Carleton University Employee Reviews

Showing all 107 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work experience
Graduate Information Administrator (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON21 February 2017
Working at Carleton has to be one of my favorite experiences. I would love the opportunity to go back if it arises. I am thankful for the office/ computer skills I gained while working here. Always a fast paced day, with lots of work to be done and dealing with different students as they came into the office. Great experience.
Pros
Great people to work with.
Cons
A little far from home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Biology Lab Assistant
Lab assistant (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON21 November 2016
Maintained Laboratory work area and equipment, such as sorting, collecting and entering data. Performed specific laboratory research procedures as well as prepared specific experimental lay-outs. Adhered to correct laboratory procedures, policies and health/ safety measures.
Very Flexible with work hours according to your school load.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best job for students
Campus Card Representative (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON21 February 2017
Working while studying at Carleton is ideal, and the Campus Card Office is a great place to work. So accommodating, great hours, a great team atmosphere, the only draw back is you must be studying at Carleton to work there.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching Assistant
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON23 March 2017
Relatively Low pay for TAs, but otherwise good position. My department is a strong advocate for TAs, so they make sure we're all taken care of. Union has relatively strong bargaining power
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Student (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON11 February 2017
Focus on the company and your individual experience while employed there
Provide reasons for why you liked or disliked working at the company
Ensure any facts you include in your review are true and accurate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical TA posting
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON13 January 2017
Acceptable workload, most time spent grading materials. Tutorials are straight-forward, professors typically prepare notes for seminars. Pay is acceptable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON29 November 2016
Good place to work, lovely people, enjoyed my experience.

On a day to day basis, i enjoyed the work, although at times, the job would get lonely, it was in a library after all.
Pros
Good Breaks
Cons
Can get boring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mediocre
Postdoc Fellow (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON27 November 2016
unstable, lack of funding, no research roadmap. not so good work space. office environment is not good. printer not working at times, window broken, lengthy office work and processes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They are pretty good
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON23 January 2017
Staff and administrative department members are friendly. The pay is pretty decent, for sure its not hectic to work in this school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Reasearch assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON8 January 2017
A very good place to work. a fine time there. I don't have time right now to write a lot here, sorry. I enjoyed my time there a lot, but now I am busy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience!
Laboratory Research Technician (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON2 November 2016
The job taught me a lot about working in a lab and provided me with great experience that I can further apply in both school and future employment opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Balance
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON23 November 2016
Carleton has a good work life balance for teaching assistants. They ensure that TA's are not taking on too much, and have time for their own studies.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice learning
Teaching assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa East, ON22 August 2016
 Grading students’ assignments
 Holding office hours to provide students with help, including answering technical questions and dealing with their mental issues
 Report to professors
Pros
Nice learning
Cons
people do not show up
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun interacting with students
Math Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON30 May 2016
I reinforced Mathematics concepts taught by Professors by hosting problem solving sessions. I enjoyed interacting with the students and designing class materials to improve student's grasp on the course material.
Pros
I had the oppurtunity to reinforce engineering course material in my mind, by teaching it to 1st, 2nd & 3rd year students.
Cons
Students exams, usually coincided with my exams. Marking exam papers took away from my preparation time.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring Work Environment
Personal Care Attendant (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON6 June 2016
Helping students with disabilities who live on residence meet their daily needs. Helping them with personal care as well as rising and retiring, toileting, dressing, laundry and light housekeeping
Pros
Down time in between calls
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to get involved within the school
Volunteer Note Taker (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON5 May 2016
Learned to take and make efficient notes that would help the students of the Paul Menton Centre, as well as help keep me organized.
Pros
Helped me to keep track of notes and stay organized for each class
Cons
At times, the 48 hour window was not long enough in regards to certain classes
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No comment
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON21 August 2016
I have no comment to make at this time related to Carleton University working environment. I'll provide this information at a later date.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits, work life balance, but no abilities to grow.
Assistant Director, Finance and Business Dev. (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON18 March 2016
Work starts at 9:00, until 5:00, normally I will stay until later. I have to come some weekends depending on the needs.
I am able to do great workouts here.
There is a lot of opportunities for professional development but the hardest part is the inability to grow since this is a medium size company.
Pros
Free gym, free university tuition, great pension plan
Cons
No ability to grow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice university to study at
Student (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON29 May 2016
Carleton University is generally a tough place to study at for Engineering but most professors are nice and willing to teach you if youre willing to learn. Only issue really is that it can be overbearing as there is a lot of work to do.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for student
Special Events Staff at the UndeRecruitment Office (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON8 June 2016
As a student was working with my schedule and it was a good opportunity to meet and great future student. Amazing supervisor
Pros
Free Lunches, school gears
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Carleton University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 107 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
4.1
Culture
4.3

Carleton University Reviews by Location