Find companies:
Caterpillar
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
966 reviews

Caterpillar Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caterpillar
Welder (Former Employee), Aurora, ILAugust 6, 2014
Was given a lot of experience of welding and repairing equipment, but no room to improve I felt like.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CAT Review
Production Technician (Former Employee), Clayton, NCAugust 5, 2014
I really enjoyed working at Caterpillar. My coworkers and managers were really nice and cared about their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company has changed a great deal and not necessarily for the good of the employee.
Research Analyst (Current Employee), Mossville, ILAugust 5, 2014
My typical work day varied as I held many positions during my tenure with the company.

I learned so many things while working at Caterpillar that I will be able to use in the future. I travelled overseas, learned about other cultures, developed excellent skills and personal development opportunities were abundant.

The management was not always the – more... most organized but they did trust me to get the job done and we achieved many successes. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with diverse cultures and the travel opportunities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always busy!
Personnel (Former Employee), Joliet, ILAugust 4, 2014
This job gave me a lot to keep me busy. There was always something to do or to improve. I was very productive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
welder
Welder/Fabricator (Former Employee), Kilgore, TXAugust 3, 2014
The hardest part of the job is the layout. after you basic layout it reguires blue prints an what degree to preheat your metal, like forinstant 400 degrees
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Shipper/Receiver (Current Employee), Houston, PAJuly 30, 2014
Scan Product, place in boxes with correct labels. Run the fork lift to move product around warehouse.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace full of integrity
Oil analyst (Current Employee), Peoria, ILJuly 29, 2014
Pros: employees, pay, schedule, job role
Receive oil samples, shake and uncap then process the samples by collecting data from the machines we test them on

Some machines include:
Mantecs
ICP
Viscometers
FTIR
GC

Learned huge amount of testing in the lab.
Most enjoyable part of the job was the employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive & high customer service level
Supervisor (Former Employee), iraqJuly 29, 2014
love working hard
employee motivating
Customer service
learned a lot management staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
closed down, Liquidated
Diesel Mechanic (Former Employee), auckland New ZealandJuly 29, 2014
Horrible company to work for, got promised the world and got minimal rewards in return, the best thing i recieved from Rogers Civil was invaluable Experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company with strong values
Engineer (Current Employee), GAJuly 28, 2014
Strong management and ethics. Dynamic work environment. Excellent worldwide opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work culture.
Electrical Design Engineer (Former Employee), Aurora, ILJuly 28, 2014
Regular engineering design work using the newest design tools and intensive R&D and engineering collaboration.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
little chance for me to advance no real challenges.
Production (Current Employee), Boonville, MOJuly 26, 2014
Pros: some good benefits but seem to be dwindling every year.
Cons: not people freindly
Little chance for advancement. Lacks training not a good work environment for myself.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very safety oriented company with oppurtunities for growth and new challenges.
Machinist Associate 4 (Current Employee), Winston-Salem, NCJuly 25, 2014
Days typically begin with a group meeting to review any changes / news followed by stretching exercises. Once you get to your assigned area you determine the work load for the day and perform your job. There are several layers of management for the production area including Team Leads, Section Leads, and Senior Management. The people that work there – more... are friendly and ready to lend a hand when needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great pay
Assembly (Current Employee), Peoria, ILJuly 25, 2014
a decent place to work very people related and comfortable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for
Auditor/Masker (Former Employee), Fountain Inn, SCJuly 25, 2014
I enjoy production work because you stay busy. It was great management to work for
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very little supervision needed.
Lab Technician (Former Employee), Pulaski, VAJuly 24, 2014
Pros: great co-workers.
Cons: political games.
Each day presented new challenges & opportunities. It was a place that I enjoyed going to work each day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co-Workers
Human Resources Assistant (Current Employee), Joliet, ILJuly 23, 2014
The day to day tasks are not redundant nor boring. The co-workers make it a great place to work at.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the job itself was fine its just the fact that theres not much job security
Material Specialist (Former Employee), Decatur, ILJuly 21, 2014
A good place to work as long as business is doing well. Training program is pretty solid.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional operation with skilled managers and employees
Assembly Technician (Current Employee), Fountain Inn, SCJuly 17, 2014
Caterpillar's Greenville engine plant has been a very satisfying and rewarding job. I enjoyed the people I worked with and the teamwork that was encouraged. The management was always fair and communicated their goals and concerns well. Safe workplace that encouraged ideas and implemented suggestions. The products produced at the Fountain Inn plant were – more... top quality. However the engines being produced were moved to other facilities in Georgia and Texas and the Fountain Inn plant is scheduled to close in the third quarter of 2014 – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty good job
Assembly Technician (Former Employee), Sanford, NCJuly 16, 2014
I enjoyed my team leader and the group that I worked with. Fit right into the philosophy and got help in the areas I wasn't up to par in.

About Caterpillar

For more than 85 years, Caterpillar has been making sustainable progress possible — for our customers, for growing communities – Read more