Find companies:
Casino Rama
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
41 reviews

Casino Rama Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work, competitive rates, overall enjoyable
Gaming operations (Current Employee), Rama, OntarioAugust 5, 2014
Pros: free lunches and company incentives
Cons: working hours
a typical day at work is fun and challenging
I've learned a great deal about time management, customer service, team work.
my co-workers were great
The hardest part of the job would have to be the hours, since it's a company that runs 24 hours a day and 365 days a year, it's to have "normal working hours"
The most enjoyable part of the job would be – more... the interaction with customers, and internal staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont go there!
Outlet Supervisor (Former Employee), Orillia, ONJuly 31, 2014
Pros: turkeys or hams at holidays
Cons: horrible place
The best part of Casino Rama was the staff, great group of hard working people.

Guests were rude and Management allowed them to treat us with disrespect constantly, because its all about the gaming floor and nothing else.
Promise all these things such as benefits, advancement, full time positions.....it is not EVER going to happen, its a gimmick to – more... get you in the door. Problem is they now have to hire outside the area (Simcoe County) because they have already gone through or fired all the local people.

Disappointing workplace, they truly need a UNION to protect the workers, as they tend to fire staff for ridiculous reasons. They give the servers their lunch breaks when they start their shift, because it is easier than having a break plan, and don't care about any other breaks during your shift. Some bartenders/servers don't even get one break until 7 hours into their shift, because it is not convenient for management

They have a great onboarding session that lasts 2 days, but they fail to follow through on their promises. Disappointing work place.
The grand plan is to get rid of the loyal Full Timers and replace them with Contract workers, so they don't have to pay benefits or paid time off,pension or promise any amount of hours that you signed up for when you got hired. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Dual Rate Supervisor (Current Employee), Orillia, ONJuly 10, 2014
Pros: fun
Cons: some difficult customers
everyday is different and challenging.
great staff
meet all kinds of people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers
Outlets Supervisor (Former Employee), Rama, ONJune 8, 2014
Pros: working with people and providing great customer service
Cons: no compensation for long hours because of being managemnt
my day started about noon and went until 2:30am, usually 5-6 days a week. On the floor it was about providing the utmost customer service exsperience. I loved meeting new people and dealing with different personallities everyday. I was incharge of 4 outlets, VIP lounge and room service. I had to be hands on and quick on my feet as I dealt with all customer – more... complaints, I was responsiable for ensuring all orders were correct and served in good time. My office work consisted of payroll, scheduling, PTO, shift exchanges and staff training and evaluations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and never boring position always learning and changing
Pit Manager (Former Employee), Rama, ONMay 29, 2014
Pros: excellent pay scale and benefits
Cons: demanding hours
Fast paced position requiring on the spot decision making. Organizing of staffing needs on an hourly basis. Varying co-workers each day.
Each day brought new challenges with both internal and external customers.
Learning new things and working as a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Crew Day: when they had activities, food and a concert for free
Cleaner (Former Employee), Orillia, ONMay 28, 2014
Pros: christmas bonus and a ham for easter and a turkey for christmas
Cons: having to deal with abusive customers
I would go to work for 11 pm and I would get my uniform. I would get a piece of paper with what work has to be done that evening. I would then go and get my jobs done. I am a quick learner at whatever needs to be done. I learned how to work with others and with the public. The management were easy to work for. The supervisors were too young and unorganized. – more... I did get along with my co-workers. The hardest part of my job was high dusting and having to watch patrons walking by, and when I had to move the machine around. I really enjoyed working at Casino Rama because of my fellow workers and what the job entailed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casino
Guest Service Attendant (Former Employee), RAMAApril 15, 2014
Get up and Go to Work it had excellent transportation for people to get to and from work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
BARBACK (Former Employee), Orillia, ONApril 4, 2014
Pros: fast
Cons: random scheduling
As a barback at the casino it was my responsibility to serve customers and maintain a clean and safe workspace at all of the casinos 4 bars.

I worked shift work and was also staffed on the graveyard shift occasionally.

The fast pace of the food and beverage department, while sometimes challenging, was welcomed on night and graveyard shifts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casino Rama is a fun place to work
Entertainment & Special Events Coordinator (Current Employee), Rama, ONJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: pay
Casino Rama is a fun place to work. I have an very interesting job where i have to learn and deal; with different things on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall
BARTENDER/SERVER (Former Employee), Orillia, ONDecember 11, 2013
Working the busy morning shift with a great team making everyones day run more smoothly. We all were a team as coworkers learning different techniques from each other .
I enjoyed my job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent people to work with.
Bus Driver / Relief Dispatcher (Former Employee), Rama, ONNovember 28, 2013
Pros: free lunchs
Cons: long hours
It's been great. The people are amazing to be around. The most enjoyable part of the job was the excellent people that played and worked there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Kitchen Utilities Worker (Former Employee), Orillia, ONOctober 9, 2013
Pros: free lunch good hours, good shift
Cons: far from home
Working in kitchen loading and unloading dish washers washing by hand when required, emptying deep fryers cleaning/disinfecting cooking and prep areas management was good co-workers were helpful and became to be friends. Hardest part was being away from home.I like the people i was working with
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced enviroment
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee), Orillia, ONOctober 3, 2013
i made good money and made lots of friends. i was very good at this job. customers would wait in line so i could check them in to the hotel. i even got gifts from my regulars.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job with good staff
Dealer (Former Employee), Rama, ONSeptember 5, 2013
I really enjoyed dealing cards & spinning the roulette balls of Casino Rama
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Rama, ONSeptember 4, 2013
Pros: fun place to work, free lunch
I really enjoyed working at casino rama. I was responsible for large amounts of money. The management was great to all the staff. The staff were great and fun to work with. The hardest part was dealing with patrons who had lost all their money and were upset.
the most enjoyable part was meeting many great people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and had slost machines
D/R Cashier Supervisor/cashier (Former Employee), Orillia, ONAugust 20, 2013
count in my drawer, fill abms and ticket machines, redeem tickets and playing chips, cash advances, balancing night duties

I learned excel, smart serve, counterfeit training, customer service training.

management was confusing.

co-workers was ok

hardest part of the job was the language barrier

the most enjoyable was watching people win money
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Work Place
players service coordinator (Former Employee), RamaJuly 7, 2013
Pros: slightly above ave pay but lack of hours-so non
Cons: long list, read review
They over hire individuals just to let others go if they are not mutant workers and have an opinion regardless of right or wrong.

The players service/coordinator department is the worse! a couple good supervisors, a terrible manager and even worse executives.

They win you over in training with their wonderful trainer but then as go further the more – more... individuals you meet you'll realize how pleasant but very fake smiles are, and add promises that cant be fulfilled.

Promise benefits and OT but do not allow full time employees anymore to get away from offering such bonuses. You take lunch when it is convenient for them and breaks if you are lucky.

If I was living on the street I would not re-apply to Casino Rama – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great busy place to work
FT Lead Greeter (Former Employee), Rama, ONMay 7, 2013
Pros: higher rate of pay
Cons: you are only known as a number. full time staff lose their jobs easy.s
This is a great place to work, if you are not a parent or if you have great family support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall excellant place to be employed
Slot Attendant (Former Employee), Rama, OntarioApril 24, 2013
Pros: exciting, fast pace, never boring, fun
Cons: no cons
Rama was a fun upbeat place to work, the fast pace was exciting and dealing with the public was a joy for me. The co-workers were excellant and I enjoyed going to work everyday
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They don't pay or care what you are worth
Junior Graphic Designer (Former Employee), Rama, OntarioApril 18, 2013
Pros: medical benefits, pension plan
Cons: terrible food selection for lunch, taxed for your free lunch
I was payed a little higher than fair as an entry level position. I was promised 4 days a week about 6 hours per day. Either I was to efficient, or they overestimated how much work they really had, or they weren't delegating enough work to me. When I left I was down to 1 or 2 days a week and about 4-6 hours a day. It wasn't worth getting up at 7am to – more... catch a bus to come all the way out there to then spend another hour catching the bus back home. I have seen some starting wages on indeed for Casino Rama and for a multi-million dollar company, they are absolutely terrible wages! – less