Carters, Inc Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 51 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
moderate place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ONApril 27, 2016
There are days when it is busy and business is good. Coworkers are friendly and so are the managers. However, there are no benefits and hours are short sometimes. The hardest part of this job is getting hours. I loved working with my coworkers they were friendly and we always had fun working. i learned excellent customer service skills and dealing with the register.
Pros
good lunch hour
Cons
barely any hours to work
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
peacefu; work environment with friendly staff
Sales Associate/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONJune 16, 2016
At Carters its always nice to work with friendly and reliable co-workers and for a company that is stable and provides with a positive and peaceful environment so that the employees could easily concentrate on customer service and also be productive through their day at work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Carter's Oshkosh
Retail Sales Attendant (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, ABMarch 24, 2016
Typical Day:
Geeting customers, helping with customers and checking out customers at till.

Management:
They are friendly, kind and care about you

Most enjoyable part of the job:
Meeting new customers

Hardest part of the job:
Nothing really-- maybe long hours
Pros
The company maintains the you get your breaks according to the employment law.
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The environment is pleasant and friendly. I enjoy the customers and providing customer service is what I excel in
Manager in Training (Current Employee) –  Spruce Grove, ABMay 17, 2016
Upward mobility is very difficult within this company. Being paid such a low salary with few hours, makes it difficult to make ends meet.
Cons
Few hours, consistent shift changes without proper notice
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No recognition
manager-in-training (Current Employee) –  Etobicoke, ONJuly 12, 2016
lots of work , not enough appreciation
never got a raise except for minimum wage raise
not enough staff thus, have to do 3 people's job
lots of paperwork and they are repetitive
not enough money for the amount of work
Pros
none
Cons
long hours, not enough pay, not enough staff, lazy management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aborable Baby clothing store
Manager-in-Training (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMarch 30, 2016
Carters is a great place to shop. The prices are unbeatable depending on the clothing. In terms of Working there, its a nice, clean place with excellent employees. Although the manager at the time did not work with my availibility which led to conflict between my life and job.
Pros
prices, carter's team
Cons
Hours, management
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Management!
Manager in Training (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BCJune 27, 2016
Terrible company to work for.
I was there for almost 5 yrs and had more managers and DMs and RMs than I can count.

Be wary working here, you will be underpaid and unappreciated
Pros
Discount
Cons
Schedule changes frequently.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Sales Associate/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ONJanuary 8, 2016
great place to work, girls were friendly, customers fantastic, a lot of exercise.xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Pros
easy job
Cons
not alot
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, NBJune 2, 2016
Management made the working atmosphere very tense. It was not enjoyable to go to work when the manager was there and many customers complained because of the management. Nice to work around kids though.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and energetic work environment
sales representative (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ONMarch 31, 2016
The childrens place is a fun and energetic place to work, with a good staff and a sufficient amount of hours for even part time associates. Training is sufficient and well done.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing team but not so amazing company
Manager-in-Training (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ONOctober 29, 2015
Merchandising and maintaining visual standards is enjoyable. Great teams at store-level but unfortunately, head office doesn't seem to care about you unless you work in corporate. No opportunity for pay raise, very little opportunity for job advancement.
Pros
Great team members, merchandising, great customers
Cons
Minimum pay, no opportunity for raise, little opportunity for job advancement, lots of theft
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Brantford, ONFebruary 9, 2016
Most enjoyable is to help customers find what they are looking for
Good to work with most of my coworkers
Learned to handle cash and merchandise
Hardest part is to figure out how to merchandise our floor
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well established company, supportive management
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Owen Sound, ONOctober 22, 2015
Fun workplace, supportive management. Enjoy the environment within the workplace, and colleagues. Difficult working around schedules for other commitments such as work, school and kids, likely due to amount of employees in and out in short amounts of time. Enjoy working with stock, and arranging displays throughout the store. Hardest part of the job would personally be the touch and go hours, finding care for child with the changing hours
Pros
wonderful colleagues
Cons
lack of employees
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor place to work
sales associate (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBJanuary 8, 2016
- minimum wage , no benefits and lots of expectations ...
- stuff and managers is not so friendly
- always a mess in the store
- poor customer service
- hard labor work

Did not enjoy working in this place.
Cons
minimum wage
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ONFebruary 1, 2016
fun environment, great coworkers and understanding managers. Overall a great environment to work in with some scope for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
positive environment!
Manager in Training (Current Employee) –  sault ste marie ontarioAugust 18, 2015
I thoroughly enjoy my job at Carters and Oshkosh. I get to see happy families, happy babies and children daily! How awesome is that? I have learned so much about product, and retail as well as children in my months working there. I have been part of the management for several months and I really enjoy it and never saw myself becoming an M.I.T. My co-workers are for the most part a blast to be around. We are able to work and have fun all at the same time. The hardest part of my job it most likely planograms, and stock days, I really can't complain though. The most enjoyable part of my job is definitely seeing babies come through the store, i absolutely love babies!
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Manager in Training (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJuly 31, 2015
Fun work place if not for the new management.
I love it how the sales associate are working as a team not individually.
It is considered a big company but there is no benefit at all and no salary increase especially to the people who are working with the company for a long time.
Pros
employee buying day
Cons
no salary increase
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and serious, and also very fun place to work for
Manager in Training (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, ABMarch 3, 2016
A typical day at work for me, was going in sign in and start working as soon as I could, I wanted to get as much stuff done as possible before my shift ended. I would check our schedule and the list of things to do and start them. My manager had assigned us ( MITs) to certain parts in the store, where we would clean up, redo the walls, put new programs out, and also train the new employees in those sections and show them what needed to be done and how to do it correctly. I would also work on shipment and do the paperwork that came along with it; When my manager and assistant manager was not in, that would put me in charge of the girls and the store, so i would assign them to certain spots, and make a list of the thing's that needed to be done for that day. On sundays that i worked I would also do the morning paperwork that had to be sent to our regional manager. I would open and close the store, and if it was possible for me I would go in and cover the other girls shifts if needed. There wasn't really a hard part of the job, I really enjoyed the girls i worked with, they became like family to me, we were all like sisters to each other, that was the hardest part of leaving that job and moving.
Pros
Always had fun on the job, but also serious when needed.
Cons
Our hours were always being cut to maybe a couple shifts a week.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An okay place to work at
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABSeptember 9, 2015
For the time that I worked there Carters/Osh kosh bigosh for the most part was a great place to work at. The staff I worked with was always friendly and supportive of each other.
Pros
Co-Workers
Cons
availablity :
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work, friendly team and great management
Assistant store Manager (Current Employee) –  torontoJuly 5, 2015
Greeting and assisting customers
tidying the store and keeping it tidy throughout the day
Replenishing stock as needed
Friendly team environment
Merchandising new items as they come in
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
average pay, low hours during slow periods
Was this review helpful?YesNo4

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 646 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7