Find companies:
Caterpillar
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
947 reviews

Caterpillar Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse and Inclusive environment, fun place to work at with table tennis at break times
Office Administrator (Former Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONNovember 8, 2013
Pros: great incentives
Cons: bad road to drive on
Strong Safety awareness for all employees, team oriented and always trying to keep staff motivated and content to be at work by great incentives, continuous learning for all employees, great benefits and vacation time off. You felt like you were working with your family, everyone was very nice to work with. The hard part of the job is hoping we had – more... a job due to the mining economy in the past years – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and professional
Intern (Former Employee), LavalJune 26, 2013
everybody is very professional.
i learned a lot during my internship there about
C and C++
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caterpillar is a very profesional company and possibly the best working expierience so far. Skills development programs also outstanding.
Project TM Fleet Manager (Current Employee), Mali, West Africa. Manutention Africaine Mali.February 19, 2013
Pros: cat develop and look after his employees like family.
Cons: language barrier, english to french.
My day started at 05H00 in the morning to catch the previous shift for information to be carried over to the next shifts, I spent 40% of my time between employees. This a very effective way for encouraging performance and best practice. My co-workers attitude towards commitment to succes is the most enjoyable, the hardest part is when people you rely – more... on do not participate in full. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caterpillar is a very profesional company and possibly the best working expierience so far. Skills development programs also outstanding.
Project TM Fleet Manager (Current Employee), Mali, West Africa. Manutention Africaine Mali.February 19, 2013
Pros: cat develop and look after his employees like family.
Cons: language barrier, english to french.
My day started at 05H00 in the morning to catch the previous shift for information to be carried over to the next shifts, I spent 40% of my time between employees. This a very effective way for encouraging performance and best practice. My co-workers attitude towards commitment to succes is the most enjoyable, the hardest part is when people you rely – more... on do not participate in full. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engineering staff
Technology Solution representative (Current Employee), MoscowOctober 17, 2012
My main responsibility is to provide the newest technology in order to help our machines work with more capacity and capability. I increase dealer awareness of our systems AccuGrade and Product Link. The first is a special piece of equipment which mounts on machines: it’s a radio in the cab, two GPS/Glonass receivers on the edge of the front blade, – more... a colored monitor in the cab, cables and a remote base station. The AccuGrade system is intended for very precise accuracy when leveling the earth or gravel. The machine and the base station receive the signal from Glonass satellites, calculate the position and send the data via a wireless network to the computer in the cab. The operator can manipulate the blade with millimeters accuracy. The second piece of equipment, Product Link, is a remote control system for monitoring the condition and position of the machines and combine two technology the GPS and the telematics. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
every day has a new to learn
Engineering project team leader (Former Employee), Caterpillar R & D center in ChinaAugust 31, 2012
Pros: good culture and value, practical training, team work
Cons: low work efficency, too many meetings
Discussed and reviewed new product performance data with product design team and initiated validation plan (manpower,tool and schedule) to ensure new product development;
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to work
Welder/Fabricator (Former Employee), Peterlee, ENGSeptember 26, 2014
I was valued as an employee and accomplishments were recognised and praised.
Plenty of scope for progression career wise and a thouroughly enjoyable place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overal excelent
Temp Human Resources Assistant (Former Employee), MiamiSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: good, benefit and pay
Cons: nothing at the moment
Well organized company, Opportunity to grow. Managed so well that everyone enjoys a good work life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Athens Ga Caterpillar
Assembly (Current Employee), Athens, GASeptember 24, 2014
Cons: pay, managment, loyalty, the lies, the negative beat down meetings, etc..........
If you work at McDonalds and think this is a better fit,,,,,stay at McDonalds!!!! They pay sucks 11.80 an hr, you don't move up, and they work you to death, says its a Mon-Thr 10 hour a day work week, HA !!! they work us everyday but Sun. No life and they could care less. Worst place Iv ever worked!!!! And at 44 Iv been around !!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really hard to move up
Product Assembler/ Nightshift (Current Employee), Clayton, NCSeptember 23, 2014
I have been working here for almost 3 years and it seems to me that working your way up from the shop floor is near to impossable. I have applied to many positions at least 20 job posting and only heard back from 1. It would also seem that no matter how hard you work it reslly does not get you anywhere on the floor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment for technical work and offshore teams
Oracle DBA (Former Employee), Nashville, TNSeptember 22, 2014
Nice environment to learn and work Golden gate and data guard stuff worked with offshore teams and SAP teams to proof the business module.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most enjoyable part of the job
High Performance Hose Facility Manager (Former Employee), Pomona, MOSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: hands on with the team
Cons: my leadership
Being able to lead a facility of 160 employees and walk the talk. You have the distinct ability to lead and develop their careers even if they thought it not possible. Being able to take a facility that was underperforming and develop it to where it was starting to see very positive results.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
d (Former Employee), dSeptember 21, 2014
It was a very good job that paid very graciously. But very strict with no room for error and could lose your job over being sick or little mistakes
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work for anyone looking for tight challenges in a global conglomerate
Company Representative - Africa (Current Employee), JohannesburgSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: independence
Cons: travel, locally, on continent and overseas. just too much
Independent and at the same time part of a coherent team

My time management has definitely improved since I joined the company-I observe deadlines much better

Management is very good, supportive and willing to listen

CO-workers can be oldfashioned with old ideas but stil fun if you can handle it

Travel, plent travel

Achievement of sales targets
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and good
Design Engineer (Current Employee), Chennai, TNSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: flexible timings.
Cons: nothing much
nice to work in such a company,

very health work atmosphere, less pressured environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a learning experience
Switchgear Technician (Current Employee), Alpharetta, GASeptember 18, 2014
delivery of packages daily and turn around and do your daily pick ups
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Storeman (Former Employee), Beresfield, NSWSeptember 15, 2014
I was employed over the stocktake period of 4 weeks, but it was a great friendly place too work at
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very structured professional environment
CSA Supervisor (Former Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 12, 2014
Pros: incentive programs
Cons: cutbacks have caused larger workloads
CAT is the leader in its industry. This is a large company with plenty of room for advancement. Salary is compensated depending on experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terminated wrongfully
press operator (Former Employee), Boonville, MOSeptember 11, 2014
terminated and could not even show proof it was wrong. I still have the proof. Said I commented on FB about coworker. I was sent home and waited three weeks. Told them i would log on and show them this was another person i was talking about,...but they wouldn't even look at it. I printed off a screen shot for proof showing it was another person,...they – more... even responded to me. Didn't help. I was terminated for workplace harassment. Nice way to treat employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Section Manager (Former Employee), BEssemer, AL Laredo Texas and Griffin, GASeptember 10, 2014
Pros: their values, mission and culture
Caterpillar was a great company to work for. Workplace, policies and procedures were stable and in place. work life balance was a plus. Compensation was great along with opportunity for advancement. Stable compnay and job security was never a threat.

1 2 3 4 5

About Caterpillar

For more than 85 years, Caterpillar has been making sustainable progress possible — for our customers, for growing communities – Read more