CBC/Radio-Canada Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bien payé mal traité
COMÉDIEN (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC13 December 2017
Bousculé par la production, les journées sont longues et demandantes. Par contre, le salaire est très haut.
Pros
Bon salaire
Cons
Demandant
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of learning oppurtunities
Event Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 October 2017
I volunteered for 16 hours at their Kids Day event, and they gave me an opportunity to work with new people and learn new skills necessary in the work field.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 October 2017
no advancement opportunity
very bureaucratic
good pension, decent benefits
some areas are really forward thinking, fun and innovative
many areas stale, dated with old processes
dictator "fear based" style management
blames union for anything that is "wrong" with the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beaucoup de turbulences due aux nombreux changements technologiques
Realisateur terrain à l'information (Former Employee) –  Quebec City, QC2 October 2017
Il faut beaucoup d'ajustements pour travailler à Radio-Canada la technologie change à la vitesse grand V, n'y voyait pas de jus de mots avec la compétition maintenant il faut incapable de travailler avec des outils très performant et à la vitesse de l'éclair
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to work
Sales (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 September 2017
From where Canada’s been to where we’re going together, CBC/Radio-Canada is there, informing, enlightening and entertaining, sharing Canada’s journey step by step, day by day, with the news, content and commentary and culture that Canadians need today, tomorrow and in the future.
Pros
Overtime
Cons
Overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unsupportive environment, internal politics difficult to navigate
Reporter, Editor (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS7 September 2017
I was hired under the pretense that the job would continue full-time. However, internal politics and pre-judgements made it impossible to navigate the system. I was hired by a new manager who has little to no experience managing people. He had trouble maintaining a neutral, open workplace environment. Others within the organization passed judgement and he trusted them without giving me the benefit of the doubt and the opportunity to defend myself. There were questions about my ability to do the job, but when asked for specifics and why the trust and respect was absent, he was unable to answer the question. Instead, he took the word of others whom he'd work with for a long time at face value. I was promised full-time work, and suddenly the work dried up and I was forced to ask for a lay-off notice. This allowed me to collect employment insurance while looking for a job.
Pros
Salary and benefits
Cons
toxic work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture, great company
Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 August 2017
The CBC is everything you would expect from our public broadcaster and more. It's a pleasure to come into work each morning with staff who care about their job, our content, our culture and our brand.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
BI Consultant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 July 2017
Even though they lack processes but good place to work. Management was easily accessible and appreciative. I loved working at this place. Very hard working people.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with strong support.
2016 Summer Olympic Games Edit Suite Producer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 July 2017
The CBC is one of the most professional work environments I have ever been a part of. The management is direct and goals are clear. The challenge is keeping up with changing technology while the most enjoyable factor is always having the necessary resources to complete the tasks at hand.
Pros
Good compensation
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Virage bureaucratique contrôlé de Toronto
Réalisateur Solutions Media (Former Employee) –  Maison de Radio-Canada11 July 2017
Bonne chance les amis! Peut-être qu'un jour cette entreprise retrouvera sa vision sa vigueur et son implication culturelle qui ont fait ses plus grands succés
Pros
Bassin de gens professionnels et impliqués
Cons
Entreprise court-circuitée politiquement
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avis Receptionniste
Receptionist - Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON15 May 2017
Emploi très pertinent ayant aidé à l'enrichissement de l'expérience en tant que réceptionniste et agent de sécurité d'une édifice importante logeant CBC-Radio Canada et le Sénat du Canada.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very political working environment
Senior Network Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 May 2017
It is a crown corporation, politics is the priority and work is after. Treat their employees very good but do not expect any excitement on your career
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A professional workplace with littlle empathy for the individual and not much in the way of job security or predictable advancement.
Broadcaster/Editor (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL24 April 2017
CBC News is a professional, highly structured work place that offers some opportunity for advancement.
It offers little, however, in the way of job security and the direction in which the Corporation is being guided is not what I had hoped. It is a stressful environment with an emphasis on speed and not a particularly happy place to work . There is a lot of staff turnover.
On the plus side, salary and benefits are very good.
Pros
Good wages, benefits
Cons
A "one size fits all" mentality toward staff and too much power in the hands of one person.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
IT Consultant (Current Employee) –  Ontario12 April 2017
I enjoy to work there but salary is not very good with my skills.The most enjoyable part of the job I can do any where.I love to learn always ..... ..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed lunch time around a long table
Deskside Support Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 April 2017
The I.T. action centre was a group of mostly guys and one lady who had great conversations at lunch and we all worked hard to deal with each division of the broadcast corporation. It was casual work environment and enjoying most of my time there.
Pros
close to tv production
Cons
tied to union and can face restructuring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail productif et agréable
Cameraman (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC30 March 2017
caméraman de studio (gros body), de portative et de jib
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail qui devrait être ammelioré
Motion designer / Infographiste (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC22 March 2017
Cette entreprise n’existe plus. La géstion était la partie la plus faible de l'entreprise
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hello
Finance, Media Solutions (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 February 2017
Great time once upon time, now in transition not sure what to write about it. Revenue loss has brought down changes that make a company be something it wasnt before. Good luck
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good challenging environment
Senior Manager, Operations (Former Employee) –  Montreal, Canada28 January 2017
Great organization with an equally amazing task. Can come as a great challenge as well as a highly bureaucratic headache. Good place to develop yourself if you are a driven individual while maintaining a good life-work balance and great benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cbc
Video Producer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 January 2017
I had a wonderful career at CBC for over twenty years. It has undergone change, and is competing for relevance in this new broadcasting world
Pros
access to technology
Cons
little job satisfaction
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CBC/Radio-Canada. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 88 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.1
Culture
3.6