Carleton University Employee Reviews in Canada

Showing all 94 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No comment
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONAugust 21, 2016
I have no comment to make at this time related to Carleton University working environment. I'll provide this information at a later date.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University study/internship
Software Developer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONJuly 9, 2016
This university has a lot to offer for very specific programs and work terms.

Very dysfunctional with a bad attitude overall.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing people
Founder (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONJune 19, 2016
Fun and supportive environment to work in. I am still in the process of learning but have successfully been able to keep up with this demanding position as an assistant.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for student
Special Events Staff at the UndeRecruitment Office (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONJune 8, 2016
As a student was working with my schedule and it was a good opportunity to meet and great future student. Amazing supervisor
Pros
Free Lunches, school gears
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring Work Environment
Personal Care Attendant (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONJune 6, 2016
Helping students with disabilities who live on residence meet their daily needs. Helping them with personal care as well as rising and retiring, toileting, dressing, laundry and light housekeeping
Pros
Down time in between calls
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun interacting with students
Math Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONMay 30, 2016
I reinforced Mathematics concepts taught by Professors by hosting problem solving sessions. I enjoyed interacting with the students and designing class materials to improve student's grasp on the course material.
Pros
I had the oppurtunity to reinforce engineering course material in my mind, by teaching it to 1st, 2nd & 3rd year students.
Cons
Students exams, usually coincided with my exams. Marking exam papers took away from my preparation time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice university to study at
Student (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONMay 29, 2016
Carleton University is generally a tough place to study at for Engineering but most professors are nice and willing to teach you if youre willing to learn. Only issue really is that it can be overbearing as there is a lot of work to do.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONMay 15, 2016
I've learned how to perform extensive research in a timely fashion and conduct in depth interviews with key informants.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to get involved within the school
Volunteer Note Taker (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONMay 5, 2016
Learned to take and make efficient notes that would help the students of the Paul Menton Centre, as well as help keep me organized.
Pros
Helped me to keep track of notes and stay organized for each class
Cons
At times, the 48 hour window was not long enough in regards to certain classes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent volunteer experience
Lab Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONMay 5, 2016
Even though I was a volunteer in two different labs over the past year, I thoroughly enjoyed myself. Great training, and I really loved working with the people in both labs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging
Receptionist for FIT:Action (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONMay 5, 2016
Working at a counselling program allowed me to interact with students and provide them with helpful feedback. I enjoyed this job because of it's engaging environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Close knit office environment
INTERNATIONAL STUDENT SUCCESS OFFI C E (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONMay 4, 2016
Great boss and fellow employees. Worked together to make sure international students got where they were going and had an enjoyable time doing it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Peer Conduct Board Member (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONApril 28, 2016
I really enjoyed working at Carleton. It provided many opportunities and the people were amazing. I enjoyed working with students and seeing them develop.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work in
Laboratory assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONApril 27, 2016
It was fun to work there, I have gained a lot of experience, friendly environment and co-workers, I absolutely loved working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer Research Assistant
Assistant Researcher (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONApril 18, 2016
Depends on the Professor under whom you work. I was lucky to have one of the few good profs. Got great mentoring and tutoriship
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progressive and Innovative
Lecturer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONMarch 22, 2016
I enjoyed working with the team at Carleton to develop and design the program. They are very helpful and have all the right processes in place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits, work life balance, but no abilities to grow.
Assistant Director, Finance and Business Dev. (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONMarch 18, 2016
Work starts at 9:00, until 5:00, normally I will stay until later. I have to come some weekends depending on the needs.
I am able to do great workouts here.
There is a lot of opportunities for professional development but the hardest part is the inability to grow since this is a medium size company.
Pros
Free gym, free university tuition, great pension plan
Cons
No ability to grow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work environment.
Energy Analyst/Controls Technician (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONMarch 15, 2016
Carleton has a nice work environment and the work load is very balanced. The work is exciting and everyday there are new challenges to deal with. However, the pay and benefit is not that great. Also, management may seem disorganized at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Secondary Institution
Student (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONFebruary 16, 2016
Provided me with necessary interpersonal skills, problem solving and thinking outside the box. The program is highly interactive and energetic.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helpful
Engineering Project (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONFebruary 10, 2016
Learned the priliminaries of PLC based computing, SCADA and DCS.

Gave me an insight into the field of automation and instrumentation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 94 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
4.1
Culture
4.3

Carleton University Reviews by Location