Find companies:
Carleton University
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
38 reviews

Carleton University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The nicest people!
Project Management Consultant (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONMarch 25, 2014
Pros: the people!
Cons: lack of funding!
One of the best places I've worked! The people are just very friendly, kind and nice. Everyone's ideas and suggestions are met with positive and open attitudes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive place to work
Student Caller (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONMarch 19, 2014
A typical day would be calling various alumni and/or parents to ask for their support towards particular funding.

I learned skills of sales and fundraising. My co-workers were great!
The hardest part of the job was facing rejection of people telling you no.
The most enjoyable part of the job were the weekly shift challenges, monthly themes and incentives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Computer Science Course Assistant (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONMarch 5, 2014
Good place to wok
Fair to ta's
Good experience
A fun job
Often seem's to be on the verge of a strike
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing outdoor experience
Geotechnical and Research Field Assistant (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: working outside
I worked as a Research assistant for a Hydrologist. I worked outside most of the time in a beautiful park and in a wetland. I learned all about
Collection of water samples for Mercury sensitivity, cycling, and impact within the lakes and watershed.
Collection of fish tissue samples for Mercury bioaccumulation. Storage of water and fish samples and timely
dispatch – more... to laboratories for analysis.
Collection of lake and stream water samples for Dissolved Organic Carbon (DOC), Ions, Absorbance,
Fluorescence, Chlorophyll, and Isotopes.
YSI Sonde, Diver water level loggers, and Secci data collection.
Processing and analyzing Chlorophyll concentration..
I worked with other students and professors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job satisfication
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONFebruary 5, 2014
I understand how to vigorous for the company it is to the success to ensure that all systems are 100 percent ready to consumer use before releasing them to the market.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to WOrk
Fitness Supervisor (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: free gym membership
Cons: shifts remain uncovered sometimes
Fun and exciting work atmosphere. Happy to help individuals on their path to fitness. The place is packed with hard working students willing to help out community members
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved the experience, met so many people
Residence Fellow (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONNovember 4, 2013
Earned an incredible opportunity to exercise my leadership and team working skills as a residence fellow. I met dozens of freshmen who lived in my building and elsewhere around campus that came from all over the world with so many stories and experiences. I managed a floor and organized events and maintained a healthy environment by moderating arguments – more... and resolving them effectively. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Environment, helping students learn!
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONAugust 14, 2013
Pros: deal with new people and find new challenges every day.
Cons: too many emails from the union manager.
Super rewarding helping students learn, watching them grasp concepts. Prepare and run labs and tutorial sessions as well as correct weekly assignments and midterms. Also had a great opportunity to lead design teams for a fourth year engineering project, developing a power station turbine. The hardest part of the job was getting up SUPER early for the – more... early morning sessions, but it was really rewarding helping kids understand concepts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Informative
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONJuly 25, 2013
I am currently pursuing my degree and working on my research. I have learned a lot about the field I am working, mining, also I learned a lot about my capabilities during my degree. I am doing numerical modelling currently hence I can also work at home which is the main advantage. The hardest part about my job is that I am using a open-source program, – more... which people are not familiar with, and it may take few hours to run the code. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly work environemnt
Special Events Staff (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJuly 15, 2013
Had to help set up events for the undergraduate recruitment staff. My co-workers were very passionate in what they did especially because of the love they have for the University.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly
cleaning (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJune 19, 2013
Pros: non free lunch
Cons: good hours
the most enjoyable part of the job
getting know to work with people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment
Software Developer (Current Employee), OttawaJune 10, 2013
Very nice campus and people. Work is full filling. Many opportunities for higher education.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Training Provided, Positive Experience and Fantastic People!
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONMay 26, 2013
Lots of work to be done, and a fantastic opportunity to broaden my experience base! Very rewarding experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
/
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONMay 10, 2013
During my teaching assistant position throughout my Master’s Degree, where I assisted in the instruction of courses on Public Expenditures and Taxation which benefited from my precise communication skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and professional atmosphere
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONApril 29, 2013
The professors I assisted were consistently well organized and helpful. They would provide marking schemes and very specific instructions about how to complete allocate marks. The administrative support staff have been consistently professional, helpful and friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a great place to work
Head TA (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONMarch 15, 2013
I enjoy working with my colleagues and new generation full of energy and hope.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent culture and work/life balance
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONMarch 12, 2013
Pros: excellent culture and progressive work environment
Carleton has worked very hard on its image and especially on its funding profile for Graduate level students. The results have been excellent and Carleton (or at least the Geography department where I am situated) is well run and well organized.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well managed workplace
Technical Assistant (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONFebruary 25, 2013
Pros: non-strenuous
This is perhaps the best workplace environment I have worked at. My boss was very nice and taught me the basics of hardware and software. The environment and atmosphere there was amazing and well kept. Co-worker were nice and helpful during my time there. The hardest part of the job was when I spent hours on end trying to repair the damaged computers – more... and determining the problem. My favourite part is being able to learn and work with what I love, computers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an okay job, not my field, but good for a student.
Night Systems Clerk (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONFebruary 10, 2013
Non-disclosure was signed, so I cannot really say anything.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good university with very experienced professors
Corvus-Rook UAV Components Designer (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONFebruary 4, 2013
The professors were very helpfull and the university's environment was calm and relaxing