Carleton University Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Parallel institutional cultures - and the twain just doesn't meet
Analyst (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON13 February 2018
Perhaps in common with other universities, the service and the academic sides of the university have completely different opinions about the scope of their responsibilities but I am not sure anyone has reality-checked either worldview .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, but depends on your position
IT Support Analyst (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON29 January 2018
I've had good employment experience here as a TA and an IT support worker, but you're going to have very different outcomes depending on your position and department.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great university
Student (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON29 January 2018
My experience at Carleton University is great.I find the school administrators, and staff very helpful in helping students navigate and succeed in their academic areas.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON24 January 2018
Nice place to work at as a teaching assistant. flexible hours, only tutorial to go every time with prepared notes. explain well and help students to succeed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Information Security Co-op (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON12 January 2018
Good place to work. Got to have some say in my work hours. Relaxing environment. There are a lot of options for eating at lunch time which is usually 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part-time lifeguarding
Lifeguard/Swim Instructor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON19 December 2017
Carleton University pool was a fun and safe environment working with other young adults. However the pay was on the lower end of the scale and promotions were not done by application they were done by whatever the supervisors thought and there was often personal feelings that got in the way of promotions.
If you are interested in teaching swimming lessons you are looking at working evenings and weekends.
Carleton offered many oppertunities to become more qualified and teach advanced classes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching assistant
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON8 December 2017
Being a teaching assistant is a good way to be able to understand and teach the subject. I taught Python to first years and helped their understanding of the course outside the classroom
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for a student
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON3 December 2017
The best part of the job is that it was on campus and was a great position for a student to have. The hardest part of the job was being present for the classes even though you has already taken it (when a student in that class)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON29 November 2017
Excellent working environment. Professors help a lot. A person gets to learn a lot from the student and self improve ones knowledge about the course that th eperson is TAing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student
Student (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON7 November 2017
Being a student at Carleton university was tough. It required a lot of focus and did not give you a lot of time to explore life or make new friends. I feel the school did a poor job with their FROSH leader selection as it didn't help certain demographics connect with other students.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Optical Research Associate (Former Employee) –  ottawa, on21 October 2017
Good students and researcher
There are many labs that you can learn a lot of hands on experience
optics electronics photonics
challenging experiment
beautiful landscape
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agreable
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON19 October 2017
Ottawa carlton university my experience from unico was excellente
Pros
Good
Cons
Good
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
IT HelpDesk Analyst (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON16 October 2017
nice place to work
nice co-workers
nice environment
always learning something new
up-to-date technology
free lunches
respectable
job culture is amazing
Pros
best place to be
Cons
none at all
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexable
CAD for VLSI & RF Circuit Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON16 October 2017
My professor treat me well. I like the flexable hours for the work. By doing the research, I can get in touch with new publications for the circuit simulation algorithms.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good relaxed place to work with decent salary
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON6 October 2017
A good relaxed place to work with decent salary. The work culture is good and in view of increasing admissions every year there seems a substantial rise in job security .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Experience
Motor Controls Designer (Capstone) (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON24 September 2017
I enjoyed my studies at Carleton and appreciate the opportunities I was given. Aerospace and Mechanical engineering department has enough resources, to lead Ontario's space industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good postdoc experience
Postdoc (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON21 September 2017
I did a postdoc at Carleton, and as such didn't involve myself too much in the overall culture of the university. I mostly kept to my department and dealt mostly with my supervisor there, but I can say that my experience with the department and my supervisor was fantastic. So can can say it's a good place to spend a year or two, but longer than that, you'd want to ask a longer term employee.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful campus, surrounded by river, trees, birds, with gym, tennis, squash,
Hardware and Network Engineer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON18 September 2017
Carleton University is a beautiful self-contained microsmic clean, and refreshing campus. It is a privilege to work at Carleton University because it is conducive to work, and study.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Flexible hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good money, less work
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON5 September 2017
They give a well paid teaching assistant job. But make sure you get the right professor with right amount of work load. Very nice workplace culture but make sure they don't overwork you. Always get advice from the union if you face any troubles.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON29 August 2017
As a teaching assistant, you can learn a lot. Additionally, pay is good even though you have to spend lots of time preparing materials. Professors at Carleton are good and responsible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Carleton University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 191 reviews
5100
465
321
23
12

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
4.2Management
4.4Culture

Carleton University Reviews by Location