Find companies:
Caterpillar
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,018 reviews

Caterpillar Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Section Manager (Former Employee), BEssemer, AL Laredo Texas and Griffin, GASeptember 10, 2014
Pros: their values, mission and culture
Caterpillar was a great company to work for. Workplace, policies and procedures were stable and in place. work life balance was a plus. Compensation was great along with opportunity for advancement. Stable compnay and job security was never a threat.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
teamwork
Anchor Coupling (Current Employee), Dixon, ILSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: teamwork
Cons: closing
i work with a lot of good people my crew all work together. management need improvement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unstable work laid offs all the time
Assembler (Former Employee), Aurora, ILSeptember 5, 2014
Pros: benefits, good pay
Cons: management and laid offs
Great place to work for but unstable there are always some type of layoffs. Great training programs and safety programs. Good and horrible supervisors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and easy going
Material Handler (Former Employee), Brooklyn Park, MNSeptember 4, 2014
check the work centers to see if they needed any parts
I learned how to drive a tug for the first time
management was ok
my co-workers was ok and fun to work with.
the hardest part of the job was when parts didn't come in on time and especially when the parts was needed right there and then
what i enjoyed the most was the riding around in the tug and – more... dropping off parts and also enjoyed working with my co-workers, we had great communication. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mechanical work
assemly worker (Former Employee), ENGSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: long hours, strict deadlines
I liked it as I was working with my hands and I liked the mechanical side of it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and meet a variety of people.
Logistics Analyst (Current Employee), Waco, TXSeptember 3, 2014
I loved working at Seaworld. You get to make children's days your entire career. It was a good experience in sales and customer service as we were constantly handling any ticket issues that arose. I gained some experience in using my Spanish knowledge from High School to help translate for people who did not speak English. My co-workers were very fun – more... and came to work with a great attitude, making it a wonderful place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Ole Boy System
Mazak Operator (Former Employee), Morganton, NCSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: they feed you
Cons: if your not bright ( as in color) your not right
If your not one of the Boys its not for you!!!!! If your not from around there then you not fit it. No Chance of advancement if your not the TEACHER'S PET ;(.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working enviroment
Machine Specialist II (Current Employee), Waco, TXSeptember 1, 2014
Pros: safe working enviroment
Cons: lack of communication
At work I want to make work as safe as possible. On a typical workday I would walk around checking crane check list to make sure my coworkers are working safely. Once I am finished with any task asked of me, I try and go help out others to make work easier on them & more enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Hydraulic Testing and Final Assembly (Former Employee), Peoria, ILSeptember 1, 2014
Pros: variety, management
Cons: could be dangerous if your not safety minded.
Caterpillar was a great place to work. It was also probably the hardest work I've done but I had such a variety of thing to do I was never bored. It was fun driving large machinery and learning so much about the tractors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive great workplace
Inventory Clerk (Former Employee), Peoria, ILSeptember 1, 2014
Great company fast pace i would recommend this company to everyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work life balance
Operations Manager Motor Graders (Current Employee), North Little Rock, ARAugust 31, 2014
Pros: compensation
Cons: work life balance
No work life balance and very driven to exceed goals year after year.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working at Caterpillar learned many different types of jobs.
H.R. Aid, Assembly and Inventory Specialist (Former Employee), Pontiac, ILAugust 29, 2014
Pros: enjoyed my work
Cons: twelve hour days
Found my jobs at Caterpillar very fulfilling and enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
?
? (Former Employee), East Peoria, ILAugust 28, 2014
Good training & business plans. Culture is declining....little to no recognition.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very proficient and disciplined
SAP MM E2R Consultant (Current Employee), Peoria, ILAugust 27, 2014
The management team is very efficient and team mates were very talented and hrrdworking .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caterpillar treats its employees with respect and honesty
Production Support Specialist (Former Employee), Seguin, TXAugust 22, 2014
Pros: monthly bonus and having at least 40 hours of work every week.
Days are typically they are only 8 hours.
I learned the importance to comply with safety and the importance to do a quality job.
Leading small groups of people for big or small projects was often required.
Having a good relation with co-workers make a better environment.
The hardest part of the job was to find missing engine parts in the warehouse racks – more... that contained thousands of different parts.
Finding missing parts and knowing that i did my best everyday was the best and most enjoyable part of my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CAT
Executive Assistant (Former Employee), CPPD TrailerAugust 22, 2014
Pros: the working relationships
Cons: the lay offs
I loved my job at CAT. Supervision was awesome! They took time to guide you and to help you get settled in but yet, you were trusted enough to get there and do your job and there was no micro-management and I loved that. It enabled me to make the job my own and to have the freedom to be creative and to make the position even better than it was before. – more... The engineers were great and when there were deadlines to meet, we all worked together as a TEAM and got it done. I absolutely loved that job and the people that I worked with. The most enjoyable part of the job were the CPPD meetings every week and the engineers. I loved working with them and seeing all the different personalities but to also see them all come together at crunch time and get it done!! AWESOME!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caterpillar is perfect for lazy people!
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee), Pontiac, ILAugust 22, 2014
Pros: get to be lazy
Cons: everything else
I've worked for Caterpillar as well as a contractor for Caterpillar. I have never seen such lazy people in my life. A typical work day for a CAT employee is clock in, go to your work area, then just sit and stare at your cell phone for 8 hours. And I get so sick of CAT employees treated like they are better than everyone else. If there is an altercation – more... between a CAT employee and a contractor, rest assured that even if the contractor is clearly right, he will always be the one reprimanded because CAT employees are spoiled people who get paid way too much to sit at their desk all day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a wonderful place to work in my opinion
Production Technician (Former Employee), Seguin, TXAugust 20, 2014
even though i didnt work there very long it has been my favorite place to work. i wish i could have stayed longer or transfered to my home state.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Atmosphere
WAREHOUSE ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Sanford, NCAugust 18, 2014
This was a great place to work. Very laid back and safety oriented.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Global Company
Corporate Human Resources & Employee Relations (Current Employee), Peoria, ilAugust 18, 2014
Pros: diverse products
Cons: long horus
Global company that allows facilities to run autonomously which can be good with the right management.

About Caterpillar

For more than 85 years, Caterpillar has been making sustainable progress possible — for our customers, for growing communities – Read more