Cash Canada Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loan sharks
Loan Associate (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB6 November 2017
Felt like a loan shark here. made people who were in bad situations in far worse positions. you get close to your clients and then have to take money from them that you know they don't have
Pros
money
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upbeat atmosphere with friendly staff
Development Administration Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 October 2017
A typical work day was keeping busy with various tasks and duties that had been assigned. While learning a variety of new procedures, there was never a dull moment and the days seemed to fly by. The most exciting part of my job description was taking on new projects that in turn challenged me, allowing me to progress through personal and professional growth.
Pros
Loved the people I worked with
Cons
Long commute to work each day
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place
Manager, Assistant manger, Senior clerk, Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 September 2017
I would work there again I enjoyed every part of my job getting to know new people and the whole job altogether unfortunately I had gone through some personal things at the time I left
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and easy to work for.
Loan Associate (Former Employee) –  Wetaskiwin, AB27 August 2017
Count float
Make sure area was swept and clean counters
Reviewed customers folders
Made calls to late payments to arrange payment plans

I enjoyed working with my regular customers and still miss them.
Pros
Liked talking to my other co-workers on our breaks from the pawn side.
Cons
Having to deal with the angry customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did what i could
Sales Associate/Pawn Broker (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat6 July 2017
A lot of upset customers, when they cant have their way. The company has many strict policies that can receive quite a few negative responses from customers. The on field sales manager would spend their time hiding from difficult customer to prevent any reliability from their own action from sales they previously just promised a customer that you would process while damaging your own sales record. The main manager would perform spiteful action to lower your morale or disturb you while in a good mood. Would have been a great job if the Management wasn't trying to set you up for failure and scapegoat the front-line staff for their own company imaging.
Pros
In still Bonuses
Cons
involuntary work expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Atmosphere
Pawnbroker (Current Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB5 June 2017
For the most part this job is wonderful, the biggest problem is that it feels like it takes up most of your; life, the hours are all over the place and you work days, evenings till 8:30 and weekends till 6. The pay is decent and for the most part the people are fantastic
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible workplace
sales/pawn broker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 April 2017
Worked for Cash Canada Pawn for just under a year. Management is not what I consider management more like a group of high school students role playing. The work is very interesting however the software in place does not work so I took a lot of hits from "management" on errors. They are aware the programs do not work but will push blame on employees. In total work here is more of a "blame game". Advice to those thinking of joining, this is not a career move unless you're overweight, wear a pink puffy dresses, rock a teairra and have a wand.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
summary
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  millwoods30 March 2017
terrible management, have no idea if there coming or going, changes qouta & goals weekly higher and higher, extremely greedy, highly recommend go elsewhere and work, you'll be treated better
Cons
bad management, no business sense, fire you instantly
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate Office setting
Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB6 March 2017
my boss was a great person to work with. Our store was a friendly place to be. Other offices in the company didn't have the connection i had with my boss/co-workers. Trusted and confidental
Pros
Great environment to build professional relationships with
Cons
high turnover rate.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work place was hard
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB1 March 2017
answer phones
offer loans
sign off on three staffs loans
I was the management at my location
the upper management really didn't have time for those not in head office
workplace culture: I tried to make everyone feel needed and useful
hardest part of job: tying to keep the balance of work and fun for the girls who worked under me
most enjoyable part: working with some really good staff
Pros
management
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved my job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB6 February 2017
It is a very fast paced environment to work in, you have to be able to work under-pressure and handle high amounts of stress. I learned how to work in different areas of sales, how to greet clients in a friendly,timely and professional manner. Maintaining a excellent Client/Customer relationship. Communicating with clients on weekly/monthly promotions. Management was very friendly, although they can be very demanding. Workplace was very fun, i worked with a great team of people. The hardest part of my job was getting everything cleaned up at close, but it was always fun. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the satisfaction on my clients face when they saw me or got what they needed.
Pros
25% discount
Cons
shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good management
Payroll Coordinator and AP Specialist (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 February 2017
friendly management and co-workers.The office is more positive and enjoyable to be at, and everyone always has an open door.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB6 January 2017
This job will stain your soul. In fact, avoid working in any payday loans industry at all costs.

I was required to work 8 to 2 - 3 PM, leave for 3 hours, and come back and close from 6 - 9 PM - Monday through Friday. I was abused by the Regional Manager who made me feel awful for taking my breaks. I was not paid for my overtime I worked.

There was minimal security. Customers threatened me bodily harm and there was nothing there to prevent them from doing so if they had gone through with it.

They take advantage of people on AISH, CPP, and anyone else they can for money.

You will deal with people in their darkest moments and it will effect you emotionally. You will have to deny someone a loan who has tears in their eyes. You will have to automatically remove funds from someones account when their rent is due - only to deal with them screaming in your face later to put it back when you can't.

Even though I learned things while I was here, I would never work here, or in this industry again.
Cons
Harassing People; Dealing with difficult people; Abusive Management; Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
culture
Home Office (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB1 November 2016
I have only worked for one other company that had a culture this great. Management cares, training is great and room to grow is endless. Anyone thinking about applying should give it a shot, this is NOT your typical pawn company, we are changing the world!
Pros
open door policy; management; pay; incentives
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard job
Warehouser/ senior sales (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 October 2016
it was a very hard job to do for someone of my age. i did however enjoy working there . most of the staff where easy to get a long with.
Pros
had hep when they where available
Cons
a lot of big ticket items
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional management, trashy co workers
Pawn broker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 June 2016
I worked here for about a year. At first it was wonderful everyone seemed very supportive however as time went on my coworkers became gossipy management was dramatic raising my concern for mental health in the workplace. Needless to say I loved the customers yet I felt horrible everytime I took money from people who didn't have any, so many people here will take money and get more money from people who can barely feed their kids and have serious financial issues therefore I feel as if this company is a failure as when I started it was we help the customer and want to support them and help them grow then turned into you didn't make enough this quota...anyway I loved the job the pay was good but hated the miscommunication and unprofessional management
Pros
Interesting work environment good pay reasonable hours
Cons
Unprofessional co workers, management complains about breaks, poor communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic workplace, fun environment interesting stuff!
Pawn Broker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 June 2016
I worked at Cash Canada for a year, it was fun i quite enjoyed it although a lot of my co workers and staff were very rude to the customers and even myself at times. I loved my job and i loved helping out my customers you really learn a lot about things and its an amazing opportunity.
Pros
Good pay, fun customers, interesting days, leave work at work kind of job
Cons
Frustrating co workers, sometimes dangerous environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Communicate honestly?
Term loan manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB31 May 2016
They always want you to "communicate honestly" until you say something they don't like... then it's held against you in every review meeting you go to.
Pros
Paid vacation
Cons
Management staff needs to be reviewed
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience working with Junior Forest Rangers
Senior Sales Associate/Warehouse (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB12 April 2016
this job is a great experience for young adults that would like to see what it is like to be a forest fire fighter. they train you to use chainsaws, radios, and first aid, this job was a great opportunity
Pros
out in the wilderness, work with great people
Cons
away from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Easy work place
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 April 2016
At Cash Canada I learned a lot of great things. How to handle customer complaints right down to financials and training staff. I loved going to work everyday I would go in do mid day takeover and make tills for staff go over end of night packages. Then I would have a little staff meeting with everyone to get them pumped for the day. My job there was made to be fun and easy. My co-workers were always great people who enjoyed their jobs and loved to have fun on the job too. The hardest part of my job was the high stress level environment. We always had to be constantly on our toes because you never knew what was going to happen that day. My favourite part of my job was knowing that I was able to help someone with a pawn loan or even just to help them have piece of mind that their stuff will be well taken care of while it was with us.
Pros
Bonuses
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cash Canada. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 47 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
3.1
Culture
3.3