Find companies:
Celanese
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
44 reviews

Celanese Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High expectations
Distribution Warehouseperson (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABSeptember 22, 2012
This financially-driven corporation has high expectations with respect to employee output. I always felt up to any challenges, including educating myself on new systems and working the extra hours needed to get the job done efficiently.
My experience with the company will always be invaluable:
- I gained important human resource skills, both interpersonal – more... and professional, through educational offerings by the company, as well as hands-on experience.
- I learned advanced computer skills, such as the Supply Chain Management Application (specifically Extended Warehouse Management) of SAP.
- I interacted positively on a daily basis with various levels within the Supply Chain organization; from management, to truck drivers, to my team of warehouse operators.
- I successfully handled, with the help of my team, daily challenges to meet last-minute orders.
- I provided exceptional customer service with a positive, solutions-based attitude. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a job
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Florence, KYDecember 9, 2014
Pros: pay and benefits
Cons: work enviroment and sometimes unpredictable work schedule
Pay and benefits are above average. Work environment is very dirty and dusty. Work schedule can be very stressful with having to rotate between days and nights every 2 months and sometimes being forced to work on scheduled off days
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Union that laid the company employees off
Purchasing Agent (Former Employee), Meredosia, ILDecember 3, 2014
Pros: been a while thing are no longer the same
Cons: been a while thing are no longer the same
Would you like to review Celanese? I did already but this site just keeps popping this stuff up. So I'm just entering anything to get past it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fantastic Company
Tax Intern (Former Employee), 上海市, C23November 21, 2014
Celanese is one of the most famous chemical company in the world, it has a maturity management system. Employee may learn a lot during the work. As well, the company regularly organizes some social activities. It 's really nice and fantastic for employee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers, terrible culture
Lab Technician (Former Employee), Florence, KYOctober 21, 2014
Pros: great coworkers; pay for the area is little better than average but nothing to brag about
Cons: extremely hostile work environment; terrible management
After more than a year with the company, I was dismissed for offering to help another group in accordance with the "One Celanese" culture shift. Other than the hostile work environment, had some pretty awesome coworkers. Management was detached and uncaring and not at all interested in the long term goals of their subordinates. All's well that ends – more... badly though, I make more money outside the company even as a contract employee. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very competitive
Strategic Sourcing Manager (Former Employee), Dallas, TXAugust 17, 2014
Pros: safety a priority
Large company with a very competitive work environment. Coworkers where great. Hardest part about the job was the travel.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be a very good place to work but lacks in management support.
Core Lab Operator (Current Employee), Florence, KYJuly 8, 2014
Pros: paid lunch for any shift over 10 hours, good pay and benefits
Cons: hostile work environment, sometimes asked to do ethically questionable things, sometimes given work tasks but not the resources or authority to complete them
There are two interdependent departments that are working on a joint task using two different sets of guidelines forcing the lower level employees to try merge the instructions and leading to conflict. Supervisor's in one of the departments move freely through the other department challenging the other department's employees and often threatening investigations – more... and disciplinary action in spite of lacking formal authority to do so. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid employer who values their people and helps them succeed.
Principle Process Engineer (Former Employee), Wilmington, NCApril 24, 2014
Pros: very flexible with personal scheduling issues
Cons: smaller plant personnel is often overlooked for promotions
Solid industry leader in their markets. There is a realization that to be successful long-term they can't be over-weighted in managers andunder-weighted in technical personnel. Good place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changing for the better
Controller (Current Employee), Dallas, TXApril 22, 2014
Since new CEO came in 2 years ago, change has been slow but for the better overall. Eliminating some middle management has been good, but has limited the growth opportunities for the rank and file. The culture of fear under the old CEO has largely disappeared, but it will take a few more years to completely purge the "old ways" of thinking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Celanese
COMPENSATION CONSULTANT (Current Employee), Irving, TXApril 19, 2014
Pros: good work life balance, great people and talent, excellent working enviornment, the company does a great job of offering opportunities and developing employees.
Cons: some internal procedures could be more efficient.
It is a great company to work for. Everyone is very friendly and the overall culture is great. The talent is outstanding and there is a lot to do here and to learn. Great leaders run this company and do a really good job of attracting and retaining the best talent. I have learned a great deal about the chemical industry and how the products Celanese – more... produces help to make our lives better. The most enjoyable part of my job is people.They have a way of selecting just the right people. The hardest part of my job is continuing to learn how things are done at Celanese because chemicals is a new industry for me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing company
Service Administrator (Current Employee), Dallas, TXApril 17, 2014
Growing company - growth opportunity
Can develop lots of experience in this market
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent to work with
Senior Buyer (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 17, 2014
the turnaround mgr Heith Robey was the best to work with. I really enjoyed my time there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good chemical company to work with all levels of skill people.
Reliability I/E Engineer (Former Employee), Bishop, TexasApril 1, 2014
Pros: good training and safety records.
Project management-field supervision-day day activity with designers- very good company to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day at work
Instrumentation/Electrical Technician (Former Employee), Bishop, TXMarch 28, 2014
A typical day was always a challenge. It was always something new either a transmitter to troubleshoot or motor that needed to be megged. The guys i worked with were amazing and very talented. My boss was very fair but yet stern. He allowed us the ability to learn everything we needed. My co workers and I were always involved in different aspects of – more... the plant such as. Myself and another co worker designed a new system that would allow troubleshooting on thermocouples and heaters a lot easier. We relocated boxes ran new wire and ran new conduit. We added new points in the DCS board and mounted new thermocouples. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Sr. Executive Assistant to VP (Former Employee), Dallas, TXMarch 12, 2014
I've learned to be a better negotiator when it comes to business executives.

Growing and learning is a wonderful experiences. Training classes are awesome!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with great co-workers
Shipping Services Specialist (Former Employee), Bishop, TexasMarch 4, 2014
Pros: worked at celanese for 37 years at the same location, i knew all the protocols and developed good relatioships with many employees, pay and benefits were good
Cons: long hours at some points due to operational issues
A typical day at work lasted 8-12 hours. I was responsible for five different contract work groups with different responsibilities. The most critical aspect of my job was ensuring we had no injuries or safety incidents. Secondly we had to meet all internal and external customer requirements and deliver shipments which conformed to DOT HAZMAT regulations. – more... Each of the five work groups contributed to this effort. I enjoyed this position because I was able to perform my duties with little to no supervision.

I maintained budgets for my areas of responsibility and was the primary interface between these contract employees and Celanese Management.

I was very fortunate that all the work groups I managed worked as a team. It is very rewarding to see individuals bond in different situations and providing support to each other.

During my career at Celanese I was able to build many relationships both within our site and throughout the corporation. I was also given many opportunities to advance during my career. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High level of dedication of employees.
Sr. Administrative Assistant for Acetate R&D (Former Employee), Narrows, VAFebruary 14, 2014
My typical day was a constant barrage of work from the individuals I served as Administrative Assistant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is not bad, but lack opportunity/growth
Global Strategic Sourcing Manager (Current Employee), Dallas, TXJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: no non sense attitude
Cons: limited growth
It is an OK company. Nothing really stands out, but nothing really bad either.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Working place
Reporting Analyst (Current Employee), Dallas, TXNovember 6, 2013
Fruitful days at work
Learnt to focus on results and accuracy.
Management makes it a priority to let you grow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Supply Chain Center of Excellence Intern (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJuly 11, 2013
many changes with a new CEO, a lot of employees do not work well together

1 2 3

About Celanese

Celanese Corporation gets a lot of good ink about its acetates. The company's primary operations include the manufacture of building – Read more