Carters, Inc Employee Reviews

Found 59 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meh
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB23 November 2016
Job was great when the store was busy, during the dead hours you as an employee had to wander around aimlessly in your zone unable to be stationary even if there were no customers in the store. When customers entered your zone you approached them with a hello and see if there is anything you could help them with, if not you leave them be and come back in 5-10 minutes or if you see that a certain item has caught their attention, if your customer wants to purchase we would check if there was anyone at cash to help them or a line up that could be shortened by having both tills going simultaneously, if there is no one at cash we would attend to our customer from start to finish.
Pros
discount on carter's|oshkosh items
Cons
not enough hours, dead times, stuck in a single zone like greet all the time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Manager in Training (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON14 November 2016
I truly love working here. But I do not enjoy the shifts with a possibility to start earlier due to if you cant come in due to plans they do not like that. You have to be able to go to work if the schedule says you might start earlier then those days you can not make any plans.
Pros
Lots of hours when busy. Amazing coworkers.
Cons
Long Hours, when slow and no new stock, can be boring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is not worth it to work for this company
Manager in Training (Key Holder) (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC4 October 2016
the manager and coworkers really good
district manager unfear, and did not promote from within the company.
They are working you like a slave but when it comes to raising the pay rate it takes forever to give you few pennies
Pros
have fun with coworkers, because we needed to, otherwise you cannot resist
Cons
pay rate really low but with lots of responsibilities, no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
break
Sales Clerk (Current Employee) –  Laval, QC27 December 2016
They give only 15min of break for 7hours of work. they don't have a fridge. no table to eat. we have to clean the bathroom, clean the floor. while the owner eat and have fun in her office.
Pros
nothing
Cons
small pause, clean bathroom
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees at store level amazing. Head office not so great.
Assistant manager (Current Employee) –  Ontario25 May 2016
Working at store level is great. All fellow employee are fun to work with and we all get along so well

Head office doesn't care about their employees. You're just a number to them and are easily replaceable. No pay raise, but expect so much from you in return. No thanks for working hard to achieve goals. I think they forget that if it wasn't for store staff working their butts off that they wouldn't have a successful company at all. Even though we are at the bottom of the chain we still deserves some recognition for out hard work
Pros
Great staff in stores
Cons
Under appreciate
Was this review helpful?Yes8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No recognition
manager-in-training (Current Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON12 July 2016
lots of work , not enough appreciation
never got a raise except for minimum wage raise
not enough staff thus, have to do 3 people's job
lots of paperwork and they are repetitive
not enough money for the amount of work
Pros
none
Cons
long hours, not enough pay, not enough staff, lazy management
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Carter
Construction Labourer (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON26 September 2016
The last place I worked was called carter. It was a general labour job making 15.00 an hour. The location of carter was in Brampton Near highway 50. I was making metal panels that go onto big building!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
peacefu; work environment with friendly staff
Sales Associate/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 June 2016
At Carters its always nice to work with friendly and reliable co-workers and for a company that is stable and provides with a positive and peaceful environment so that the employees could easily concentrate on customer service and also be productive through their day at work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Place
Manager in Training (MIT) (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ON23 December 2016
Not a very nice place to work. Management was nice, but the over all environment was a bit stressful. A little bit unorganized, childish actions were at place
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
moderate place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON27 April 2016
There are days when it is busy and business is good. Coworkers are friendly and so are the managers. However, there are no benefits and hours are short sometimes. The hardest part of this job is getting hours. I loved working with my coworkers they were friendly and we always had fun working. i learned excellent customer service skills and dealing with the register.
Pros
good lunch hour
Cons
barely any hours to work
Was this review helpful?Yes10No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The environment is pleasant and friendly. I enjoy the customers and providing customer service is what I excel in
Manager in Training (Current Employee) –  Spruce Grove, AB17 May 2016
Upward mobility is very difficult within this company. Being paid such a low salary with few hours, makes it difficult to make ends meet.
Cons
Few hours, consistent shift changes without proper notice
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Management!
Manager in Training (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC27 June 2016
Terrible company to work for.
I was there for almost 5 yrs and had more managers and DMs and RMs than I can count.

Be wary working here, you will be underpaid and unappreciated
Pros
Discount
Cons
Schedule changes frequently.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Carter's Oshkosh
Retail Sales Attendant (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB24 March 2016
Typical Day:
Geeting customers, helping with customers and checking out customers at till.

Management:
They are friendly, kind and care about you

Most enjoyable part of the job:
Meeting new customers

Hardest part of the job:
Nothing really-- maybe long hours
Pros
The company maintains the you get your breaks according to the employment law.
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aborable Baby clothing store
Manager-in-Training (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 March 2016
Carters is a great place to shop. The prices are unbeatable depending on the clothing. In terms of Working there, its a nice, clean place with excellent employees. Although the manager at the time did not work with my availibility which led to conflict between my life and job.
Pros
prices, carter's team
Cons
Hours, management
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, NB2 June 2016
Management made the working atmosphere very tense. It was not enjoyable to go to work when the manager was there and many customers complained because of the management. Nice to work around kids though.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  south common edmonton6 August 2016
Co-workers are helpful, so we are a team. But when managers are present environment become unbearable.
Pros
n/a
Cons
no appreciation
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Sales Associate/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON8 January 2016
great place to work, girls were friendly, customers fantastic, a lot of exercise.xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Pros
easy job
Cons
not alot
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and energetic work environment
sales representative (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON31 March 2016
The childrens place is a fun and energetic place to work, with a good staff and a sufficient amount of hours for even part time associates. Training is sufficient and well done.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing team but not so amazing company
Manager-in-Training (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON29 October 2015
Merchandising and maintaining visual standards is enjoyable. Great teams at store-level but unfortunately, head office doesn't seem to care about you unless you work in corporate. No opportunity for pay raise, very little opportunity for job advancement.
Pros
Great team members, merchandising, great customers
Cons
Minimum pay, no opportunity for raise, little opportunity for job advancement, lots of theft
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well established company, supportive management
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Owen Sound, ON22 October 2015
Fun workplace, supportive management. Enjoy the environment within the workplace, and colleagues. Difficult working around schedules for other commitments such as work, school and kids, likely due to amount of employees in and out in short amounts of time. Enjoy working with stock, and arranging displays throughout the store. Hardest part of the job would personally be the touch and go hours, finding care for child with the changing hours
Pros
wonderful colleagues
Cons
lack of employees
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 710 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.6
Culture
3.7