Find companies:
Caterpillar
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
770 reviews

Caterpillar Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Place To Work With
MECHANIC/SERVICE SUPERVISOR/SERIVE CO ORDINATOR (Former Employee), Abu Dhabi,UAEJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: free transport
Cons: long travellings
Excellent And Very Well Organized Company. I Enjoyed Working With Them
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse and Inclusive environment, fun place to work at with table tennis at break times
Office Administrator (Former Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONNovember 8, 2013
Pros: great incentives
Cons: bad road to drive on
Strong Safety awareness for all employees, team oriented and always trying to keep staff motivated and content to be at work by great incentives, continuous learning for all employees, great benefits and vacation time off. You felt like you were working with your family, everyone was very nice to work with. The hard part of the job is hoping we had – more... a job due to the mining economy in the past years – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and professional
Intern (Former Employee), LavalJune 26, 2013
everybody is very professional.
i learned a lot during my internship there about
C and C++
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caterpillar is a very profesional company and possibly the best working expierience so far. Skills development programs also outstanding.
Project TM Fleet Manager (Current Employee), Mali, West Africa. Manutention Africaine Mali.February 19, 2013
Pros: cat develop and look after his employees like family.
Cons: language barrier, english to french.
My day started at 05H00 in the morning to catch the previous shift for information to be carried over to the next shifts, I spent 40% of my time between employees. This a very effective way for encouraging performance and best practice. My co-workers attitude towards commitment to succes is the most enjoyable, the hardest part is when people you rely – more... on do not participate in full. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caterpillar is a very profesional company and possibly the best working expierience so far. Skills development programs also outstanding.
Project TM Fleet Manager (Current Employee), Mali, West Africa. Manutention Africaine Mali.February 19, 2013
Pros: cat develop and look after his employees like family.
Cons: language barrier, english to french.
My day started at 05H00 in the morning to catch the previous shift for information to be carried over to the next shifts, I spent 40% of my time between employees. This a very effective way for encouraging performance and best practice. My co-workers attitude towards commitment to succes is the most enjoyable, the hardest part is when people you rely – more... on do not participate in full. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engineering staff
Technology Solution representative (Current Employee), MoscowOctober 17, 2012
My main responsibility is to provide the newest technology in order to help our machines work with more capacity and capability. I increase dealer awareness of our systems AccuGrade and Product Link. The first is a special piece of equipment which mounts on machines: it’s a radio in the cab, two GPS/Glonass receivers on the edge of the front blade, – more... a colored monitor in the cab, cables and a remote base station. The AccuGrade system is intended for very precise accuracy when leveling the earth or gravel. The machine and the base station receive the signal from Glonass satellites, calculate the position and send the data via a wireless network to the computer in the cab. The operator can manipulate the blade with millimeters accuracy. The second piece of equipment, Product Link, is a remote control system for monitoring the condition and position of the machines and combine two technology the GPS and the telematics. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
every day has a new to learn
Engineering project team leader (Former Employee), Caterpillar R & D center in ChinaAugust 31, 2012
Pros: good culture and value, practical training, team work
Cons: low work efficency, too many meetings
Discussed and reviewed new product performance data with product design team and initiated validation plan (manpower,tool and schedule) to ensure new product development;
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was not the best
soft tip line (Former Employee), Thomasville, GAApril 16, 2014
worked any where from 8 to 16 hours straight, built parts for a fuel injections, and fuel pumps all day long, worked on a assembly line some times as well
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job was excellent
Inspector/ Inventory Control (Current Employee), Southaven,msApril 16, 2014
Pros: easy workflow
Cons: insurance
I learned alot from Cat logigistics, I moved up quickly from a warehouse associate to a quality inspector. The hardest part of my job was Not setting goals that would be hard to reach instead of pushing to the limit on goals. The easiest part of my job was setting goals that would be easily met.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job was excellent
Inspector/ Inventory Control (Current Employee), Southaven,msApril 16, 2014
Pros: easy workflow
Cons: insurance
I learned alot from Cat logigistics, I moved up quickly from a warehouse associate to a quality inspector. The hardest part of my job was Not setting goals that would be hard to reach instead of pushing to the limit on goals. The easiest part of my job was setting goals that would be easily met.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office Assistant
Receptionist and Inventory manager (Former Employee), Waco, TxApril 15, 2014
I sorted paperwork and managed inventory. I learned customer service and great inventory managing skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You work a lot of overtime and long hours.
Machinist (Former Employee), Pendergrass, GAApril 15, 2014
Pros: it has a large break room, good benefits.
Cons: long hours and days
Can be heavy work, you can bid to move to other areas and shifts. Very noisy at times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warehouse work
Material Specialist (Former Employee), Morton, ILApril 14, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: dirty
Caterpillar is a good place to work to earn money. Caterpillar is not like it was 25 years ago, the people worked hard and were paid for it. Now to get anywhere in the company you need college degrees, which was my fault not having, not anyone eles's.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Coordinator (Former Employee), Nashville, TNApril 13, 2014
Pros: free lunch
this company gives you room to advance within the company. I learned that hard work does not go unnoticed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Internship Program
Corporate Engineering Intern (Former Employee), East Peoria, ILApril 11, 2014
Pros: management, people, exciting work
Great internship opportunity. Typical workweek was 40 hours a week. My supervisor allowed us to come in anytime between 6:30 and 8:30 and you would leave when you completed your 8 hours. Very flexible and focused on providing you with a successful internship. At my midterm review I was given a chance to have some input on what I wanted to accomplish – more... in the second half of the internship. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardest job you will ever do
Core Make Specialist (Former Employee), Mapleton, ILApril 9, 2014
Pros: excellent pay
Cons: the heat
Mapleton Is the foundry end of Caterpillar as you might expect it was Hot and dirty year round. I would say it was a very rewarding place to work, it was hard and heavy work, but the bosses were understanding to the employees plight and worked very closely with us.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting product to manufacture due to size and complexity
Manufacturing Project Engineer (Former Employee), Aurora, ILApril 8, 2014
Pros: pay and benefits
Cons: job security, advancement, culture
This is not the company it was ten years ago. Good place to start out, but do not stay. Most promotions go to special program employees. Employees not in the programs are leaving to find jobs with upward mobility. Poor job security.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self-motivated position with minimal supervision
Warehouse Assistant/Tool Presetter/Integrated (Current Employee), Joliet, ILApril 7, 2014
Pros: great benefits, pay is ok
Cons: hard to make plans on the weekend in your personal life.
Run an hourly worn tool report, pull worn tools off Mazak machines, refurbish tools, drop tool back off at the Mazak machine. You have to be organized, pay attention to detail, prioritize work load, problem solve and be able to multi-task throughout your shift. With getting training on how to build the tools, I also learned what the tools do in the – more... machines to each part that machine is running. My co-workers are easy to get along with. The hardest part is having patience and understand that everyone does not work at the same pace. I enjoy working by myself because I can organize my shift and routines to my liking. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Listen to your union brothers
Assembly & Test Specialist (Former Employee), Joliet, ILApril 7, 2014
Pros: union protection, easy work
Cons: no recognition for extra work
Play nice during your trial until you become union. After you are protected, don't put in the effort thinking it will get you someplace. The company doesn't care how hard you work. Your direct manager may like you more if you work hard, but he has no say in how long you keep your job. Show up on time and be in your area and you have a job until they – more... decide it's time for a lay-off. HR is not your friend once you make the union. It's like they can't wait to get rid of you. The pay is decent compared to others, especially considering how easy the work is. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i enjoy working there.
Electrical Assembler (Current Employee), Dublin, VAApril 6, 2014
Pros: a supervisor doesnt have to stand over me the whole day
Cons: facility is shutting down in july
Even though my facility will be shutting down in July ive enjoyed the twenty years that ive been there. I have learned a lot throughout the years. I just want to find a job and provide for my family.

1 2 3 4 5

About Caterpillar

For more than 85 years, Caterpillar has been making sustainable progress possible — for our customers, for growing communities – Read more