Cash Converters Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
Pawn broker (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON19 May 2017
Long hours less compensation coworkers and management were pleasant enough to work
Is a needed evil in these times
Great place to buy second hand goods
Not so great place to sell your goods
If possible sell it online
Pros
Lots of interaction with the public
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun learning experience with low pay and on the spot training.
Sales Associate / Aquisitions. (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 December 2016
Poor business practices in general. However you can find some good deals on many items in the store. When reminders were needed on how to set up,test or opperate equipment help was not always forthcoming. Fair training with poor follow up training. Liitle to no team effort on sales floor between staff. Competition with other sales associates creates tention. Obscene jestures and foul language from sales associates common. Ethnic and religious comments from staff and management often overheard. Sales associates practice unfair seniority scemes. Bullying on sales floor while stealing customers from co-workers.
Pros
Good learning experience, Good place to buy used and new electronics and other items, Limited warranties provided, Possible bonuses available.
Cons
Low pay, Poor training and support after training, Little to no team effort, Dishonest management, Do not pay bonuses or overtime when due, Lunch break counts towards total sales hours, Reasulting in missed sales bonus, Dishonest business practices in general, Racist and religious discrimination from staff and management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work and the emplooyees are very diversed
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  North York, ON23 June 2016
Great place to work. The company gave it's employees the tools and resources to advance their career within the company.
The company Buys/Sells and loans (payday). This consist of selling new and used products such as: electronics, small household items, jewellery and payday loans. The hardest part of the job is trying to keep all your customers satisfied weather its buying/ selling a product or loans. Making sure they have an excellent experience and will return or refer other customers to us.
The most enjoyable part of my job is seeing my customers and employees happy and satisfied.
Pros
celebrating employees success
Cons
management needs more training on interspersonal relationship skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Personal Finance Manager (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON1 March 2016
I learned a lot, and gained lots of experience. I performed well at my job. Felt like I lost a close/dear friend when it closed.
Cons
it closed down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, short days
Marketing associate (Current Employee) –  London, ON13 August 2015
short days, good company and friendly staff. advancement available if in the right job. personally had small responsibilities and worked once a week.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The good, the bad and the ugly
Customer/Financial Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON15 April 2015
The good: Amazing place to work if you want to find a good deal for some used items. I found it to be really fun when buying and selling items to and from customers. The people were generally pretty easy going and the staff were equally so.

The bad: Having to chase people on the PDL side of things for over due loans and having to hear the same excuses every week or having them avoid you all together. Inconsistency when buying items. Staff had a range of minimum and maximum prices they could buy for and the numbers fluxuated all the time since there was such a broad range.

The ugly: Management was the worst of all. The district manager was on a power trip and usually showed up at your store to sit in the back room on their computer all day. Never any suggestions on how to better run the store. Some of the store managers were just as bad. Punishing new employees for mistakes by write ups.

All in all the good made up for the bad most days. Sadly most of the stores have closed now. Probably because they weren't consistent in communications with their employees and the ups and downs in the pricing when buying and selling items.
Pros
Friendly co-workers, decent hours, clean up to date store fixtures
Cons
Management, power hungry supervisors and hagglers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A pretty decent place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON6 March 2015
My time at Cash Converters was pretty good. Our manager quit and was never replaced and no employee was moved up to replace her. That created some issues.
Pros
easy
Cons
bad manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people
QA Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 December 2014
•Reviewed requirements, design
•Defined strategies for performance, stress, load test, naming convention for scripting.
•Created test plan, defined requirement, designed test cases and test scenarios.
•Executed test cases in predefined order
•Analyzed test results and reported the variances to managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier / Sales Assiocate, cash supervisor
Cashier/Sales Associate, Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 November 2014
First place I worked when I first moved to Calgary, Loved it. Best job I have ever had, and great memories made with a great staff, and wonderful boss.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
closed down
Buying and Selling rep (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC12 June 2014
closed down
incurred fines from city
ill managed
lots of problems with customers
nature of the shop brought in lots of indisreable customers
Pros
money
Cons
negative atompshare
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Sales & Customer Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 February 2014
Good place to start when in high school for part time position
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The duties and responsibilities are to much for one person to handle, need to hire help
Finance / Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON26 November 2013
Ok place to work, management needs to listen to employees, employees need a clear path to take, company needs more help
Pros
Good work schedule, you make your own
Cons
Work load is very demanding without clairification.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working at cash converters
STORE MANAGER--BUY AND SELL MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Cambridge Ontario2 August 2013
the idea of cash converters is wonderful, payday loans on one side buy and sell on the other, location was an issue to try to build a customer base for the store in Cambridge
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work with future advancements as a possibility
Personal Finance Specialist (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 June 2013
I currently work as a financial CSR and I absolutely love it. Great team, always learning something new and meeting great clients on a daily basis. Feels more like a social outing than actual work, which is the best part, always friendly faces/. I deal with pay day loans and such, so handling money is a task i deal with everyday and anything that I can do to help out the retail side, which i am cross trained for.
Pros
Great co workers, location is somewhat close to home
Cons
Dealing with customers that aren't always understanding about products/loans
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Jewellery Specialist (Current Employee) –  Toronto, Ontario10 January 2013
Typical day at work involves greeting customers, selling items, buying merchandise, negotiating prices, and daily store maintenance. This workplace allowed me to gain important customer service skills such as dealing with a wide variety of people and problems. The hardest part of the job is negotiation and turning people down for their items they wish to sell. The most enjoyable part of the job is working with co-workers and discovering new types of merchandise and people everyday.
Pros
fun environment
Cons
schedule not flexible
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Day of work at cash converters
Assistant manager (Current Employee) –  midland and ellesmere9 January 2013
I come in to work and do my opening duties.
I typically buy products off customers every day. I learned to meet at a fair ground for purchasing products off customers.
I have made some great friends with co workers and the hardest part of my job would be to not offer a price that meets someone's expectations.
Pros
very laid back job
Cons
constant 12 hour shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Salesman (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON6 January 2013
i loved working there lots of different situations would present them self and would help me learn new things.
i found out that i love to do merchandising and that i am a great salesman and i love to work in retail and also how i am a great people person because i am outgoing and love to solve problems and help people.
Pros
great co workers
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great learning experiences, with both products and customers
Buyer (Former Employee) –  Brampton26 September 2012
In a typical day at work I would research product information and pricing interact with customer in both a buying and selling role, what I learned was how to explain to people the value in something in both negotiating buying and selling prices. Management is supportive and there is opportunity for advancement.
Pros
learning, good hours, good coworkers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

See more Cash Converters reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cash Converters. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 350 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.2
Culture
3.3