Carleton University Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student
Student (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON7 November 2017
Being a student at Carleton university was tough. It required a lot of focus and did not give you a lot of time to explore life or make new friends. I feel the school did a poor job with their FROSH leader selection as it didn't help certain demographics connect with other students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agreable
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON19 October 2017
Ottawa carlton university my experience from unico was excellente
Pros
Good
Cons
Good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
IT HelpDesk Analyst (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON16 October 2017
nice place to work
nice co-workers
nice environment
always learning something new
up-to-date technology
free lunches
respectable
job culture is amazing
Pros
best place to be
Cons
none at all
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexable
CAD for VLSI & RF Circuit Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON16 October 2017
My professor treat me well. I like the flexable hours for the work. By doing the research, I can get in touch with new publications for the circuit simulation algorithms.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good relaxed place to work with decent salary
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON6 October 2017
A good relaxed place to work with decent salary. The work culture is good and in view of increasing admissions every year there seems a substantial rise in job security .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Experience
Motor Controls Designer (Capstone) (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON24 September 2017
I enjoyed my studies at Carleton and appreciate the opportunities I was given. Aerospace and Mechanical engineering department has enough resources, to lead Ontario's space industry.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good postdoc experience
Postdoc (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON21 September 2017
I did a postdoc at Carleton, and as such didn't involve myself too much in the overall culture of the university. I mostly kept to my department and dealt mostly with my supervisor there, but I can say that my experience with the department and my supervisor was fantastic. So can can say it's a good place to spend a year or two, but longer than that, you'd want to ask a longer term employee.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful campus, surrounded by river, trees, birds, with gym, tennis, squash,
Hardware and Network Engineer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON18 September 2017
Carleton University is a beautiful self-contained microsmic clean, and refreshing campus. It is a privilege to work at Carleton University because it is conducive to work, and study.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Flexible hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good money, less work
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON5 September 2017
They give a well paid teaching assistant job. But make sure you get the right professor with right amount of work load. Very nice workplace culture but make sure they don't overwork you. Always get advice from the union if you face any troubles.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON29 August 2017
As a teaching assistant, you can learn a lot. Additionally, pay is good even though you have to spend lots of time preparing materials. Professors at Carleton are good and responsible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day in the lab
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON8 August 2017
My role was to manage the laboratory session of the course. I briefly re-explain the theory that was taught in class and how we were to further investigate that theory in the lab.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the top universities in Canada
Research and Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON23 July 2017
Great university and one of the top in engineering and business management. It has great potential to acquire any projects or academic media environment
Pros
Free commute
Cons
Short contracts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and informative
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON21 July 2017
Lovely place to work and gain hands-on experience with animals. Great food, friendly staff, hard work and of course, turtles!
The experience and knowledge you gain from the biologists lasts a lifetime.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellant place to work
CONTRACT ADMINISTRATOR (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON25 June 2017
Treated very well here. Coworkers were great to work with. Management were open to new ideas and also allowed you to work independently or seek opinions from other coworkers,
Pros
Reasonable work hours
Cons
Pay for parking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing opportunity!
Assistant Researcher (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON23 June 2017
I was able to work from home or campus with a flexible work schedule. I learned how to use many computer programs and format documents. This was a wonderful opportunity for me as I was still a student.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect Job
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON20 June 2017
I am a research nut so this job was ideal. It paid well and allowed me a lot of independence. Unfortunately it was a contract position and my time there was limited.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teachers Assistant
Financial Accounting Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON19 May 2017
This was just an unpaid volunteer position to get extra credit for my second year of university. It did require a little more time than I had expected but it was a fun teaching experience.
Pros
Teaching Students, Extra Credit
Cons
Takes up a decent amount of time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very challenging and rewarding experience
Systems Engineer / Project Associate (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON18 May 2017
Fourth year final project modelled a real world engineering environment. Very much enjoyed the challenge of applying academic experience to a real world problem.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work during my undergrad studies
Stacks Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON17 May 2017
I highly recommend working a campus job while in your undergrad/graduate studies. What was great about MacOdrum was that everything was online based, so you could drop a shift from your bedside and have it picked up within minutes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON12 May 2017
require independent work, will work for a professor but no direct supervision. Good interactions with other students and a good pay for the number of hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Carleton University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 181 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
4.2
Culture
4.4

Carleton University Reviews by Location