Find companies:
Caterpillar
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,015 reviews

Caterpillar Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with opportunities for advancement
Heat Treat Specialist (Former Employee), East Peoria, ILOctober 30, 2014
Pros: great pay and benefits
Cons: possibility of layoffs
I enjoyed my career at Caterpillar and only gave it up because we were relocating.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, high production company.
Section Manager (Former Employee), Winston-Salem, NCOctober 30, 2014
Typical day, hurry, hurry hurry.
hardest part of job, high demand.
Enjoyed family owned back then.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organized and good pay but not a security of work.
Quality Control Inspector (Former Employee), Aurora, ILOctober 29, 2014
Pros: free lunches at times, good team work.
Cons: they always want more form their workers.
Assembler
Follow detailed assembly instructions, processes and procedures
Comply with policies, guidelines and regulatory requirements per the Quality System
Completes all administrative functions relating to business or regulatory requirements
Report problems with quality, processes, equipment and materials to Production Supervisor
Provide hands on – more... job function training to coworkers as needed.

Quality Control Collect and analyze production samples to evaluate quality
Analyze quality control test results and provide feedback and interpretation to production management or staff
Stop production if serious product defects are present
Monitor performance of quality control systems to ensure effectiveness and efficiency
Communicate quality control information to all relevant organizational departments, outside vendors, or contractors
Instruct staff in quality control and analytical procedures
Produce reports regarding non conformance of products or processes, daily production quality, root cause analyses, or quality trends
Participate in the development of product specifications
Review statistical studies, technological advances, or regulatory standards and trends to stay abreast of issues in the field of quality control. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caterpillar has changed
Senior Manufacturing Engineer (Current Employee), Aurora, ILOctober 27, 2014
Pros: pay is ok
Cons: lack of leadership, uncertain job climate
Caterpillar has changed from a company that valued it's employees, to a company that is focused on exclusively on the bottom line. The atmosphere has changed from one of pride, excitement, collaboration and partnership where jobs are secure to a culture of indifference, conflicting priorities, lack of general direction and ongoing fear of being downsized.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alot of great people here
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee), Clayton, OHOctober 26, 2014
I enjoy my coach and fellow associate they are great people!!!
On the down side i see alot of people come and go and my job security is a big issue. I dont really see myself moving up in this job its people that have been here for years since it has opened and have watched others come in the door and take team lead positions and other high position – more... that in my opinion were not qualified and have no clue on how to do them
The pay is not how i visioned it. THUMBS DOWN

As stated the best part about my job is the people I work with the job is not a difficult job just some of the people in higher positions make it difficult at times. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quinn CAT Review
PC Support Specialist II (Current Employee), Industry, CAOctober 25, 2014
• Respond to daily "break/fix" incidents via phone/ticketing system
• Provide various reports to management
• Assist other team members with difficult inquiries
• Frequent travel to remote sites without local IT Staff
• Create/Maintain OS images for workstations and laptops
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best part of the job is the people I work with, the hardest is the daily commute.
6T84 Machine Repair Mechanic (Current Employee), Aurora, ILOctober 22, 2014
Pros: stable company
Cons: health care
A typical day includes diagnosing and repairing CNC machines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Currently Working here
Welder 1 (Current Employee), Sanford, NCOctober 22, 2014
Safety meeting in the morning, gather parts for the day. Start assembly asap
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work with a variety of work.
Experimental Diesel Mechanic (Current Employee), Washington, ILOctober 22, 2014
Pros: overtime
Cons: union, pay cap
Maintain a large group of machines. Work on machines that are several model years ahead of what the customer sees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Machine Operator/Assembler (Former Employee), Lafayette, INOctober 19, 2014
Pros: health benifits
Just love the work environment and the people I work with no one is really strict the managers just want the job done. My co-workers are really down to earth and make the work place enjoyable & safe I've learn that this job keeps the employees involve with earning awards and being more aware of the hard work we are doing for the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caterpillar
Tool Room Supervisor (Former Employee), Joliet, IlOctober 19, 2014
Pros: pay, vacation, hours
Cons: unstable, cat is looking to move out of illinios
I have worked for Cat for 20 years and it has become a unstable work environment. The future of the facility I work at is uncertain and I can tell it is time to move on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
Engine Assembly Technician (Former Employee), Fountain Inn, SCOctober 17, 2014
I had enjoyed working there. I loved being on the assembly line constructing engines and learning more about them. I would work there again if I could.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
being a temp may be all you get
EMPIRE OPERATOR SPERION (Former Employee), Toccoa, Ga 30577October 15, 2014
When you go to work at Caterpillar many people came in thinking that within 90 days they would be hired on. Not in this facility. They rarely do any permanent hiring so working thru the temp agency is a normal process with them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work, good 401K benefits
production technician (Former Employee), Seguin TexasOctober 14, 2014
fast pace
good people to work with
Hardest Part is getting used to the computer blueprints
and the most enjoyable part is when you finish a complete engine
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
System Analyst (Former Employee), Schaumburg, ILOctober 14, 2014
• Supported Windows Server 2008 R2, work with Active Directory to set user permissions, add/deletes Group Users & Account.
• Supported all VM Wares and Citrix XenServer Virtualized Environments.
• Supported all Cisco IP Telephones 794X, 796X, 797X
• Troubleshoot different types of Applications (Microsoft Word, Power Point, Excel, Lotus Notes, IBM, and – more... Citrix, VPN Access)
• Help Desk /average handle over 25 call a day
• Create tickets in Remedy database system.
• Windows System Administrator.
• Cisco Any Connect, Adobe Professional, Standard and Reader
• Lotus Notes Configuration and Troubleshooting Remote Desktop Services, logmein123
• Basic-to-intermediate PC software and/or hardware systems support via telephone or e-mail in accordance with service level requirements.
• Developed Microsoft Access databases for departmental & company wide use to improve customer service, and provide rate team and accounting with quicker access to rate information. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very demanding and result orianted
NPI Lead (Current Employee), Mossville, ILOctober 13, 2014
Pros: great company to work and learn
Cons: as any other large company cat is somtimes too bureaucratic
The company is global enterprise and very well integrated. Over the years the company has changed dramatically by constantly improving the product quality, efficiency, and the profitability bottom line. At the same time it expanded manufacturing and design facilities in India, China, and Brazil.

Currently, the company is a leader in providing mining – more... and heavy construction equipment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and bad days
6Sigma Black Belt (Current Employee), Peoria, ILOctober 12, 2014
Pros: compensation
Cons: career growth, work politics, conservative company
Busy work schedule with challenging projects and deadlines. some of the people are good and fun to work with. Its challenging to be a change agent in the company with a top down work culture. But there is lot to learn.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over worked and under paid
Picker/Packer (Current Employee), Miami Lakes, FLOctober 11, 2014
I work a temp agency inside the ware house and the work was not bad. the micromanagement was annoying to me. what bothered me most they expected the temps to perform at a high level like the full time. with a lot less pay and no benefits or job security.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contracted Position
ASSOCIATE IT ANALYST-HELPDESK (Former Employee), Peoria, ILOctober 11, 2014
Very Busy Atmosphere, Help Desk duties included but not limited to: Customer Service, Ticket Entry, Troubleshooting, Problem Solving, Software Installation, Remote Assistance. etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this job
Team Lead - Material Specialist (Former Employee), Peoria, ILOctober 10, 2014
Pros: people, responsibility and the work in general
Cons: no job security, stuck on third.
I loved this job. The people were great, I was given responsibility, I loved the work,

About Caterpillar

For more than 85 years, Caterpillar has been making sustainable progress possible — for our customers, for growing communities – Read more