Caterpillar

Caterpillar Employee Reviews

Found 17 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, with an awesome team
Warehouse associate (Former Employee) –  Victoria, TxFebruary 5, 2016
a typical day at work was good, it started out with a team meeting in the morning and then we went to our respective areas to work. i learned that teamwork and safety is an invaluable asset to any job, regardless of where it might be. In my own personal opinion Management left quite a bit to be desired, they changed policies frequently and without notice (that seemed like every 2 weeks), there were times that it felt like there was no room for advancement opportunities; it honestly felt like supervisors as well as management didn't really pay any attention to how well employees did their jobs or how well/hard they worked. The hardest part of the job itself was making sure every part got to their assigned areas in the right amount of time. The most enjoyable part of the job, was my team; i loved working with them, we had excellent camaraderie, we all helped each other no matter what the task was.
Pros
benefits are amazing, awesome schedule, potentially good teams
Cons
management, pay could be better, frequent policy changes
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Value based company, Productive & very committed
Project Lead (Former Employee) –  Victoria, TXMarch 21, 2016
Excellent environment to begin your career, experts everywhere.
Opportunities given to passionate employees and rewarded for every piece of positive attitude. Feeling proud I was in history of Caterpillar's Growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company for experience.
Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Athens, ONMarch 8, 2016
Caterpillar is a great company to work for. But it has been said losing employees is a manager condition, not the company itself. Reasonable pay for reasonable work. Good leadership with those in charge, but favoritism is a big issue here. This is on the managers not the company itself.
Pros
Good atmosphere. Has a cafeteria with an outside contracted group who cook breakfast and lunch.
Cons
Time limitations on applying for other jobs. Employee favoritism.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
large organization full of professionals from around the world
Oracle DBA (Current Employee) –  Peoria, ILMarch 29, 2016
Best organization in terms of size, technologies, IT team structure and a place to keep learning and working on new projects...
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse and Inclusive environment, fun place to work at with table tennis at break times
Office Administrator (Former Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ONNovember 8, 2013
Strong Safety awareness for all employees, team oriented and always trying to keep staff motivated and content to be at work by great incentives, continuous learning for all employees, great benefits and vacation time off. You felt like you were working with your family, everyone was very nice to work with. The hard part of the job is hoping we had a job due to the mining economy in the past years
Pros
great incentives
Cons
bad road to drive on
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and creative, friendly environment
Senoir Programmer/Architect (Former Employee) –  Montreal, QCJuly 15, 2015
A great place go work, everything well planned.
Staffs are kind and friendly, very happy to work together.
Working is busy, no much spare time to learn new things.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good enviroment, satable ,
Senior Product Support Engineer (Former Employee) –  UAENovember 21, 2014
i love to work with this co.
my daily is active
i learned a lot a bout the heavy equipments, communications, personal skills, management skills.
the work is enjoyable, and stable.
the hardest part of the job is recording system.
and the most enjoyable parts that every thing related to the job or any clarification required, you can get it through cat systems,
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engineering staff
Technology Solution representative (Current Employee) –  MoscowOctober 17, 2012
My main responsibility is to provide the newest technology in order to help our machines work with more capacity and capability. I increase dealer awareness of our systems AccuGrade and Product Link. The first is a special piece of equipment which mounts on machines: it’s a radio in the cab, two GPS/Glonass receivers on the edge of the front blade, a colored monitor in the cab, cables and a remote base station. The AccuGrade system is intended for very precise accuracy when leveling the earth or gravel. The machine and the base station receive the signal from Glonass satellites, calculate the position and send the data via a wireless network to the computer in the cab. The operator can manipulate the blade with millimeters accuracy. The second piece of equipment, Product Link, is a remote control system for monitoring the condition and position of the machines and combine two technology the GPS and the telematics.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secured Job Environment
Business Engagement Lead (Current Employee) –  Peoria ILMay 24, 2015
Lead Business Engagement with accountability to own the Customer Problem Statement.

Be the facilitator between cross functional work streams and Customers

Have gained good exposure across Engines, Machines, Mining Equipments
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caterpillar is a very profesional company and possibly the best working expierience so far. Skills development programs also outstanding.
Project TM Fleet Manager (Current Employee) –  Mali, West Africa. Manutention Africaine Mali.February 19, 2013
My day started at 05H00 in the morning to catch the previous shift for information to be carried over to the next shifts, I spent 40% of my time between employees. This a very effective way for encouraging performance and best practice. My co-workers attitude towards commitment to succes is the most enjoyable, the hardest part is when people you rely on do not participate in full.
Pros
cat develop and look after his employees like family.
Cons
language barrier, english to french.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
every day has a new to learn
Engineering project team leader (Former Employee) –  Caterpillar R & D center in ChinaAugust 31, 2012
Discussed and reviewed new product performance data with product design team and initiated validation plan (manpower,tool and schedule) to ensure new product development;
Pros
good culture and value, practical training, team work
Cons
low work efficency, too many meetings
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great crew
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Williams Lake, BCOctober 16, 2014
good environment learn new techniques management was awesome co-workers are great
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
wetdays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work
Senior Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONSeptember 5, 2014
I work in Canadian CAT business unit. It is a fast pace environment and rewarding work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and professional
Intern (Former Employee) –  LavalJune 26, 2013
everybody is very professional.
i learned a lot during my internship there about
C and C++
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caterpillar est une très bonne compagnie
Développeur logiciel (Former Employee) –  Laval, QCSeptember 28, 2016
Mon expérience chez Caterpillar a été très bonne. Mes supérieurs et mes collègues de travail étaient très sympathique et professionnels. L’environnement de travail, le salaire et l'équilibre travail famille sont des très bon points pour cette compagnie.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent student job
Factory worker (Former Employee) –  Gosselies, BeliqueJanuary 27, 2014
Pour un job d'étudiant, c'est excellent. On a facile à s'intégrer et le travail est diversifié. Le management est présent mais pas oppressant.
Pros
salaire très compétitif
Cons
expérience non répétable, condition de n'effectuer qu'une seule fois un job étudiant à vie
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environnement de travail agréable
Peintre industriel (Former Employee) –  Gosselies, BEMay 23, 2014
très bonne entreprise
avec possibilité de carrière
avantage sociaux très appréciable
équipe de travail très soudée

l'inconvénient étant l'horaire 2/10
Pros
ticket repas
Cons
horaire 2-10
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

See more Caterpillar reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 1,947 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7