Find companies:
Cargill
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
414 reviews

Cargill Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced company
Split Saw Operator (Former Employee), Plainview, TXJanuary 17, 2014
Split cattle in half while working on time. great employees and great job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
manual work place
Laborer (Former Employee), MOJanuary 16, 2014
the work was hard, not torturous. I loved my co-workers. The hardest part of the job was the monotony of it. I didn't really enjoy my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WORKING AT CARGILL
Animal handler (Former Employee), Beardstown, ILJanuary 15, 2014
I had a very positive experience at Cargill
in Beardstown, IL I really liked working for Manuel Medrano
he always went out of his way to help one of his employees!

my co-workers came from all walks of life and it is a very positive environment,

the hardest part of my job was long hours and working 6days a week

the most enjoyable part was being around – more... livestock! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed Work and Fun Environment and Co-Workers
Scale Operator (Current Employee), Ravenna, NEJanuary 13, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule, good pay
Cons: long hours
I enjoy going to work everyday. I got along with co-workers and customers very well. I learned a lot about the grain industry that i did not know before. My boss and I have a good relationship and I am comfortable going to him with and The hardest part of this job is dealing with customers when they get upset, but I always managed it to the best of – more... my ability. The best part of this job is being around people I enjoy and doing work that I enjoy as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large company with opportunities of advancement
OPERATIONS SUPERVISOR (Former Employee), Newnan, GAJanuary 12, 2014
Pros: pay/benefits. employees
Cons: schedules
Multiple cultures working together as a productive team. Excellent pay/benefits with opportunities for promotion/pay increases. Great retirement package.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Procurement Specialist (Current Employee), sidney, ohioJanuary 11, 2014
Good pay, great company. i learned a great deal by working side by side with my peers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for!
Lead Blender (Former Employee), Kenosha, WIJanuary 11, 2014
Pros: great hours
Cons: hard to advance without a degree
Hours are convenient especially with a family. Experienced management staff. Willing to work with you in certain circumstances including disabilities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Company
Shipping Specialist (Former Employee), Newton, KSJanuary 10, 2014
typical day checking in trucks/drivers to pickup product, learned how flour was made, and sent out to store
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Production Supervisor (Former Employee), Westwego, LaJanuary 10, 2014
Pros: working with some great co workers
Cons: no work/life balance
12hr Shifts Managing people.
I learned how to work and lead Union Workers.
Management was very challenging and motivating
I have a great relationship with all my co-workers
Adjusting to a large facility right out of college
Leading the Rewards and Recognition committee at Cargill Inc
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent benefit
Maintenance Mechanic (Former Employee), Fort Morgan, COJanuary 9, 2014
Great management , I have found my click in the environment . I was most happy with the versatility of this work place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Does not value employees for working hard. Very poor work / life balance.
Mill manager (Current Employee), Dayton, OHJanuary 8, 2014
Company teaches 7 Habits of highly successful people but upper management does not follow principals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, but a time sink
Machine Operator (Current Employee), Friona, TXJanuary 5, 2014
Pros: good pay for where i live, and 2 breaks a day, also having good health benefits, and paid holidays and vacations
Cons: even though i only work 8 hours a day i am gone from home 11 to 12 hours a day, also we have no guaranteed days off and can end up working all week
I ride a bus to work at 1:30 p.m. and get to work at about 2:30 p.m., i then go the the cafeteria and get a snack. Work then starts at 3 p.m. and I do the same repetitive task all day, with a 15 min. break at 5:45 p.m. and a 30 min. lunch at 8:00 p.m. At about 11:30 p.m. I leave work and get on the bus and get home at about 12:30 a.m.

I have so far – more... learned a better work ethic and a little about operating machinery.

The management is good, I don't talk to most of the supervisors or plant managers on a regular basis, but so far they have been respectful and nice.

I don't talk to my co-workers much, because on the work floor the machinery is to loud to talk even when screaming, but I have a few friends who are cool that I talk with during lunch.

The hardest part of the job is towards the end of the day my thumb is really sore and starts to get hard to move after sealing bags all day.

So far honestly my favorite part is the pay, other than that it is all alright. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Headchain (Former Employee), Friona,TexasJanuary 3, 2014
Cargill was an all around good place to work. It was structured yet fun. Good physical labor to keep you in shape but easy enough to still enjoy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Industrial Environment
Flexi Lead Technician (Current Employee), Memphis, TNJanuary 2, 2014
This is an excellent company to work for if you don't mind extreme temperatures, hazardous materials and basically anything dealing with the industrial workforce. Pays well and fairly secure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Manager/IT Director (Current Employee), Cobham, ENGDecember 31, 2013
Each Business Unit is like working for a different company

Lots of options and opportunities
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cargill
Senior Risk Analyst (Current Employee), wichita,ksDecember 30, 2013
•a typical day at work
7ish to 5
•management
Currently doing soe restructure so sometimes feel there is no direction
•the hardest part of the job
Understanding what everyone wants even though they typcially cant tell you what that is.
•the most enjoyable part of the job
the co-workers are great people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Summary
Refinery Operator Technician Level 2 (Former Employee), Hammond, INDecember 22, 2013
• Unload and load railcars and trucks to fulfill customer’s orders on time
• Operate various equipment within the plant
• Perform front line maintenance
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay and benefits
Former employee (Former Employee), UtahDecember 21, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: hard to advance unless you are friends or family of the right people
Do not expect to work your way up unless you are in the right circle, no matter how hard you work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the Company as a whole
Harvest Operator/ Warehouse Operator (Former Employee), Timpie, UTDecember 12, 2013
Pros: good benefits and occasional free meals
Cons: short breaks, some communication issues
Some Management have no training in diversity. Some positions do not have opportunities for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a very good place to work at.
Assembly (Former Employee), gainesville,gaDecember 10, 2013
packing mayo isnt so fun but it was great.
packing mayo sounds nasty but i manged to get by.

About Cargill

Cargill is a unique place you can grow your career, your experience and your abilities. Every day, we grow our reputation as a – Read more