Find companies:
Carters, Inc
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
244 reviews

Carters, Inc Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Location 
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paces work environment
Part Time Supervisor (Current Employee), Kansas City, KSAugust 14, 2014
Pros: close to home, pay is decent, atmosphere is nice
Cons: no room to grow, no set schedule
A typical work day would involve opening the registers, ordering supplies, printing email, filling out the daily planner with our sales goal and to do lists. Delivering customer service and being outwardly friendly. Instruction associates what to do, time frames and personal goals.

I've learned that it takes a certain person to be able to work retail.

Management, – more... though I am part of it, is a bit disorganized in general. There needs to be some sort of balance between roles.

My coworkers are hard working and fun. They make the job enjoyable everyday, like a family environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment
Personal Care Attendant (Former Employee), Darby, PAAugust 12, 2014
Pros: companionship
Cons: helping the elder
Caring and helping a elderly patient was a great experience knowing that I contributed to his every day needs
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
distribution warehouse in ga
Picker/Packer (Former Employee), Pendergrass, GAAugust 9, 2014
Pros: pay was decent
Cons: cant get hired on permanant until there a year or more.
your always on standby for mandatory overtime every seven days of the week every week and your given very little notice about it. Mandatory overtime is 75% of the year. Sounds great at first but wears your body down if your not fit and you have no life outside of work. They don't provide enough work materials for each person to do their job and over – more... hire making conditions crowded. Despite being crowded or not having the materials needed to do your job your expected to make a quota which is high. its like jogging for ten hours straight with no breaks. if you have no cart its like jogging with two weights you have to hold onto because you have to hold onto a box all day without resting. Management could care less about the people. Nice enough folks but don't care one flip about you. They are only interested in the bottom line and how to get it. If you say anything about anyone that gives you problems or others you have a bad attitude as it is to inconvenient for them to resolve the issue. They fire people daily for not making quota and not showing up. Your given points but you use them up by not going in twice. (before 90 days ) after its four days. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, good first job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Terrell, TXAugust 4, 2014
Pros: good discounts
Cons: not very many hours
best first job
helpful
not very good hours
fun place to work
good managers
professional
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interaction with customers and wonderful children
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Melrose Park, ILJuly 31, 2014
Pros: friendly environment
Cons: not enough hours
Their is a lot to do. Marketing, sales change, inventory, mark downs etc. Very nice team. everyone is friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leadership
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Gurnee, ILJuly 25, 2014
Pros: development in my staff
Cons: n/a
I have to say my employees are the best. I enjoy on the spot coaching and helping my staff succeed. Seeing them grow and develop is amazing. They all are comfortable to come to me with any problems or concerns they have and if I do not have an answer I will make sure I go above and beyond to get them the answers. I also enjoy role playing. I myself – more... am a visual person, so I believe it helps role playing and acting for the employees to fully understand. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fast pace job
Sales Associate/ Part Time Stock Supervisor (Current Employee), Tulalip, WAJuly 23, 2014
I enjoyed how nice and friendly our customers were. I've learned so much, to leadership skills, working as a team, and customer service skills. All of my co workers were amazing and we all got along well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Carter's Review
Part Time Sales Associate (Accessories Expert) (Current Employee), Long Beach, CAJuly 22, 2014
Pros: helping customers, see all the new merchandise
Cons: cleaning and floor changes and low pay.
When I come in for my shift, after clocking in and putting my purse in my locker, we go to the register area and have a "chat in", numbers, goals, assign register, and start on my accessories and/or whatever the managers assign for me to do. Greet customers as they come in as I ring customers and sale merchandise. The hardest part of my job is the cleaning – more... while customers are shopping. The most enjoyable part of my job is helping the customers with their shopping needs and wants. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work while in school
Sales associate (Former Employee), Conroe, TXJuly 16, 2014
Pros: discount on baby clothing
Cons: short breaks and no good benifits
greeting customers
helping customers find what they are looking for
checking customers out at the register
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with a great employees and workplace.
Project Coordinator (Former Employee), Nashville, TNJuly 16, 2014
This company provides a great working atmosphere while showing how valuable employees are to the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), San Marcos TXJuly 11, 2014
Carters is one of the best companies I've worked for. They have a great atmosphere, friendly staff and promote within, giving all their employee growth potential.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Sales Associate (Former Employee), West Reading, PAJuly 8, 2014
Pros: very flexible
Cons: no hours
A typical day at work would be getting chatted in, depending on the day & shift you would do stock, fill in merchandise, and do mark downs. I've learned how to play the role of a manager and see some insite from a higher level than just an associate. It kept me busy & I knew exactly what was expected of me every shift. My co-workers we're a pretty good – more... group of workers, we did what we had to do although a lot of petty drama, we were like a family. the hardest part of the job was having to pick up after children that would knock down everything. The most enjoyable part was seeing the kids and the moms being so happy about the deals & leaving with smiles on their faces. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
children friendly environment
Retail Supervisor (Former Employee), Lanham, MDJuly 8, 2014
Pros: paid break
Cons: all benefits, 41k
working in a children environment helps you learn about the different sizes
there needs and wants
how to communicate wih child and parentt
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very confusing place to work
Equipment Operator (Former Employee), Braselton, GAJuly 5, 2014
Pros: 100% match on 401k - not guaranteed every year
Cons: cynical management, poor or no training, boring -repetitious jobs, 15 cent raise after a year
I have never seen a workplace that operates with such poor if any communication. There is a continuous flow of new temporary employees placed new off the street in critical areas without any { not a shread} of training. I asked a manager why and his response still baffles me. He stated that the new employees were not deemed "worthy" of training.
No – more... sitting is allowed for ten to twelve hours. The place is hot but they have placed fans in several areas.
Managers and supervisors are arrogant.. there are exceptions.
They stand around and talk or play with their cell phones.
They are thin skinned and do not welcome suggestions and don't dare offer criticism.
Coworkers are great people and they are as bored as I am.
If you get into the right crowd and kiss butt, are not too old, you may have a chance here. I discouraged several people from applying at this site.
My only annual raise was 15 cents when the CEO is the seventh highest paid in the country.
Maybe Carters is OK to work for in the home office or stores but it was not in this hot box. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Staff Accountant (Former Employee), Tampa, FLJuly 4, 2014
Pros: great work/life balance
Stable small CPA firm. Great opportunities and benefits. Great work/life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Visuals
Manager (Former Employee), edinger ave huntington beach, caJuly 3, 2014
Pros: visual and managemnet experience
Cons: lack of hours
I learned how to do floor sets in a timely manner. We received shipment daily and had to process the shipment and have it out with in 1 business day. So i really learned to mange my time and merchandise and floor set effectively. I also learned how to upsell and multi task in a fast paced manner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i really enjoyed it
Cashier (Former Employee), Edinburgh, INJuly 1, 2014
it was a really good job while I was there but some worker was very rude and disrespectful but I guess you get that everywhere
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Hillsboro, TXJune 30, 2014
If you're good with customers, then this is a pretty easy and fun job. It was my first job and I learned a lot about work ethic and to always put a customer's needs first. The managers here are easy to talk to and will always work with you on scheduling and needs. Co-workers are very friendly. It is very enjoyable to see people excited to buy things – more... for new babies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard working
Cashier/Sales Association (Former Employee), Pearl, MSJune 29, 2014
Pros: loving environment
Cons: no hours
ok job...kept me on the move the co workers were nice...fast pace job..cleaning up was the hardest part..management was alright...i learned how to work a cash register and greet customers properly
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would have been great
Customer Service (Former Employee), Lebanon TNJune 29, 2014
This place would have been awesome had it not been for the poor management. Our Manager was amazing, though she was wrapped up in her wedding plans leaving the majority of tasks to be dropped to the assistant manager who did little to nothing, leaving it to the employees to cover her slack.

1 2 3 4 5

About Carters, Inc

The william carter company was founded in 1865 by william carter in needham, mass. it is one of the oldest and largest branded – Read more