Catalyst Paper Employee Reviews

Found 23 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, has lots of employees that are great to work with
Barge Offloader (Current Employee) –  Powell River, BCApril 21, 2016
Great job, Grat place, great location. Almost everything a person can enjoy is in Powell River..and the paper mill is a very high paid job.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn a trade
Journeyman Steam/Pipefitter (Current Employee) –  Powell River, BCFebruary 14, 2016
Knowledgeable trades and operations personnel. Safety culture is changing and trying to become world class but has some way to go. Hopefully it will be achieved.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unprofessional environment.
Mechanical Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Powell River, BCOctober 27, 2015
Senior management team bullies and intimidates employees. Job culture is still 30years behind. Management team back stabs one another. Very unprofessional place to work. In a rating to other places of employment 3 put of 10!
Cons
Long hours/ no appreciation to going above and beyond.
Was this review helpful?Yes29No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Shutdown coordinator for 2011 power boiler outage (Former Employee) –  Powell River & Crofton, BCSeptember 11, 2015
I found the company was strong on its safety focus but sometimes, it became difficult to understand its business model.
During my period of contract work, the company went thru a financial restructuring process in 2012 that lead to reduction and elimination of my contract opportunities.
Pros
Qualified people with strong knowledge of their industry
Cons
Lack of employment stability
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and professional company to work for.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BCAugust 20, 2015
Fun and professional atmosphere. Management were very supportive and co-workers worked great as a team. It was a very upbeat environment to work in.
Pros
Free lunch when meetings were over.
Cons
Could be long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun envierment
Maintenance Millwright (Current Employee) –  Port Alberni B.C.September 6, 2015
Fun enthusiastic work environment, good knowledgeable tradespeople and staff members. management is willing to get you what you need to do the job. all tradespeople will come together to get the job done.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keep looking
Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Crofton, BCApril 10, 2015
I have never worked in such a run down place in my life. Everybody seems miserable and not happy to be there. The housekeeping is non existent. Quality standards (or the lack thereof) result in a lot of rework and downtime. Great spot, need somebody to steer the ship in the right direction.
Was this review helpful?Yes32No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not bad, but union pension and benefits are bad
millwright (Former Employee) –  croftonMay 19, 2014
was recruited for this job. 1st pay cheque was 1550 for 2 weeks. this is bad. was not informed the pension and union dues are 10% of gross.1 year later and im still trying to get my funds out of this union pension. its a bitter workplace and busy body union "brothers" waiting for the chance to throw you under a bus. cant believe this union in 40 years cant even negotiate a benefits card. mailing in scripts and receipts was the last straw. the union negotiated a 10% wage reduction and should have just shut down the pension plan. if this place shuts the pension plan may go broke.
btw i dont have any problems with management.
Pros
its on vancouver island
Cons
its union 1970's all over again
Was this review helpful?Yes50No15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company, working in a difficult market.
Maintenance Planner (Former Employee) –  Powell River, BCMarch 11, 2014
This is a company working hard to adapt to a changing market place. Many skilled and hard working people at this site, however the isolation of the location makes it challenging to get resources and people. I enjoyed my time there and learned a great deal, having come from a different industry. The most difficult part was learning the new equipment and processes. The best part was the support of the co-workers at the work site, and the friendly small town environment.
Pros
supportive co-workers and good training programs.
Cons
old site and equipment. lots of updating needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company to work for on the coast...
Tradesman (Former Employee) –  Crofton, BCJanuary 27, 2014
I worked there for 22 years doing various jobs prior to leaving as a journeyman tradesman...Front line supervision was awesome, but that's as far as anything good goes...five name changes in the time I was there, the constant threat of shutdown if the union didn't capitulate to the company's constant demands...upper management that were yes men, mill managers that were bullies and a general feeling of discontent at every turn... I left prior to the wage cut that now makes them the lowest paid union trades workforce on the coast...
Wouldn't recommend this this company to anyone!!!
Pros
excellent trades group
Cons
union busting idiots at the helm...hr department that is despicable
Was this review helpful?Yes57No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I do not wish to review this company
Power engineer/Millwright (Former Employee) –  Campbell River, BCAugust 13, 2012
A typical large business. There was plenty of opportunity for one to advance in a chosen field or in some cases change their main line of endeavour. Management and co-workers were easy to get along with, usually very cooperative and willing to share their knowledge and/or ideas. The hardest part of the job was working in the high temperature high humidity areas during the summer. It could sometimes be brutal. As for occupational enjoyment most of us liked it when a plan came together and all the parts were delivered on time so that the major jobs could proceed smoothly.
Pros
pro active safety environment
Was this review helpful?Yes10No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety orientated, good place to work until debt load and CCAA
Utilities manager (Current Employee) –  Port Alberni, B.C. CanadaMarch 7, 2012
Same location of work, 1 owner 1971 to 1998, 3 different owners 1998 to 2012. Company very good for most of my working life. When market turned down and debt increased; benefits declined, workload increased, moral decreased and maint harder to manage.
Pros
tried to treat employees good as long as possible
Cons
as debt increased, very senior staff personnel were very hard hit.
Was this review helpful?Yes18No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No respect for trades
Journeyman Electrician (Current Employee) –  Crofton, BCMarch 3, 2013
Top management doesnt care at all about worker problems. Company wide moral is low. Not enough trades, pay rate below average. They want to get oversea workers because they cant get any trades. The real problem is no one wants to work for them. Safety and production are at record lows.
Pros
all the overtime you want
Cons
all the overtime you want. safety, production, and moral low
Was this review helpful?Yes55No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horible pay and benefits
4th class power engineer (Current Employee) –  catalystOctober 13, 2013
absolutle garbage pay is below all other comparible industries. recently went in for a eye exam and I couldn't believe i was expected to pay for the exam in a unilon pulp mill. horrible worker manigment realationship and I hate my boss who is quite the liar.
Pros
no pros
Cons
lowest industry wage, bad benefits no money for maitenaince and can't attract trades workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes75No19Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Depressing negative atmosphere wages to be cut 10% may 1 as well as holidays and holiday pay
Maintenance Electrician (Current Employee) –  CroftonApril 20, 2012
Its a very negative, very poorly managed company . The company is presently in CCAA basically bankrupt. Wages and benefits being cut by 10% may 1 st. The future does not look good. Alot of maintenance staff are leaving. Just no future.
Pros
vancouver island
Cons
too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes30No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NO longer a good place to work.
millwright (Current Employee) –  Crofton BC CanadaJuly 14, 2012
We are in CCAA. Bankruptcy protection. A typical day is ok good people. What i learned. I teach i have 30 + years experience.Front line management is great.Co-workers are depressed, mad, and bitter .The hardest part of the job is the mood of the place hourly and management. The most enjoyable part are the people.
Pros
good people to work with.
Cons
job is uncertain.
Was this review helpful?Yes27No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
give me a break
electrician (Former Employee) –  Campbell River, BCAugust 18, 2014
if you are a yes man you have come to the right place
if you have tunnel vision this job is for you.
if you hear no evil speak no evil and see no evil . you are ready for management.
if you are a total screw up and useless then you have a great chance for advancement.
Pros
pay is good and holidays etc
Cons
too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes35No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional environment with helpful co-workers
Clean Energy Co-op Student (Former Employee) –  Crofton, BCJuly 24, 2013
Typical day: Busy environment.
Most valuable lesson: Time management
Management: helpful
Co-workers: helpful
Hardest part of the job: navigating through mill
Most enjoyable part: participating in improvements
Was this review helpful?Yes10No37Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good pay and benifits
Operator (Former Employee) –  Campbell River, BCSeptember 6, 2012
mill closed and they laid everyone off instead of transfer to other mills(they owned at least three others)When an american Managment co. took over they promised NO MILL CLOSURE or layoffs?
Pros
4/4 shift
Cons
grave yards/12 hour shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes15No14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
as a politcal move to reduce wages they closed the one of 4 sites that made them a profit
Header Operator (Former Employee) –  Campbell River, BCJanuary 25, 2014
I worked a 4x4 shift. ( 2days, 2 nights) 12hour shifts 3.5 days off. the hours worked well as they were implemented threw employee input.On going safety training was extensive in an effort to always keep the work place somewhere safe to be. Moral was high till the end which I feel contributed to a low injure to man hours rate. Training was extensive and on going in WHMIS, Fall Arrest, Confined Space Entry, Hatch Watch Safety, LPG Filling (by volume), OSHA, Forklift and Pre-inspection along with monthly tour rotation and weekly/daily departmental safety meetings.Your co-workers were like a 2nd family and tended to work very well together. he hardest part of the job that I did was standing in one spot doing repetitive work for long periods of time (feet tend to get sore on vibrating steel decking). The best part was time usual went by quickly as there was always things to be tended to keeping one very busy. the shift work also aloud for lots of family time at home when not working overtime.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No7Report

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 32 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.1
Management
2.6
Culture
2.6