Find companies:
Caterpillar
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,004 reviews

Caterpillar Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees and Management are excellent to work with, friendly atmosphere
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee), Seguin, TXNovember 10, 2014
Pros: the hours, the personnel, the added learning of different functions
Cons: no benefits, no job security
Hours were very nice, work 4 days, 12 hours a day, Learned how to work with Engineers and customers. Learned how to run the KIOSK.
Also learned how to manage Plex Online. Management is great.
Always willing to help you in tough situations. The best part I enjoyed working with my co-workers, never a dull moment with them. The hardest part of my Job was – more... saying goodbye to them when my contract ended. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Lead Engineer (Former Employee), Peoria, ILNovember 7, 2014
Can balance work and life very well. Loved my job every day. Very friendly workplace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always staying busy
Warehouse Associate/Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Ontario, CANovember 7, 2014
Pros: driving forklift
Cons: food stores kinda far for lunch
Got to drive forklift all day pick items from racks, sort with ticket numbers, build pallets unload trucks...learned to drive reach lift. co workers were cool easy to get along with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Logistics Analyst (Former Employee), Denver, CONovember 4, 2014
Great pay,
Great benefits.
Great hours.
Great people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy, clean environment.
Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Lafayette, INNovember 4, 2014
Very clean facilities, friendly coworkers, management welcomes you right in. The worst part is not knowing how long the job is actually going to last.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Various IT Positions (Former Employee), Multiple LocationsNovember 4, 2014
Excellent Company, excellent opportunity and experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Logistics Team Leader (Current Employee), Wolverhampton, ENGNovember 4, 2014
Pros: excellent team
Cons: no cons
Lovely relaxed place for work,
Improved on the safety at work.
Learnt new management styles.
A good hardworking team.
Working around and with team caterpiller
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
Mechanical Engineer (Former Employee), SkinningroveNovember 1, 2014
Excellent place to work, only had a one year contract with them. They put me through courses and had high standards for health and safety.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retired from Caterpillar in East Peoria in 2005
Machine operator (Former Employee), East Peoria ILOctober 31, 2014
Pros: good pay, good benefits
Cons: worked second shift
I was a Machine Operator at Mossville and East Peoria IL,
and an Inspector on the gear line in Building KK in East Peoria Il when I retired.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management had very narrow experience of processes
Indirect Planner Facility Engineering (Former Employee), Athens, GAOctober 31, 2014
Pros: new clean plant
Cons: limited experience of managment.
New green field plant. Management wanted to repeat their processes from their previous location. This hindered new development of in state contracts. Great co-workers and work ethic. Need more variety of work experience to bring in more ideas, most employees had only worked for this one company since college.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with opportunities for advancement
Heat Treat Specialist (Former Employee), East Peoria, ILOctober 30, 2014
Pros: great pay and benefits
Cons: possibility of layoffs
I enjoyed my career at Caterpillar and only gave it up because we were relocating.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, high production company.
Section Manager (Former Employee), Winston-Salem, NCOctober 30, 2014
Typical day, hurry, hurry hurry.
hardest part of job, high demand.
Enjoyed family owned back then.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organized and good pay but not a security of work.
Quality Control Inspector (Former Employee), Aurora, ILOctober 29, 2014
Pros: free lunches at times, good team work.
Cons: they always want more form their workers.
Assembler
Follow detailed assembly instructions, processes and procedures
Comply with policies, guidelines and regulatory requirements per the Quality System
Completes all administrative functions relating to business or regulatory requirements
Report problems with quality, processes, equipment and materials to Production Supervisor
Provide hands on – more... job function training to coworkers as needed.

Quality Control Collect and analyze production samples to evaluate quality
Analyze quality control test results and provide feedback and interpretation to production management or staff
Stop production if serious product defects are present
Monitor performance of quality control systems to ensure effectiveness and efficiency
Communicate quality control information to all relevant organizational departments, outside vendors, or contractors
Instruct staff in quality control and analytical procedures
Produce reports regarding non conformance of products or processes, daily production quality, root cause analyses, or quality trends
Participate in the development of product specifications
Review statistical studies, technological advances, or regulatory standards and trends to stay abreast of issues in the field of quality control. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caterpillar has changed
Senior Manufacturing Engineer (Current Employee), Aurora, ILOctober 27, 2014
Pros: pay is ok
Cons: lack of leadership, uncertain job climate
Caterpillar has changed from a company that valued it's employees, to a company that is focused on exclusively on the bottom line. The atmosphere has changed from one of pride, excitement, collaboration and partnership where jobs are secure to a culture of indifference, conflicting priorities, lack of general direction and ongoing fear of being downsized.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alot of great people here
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee), Clayton, OHOctober 26, 2014
I enjoy my coach and fellow associate they are great people!!!
On the down side i see alot of people come and go and my job security is a big issue. I dont really see myself moving up in this job its people that have been here for years since it has opened and have watched others come in the door and take team lead positions and other high position – more... that in my opinion were not qualified and have no clue on how to do them
The pay is not how i visioned it. THUMBS DOWN

As stated the best part about my job is the people I work with the job is not a difficult job just some of the people in higher positions make it difficult at times. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quinn CAT Review
PC Support Specialist II (Current Employee), Industry, CAOctober 25, 2014
• Respond to daily "break/fix" incidents via phone/ticketing system
• Provide various reports to management
• Assist other team members with difficult inquiries
• Frequent travel to remote sites without local IT Staff
• Create/Maintain OS images for workstations and laptops
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best part of the job is the people I work with, the hardest is the daily commute.
6T84 Machine Repair Mechanic (Current Employee), Aurora, ILOctober 22, 2014
Pros: stable company
Cons: health care
A typical day includes diagnosing and repairing CNC machines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Currently Working here
Welder 1 (Current Employee), Sanford, NCOctober 22, 2014
Safety meeting in the morning, gather parts for the day. Start assembly asap
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work with a variety of work.
Experimental Diesel Mechanic (Current Employee), Washington, ILOctober 22, 2014
Pros: overtime
Cons: union, pay cap
Maintain a large group of machines. Work on machines that are several model years ahead of what the customer sees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Machine Operator/Assembler (Former Employee), Lafayette, INOctober 19, 2014
Pros: health benifits
Just love the work environment and the people I work with no one is really strict the managers just want the job done. My co-workers are really down to earth and make the work place enjoyable & safe I've learn that this job keeps the employees involve with earning awards and being more aware of the hard work we are doing for the company.

About Caterpillar

For more than 85 years, Caterpillar has been making sustainable progress possible — for our customers, for growing communities – Read more