Cargill Employee Reviews

Found 146 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, good management
Forklift operator, robot operator (Former Employee) –  Spruce Grove, Alberta27 January 2015
A usual day at work (night shift) I made sure that the robot was operating smoothly, made sure that the coding was legible and that the product wrapper had wrap in it. I also was in charge of putting the finished product in the racking in the freezer. I have learned lots ranging from operation, proper and safe teardown of equipment, and how to operate the narrow aisle, counter balance, and walkie lift trucks. Management is very nice and they understand their stakeholders and their needs. The hardest part of the job would have been the robot operator. the most enjoyable part of the job was the people and the operation of the forklifts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cargill make fun and activity
industrial meat cutter and box handler (Former Employee) –  High River, AB27 January 2015
very challenge everyday, learn to become work as team, health safety, time mange,
Pros
free lunch
Cons
busy enviroment so the time is very fast
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe Workplace, with nurse station and gym
Industrial Butcher (Current Employee) –  High River, AB11 January 2015
I enjoyed working at this company, management are friendly to employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy working medical & administrative day.
Health and Safety Administrator (Former Employee) –  London, ON16 December 2014
I worked with my colleague nurses to help the employee with a high quality medical services. All the medical files are charted electronically and manually. all appointments are scheduled and editted. All patients are triaged in proper way. All outlook work, faxes and telephone calles are handed in proper way.
Attending some training meeting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very supportive company
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  High River, AB15 December 2014
Very supportive company. Takes care of its employees. Some immigrants new to Canada and started out with Cargill cutting meat were earning way more money compared to some people that grew up in Canada and working in offices.


Company provided free ESL classes to everybody, even to those who already spoke English were welcomed. I believe the more advance level that were offers were TOSEL.

One story that I heard one supervisor said that Cargill had paid for his high school grade 12 English and math course and even sent him the tutor.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning expirience
QA (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON11 December 2014
great summer job- lots of money and hours. perfect for college students looking for a job for the summer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unionized enviroment
Payroll Administrator (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke1 December 2014
Working for unionized company made my work very interesting.
following collective agreement made day to day activities very easy and straight forward.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room for advancement
Fibre Analyst/Analytical Chemist (Former Employee) –  Strathroy, ON1 December 2014
Busy day, no recognition for good work
Poor salary, not competitive
Not a great diversity of knowledge/expertise
Safety considered a core value and proved as such
Quality needs improvement
Senior management focused on non-relevant issues and did not understand day-to-day needs
Pros
Good people, easy to work with personal commitments, good benefits, good safety culture
Cons
Not competitive pay, poor management, poor experience, quality
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Industrial Butcher (Former Employee) –  High River, AB30 November 2014
Physically demanding job. Nice supervisors and opportunity for advancement when you win the job posting.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
kil foor maintenance
year Millwright (Former Employee) –  high river6 November 2014
kill floor maintenance, repair and all equipment and machines on the kill floor
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 21Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment
General Labour (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON5 November 2014
Friendly environments to work in
• Everybody was really friendly; always helped each other out.
Pros
Sometimes free Snacks
Cons
Early start
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cargill is a privately owned firm. Their culture is different comparing to a public organization.
Trading Control Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 November 2014
Due to limited workers the hardest part of the job was multitasking and be able meeting deadlines everyday with min. mistakes.
The most enjoyable part of the job was process automation development using Excel vba to overcome shortage of staff.
Co-workers were very helpful and a team player when dealing with problems.
I have learned to be able to answer questions immediately and accurately on the trading floor.
Pros
enjoy the success of system process automation development
Cons
deadlines everyday and very challenging
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
family feel
millwright (Former Employee) –  Clavet, SK1 November 2014
A place to experience all types of equipment. A very large crush plant which has a lot of different equipment.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
hot working enviroment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A safety environment working together until the task completed.
Sanitation Worker (Current Employee) –  Cargill, ON21 October 2014
I work always at night shift and with safety awareness in the plant. With the safety rules and regulations being strictly implemented in my workplace and with a good harmony between employee and the management. Working hard is always my shoulder and to uplift the company, dedicated to each job until its completion.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Butcher (Former Employee) –  High River, AB23 September 2014
Very risky job with a poor equipment's.
That's all I can say
Corrupt management
Nice co workers
When there is a trouble in the line
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for. Room for advancement
Receiving Clerk (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON25 July 2014
Very busy environment. Some down time over the winter but all in all a good company to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Technical Sales Manager
Territory Business Associate (Current Employee) –  Bicol Region6 July 2014
I am currrently working as Sales Asscociate in Cargill Phils. Ihandle the technical and sales function of the business in Bicol. I was able to manage large tunnel vent farms in Bicol region and served 2 large integrators in the area. The hardest part of the job is when customers have complain on the growth of their chickens yet it gives me enjoyment when I pass those challenges. I'll take problems as opportunity for me to improve,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience obtained
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  High River, AB3 July 2014
wonderful experience in Emergency care of injuries
learned to be accountable for my actions
Pros
Great meat gifts at Christmas and other time throught the year
Cons
rigid management
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and exciting workplace
Accounting Analyst Intern (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg12 June 2014
I enjoy everything, it is a very challenging and productive workplace to be with. I improved professionally and personally, especially my computer skills and dealing with different type of people.
Pros
Supportive staff
Cons
bulk of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
difficult jobs
meat cutter (Current Employee) –  High River, AB1 June 2014
very difficult job...do your job in per seconds for meat cutting ..working like a machine...
Pros
own lunch...
Cons
long hours stand
Was this review helpful?Yes 31No 9Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cargill. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 1,632 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6