Caron Transportation Systems Employee Reviews

Showing all 8 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Tranload Operator (Former Employee) –  Clairmont, AB7 October 2016
Management was very approachable.
i was trained very well
coworkers were very friendly and helpful and patient with my training.
hardest part was having to quit.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well run trucking company
Professional Driver (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 January 2015
They are committed to a high level of performance through consistant maintenance, upgrading, and monitoring of equipment. Also committed to accommodating employee needs when possible to help ensure employee satisfaction. Typical day for drivers are long which is unavoidable. Co-workers are all easy to get along with and management is appreciative of their employees.
Pros
great pay
Cons
difficult industry
Was this review helpful?Yes31No10Report

Comment – August 22, 2016

Thank you for the feedback, we are happy to hear that you had a positive experience while working with Caron. Best Wishes, Human Resources

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over worked - Under Paided - No Personal life balance
Professional Driver (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park18 January 2015
Didn't matter what terminal you worked for as they all treated the drivers like pieces of meat behind the wheel. Weak dispatch and micro managed system in place. It was stated that you have scheduled days off but be prepared for non. Be prepared to work excessively long unpaid hours with no balance for personal life and work. The hardest part of the job was dispatch changed their mind lots not allowing you to prepare for the trip. I wouldn't work for they again.
Pros
Great for no experienced drivers
Cons
Job doesnt pay enough for expertise that you require for job, Long hours, Lots of unpaid hours, No personal life balance, No scheduled days off, No training after inital training, Assumed that you know how to do the job, Nasty chemical work
Was this review helpful?Yes51No7Report

Comment – August 22, 2016

We are sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience while working with Caron. If you would be interested in providing us with more information you can reach out to us at the Human Resources Confidential inbox at hrc@carontransport.ca. We appreciate all feedback so we can improve the Caron experience for current and future employees. Best wishes, Human Resources

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Assistant to the Accounting Manager (Current Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB16 January 2013
I have received some incredible experience and opportunities at Caron and made some life long friends in the past 5 years. Unfortunately, due to the last year of severe staffing shortages and turn arounds the excessive work has fallen on me and I have had to give up all me evenings and weekends and my family life has suffered so i have decided it was time to move on.
Pros
awesome staff functions
Cons
way too much work and uncompensated over time
Was this review helpful?Yes75No16Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with, poor unethical management
Workhorse (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB10 May 2013
You meet some great people working at Caron Transport, the downfall is the unethical behavior of the management. They abuse employees who are loyal and hardworking and praise managers who behave unethically all the time. Great people, poor environment.
Pros
Company Function
Cons
Long hours, no compensation, no morals, values or ethics within management staff
Was this review helpful?Yes68No10Report

Comment – August 22, 2016

We are sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience while working with Caron. If you are interested in providing us with more information please reach out to our Human Resources Confidential inbox at hrc@carontransport.ca. We welcome any feedback you would be willing to provide to help us improve the Caron experience. Best wishes, Human Resources

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long term employee, always treated well, and fairly
Professional Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB26 June 2016
This company has been very good to me over my long tenure here. Always get time off when needed, family is very important to me and they recognize that, and accommodate as needed.
Trucking can be a very tough job at times with long hours, difficult working conditions, from severe weather, blizzards, driving snow, dust storms, extreme heat, big city traffic. All part of trucking well beyond the companies control, I'd like to see detention pay for closed roads due to mother nature, or motor vehicle accident's, the industry is ever changing, evolving, and moving forward so I feel it's only a matter of time until we are compensated for this kind of things. They move a little slow with these type of things. They have been innovative and forward thinking with some things such as there sleep apnea program where they tested all current employees, and if found to suffer from apnea provided a machine at no charge to them and with that installed power inverters in all trucks so you could power your machine if you had one provided to you. As well as all future employees were tested prior to commencement of work and provided a machine also free of charge only stipulation was if you left before six months you were required to pay for it. They've adapted to some of the new technologies, adopting automated transmissions (I'm no fan of by any means but that's a personal preference) I applaude them for adopting it, I'm not sure they'll go forward with them, they haven't worked well with our very specialized field of liquid tankers. They've been testing disc brakes, adopted led headlights, forward
  more... facing recording cameras, and an increasing amount of lift axels on new equipment purchases. I find them at times very slow to get somethings changed, and at times they seem to be stuck in the past. No company is perfect but what I'm expecting and or looking for fit me very well, and I very much enjoy the work and specialized field I'm in. Overall a very great company to work for and with, and ive been treated very well and fairly, very happy here after all these years.  less
Pros
Well maintened modern equipment, family friendly, good remuneration (could be better of course), upper management.
Cons
Long hours, not enough time off (industry wide problem), dangerous nature of the products handled, better work schedule 12 and 2 is prehistoric, Middle management I question.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No3Report

Comment – August 22, 2016

Thank you for the feedback, we are happy to hear that you are having a positive experience and we appreciate your years of dedicated service. We appreciate all feedback if you would like to speak further with regards to some of your concerns, please contact the Human Resources Confidential inbox at hrc@carontransport.ca. Best Wishes, Human Resources

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
1A Company Driver (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon SK4 September 2013
Some days, I really miss working for this company. Had some very impressive pay cheques, which I am yet to match in my current job, four years later.

Workload was heavy, but not overwhelming. Always had enough energy left at the end of the week to wash the truck.

The job required a lot of driving skill, as the tankers consisted of one long compartment barrel (no smaller compartments with bulkheads, like fuel tankers). Consequently, the sloshing could give you back and neck pain pretty quick if you didn't learn to drive very smoothly.

The chemicals they transport (sodium hydroxide, sulfuric acid, hydrochloric acid) are VERY bad for the health. My teeth started to crack and erode during my tenure with Caron's. Also developed a bit of a productive cough at times, even though I've never touched a cigarette.

I suppose that's the trade-off. It was one I was no longer willing to make, for the sake of my health.
Pros
Very good pay and benefits. Newer, well-maintained equipment
Cons
Long work days, Away from home a lot, dangerous chemicals
Was this review helpful?Yes60No11Report

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 8 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.3
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
2.9
Culture
3.3

Caron Transportation Systems Reviews by Location