Find companies:
Caterpillar
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
937 reviews

Caterpillar Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work
Senior Project Manager (Current Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 5, 2014
I work in Canadian CAT business unit. It is a fast pace environment and rewarding work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and professional
Intern (Former Employee), LavalJune 26, 2013
everybody is very professional.
i learned a lot during my internship there about
C and C++
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caterpillar is a very profesional company and possibly the best working expierience so far. Skills development programs also outstanding.
Project TM Fleet Manager (Current Employee), Mali, West Africa. Manutention Africaine Mali.February 19, 2013
Pros: cat develop and look after his employees like family.
Cons: language barrier, english to french.
My day started at 05H00 in the morning to catch the previous shift for information to be carried over to the next shifts, I spent 40% of my time between employees. This a very effective way for encouraging performance and best practice. My co-workers attitude towards commitment to succes is the most enjoyable, the hardest part is when people you rely – more... on do not participate in full. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caterpillar is a very profesional company and possibly the best working expierience so far. Skills development programs also outstanding.
Project TM Fleet Manager (Current Employee), Mali, West Africa. Manutention Africaine Mali.February 19, 2013
Pros: cat develop and look after his employees like family.
Cons: language barrier, english to french.
My day started at 05H00 in the morning to catch the previous shift for information to be carried over to the next shifts, I spent 40% of my time between employees. This a very effective way for encouraging performance and best practice. My co-workers attitude towards commitment to succes is the most enjoyable, the hardest part is when people you rely – more... on do not participate in full. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engineering staff
Technology Solution representative (Current Employee), MoscowOctober 17, 2012
My main responsibility is to provide the newest technology in order to help our machines work with more capacity and capability. I increase dealer awareness of our systems AccuGrade and Product Link. The first is a special piece of equipment which mounts on machines: it’s a radio in the cab, two GPS/Glonass receivers on the edge of the front blade, – more... a colored monitor in the cab, cables and a remote base station. The AccuGrade system is intended for very precise accuracy when leveling the earth or gravel. The machine and the base station receive the signal from Glonass satellites, calculate the position and send the data via a wireless network to the computer in the cab. The operator can manipulate the blade with millimeters accuracy. The second piece of equipment, Product Link, is a remote control system for monitoring the condition and position of the machines and combine two technology the GPS and the telematics. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
every day has a new to learn
Engineering project team leader (Former Employee), Caterpillar R & D center in ChinaAugust 31, 2012
Pros: good culture and value, practical training, team work
Cons: low work efficency, too many meetings
Discussed and reviewed new product performance data with product design team and initiated validation plan (manpower,tool and schedule) to ensure new product development;
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work for anyone looking for tight challenges in a global conglomerate
Company Representative - Africa (Current Employee), JohannesburgSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: independence
Cons: travel, locally, on continent and overseas. just too much
Independent and at the same time part of a coherent team

My time management has definitely improved since I joined the company-I observe deadlines much better

Management is very good, supportive and willing to listen

CO-workers can be oldfashioned with old ideas but stil fun if you can handle it

Travel, plent travel

Achievement of sales targets
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and good
Design Engineer (Current Employee), Chennai, TNSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: flexible timings.
Cons: nothing much
nice to work in such a company,

very health work atmosphere, less pressured environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a learning experience
Switchgear Technician (Current Employee), Alpharetta, GASeptember 18, 2014
delivery of packages daily and turn around and do your daily pick ups
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Storeman (Former Employee), Beresfield, NSWSeptember 15, 2014
I was employed over the stocktake period of 4 weeks, but it was a great friendly place too work at
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very structured professional environment
CSA Supervisor (Former Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 12, 2014
Pros: incentive programs
Cons: cutbacks have caused larger workloads
CAT is the leader in its industry. This is a large company with plenty of room for advancement. Salary is compensated depending on experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terminated wrongfully
press operator (Former Employee), Boonville, MOSeptember 11, 2014
terminated and could not even show proof it was wrong. I still have the proof. Said I commented on FB about coworker. I was sent home and waited three weeks. Told them i would log on and show them this was another person i was talking about,...but they wouldn't even look at it. I printed off a screen shot for proof showing it was another person,...they – more... even responded to me. Didn't help. I was terminated for workplace harassment. Nice way to treat employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Section Manager (Former Employee), BEssemer, AL Laredo Texas and Griffin, GASeptember 10, 2014
Pros: their values, mission and culture
Caterpillar was a great company to work for. Workplace, policies and procedures were stable and in place. work life balance was a plus. Compensation was great along with opportunity for advancement. Stable compnay and job security was never a threat.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
teamwork
Anchor Coupling (Current Employee), Dixon, ILSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: teamwork
Cons: closing
i work with a lot of good people my crew all work together. management need improvement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unstable work laid offs all the time
Assembler (Former Employee), Aurora, ILSeptember 5, 2014
Pros: benefits, good pay
Cons: management and laid offs
Great place to work for but unstable there are always some type of layoffs. Great training programs and safety programs. Good and horrible supervisors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and easy going
Material Handler (Former Employee), Brooklyn Park, MNSeptember 4, 2014
check the work centers to see if they needed any parts
I learned how to drive a tug for the first time
management was ok
my co-workers was ok and fun to work with.
the hardest part of the job was when parts didn't come in on time and especially when the parts was needed right there and then
what i enjoyed the most was the riding around in the tug and – more... dropping off parts and also enjoyed working with my co-workers, we had great communication. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mechanical work
assemly worker (Former Employee), ENGSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: long hours, strict deadlines
I liked it as I was working with my hands and I liked the mechanical side of it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and meet a variety of people.
Logistics Analyst (Current Employee), Waco, TXSeptember 3, 2014
I loved working at Seaworld. You get to make children's days your entire career. It was a good experience in sales and customer service as we were constantly handling any ticket issues that arose. I gained some experience in using my Spanish knowledge from High School to help translate for people who did not speak English. My co-workers were very fun – more... and came to work with a great attitude, making it a wonderful place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Ole Boy System
Mazak Operator (Former Employee), Morganton, NCSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: they feed you
Cons: if your not bright ( as in color) your not right
If your not one of the Boys its not for you!!!!! If your not from around there then you not fit it. No Chance of advancement if your not the TEACHER'S PET ;(.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working enviroment
Machine Specialist II (Current Employee), Waco, TXSeptember 1, 2014
Pros: safe working enviroment
Cons: lack of communication
At work I want to make work as safe as possible. On a typical workday I would walk around checking crane check list to make sure my coworkers are working safely. Once I am finished with any task asked of me, I try and go help out others to make work easier on them & more enjoyable.

1 2 3 4 5

About Caterpillar

For more than 85 years, Caterpillar has been making sustainable progress possible — for our customers, for growing communities – Read more