Find companies:
Caterpillar
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
969 reviews

Caterpillar Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the job itself was fine its just the fact that theres not much job security
Material Specialist (Former Employee), Decatur, ILJuly 21, 2014
A good place to work as long as business is doing well. Training program is pretty solid.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional operation with skilled managers and employees
Assembly Technician (Current Employee), Fountain Inn, SCJuly 17, 2014
Caterpillar's Greenville engine plant has been a very satisfying and rewarding job. I enjoyed the people I worked with and the teamwork that was encouraged. The management was always fair and communicated their goals and concerns well. Safe workplace that encouraged ideas and implemented suggestions. The products produced at the Fountain Inn plant were – more... top quality. However the engines being produced were moved to other facilities in Georgia and Texas and the Fountain Inn plant is scheduled to close in the third quarter of 2014 – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty good job
Assembly Technician (Former Employee), Sanford, NCJuly 16, 2014
I enjoyed my team leader and the group that I worked with. Fit right into the philosophy and got help in the areas I wasn't up to par in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of daily drama
Coordinator (Former Employee), Lafayette, INJuly 16, 2014
Not the company it used to be. Busy through the shift. Management hides the truth. The job was great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NA
Risk Management and Compliance (Current Employee), BangaloreJuly 16, 2014
It an amazing company to work, learn and meet lot of people form different background
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
summary
Java Programmer / Application Support (Former Employee), Peoria ILJuly 16, 2014
Pros: amazing people
The large company is set to allow each person to become the best they can drive to become. There were always challenges and solutions that allowed. There were a great deal of good people with a wonderful atmosphere while building wonderful solutions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace atmosphere, high pressure GIS division (Mach1 project)
DataStage Developer (Current Employee), East Peoria, ILJuly 11, 2014
Pros: high pressure, fast pace learning environment
Cons: it's not in texas!
From development, to support, process, release, and data analysis, working at Caterpillar at IT Headquarters in East Peoria, Il has been a wonderful experience. I have learned so much so fast, and I have been amply rewarded for my extra-effort! I love this work, and this job, but have great desire to move home to the Dallas/Ft.Worth Tx. area
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company orientated
HSE - Leading Hand (Former Employee), Moranbah, QLDJuly 11, 2014
Pros: good money
Cons: no time to have a life
No real concerns for the employees. Too long a shift and no home time
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
huge company
Fabrication Specialist (Former Employee), Decatur, ILJuly 11, 2014
Pros: great pay
Cons: no job security
great pay for some jobs but when the mining industry goes down your job is at risk
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for. Great co-workers!
Welder/Fabrication, safety trainer (Former Employee), Lagrange, GAJuly 9, 2014
Pros: benefits, work enviroment.
Cons: mandatory overtime 6 to 7 days a week 12 hour shifts, layoffs.
I really liked working for Caterpillar. They really cared for their workers. Good safety program with incentives for meeting safety goals. Profit sharing, 401 company match and other good benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great place to work with great people
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), Arvin, CAJuly 9, 2014
Pros: snacks on certain days and gatorade during the summer
Cons: does not conduct effective background screening
busy from beginning of shift to end made the days fly by. i gained more variety of forklift experience. My co-workers and the management are very nice and professional. when it came to difficulty, loading the trailers would be would be at the top of the list. But when i finished loading on time it gave me a great sense of satisfaction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Due to economic decline
Welder/Fabricator (Former Employee), E.Peoria IL.July 8, 2014
There have been excessive temp layoffs and plant shut downs. So I feel that it is time to relocate to a more positive economy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Product Assembler (Former Employee), Sanford, NCJuly 8, 2014
Pros: same weekly work schedules, weekends and holidays off.
Cons: short breaks, some managers show favoritism
Caterpillar is a very good company to work for if your a full time cat associate. If you work through a temp service at cat the experience is not as pleasant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with Quality Personnel
Employment History Forklift Operator (Current Employee), Fountain Inn, SCJuly 8, 2014
Safety conscience, with major emphasis on P.V.Q.C(People, Velocity, Quality, Cost) in that order. The people made my time at Caterpillar productive and enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always different
material specialist (Former Employee), Decatur, ILJuly 8, 2014
Pros: close to home
Cons: laid off
Enjoyed work didn't have wanted to get laid off. Clean safe work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start a career
Staff Accountant (Current Employee), Wamego, KSJuly 7, 2014
Pros: competitive salary and benefits
Cons: career speed outside the corporate office
Positive experience, ultimately unhappy with the area and the options for other locations within the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job security
Group Leader (Current Employee), Franklin, INJuly 6, 2014
Great place to work. Promotions are hard to come by. There is a lot of opportunity. There is just such a long time for promotions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Administrator (Current Employee), sharjahJuly 5, 2014
Pros: no
Cons: long hours
Have learned supervisory & time management skills to perform the given task.

Have learned to perform jobs independently and also to be active team member.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment To Work In
Team Lead Warehouse (Former Employee), Victoria, TXJuly 3, 2014
Pros: work schedule
Cons: operating equipment
A lot of success, some co-workers were a true pleasure to work with and the others we were stead fast in the CAT goal and achieved all goals set before us.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Commerical Assistant
Heavy Equipments Commercial Assistant (Former Employee), Santiago, ChileJuly 2, 2014
Pros: bonus, career, trips
Import and Export Reports, sales comissions reports, stock reports, competition manegement, local and foreign customer service, translations, prices, etc.

About Caterpillar

For more than 85 years, Caterpillar has been making sustainable progress possible — for our customers, for growing communities – Read more