Cargill Employee Reviews

Found 140 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment
General Labour (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON5 November 2014
Friendly environments to work in
• Everybody was really friendly; always helped each other out.
Pros
Sometimes free Snacks
Cons
Early start
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cargill is a privately owned firm. Their culture is different comparing to a public organization.
Trading Control Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 November 2014
Due to limited workers the hardest part of the job was multitasking and be able meeting deadlines everyday with min. mistakes.
The most enjoyable part of the job was process automation development using Excel vba to overcome shortage of staff.
Co-workers were very helpful and a team player when dealing with problems.
I have learned to be able to answer questions immediately and accurately on the trading floor.
Pros
enjoy the success of system process automation development
Cons
deadlines everyday and very challenging
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
family feel
millwright (Former Employee) –  Clavet, SK1 November 2014
A place to experience all types of equipment. A very large crush plant which has a lot of different equipment.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
hot working enviroment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A safety environment working together until the task completed.
Sanitation Worker (Current Employee) –  Cargill, ON21 October 2014
I work always at night shift and with safety awareness in the plant. With the safety rules and regulations being strictly implemented in my workplace and with a good harmony between employee and the management. Working hard is always my shoulder and to uplift the company, dedicated to each job until its completion.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Butcher (Former Employee) –  High River, AB23 September 2014
Very risky job with a poor equipment's.
That's all I can say
Corrupt management
Nice co workers
When there is a trouble in the line
Pros
N/A
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for. Room for advancement
Receiving Clerk (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON25 July 2014
Very busy environment. Some down time over the winter but all in all a good company to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Technical Sales Manager
Territory Business Associate (Current Employee) –  Bicol Region6 July 2014
I am currrently working as Sales Asscociate in Cargill Phils. Ihandle the technical and sales function of the business in Bicol. I was able to manage large tunnel vent farms in Bicol region and served 2 large integrators in the area. The hardest part of the job is when customers have complain on the growth of their chickens yet it gives me enjoyment when I pass those challenges. I'll take problems as opportunity for me to improve,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience obtained
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  High River, AB3 July 2014
wonderful experience in Emergency care of injuries
learned to be accountable for my actions
Pros
Great meat gifts at Christmas and other time throught the year
Cons
rigid management
Was this review helpful?Yes20No15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and exciting workplace
Accounting Analyst Intern (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg12 June 2014
I enjoy everything, it is a very challenging and productive workplace to be with. I improved professionally and personally, especially my computer skills and dealing with different type of people.
Pros
Supportive staff
Cons
bulk of work
Was this review helpful?Yes21No15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
difficult jobs
meat cutter (Current Employee) –  High River, AB1 June 2014
very difficult job...do your job in per seconds for meat cutting ..working like a machine...
Pros
own lunch...
Cons
long hours stand
Was this review helpful?Yes31No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Understanding and managing change .
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  High River, AB29 May 2014
High risk fast pace , communicate with multiple departments and government agencies.
Delegate duties , acute safety responsibility , high pace execution.
Learn to lead.
Coach and develop trust with employees.
Align work and set goals valuing the company principals.

Give feedback and recognition - saying thank you.
Pros
Compensation, benefits, support.
Cons
Long hours, extreme stress and safety hazard .
Was this review helpful?Yes18No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work place is good and fun
Industrial meat cutter (Current Employee) –  High River, AB18 April 2014
good atmosphere my co-workers are good and friendly, hard work need to change my job to develop my career for me and my family.
Was this review helpful?Yes24No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Continuous learning and promotion
Production Administration Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 March 2014
I enjoyed to do my job, and it was my pleasure to work with the management.
Pros
Free training
Cons
Cold environment
Was this review helpful?Yes17No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen, SK16 February 2014
Cargill is an exemplary employer. My job there was never dull as there was a huge diversity of tasks to be done during the growing season both indoors and out.
Pros
So many free lunches!
Cons
So many free lunches!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned to become a good team player
Cryovac Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  High River, AB3 February 2014
Working in others made me a good team player. and a good team leader.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and safe place.
Butcher (Current Employee) –  High River, AB2 February 2014
It is typical to start slow in the morning and gradually increase the speed of work. I learned a new task as using a saw machine. Management is fair to employees. I usually have to work with some workers and they are willing to give assistance. The hardest part of this job is the indoor temperature It is sometimes too cold. The most enjoyable part of this job is there is work everyday and also an atmosphere of respect and cordiality and I think most important It is a safe place to work as well good benefits.
Pros
occasional incentives
Cons
It is too cold sometimes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Meat Cutter (Current Employee) –  High River, AB8 January 2014
It gave me opportunity for work out physically. I enjoy working and interact with co workers, study different kinds of culture and tradition, then be prepared how to deal with them, to respect and be respected. The hardest so far was driving far from home to work place.
Was this review helpful?Yes21No13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great oppourtunity, but looking to further progress mechanical skills.
Maintenance Millwright (Former Employee) –  Jarvis, ON5 January 2014
Great opportunity to full fill requirements of my Millwright Apprenticeship. Required daily scheduled work to be completed efficiently and detailed record keeping of all events. Working on my own during my shift to ensure production ran with limited downtime and immediate response to all mechanical breakdowns or plant issues.

Limited ability to expand on ideas to help with efficiency due to working opposite shift of management and supervisor.
Pros
Good experience, friendly coworkers
Cons
straight nightshift and only maintenance in building during my shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Global organization with a very professional group of managers.
Ergonomist (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON8 December 2013
This was a demanding and challenging work environment requiring culture change (Ergonomic program development).
Was this review helpful?Yes11No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good work enviroment
Bilingual Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON25 November 2013
Processed orders over phone, fax and e-mail.
Sent customers data on products.
Dealt with third party warehouse to ship products across Canada.
Arranged for truck loads of products to ship to manufacturing from U.S.
Sent Custom Documents to Custom Brokers allowing their shipments to cross.
Dealt with inventory to ensure clients could receive in time to keep production going.

Learned about many ingredients being added to our daily foods.

Management was supportive.

A good team to work with.

The hardest part -meeting deadlines.

The best part-knowing that we were able to satisfy the customer with products they needed.
Pros
smaller office- good group to work with.
Cons
The long drive to work- Company moved office to Burlington ON.- 1 1/2 hours drive to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cargill. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 1,524 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6