Caterpillar Employee Reviews

Found 39 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
didnt work there
nothing (Former Employee) –  nothing18 June 2017
i never worked there before. i just used their products before.i dont know why they think i did. if i did work at caterpillar, im sure it would be a really good experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work. Very productive environment, and friendly work area.
Desktop\1st Line Network Engineer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 May 2017
Fun place to work. Very productive environment, and friendly work area. Family like. Ready supportive senior engineers who are to input knowledge and help.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice working environment
Sales, Marketing and Product Support (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 February 2017
They emphasize safety for everyone.
typical day at work updating client database. This company no longer exist unfortunately.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Java/J2EE Developer (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB25 January 2017
one of the best places to work with and the best team members i have come across. It is more productive to work at a place like this and the projects are lead by the best managers and team lead who are very supportive and very helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive working place.
Mechanical Assembler (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 November 2016
Commence the journey with safety considerations and reviews about the jobs to do by checking drawings and procedures.

Day by day always something new to learn because are heavy and automatic machinery.

The managers are very professionals.

The heavier the components are hardest for manipulating.

when machines are done and ready for shipping to customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caterpillar est une très bonne compagnie
Développeur logiciel (Former Employee) –  Laval, QC28 September 2016
Mon expérience chez Caterpillar a été très bonne. Mes supérieurs et mes collègues de travail étaient très sympathique et professionnels. L’environnement de travail, le salaire et l'équilibre travail famille sont des très bon points pour cette compagnie.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
trés bonne experience.
Leader de production (Former Employee) –  Toronto, canada1 April 2016
Je garde un bon souvenir de cette expérience, ou j'ai pu aider à l’amélioration de certains produit vestimentaire et mécanique.
J'ai acquis au fil des années une expérience dans la qualité et la méthodologie. Étant quelqu'un de rigoureux, j'ai trouver pleinement satisfaction dans cette entreprise.
Pros
restauration sur place, equipement recents, communication inter services.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
large organization full of professionals from around the world
Oracle DBA (Current Employee) –  Peoria, IL29 March 2016
Best organization in terms of size, technologies, IT team structure and a place to keep learning and working on new projects...
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Value based company, Productive & very committed
Project Lead (Former Employee) –  Victoria, TX21 March 2016
Excellent environment to begin your career, experts everywhere.
Opportunities given to passionate employees and rewarded for every piece of positive attitude. Feeling proud I was in history of Caterpillar's Growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company for experience.
Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Athens, ON8 March 2016
Caterpillar is a great company to work for. But it has been said losing employees is a manager condition, not the company itself. Reasonable pay for reasonable work. Good leadership with those in charge, but favoritism is a big issue here. This is on the managers not the company itself.
Pros
Good atmosphere. Has a cafeteria with an outside contracted group who cook breakfast and lunch.
Cons
Time limitations on applying for other jobs. Employee favoritism.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, with an awesome team
Warehouse associate (Former Employee) –  Victoria, Tx5 February 2016
a typical day at work was good, it started out with a team meeting in the morning and then we went to our respective areas to work. i learned that teamwork and safety is an invaluable asset to any job, regardless of where it might be. In my own personal opinion Management left quite a bit to be desired, they changed policies frequently and without notice (that seemed like every 2 weeks), there were times that it felt like there was no room for advancement opportunities; it honestly felt like supervisors as well as management didn't really pay any attention to how well employees did their jobs or how well/hard they worked. The hardest part of the job itself was making sure every part got to their assigned areas in the right amount of time. The most enjoyable part of the job, was my team; i loved working with them, we had excellent camaraderie, we all helped each other no matter what the task was.
Pros
benefits are amazing, awesome schedule, potentially good teams
Cons
management, pay could be better, frequent policy changes
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
disrespectful staff
Early Childhood Educator (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC17 December 2015
not worth working for someone racist and rude. staff is mean is all means whether its giving you hours or just throwing you to do an activity out of the blues, and cancelling your shift an hour before you are supposed to come in to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
avis d'embauche
Internship (Former Employee) –  Bathurst, NB27 September 2015
Homme travailleur et débrouillard désirant travailler et faire de la mécanique.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Electrical Engineer Team prepares you for Everything
Electrical Design Engineer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 September 2015
There is no job in the world where you will learn so much about electrical engineering. You are required to design a whole TBM from the ground up in terms of electronics.

This includes Substations Tendering, BOM preparation, AutoCAD design, Power Distributions, VFDs, PLCs and HMI.

Work here for several years in the Electrical Department, and you'll know more in the field than most 20 year Professional Electrical Engineers.
Pros
Very knowledgeable group of Electrical Enginners, likely best in the country
Cons
lots of overtime hours, but paid by Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and creative, friendly environment
Senoir Programmer/Architect (Former Employee) –  Montreal, QC15 July 2015
A great place go work, everything well planned.
Staffs are kind and friendly, very happy to work together.
Working is busy, no much spare time to learn new things.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i loved it
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB19 June 2015
had family isues with my son and had too come back...now have two children in new brunswick...no money worth being away from my boys..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secured Job Environment
Business Engagement Lead (Current Employee) –  Peoria IL24 May 2015
Lead Business Engagement with accountability to own the Customer Problem Statement.

Be the facilitator between cross functional work streams and Customers

Have gained good exposure across Engines, Machines, Mining Equipments
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience and formation
Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Laval, QC23 February 2015
Great place to learn the industry standards as well as the definition of brand loyalty. Hardest part is accepting you are only a small piece of the pie and many times your efforts go without being noticed. You are just a number
Pros
Great reputation
Cons
Limited opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day at work
Mechanical assembly (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON8 December 2014
Security meeting every morning and then start the work for the day,
Pros
Benefits
Cons
not over time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good enviroment, satable ,
Senior Product Support Engineer (Former Employee) –  UAE21 November 2014
i love to work with this co.
my daily is active
i learned a lot a bout the heavy equipments, communications, personal skills, management skills.
the work is enjoyable, and stable.
the hardest part of the job is recording system.
and the most enjoyable parts that every thing related to the job or any clarification required, you can get it through cat systems,
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Caterpillar. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 3,958 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7