Find companies:
Carillion
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
77 reviews

Carillion Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it taught you what you needed to know
PAINTER AND DECORATING (Former Employee), HounslowFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: in phase two of training you got paid a basic apprentice wage
Cons: if your assessor wasnt in or absent they sent you home without pay.
it was good as a training collage because they taught the specific skills needed to earn a job with your specific trade. but they couldn't provide a long term job at the end of the contract period.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor company to work for
insulation installer (Former Employee), kentFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: nil
Cons: weather
Collect work orders load up communicate properly with all concerned poor management no skills co workers very good hardest part of jobs not being able to do it enjoyable part job completion
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
(C&J) Carpentry and Joinery Apprentice (Former Employee), kings crossFebruary 16, 2014
ok place to work it was good but cold on site but appart from that it was a grate workplace
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just your usual working environment on a building site
Groundworking Apprentice (Former Employee), BishopbriggsFebruary 16, 2014
I didn't enjoy the time I spent there as I wasn't interested in construction
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Bricklayer (Former Employee), Sunderland, ENGJanuary 15, 2014
The work life at carillion was good, the management where friendly and could help if you had any problems i learned a numerous amount of different types of brick work bonds. i also learned how to concrete. the hardest part of the job was some of the paperwork but the most enjoyable part of the job was the co-workers were there anytime you needed help – more... in the workshop when the teacher wasn't available by helping another candidate. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my work and the people i worked with
Upholsterer (Current Employee), Portsmouth, ENGJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: holidays sickness pension
Cons: management
I would turn up early at the hospital have a cup of tea read a paper before starting the day. I would then collect tickets that had been put on the system the previous day plus ongoing tickets and prioritize them. Some tickets had hour time scales and others had days.There were two of us in the workshop both with separate tickets. I would go through – more... his tickets and prioritize them for him. If we needed a hand on a large job we would both help each other. I would then collect the furniture take them back to the workshop order what materials required. If materials would take a week inform the client and give them a date when the furniture would be delivered back. Our workshop was away from the main hospital so had to walk a long way with the furniture pushing up hill i would say the hardest part of the job. That being said collecting furniture from around the hospital i got to meet a lot of different people and made quite a few friends. Most of my co-workers had different jobs to do around the hospital but we would have chat at breaks and when passing each other in the corridor. Management hi up at my place aren't people friendly at all taking no interest in the workers only what then can get out of them. A few of the lower managers are great, you can have a laugh with them and be more than willing to help them when they ask. I learned to keep my head down get on and do my work then your left alone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bricklayer
Bricklayer (Former Employee), MiddlesbroughDecember 20, 2013
was terrible, i didnt know what i wanted to do at that time in life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Bricklayer (Former Employee), Birmingham, ENGDecember 6, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Cons: was only 12 weeks
I learnt alot on the course. Enjoyed learning new skills and getting involved in something new. The co-workers were all great and i got on well with them. The most enjoyable part would be the enthusiasm of the course, i was never bored.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly staff and real good work ethics
Aslaid Technician & West Midlands Planner (Former Employee), Kingswinford, ENGNovember 12, 2013
Pros: flexibility of work
Cons: lack of management present
Start at 8am - very friendly staff - jobs completed previous week, go through the packs and - complete the designs and all relevent paperwork ready to be sent to clients for payment. Learnt how Gas Supplies are laid and how connections are fitted and all the differnent types of plant and equipment that is used to make it all happen.

management is non – more... existant, due to being based in Manchester I had probably seen thiem approx 4 times in the two years working for the company.

My co-workers are like a second family - we have ups and downs due to the pressures of work loads. but we are still very close.

meeting all deadlines on a regular basis.

working with wonderful people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly environment
bricklaying tutor (Current Employee), Middlesbrough, ENGNovember 8, 2013
In this role I had to supervise and target the new apprentices and guide them through their qualification. I taught them basic/skilled ways to do bricklaying.

Supervising and instructing lower level apprentices has enhanced my leadership skills and enabled me to build on my interpersonal skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not what expected
GCO (Former Employee), Glasgow, SCTNovember 3, 2013
i feel as if i didn't really learn any thing from carillon as all we done was sit in the class room and done paper work. when i first went to carillon we were told the first 3 month we would be in the class room doing paper work and learning on how to use equipment properly and then after we learned we would be put out on placement. which
didn't happen – more... i was in the class room for 5 month witch i feel was unfair as i was looking forward to going out on placement and learning new stuff – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Does not offer Career progression
Role -System/Network Engineer (Current Employee), WolverhamptonOctober 24, 2013
Pros: excellent company, people and enjoyable place to work
Cons: no career progression
Monday to Friday 9-5. learned IT, and Management we dont really deal with,

Co workers are fantastic, Hardst part of my job is stay positive with constant out source, most enjoyable part is coming to work everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
never a dull moment
Finishing Foreman (Former Employee), Swindon, ENGOctober 8, 2013
loved it
always busy on such a large job
supervising labour
toolbox talks
snagging
materials ordering
general supervision
and lots more
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Day
Document Controller (Former Employee), Wolverhampton, ENGSeptember 19, 2013
Pros: a lot of desk space, working environment wasnt cramped
Cons: living in birmingham and working in wolverhampton where i needed to start at 8am was difficult, this meant that i had to leave no later than 6am in the mornings.
I would arrive to work around 8am.
Go through any emails I received before I arrived and take action.
Go online and process any incoming information.
Send information onto necessary groups.
Attend meetings.
Update drawing folder & registers.

My managers and co-workers were good some were more supportive than others. The working atmosphere was'nt as – more... good as it were in previous jobs.

Hardest part of the job was updating drawings and sending the to the correct groups.

Most enjoyable part was group/design meetings because you can share each others knowledge of different areas of the job.

I learned how to use a different online system to the one i was originally using which was proving a bit difficult in the beginning – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable
Energy sales (Former Employee), Northern England ,London,Wales,Hull, Yorkshire.September 18, 2013
Pros: health plan, holiday homes, depot get togethers .
Cons: cancelled appointments, .
My typical day of work was usually planned well in advance by appointments prebooked ,Sometimes I made self generated appointments ,I learned how to discuss with clients what they were expecting and what I could do for them under various scemes , Ie collecting information ,Taking measurements , Drawing floor plans and taking photos to help installers.The – more... management were allways there on the end of a telephone if needed , My co workers I classed as my brothers and sisters as we were all there to help each other in our work situations and also personel when needed .The hardest part of the job was sometimes having to explain to people certain things could not be done due to circumstances , The most enjoyable part was being told by clients how helpful I had been and what a change to their lives , ie getting a new boiler was or having cavity wall insulation installed . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful company keep away
reception (Former Employee), Dublin, DSeptember 14, 2013
Cons: everything
Truely awful management in the Dublin office awful company to work for avoid completely
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy working relationship within the company and Client.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Telford, ENGSeptember 8, 2013
Pros: eager to explain different sections of working practice in the office enviroment.
Allocating work for the engineers, Fabric, Electrical, Mechanical, Plumbing and Catering across MOD site at Donnington.
Imputting data and closing down completed jobs, onto MOD database and also transfering said information on to Carillion datebase,
First Point of Contact to Liaise between Client and engineers. Making adequate arrangments for PPMB jobs – more... due and completed by the month end.
I found it to be a happy and enjoyable place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Carillion
Domestic Assistant (Former Employee), MiddlesbroughAugust 29, 2013
I thought the staff were friendly and the hospital had a good hospital. I enjoyed working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok workplace the customers are frindly
Sales Assistant (Current Employee), Liverpool, ENGJuly 27, 2013
Pros: the hours are good
Cons: dont get a break from 8.15 till 2.15
my typical day is to go in to work greet customers serve them and make sure stock out
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Trainee Bricklayer (Former Employee), North tynesideJuly 22, 2013
found carillion a great place to work they do great training for young peopple and i think they are wonderfull