Find companies:
Caterpillar
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
938 reviews

Caterpillar Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working enviroment
Machine Specialist II (Current Employee), Waco, TXSeptember 1, 2014
Pros: safe working enviroment
Cons: lack of communication
At work I want to make work as safe as possible. On a typical workday I would walk around checking crane check list to make sure my coworkers are working safely. Once I am finished with any task asked of me, I try and go help out others to make work easier on them & more enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Hydraulic Testing and Final Assembly (Former Employee), Peoria, ILSeptember 1, 2014
Pros: variety, management
Cons: could be dangerous if your not safety minded.
Caterpillar was a great place to work. It was also probably the hardest work I've done but I had such a variety of thing to do I was never bored. It was fun driving large machinery and learning so much about the tractors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive great workplace
Inventory Clerk (Former Employee), Peoria, ILSeptember 1, 2014
Great company fast pace i would recommend this company to everyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work life balance
Operations Manager Motor Graders (Current Employee), North Little Rock, ARAugust 31, 2014
Pros: compensation
Cons: work life balance
No work life balance and very driven to exceed goals year after year.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working at Caterpillar learned many different types of jobs.
H.R. Aid, Assembly and Inventory Specialist (Former Employee), Pontiac, ILAugust 29, 2014
Pros: enjoyed my work
Cons: twelve hour days
Found my jobs at Caterpillar very fulfilling and enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
?
? (Former Employee), East Peoria, ILAugust 28, 2014
Good training & business plans. Culture is declining....little to no recognition.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very proficient and disciplined
SAP MM E2R Consultant (Current Employee), Peoria, ILAugust 27, 2014
The management team is very efficient and team mates were very talented and hrrdworking .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caterpillar treats its employees with respect and honesty
Production Support Specialist (Former Employee), Seguin, TXAugust 22, 2014
Pros: monthly bonus and having at least 40 hours of work every week.
Days are typically they are only 8 hours.
I learned the importance to comply with safety and the importance to do a quality job.
Leading small groups of people for big or small projects was often required.
Having a good relation with co-workers make a better environment.
The hardest part of the job was to find missing engine parts in the warehouse racks – more... that contained thousands of different parts.
Finding missing parts and knowing that i did my best everyday was the best and most enjoyable part of my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CAT
Executive Assistant (Former Employee), CPPD TrailerAugust 22, 2014
Pros: the working relationships
Cons: the lay offs
I loved my job at CAT. Supervision was awesome! They took time to guide you and to help you get settled in but yet, you were trusted enough to get there and do your job and there was no micro-management and I loved that. It enabled me to make the job my own and to have the freedom to be creative and to make the position even better than it was before. – more... The engineers were great and when there were deadlines to meet, we all worked together as a TEAM and got it done. I absolutely loved that job and the people that I worked with. The most enjoyable part of the job were the CPPD meetings every week and the engineers. I loved working with them and seeing all the different personalities but to also see them all come together at crunch time and get it done!! AWESOME!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caterpillar is perfect for lazy people!
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee), Pontiac, ILAugust 22, 2014
Pros: get to be lazy
Cons: everything else
I've worked for Caterpillar as well as a contractor for Caterpillar. I have never seen such lazy people in my life. A typical work day for a CAT employee is clock in, go to your work area, then just sit and stare at your cell phone for 8 hours. And I get so sick of CAT employees treated like they are better than everyone else. If there is an altercation – more... between a CAT employee and a contractor, rest assured that even if the contractor is clearly right, he will always be the one reprimanded because CAT employees are spoiled people who get paid way too much to sit at their desk all day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a wonderful place to work in my opinion
Production Technician (Former Employee), Seguin, TXAugust 20, 2014
even though i didnt work there very long it has been my favorite place to work. i wish i could have stayed longer or transfered to my home state.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Atmosphere
WAREHOUSE ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Sanford, NCAugust 18, 2014
This was a great place to work. Very laid back and safety oriented.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Global Company
Corporate Human Resources & Employee Relations (Current Employee), Peoria, ilAugust 18, 2014
Pros: diverse products
Cons: long horus
Global company that allows facilities to run autonomously which can be good with the right management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
operator
Operator/Machinist (Former Employee), East Peoria, ILAugust 15, 2014
A very good job and company is very good. Had good benefits and the supervisors were good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship
Internship (Former Employee), York, PAAugust 13, 2014
Great company, excellent resume builder. Provided me with the tools to work in manufacturing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with really good poeple
Logistic Planning Engineering (Current Employee), Winston Salem, NCAugust 12, 2014
Pros: advancement opportunity
Cons: steel toe boots required
Responsible for supporting customers using machinery in infrastructure and building construction applications. Responsibilities include business strategy, product design, product management and development, manufacturing, marketing, and sales and product support. The product portfolio includes backhoe loaders, small wheel loaders, small track-type tractors, – more... skid steer loaders, multi-terrain loaders, mini excavators, compact wheel loaders, select work tools, small, medium and large track excavators, wheel excavators, medium wheel loaders, medium track-type tractors, track-type loaders, motor graders, telehandlers, pipelayers and related parts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Assembly Line Technician (Former Employee), Clayton, NCAugust 11, 2014
Pros: making production quota.
Cons: having to go down hill to get tractors.
My typical day at CAT consisted on making product quota. I learned how to sand a tractor and the production quota changed daily. Management was good and helped out when needed. My co-workers were always ready to lend a helping hand if someone got backed up in their bay. The hardest part of this job was making sure that none of the tractors had defects. – more... The enjoyable part of this job was the group meetings before your shift started. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Salesforce Developer/ Administrator (Current Employee), Peoria, ILAugust 7, 2014
My favorite thing about this job was meeting with my staff. It was a group of very young and creative people. I liked to support my team and helped to solve problems
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caterpillar
Welder (Former Employee), Aurora, ILAugust 6, 2014
Was given a lot of experience of welding and repairing equipment, but no room to improve I felt like.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CAT Review
Production Technician (Former Employee), Clayton, NCAugust 5, 2014
I really enjoyed working at Caterpillar. My coworkers and managers were really nice and cared about their employees.

About Caterpillar

For more than 85 years, Caterpillar has been making sustainable progress possible — for our customers, for growing communities – Read more