Catalyst Paper Employee Reviews

Found 25 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all is a Great Place to work very Safty Orented
Millwright (Former Employee) –  Ladysmith, BC4 May 2017
I would Love to work there, and have several times as a contractor and as Gate Hire. But they wont hire me on full time and I've applied four or five times and then they say no sorry you didn't pass our evaluation test and the next day they call me in as Gate Hire to coverage for someone on sick leave for a week that's how they work.
Pros
Full time work
Cons
No full time work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn many aspects of jobs @ Catalyst
Catalyst Employee (Former Employee) –  Crofton, BC7 April 2017
Would advise anyone to work there...as the work experience is something you would not fine anywhere else. They also give you courses to advance in your employment..
Pros
The Cafeteria was amazing
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, has lots of employees that are great to work with
Barge Offloader (Current Employee) –  Powell River, BC21 April 2016
Great job, Grat place, great location. Almost everything a person can enjoy is in Powell River..and the paper mill is a very high paid job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn a trade
Journeyman Steam/Pipefitter (Current Employee) –  Powell River, BC14 February 2016
Knowledgeable trades and operations personnel. Safety culture is changing and trying to become world class but has some way to go. Hopefully it will be achieved.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unprofessional environment.
Mechanical Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Powell River, BC27 October 2015
Senior management team bullies and intimidates employees. Job culture is still 30years behind. Management team back stabs one another. Very unprofessional place to work. In a rating to other places of employment 3 put of 10!
Cons
Long hours/ no appreciation to going above and beyond.
Was this review helpful?Yes 32No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Shutdown coordinator for 2011 power boiler outage (Former Employee) –  Powell River & Crofton, BC11 September 2015
I found the company was strong on its safety focus but sometimes, it became difficult to understand its business model.
During my period of contract work, the company went thru a financial restructuring process in 2012 that lead to reduction and elimination of my contract opportunities.
Pros
Qualified people with strong knowledge of their industry
Cons
Lack of employment stability
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun envierment
Maintenance Millwright (Current Employee) –  Port Alberni B.C.6 September 2015
Fun enthusiastic work environment, good knowledgeable tradespeople and staff members. management is willing to get you what you need to do the job. all tradespeople will come together to get the job done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and professional company to work for.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC20 August 2015
Fun and professional atmosphere. Management were very supportive and co-workers worked great as a team. It was a very upbeat environment to work in.
Pros
Free lunch when meetings were over.
Cons
Could be long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keep looking
Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Crofton, BC10 April 2015
I have never worked in such a run down place in my life. Everybody seems miserable and not happy to be there. The housekeeping is non existent. Quality standards (or the lack thereof) result in a lot of rework and downtime. Great spot, need somebody to steer the ship in the right direction.
Was this review helpful?Yes 34No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No don't do it.
Trades (Former Employee) –  Vancouver Island20 October 2014
Cheap labor. Top management and HR doesn't care. No job security.
Pros
on the island
Cons
cheap no respect for workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 41NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
give me a break
electrician (Former Employee) –  Campbell River, BC18 August 2014
if you are a yes man you have come to the right place
if you have tunnel vision this job is for you.
if you hear no evil speak no evil and see no evil . you are ready for management.
if you are a total screw up and useless then you have a great chance for advancement.
Pros
pay is good and holidays etc
Cons
too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 38No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not bad, but union pension and benefits are bad
millwright (Former Employee) –  crofton19 May 2014
was recruited for this job. 1st pay cheque was 1550 for 2 weeks. this is bad. was not informed the pension and union dues are 10% of gross.1 year later and im still trying to get my funds out of this union pension. its a bitter workplace and busy body union "brothers" waiting for the chance to throw you under a bus. cant believe this union in 40 years cant even negotiate a benefits card. mailing in scripts and receipts was the last straw. the union negotiated a 10% wage reduction and should have just shut down the pension plan. if this place shuts the pension plan may go broke.
btw i dont have any problems with management.
Pros
its on vancouver island
Cons
its union 1970's all over again
Was this review helpful?Yes 51No 17Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company, working in a difficult market.
Maintenance Planner (Former Employee) –  Powell River, BC11 March 2014
This is a company working hard to adapt to a changing market place. Many skilled and hard working people at this site, however the isolation of the location makes it challenging to get resources and people. I enjoyed my time there and learned a great deal, having come from a different industry. The most difficult part was learning the new equipment and processes. The best part was the support of the co-workers at the work site, and the friendly small town environment.
Pros
Supportive co-workers and good training programs.
Cons
Old site and equipment. Lots of updating needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company to work for on the coast...
Tradesman (Former Employee) –  Crofton, BC27 January 2014
I worked there for 22 years doing various jobs prior to leaving as a journeyman tradesman...Front line supervision was awesome, but that's as far as anything good goes...five name changes in the time I was there, the constant threat of shutdown if the union didn't capitulate to the company's constant demands...upper management that were yes men, mill managers that were bullies and a general feeling of discontent at every turn... I left prior to the wage cut that now makes them the lowest paid union trades workforce on the coast...
Wouldn't recommend this this company to anyone!!!
Pros
excellent trades group
Cons
union busting idiots at the helm...HR department that is despicable
Was this review helpful?Yes 63No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
as a politcal move to reduce wages they closed the one of 4 sites that made them a profit
Header Operator (Former Employee) –  Campbell River, BC25 January 2014
I worked a 4x4 shift. ( 2days, 2 nights) 12hour shifts 3.5 days off. the hours worked well as they were implemented threw employee input.On going safety training was extensive in an effort to always keep the work place somewhere safe to be. Moral was high till the end which I feel contributed to a low injure to man hours rate. Training was extensive and on going in WHMIS, Fall Arrest, Confined Space Entry, Hatch Watch Safety, LPG Filling (by volume), OSHA, Forklift and Pre-inspection along with monthly tour rotation and weekly/daily departmental safety meetings.Your co-workers were like a 2nd family and tended to work very well together. he hardest part of the job that I did was standing in one spot doing repetitive work for long periods of time (feet tend to get sore on vibrating steel decking). The best part was time usual went by quickly as there was always things to be tended to keeping one very busy. the shift work also aloud for lots of family time at home when not working overtime.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horible pay and benefits
4th class power engineer (Current Employee) –  catalyst13 October 2013
absolutle garbage pay is below all other comparible industries. recently went in for a eye exam and I couldn't believe i was expected to pay for the exam in a unilon pulp mill. horrible worker manigment realationship and I hate my boss who is quite the liar.
Pros
no pros
Cons
lowest industry wage, bad benefits no money for maitenaince and can't attract trades workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 78No 19Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional environment with helpful co-workers
Clean Energy Co-op Student (Former Employee) –  Crofton, BC24 July 2013
Typical day: Busy environment.
Most valuable lesson: Time management
Management: helpful
Co-workers: helpful
Hardest part of the job: navigating through mill
Most enjoyable part: participating in improvements
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 38Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No respect for trades
Journeyman Electrician (Current Employee) –  Crofton, BC3 March 2013
Top management doesnt care at all about worker problems. Company wide moral is low. Not enough trades, pay rate below average. They want to get oversea workers because they cant get any trades. The real problem is no one wants to work for them. Safety and production are at record lows.
Pros
all the overtime you want
Cons
all the overtime you want. safety, production, and moral low
Was this review helpful?Yes 58No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent safety and company management
Gate Hire (Current Employee) –  Powell River, BC30 November 2012
Job was a success hopefully get hired full time in the future.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 29Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good pay and benifits
Operator (Former Employee) –  Campbell River, BC6 September 2012
mill closed and they laid everyone off instead of transfer to other mills(they owned at least three others)When an american Managment co. took over they promised NO MILL CLOSURE or layoffs?
Pros
4/4 shift
Cons
grave yards/12 hour shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 14Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Catalyst Paper. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 37 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
2.4
Management
2.8
Culture
2.8