Catholic Social Services Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management Is Tone Deaf
Team Leader/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 December 2017
Some managers are more afraid of challenges to their bad practices than they are of failing to provide diverse and/or marginalized clients (and staff) with appropriate support/leadership. Appearance seems more important than substance. They act like they want docility more than they want to improve their programming. They seem intimidated out of their collective minds by staff who aren't willing to "kiss their rings" at every turn. They act completely tone deaf to the realities of life outside of their little bubbles of belief.
Pros
front-line staff are actually committed to community service
Cons
management and the board of directors are way out of touch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and challenging
Service Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB9 November 2017
It was a great place to work, it involved being able to explore diversity and allowed me to grow professionally in my career. I am proud to say I was employed with Catholic Social Services
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Community Disability Worker (Former Employee) –  alberta, canada30 October 2017
it is productive and a fun work place. i enjoyed how the people there treat their patients, i learned how to be more patience and be more eligible in everything I do, the management are very kind to its employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work.
Children & Youth Care Worker (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 October 2017
I enjoy work with this Agency. Supervisors pay attention to staff needs and endeavor to effect necessary changes. Staff to staff interaction is super. Yes periodic free lunch.
Pros
Occasional free lunch and treats.
Cons
Long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging Environment
Alberta Brain Injury Outreach Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB11 October 2017
I have worked for Catholic Social Services since 2013, and they are a supportive team company that cares for all in the community, including their employees.
Pros
Excellent pay and benefits.
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
non productive on my part
Disability Care Worker/Healthcare Aide (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB12 September 2017
i was given an involuntary termination without discussing what's the reason. i did appeal but no one entertained my appeal. until then i don't know why i was terminated. my supervisor and clients liked me so much.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most supportive agency i have ever worked for.
Family Enrichment Worker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB11 September 2017
Continued supportive from colleagues and management. Case loads were flexible and for the most part manageable. There was a lot of paperwork and that was the main con.
Pros
Ongoing training, supportive staff team
Cons
On-call
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company if you want to move up and feel like a person not just an employee.
Disability Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB4 September 2017
Catholic social services cares about its employees and the people it serves. Lots of new programs and always trying to find better ways to serve its clients.
Pros
Lots of hours and company activities.
Cons
Too many hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
options
Disability Worker (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB16 August 2017
variety of different areas to work, was nice too have so many choices. co workers and supervisors are very helpful and willing to guide/assist and help you succeed
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Community Disability Worker (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB29 May 2017
Not very sure but its a good place to work with good team work as long as we have the passion to love and care for the individuals. There is nothing much to say as I am still a new hire but i do love the company and the systerm is very good
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoying
Health care aide (Current Employee) –  Red Deer, AB14 May 2017
They are nice to work with were helping how to improve dilivery care to the client. We're working with confidence by taking good care with the resident
Pros
Permanent
Cons
Fulltime
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work!
Community Disability Worker (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB14 May 2017
Learned alot from this company.
Management is great.
Culture is diverse.
Hardest part of the job was leaving.
Most enjoyable part of the job is the interation/socializing with the clients.
Pros
Learned a lot!
Cons
Leaving/Finishing my practicum
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job tough and rewarding
Personal Care Attendant (Former Employee) –  Wainwright, AB11 May 2017
its been a long time since i wrk here. i enjoyed it while i was there. staff are kind and very busy ppl . as in all the health care trades we need more hands
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always good
Caregiver (Former Employee) –  Wainwright, AB1 May 2017
It's great to be able to work with individuals one on one to provide the care they need. With each new course arriving they would pay for you to get all courses needed. Friendly staff.
Pros
Helping other
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Child & Youth Care Worker (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB21 April 2017
It is hard job, in an unsupported atmosphere, the clients are great and make the work worthwhile. Management does not care about front line workers and do not support..
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short Term Contract
Human Resources Consultant - Recruiting (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB4 April 2017
Very difficult to write a review as I was on a short-term contract here. This was also a number of years ago. At the time, the HR Manager was outstanding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe and clean
Residential Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB30 March 2017
Everyday can be different, whether it be working with children, cooking meals for new comers or cleaning and preparing for new families. Everyone is very kind and helpful.
Pros
Meeting new people from all over the globe
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty Good
Volunteered as a Youth Mentor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 March 2017
They expected you to come up with a new game for every morning you came in to volunteer. You could not repeat the same game either and it had to encourage using language. These requirements made it very had to come up with new games.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional Community Srervices
Settlement Counsellor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, Alberta, Canada2 March 2017
Catholic Social Services, Catholic Charities, Sign of Hope - Alberta Canada is a trendsetter at the heart of diverse social services for the province of Alberta. The agency is well managed, efficient, and proud of its employees, empowering them with many opportunities for growth and advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Css
Payroll Advisor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB4 February 2017
Excellent non profit organization with strong values and relationships with the community.

Dedicated to their mission statement and show compassion to those most vulnerable and in need of support.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Catholic Social Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 134 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8

Catholic Social Services Reviews by Location