Find companies:
Caterpillar
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
908 reviews

Caterpillar Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse and Inclusive environment, fun place to work at with table tennis at break times
Office Administrator (Former Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONNovember 8, 2013
Pros: great incentives
Cons: bad road to drive on
Strong Safety awareness for all employees, team oriented and always trying to keep staff motivated and content to be at work by great incentives, continuous learning for all employees, great benefits and vacation time off. You felt like you were working with your family, everyone was very nice to work with. The hard part of the job is hoping we had – more... a job due to the mining economy in the past years – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and professional
Intern (Former Employee), LavalJune 26, 2013
everybody is very professional.
i learned a lot during my internship there about
C and C++
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caterpillar is a very profesional company and possibly the best working expierience so far. Skills development programs also outstanding.
Project TM Fleet Manager (Current Employee), Mali, West Africa. Manutention Africaine Mali.February 19, 2013
Pros: cat develop and look after his employees like family.
Cons: language barrier, english to french.
My day started at 05H00 in the morning to catch the previous shift for information to be carried over to the next shifts, I spent 40% of my time between employees. This a very effective way for encouraging performance and best practice. My co-workers attitude towards commitment to succes is the most enjoyable, the hardest part is when people you rely – more... on do not participate in full. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caterpillar is a very profesional company and possibly the best working expierience so far. Skills development programs also outstanding.
Project TM Fleet Manager (Current Employee), Mali, West Africa. Manutention Africaine Mali.February 19, 2013
Pros: cat develop and look after his employees like family.
Cons: language barrier, english to french.
My day started at 05H00 in the morning to catch the previous shift for information to be carried over to the next shifts, I spent 40% of my time between employees. This a very effective way for encouraging performance and best practice. My co-workers attitude towards commitment to succes is the most enjoyable, the hardest part is when people you rely – more... on do not participate in full. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engineering staff
Technology Solution representative (Current Employee), MoscowOctober 17, 2012
My main responsibility is to provide the newest technology in order to help our machines work with more capacity and capability. I increase dealer awareness of our systems AccuGrade and Product Link. The first is a special piece of equipment which mounts on machines: it’s a radio in the cab, two GPS/Glonass receivers on the edge of the front blade, – more... a colored monitor in the cab, cables and a remote base station. The AccuGrade system is intended for very precise accuracy when leveling the earth or gravel. The machine and the base station receive the signal from Glonass satellites, calculate the position and send the data via a wireless network to the computer in the cab. The operator can manipulate the blade with millimeters accuracy. The second piece of equipment, Product Link, is a remote control system for monitoring the condition and position of the machines and combine two technology the GPS and the telematics. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Atmosphere
WAREHOUSE ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Sanford, NCAugust 18, 2014
This was a great place to work. Very laid back and safety oriented.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Global Company
Corporate Human Resources & Employee Relations (Current Employee), Peoria, ilAugust 18, 2014
Pros: diverse products
Cons: long horus
Global company that allows facilities to run autonomously which can be good with the right management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
operator
Operator/Machinist (Former Employee), East Peoria, ILAugust 15, 2014
A very good job and company is very good. Had good benefits and the supervisors were good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship
Internship (Former Employee), York, PAAugust 13, 2014
Great company, excellent resume builder. Provided me with the tools to work in manufacturing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with really good poeple
Logistic Planning Engineering (Current Employee), Winston Salem, NCAugust 12, 2014
Pros: advancement opportunity
Cons: steel toe boots required
Responsible for supporting customers using machinery in infrastructure and building construction applications. Responsibilities include business strategy, product design, product management and development, manufacturing, marketing, and sales and product support. The product portfolio includes backhoe loaders, small wheel loaders, small track-type tractors, – more... skid steer loaders, multi-terrain loaders, mini excavators, compact wheel loaders, select work tools, small, medium and large track excavators, wheel excavators, medium wheel loaders, medium track-type tractors, track-type loaders, motor graders, telehandlers, pipelayers and related parts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Assembly Line Technician (Former Employee), Clayton, NCAugust 11, 2014
Pros: making production quota.
Cons: having to go down hill to get tractors.
My typical day at CAT consisted on making product quota. I learned how to sand a tractor and the production quota changed daily. Management was good and helped out when needed. My co-workers were always ready to lend a helping hand if someone got backed up in their bay. The hardest part of this job was making sure that none of the tractors had defects. – more... The enjoyable part of this job was the group meetings before your shift started. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Salesforce Developer/ Administrator (Current Employee), Peoria, ILAugust 7, 2014
My favorite thing about this job was meeting with my staff. It was a group of very young and creative people. I liked to support my team and helped to solve problems
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caterpillar
Welder (Former Employee), Aurora, ILAugust 6, 2014
Was given a lot of experience of welding and repairing equipment, but no room to improve I felt like.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CAT Review
Production Technician (Former Employee), Clayton, NCAugust 5, 2014
I really enjoyed working at Caterpillar. My coworkers and managers were really nice and cared about their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company has changed a great deal and not necessarily for the good of the employee.
Research Analyst (Current Employee), Mossville, ILAugust 5, 2014
My typical work day varied as I held many positions during my tenure with the company.

I learned so many things while working at Caterpillar that I will be able to use in the future. I travelled overseas, learned about other cultures, developed excellent skills and personal development opportunities were abundant.

The management was not always the – more... most organized but they did trust me to get the job done and we achieved many successes. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with diverse cultures and the travel opportunities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always busy!
Personnel (Former Employee), Joliet, ILAugust 4, 2014
This job gave me a lot to keep me busy. There was always something to do or to improve. I was very productive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
welder
Welder/Fabricator (Former Employee), Kilgore, TXAugust 3, 2014
The hardest part of the job is the layout. after you basic layout it reguires blue prints an what degree to preheat your metal, like forinstant 400 degrees
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Shipper/Receiver (Current Employee), Houston, PAJuly 30, 2014
Scan Product, place in boxes with correct labels. Run the fork lift to move product around warehouse.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace full of integrity
Oil analyst (Current Employee), Peoria, ILJuly 29, 2014
Pros: employees, pay, schedule, job role
Receive oil samples, shake and uncap then process the samples by collecting data from the machines we test them on

Some machines include:
Mantecs
ICP
Viscometers
FTIR
GC

Learned huge amount of testing in the lab.
Most enjoyable part of the job was the employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive & high customer service level
Supervisor (Former Employee), iraqJuly 29, 2014
love working hard
employee motivating
Customer service
learned a lot management staff

1 2 3 4 5

About Caterpillar

For more than 85 years, Caterpillar has been making sustainable progress possible — for our customers, for growing communities – Read more