nice and helpful.
Pros
friendly people.
Cons
none.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cooperative Management
Peer Tutor for Project Management (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 August 2012
The Management is very flexible to change the tutoring schedule as per my convenience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good place to work
Environmental Technology Tutor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 May 2012
I enjoyed working there,good management, very good in overall
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
calculus tutor
Calculus tutor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 May 2012
I was tutoring other students in Math Calculus program,during my three years Advanced Diploma in Mechanical Engineering-Design.It was my enjoyable part to play with math problems and part of my dream to become Math teacher.My co workers shared the same thirst for knowledge and for Math science.I graduated from College last year.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report

See more Centennial College reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Centennial College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 166 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
4.1
Culture
4.2

Centennial College Reviews by Location