Find companies:
Catholic Social Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
40 reviews

Catholic Social Services Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office Politics
Team Leader (Former Employee), Substance abuse and correctionsJune 16, 2014
Pros: i dont work there any more
Cons: beats down self confidence.
Office politics are more important than seasoned long time staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New environment with lot of opportunity to learn
Community Disability Support Worker (Current Employee), Edmonton, ENGMay 22, 2014
Pros: provide transportation and meals while on job
Cons: no negative aspects so far of the job
The management is so good, flexible, better working environment, lot of opportunity to learn. Learned lot to deal with different clients with behavioral issues, development disabilities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Child and Youth Care Worker (Current Employee), Edmonton, Alberta, CanadaApril 1, 2014
Pros: great team, you have all your meals there, can take holidays when you like.
Cons: 12 hour shifts can be long, can be stressful at times
A typical day would include going in at 7am. Getting the kids breakfast and getting them ready for the school bus. During day shifts is when your paperwork is done. On afternoon/evening shifts, you cook dinner for the kids and do activities or go on outings with them. I work on a great team, and we are all on the same page about what is best for our – more... clients. The hardest part is that it can be sometimes stressful, but when you see the kids happy it outweighs the hard times. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experience
Community Disability Counsellor (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABMarch 25, 2014
A day at work begins by checking the updates and activities of the clients in the Program. Making arrangements/accompanying the clients to the various appointments and activities. Daily report writing and case reviews. A good platform to learn to deal with various behaviors with the help of individual Behavior Support Plan. A professional relationship – more... and good rapport with the co-workers enable to respect their culture and understanding their skills and strengths to work as a team to the benefit of the clients. The hardest part of job is to deal with sudden onset of behavior issues of clients but good communication and teamwork help us to overcome all hardships. The most enjoyable moments are the smiling faces of our clients and co-workers when we accomplish our tasks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good servise
IHS (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJanuary 23, 2014
It is a good experience of learning and gaining the passion of serving others through CSS
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Providing Love, Care and Support
Rehabilitation Administrator/Care Aide (Former Employee), Wetaskiwin, ABDecember 3, 2013
I enjoyed making a difference in the clients' lives by providing them with more opportunities to enjoy life. The hardest part about this career was when the clients were physically abusive to themselves, and to myself.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be very rewarding at times
Correctons and Substance Abuse (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABMay 29, 2013
Pros: learning new things almost everyday
Cons: the pay, working overnites, and having to send some one back to prison!
Lots of paper work, all activities of clients had to be hand written, doing rounds every hour, spent time listening and making

suggestions, answering a lot of calls. I learned a great deal regarding corrections and substance abuse and how it effects so many people. Management was usually supportive on our desions. The hardest part of the job for myself – more... was working overnite shifts. The most enjoyable was when one of the clients were released back into society successfully. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very diverse always challenging never boring job.
Support Worker (Current Employee), edmonton albertaMay 6, 2013
Pros: very personally rewarding job, helping youth is my passion. lots of excersize.
Cons: i find it challenging not to let my emotions get the best of me sometimes.
Day shift
Get children up for school put out healthy options for breakfast, remind about hygiene. While children are at school prep for dinner clean up arrange for evening staff activities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people great clients
Child Care Worker (Former Employee), Wetaskiwin, ABMay 30, 2012
Pros: lots of over time
people were good to work for
inside work
lots of staff could pick your own hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent learning curve.
Program Assistant (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABApril 8, 2012
I enjoyed my time at CSS so much, it was really a labour of love. I enjoyed working with the staff from all levels of the program, and I learned the ropes from my superiors very quickly due to their ongoing open communication and patience with me. Throughout my work experience at CSS, I firmly established my role as a key player by taking on new tasks – more... that were either initiated by me or given to me. The environment was very welcoming and productive. My time there was definitely worthwhile. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer job, tutorial for children
n/a (Former Employee), Edmonton/AlbertaFebruary 23, 2012
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Help children to review their homework's in mathematics for new immigrants
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and beneficial work envirnment
Caregiver (Current Employee), Anchorage, AKAugust 15, 2014
Pros: on my own time
So far I love this job! It allows me to have time for a full time day job as well as still have my personal time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Catholic Social Services Ann Arbor
Group Facilitator (Current Employee), Ann Arbor, MIJuly 31, 2014
Important and essential program to reduce the risk for batterers and the women in their lives. Cognitive based program based on accountability. Program also provides groups for inmates in jail.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
non-profit world
Receptionist/enrollment counselor (Current Employee), Vallejo, CAJuly 2, 2014
I where multiple hats I answer the phone greet clients, make appointments,follow-up,reschedules,make food apps, make food bags, give food out, enroll clients in medi-cal via online, enter data into excel, monthly reports, filling,faxing,mail sort, copies, keep job board up to date, greet walk-ins.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CREDIT CARDS
Case Manager (Former Employee), Omaha, NEMarch 20, 2014
I always enjoy my day at work.
I have learned a lot from my work.
Management are very great.
Co/work are friendly.
The hardest party is missing my co/worker there.
The most enjoyable part is helping others,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good place to Truely Make a difference
Assistant Case Worker/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Tamuning, GUMarch 3, 2014
Pros: truely felt when i was able to make some things better for someone who truely is in need.
Cons: very frustrating as well as heart-breaking at times.
Hard Work- but very much worth it.
Part of my growing pains.
Sometimes when I look back on it, I believe it should be a required course in school,that way,if at least they are able to be exposed at school, it would truely be very educational.
CATHOLIC SOCIAL SERVICES (CSS) is a NON-PROFIT Organization who has and still continues to provide assistance – more... to various people in need of assistance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to with children
Case Aide (Former Employee), Peoria, AZFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: rewarded for good job
Cons: short breaks
Wen a child will cry for their parent
How to sweet talk to the child and calm him/her down.
Management was very helpfull.
Wen a child misbehave
Wen a child gets excited to see their parents
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managed yard sale and fair
Volunteer (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAFebruary 10, 2014
This was just a one time thing. On a Saturday morning, I worked outside helping set up tables at the yard sale, selling raffle tickets, playing games with the children. My favorite part of the job was spending time with all of the children.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Volunteer Worker (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKJanuary 24, 2014
it was good to help the homeless

Catholic social services
(Volunteer work) monitor (security)
6 months
Beans café
(Volunteer work) kitchen helper
6 months
Assist with cooking, prep-cooking, serving, dishwashing and clean-up
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respect for clients
Intake Coordinator (Former Employee), Columbus, OHJanuary 24, 2014
Pros: lots of kindness, great pay, respect all around
Great respect for clients served. Great respect for staff on all levels.