Find companies:
Caterpillar
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
974 reviews

Caterpillar Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great crew
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee), Williams Lake, BCOctober 16, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: wetdays
good environment learn new techniques management was awesome co-workers are great
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work
Senior Project Manager (Current Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 5, 2014
I work in Canadian CAT business unit. It is a fast pace environment and rewarding work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse and Inclusive environment, fun place to work at with table tennis at break times
Office Administrator (Former Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONNovember 8, 2013
Pros: great incentives
Cons: bad road to drive on
Strong Safety awareness for all employees, team oriented and always trying to keep staff motivated and content to be at work by great incentives, continuous learning for all employees, great benefits and vacation time off. You felt like you were working with your family, everyone was very nice to work with. The hard part of the job is hoping we had – more... a job due to the mining economy in the past years – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and professional
Intern (Former Employee), LavalJune 26, 2013
everybody is very professional.
i learned a lot during my internship there about
C and C++
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caterpillar is a very profesional company and possibly the best working expierience so far. Skills development programs also outstanding.
Project TM Fleet Manager (Current Employee), Mali, West Africa. Manutention Africaine Mali.February 19, 2013
Pros: cat develop and look after his employees like family.
Cons: language barrier, english to french.
My day started at 05H00 in the morning to catch the previous shift for information to be carried over to the next shifts, I spent 40% of my time between employees. This a very effective way for encouraging performance and best practice. My co-workers attitude towards commitment to succes is the most enjoyable, the hardest part is when people you rely – more... on do not participate in full. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caterpillar is a very profesional company and possibly the best working expierience so far. Skills development programs also outstanding.
Project TM Fleet Manager (Current Employee), Mali, West Africa. Manutention Africaine Mali.February 19, 2013
Pros: cat develop and look after his employees like family.
Cons: language barrier, english to french.
My day started at 05H00 in the morning to catch the previous shift for information to be carried over to the next shifts, I spent 40% of my time between employees. This a very effective way for encouraging performance and best practice. My co-workers attitude towards commitment to succes is the most enjoyable, the hardest part is when people you rely – more... on do not participate in full. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engineering staff
Technology Solution representative (Current Employee), MoscowOctober 17, 2012
My main responsibility is to provide the newest technology in order to help our machines work with more capacity and capability. I increase dealer awareness of our systems AccuGrade and Product Link. The first is a special piece of equipment which mounts on machines: it’s a radio in the cab, two GPS/Glonass receivers on the edge of the front blade, – more... a colored monitor in the cab, cables and a remote base station. The AccuGrade system is intended for very precise accuracy when leveling the earth or gravel. The machine and the base station receive the signal from Glonass satellites, calculate the position and send the data via a wireless network to the computer in the cab. The operator can manipulate the blade with millimeters accuracy. The second piece of equipment, Product Link, is a remote control system for monitoring the condition and position of the machines and combine two technology the GPS and the telematics. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
every day has a new to learn
Engineering project team leader (Former Employee), Caterpillar R & D center in ChinaAugust 31, 2012
Pros: good culture and value, practical training, team work
Cons: low work efficency, too many meetings
Discussed and reviewed new product performance data with product design team and initiated validation plan (manpower,tool and schedule) to ensure new product development;
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caterpillar has changed
Senior Manufacturing Engineer (Current Employee), Aurora, ILOctober 27, 2014
Pros: pay is ok
Cons: lack of leadership, uncertain job climate
Caterpillar has changed from a company that valued it's employees, to a company that is focused on exclusively on the bottom line. The atmosphere has changed from one of pride, excitement, collaboration and partnership where jobs are secure to a culture of indifference, conflicting priorities, lack of general direction and ongoing fear of being downsized.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alot of great people here
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee), Clayton, OHOctober 26, 2014
I enjoy my coach and fellow associate they are great people!!!
On the down side i see alot of people come and go and my job security is a big issue. I dont really see myself moving up in this job its people that have been here for years since it has opened and have watched others come in the door and take team lead positions and other high position – more... that in my opinion were not qualified and have no clue on how to do them
The pay is not how i visioned it. THUMBS DOWN

As stated the best part about my job is the people I work with the job is not a difficult job just some of the people in higher positions make it difficult at times. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quinn CAT Review
PC Support Specialist II (Current Employee), Industry, CAOctober 25, 2014
• Respond to daily "break/fix" incidents via phone/ticketing system
• Provide various reports to management
• Assist other team members with difficult inquiries
• Frequent travel to remote sites without local IT Staff
• Create/Maintain OS images for workstations and laptops
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best part of the job is the people I work with, the hardest is the daily commute.
6T84 Machine Repair Mechanic (Current Employee), Aurora, ILOctober 22, 2014
Pros: stable company
Cons: health care
A typical day includes diagnosing and repairing CNC machines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Currently Working here
Welder 1 (Current Employee), Sanford, NCOctober 22, 2014
Safety meeting in the morning, gather parts for the day. Start assembly asap
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work with a variety of work.
Experimental Diesel Mechanic (Current Employee), Washington, ILOctober 22, 2014
Pros: overtime
Cons: union, pay cap
Maintain a large group of machines. Work on machines that are several model years ahead of what the customer sees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Machine Operator/Assembler (Former Employee), Lafayette, INOctober 19, 2014
Pros: health benifits
Just love the work environment and the people I work with no one is really strict the managers just want the job done. My co-workers are really down to earth and make the work place enjoyable & safe I've learn that this job keeps the employees involve with earning awards and being more aware of the hard work we are doing for the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caterpillar
Tool Room Supervisor (Former Employee), Joliet, IlOctober 19, 2014
Pros: pay, vacation, hours
Cons: unstable, cat is looking to move out of illinios
I have worked for Cat for 20 years and it has become a unstable work environment. The future of the facility I work at is uncertain and I can tell it is time to move on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
Engine Assembly Technician (Former Employee), Fountain Inn, SCOctober 17, 2014
I had enjoyed working there. I loved being on the assembly line constructing engines and learning more about them. I would work there again if I could.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
being a temp may be all you get
EMPIRE OPERATOR SPERION (Former Employee), Toccoa, Ga 30577October 15, 2014
When you go to work at Caterpillar many people came in thinking that within 90 days they would be hired on. Not in this facility. They rarely do any permanent hiring so working thru the temp agency is a normal process with them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work, good 401K benefits
production technician (Former Employee), Seguin TexasOctober 14, 2014
fast pace
good people to work with
Hardest Part is getting used to the computer blueprints
and the most enjoyable part is when you finish a complete engine
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
System Analyst (Former Employee), Schaumburg, ILOctober 14, 2014
• Supported Windows Server 2008 R2, work with Active Directory to set user permissions, add/deletes Group Users & Account.
• Supported all VM Wares and Citrix XenServer Virtualized Environments.
• Supported all Cisco IP Telephones 794X, 796X, 797X
• Troubleshoot different types of Applications (Microsoft Word, Power Point, Excel, Lotus Notes, IBM, and – more... Citrix, VPN Access)
• Help Desk /average handle over 25 call a day
• Create tickets in Remedy database system.
• Windows System Administrator.
• Cisco Any Connect, Adobe Professional, Standard and Reader
• Lotus Notes Configuration and Troubleshooting Remote Desktop Services, logmein123
• Basic-to-intermediate PC software and/or hardware systems support via telephone or e-mail in accordance with service level requirements.
• Developed Microsoft Access databases for departmental & company wide use to improve customer service, and provide rate team and accounting with quicker access to rate information. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Caterpillar

For more than 85 years, Caterpillar has been making sustainable progress possible — for our customers, for growing communities – Read more