Cargill Employee Reviews

Found 157 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company
Butcher (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 January 2016
Productive,ive learned to more be patient and work harder than ever. And to have a good companionship as a worker,as a dayshift worker
Pros
Free food and some benefits
Cons
Full time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Canadian management with careless treatment to employees
Planning (Former Employee) –  Canada18 January 2016
Poor Canadian management with careless treatment to employees. Employees are promoted mostly for friendship not due to their performance.
Manager adjust or change things according to their convenience not necessary following the company's policy.
Salaries for medium level employees are below the average in the industry.
Very stressful place to work. Poor or none training program. Learning by mistakes.
Hard part of the job, feeling hopeless for professional growth.
Pros
Well known Company
Cons
Poor Canadian Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
one of the best companies i have worked
Plant Administrator/ HR Generalist (Current Employee) –  Clavet, SK12 November 2015
it is one of the best companies i have worked by far. Managment is wonderful, co-workers are great. The only con is it is out of Saskatoon.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working place with customers
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 November 2015
It was hard cutting the animal meet such as,cow,beef.and selling the those types of cow.and i learned the cow is hard to cut.
Pros
Long hours
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer and Operational focused environment
Category and Account Manger (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON10 November 2015
Large American multi national with a strong presence in Canada with the food industry.
Good company to work for with a straight forward goal of high customer satisfaction in fill rates and quality.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic enviroment
Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 November 2015
Poor Management at my facility, weak and incompetent. Union dictates and senior management do not stand up. Have visited other facilities that are fantastic though so think this is location specific.
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cold and fast pace
lead hand (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON30 October 2015
I learned to organize food products, pick orders and ship to the customer on 52 foot trailers. Organize inventory. I became a team leader in the shipping department.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor employee development process, no tools to measure performance evaluation
Assistant Manager Grain (Former Employee) –  Kindersley, SK27 October 2015
Not much emphasis on employee development.
There is no measurement tool for performance review / evaluation process.
On boarding process and on job training is not adequate.
Work life balance is poor throughout the year.
Wages/salary is probably at the lowest end compared to the work/tasks performed & industry standards.
Employee safety was not the top priority at the grain terminals of Cargill. Lots of near misses and accidents resulting in critical injuries in one year.
Pros
Cant think of any
Cons
No trainings for employee development, poor work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, effictient
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON19 October 2015
productive workplace, employee security and safety were major keys at this work place. they made it easy for employees to communicate and solve issues with management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company policies & Management
Meat processor (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON11 October 2015
Management understanding when situations occurred that meant delay or storm road closures.
Enjoyed working with others, including Management, for the Annual United Way, help planning fun events for company "Fun-day events"
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Packaging of meat products
Packaging (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON28 September 2015
It was in a cold environment everyday thus, seasonal changes does not matter. Warm clothing worn everyday. Not an ideal job during the summer. Long hours mainly standing. Boring due to repetitive work at times. Good pay but the climate is just too cold.
Pros
Pot Luck Lunches
Cons
Long hours standing
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Straight forward Meat manufacturer.
Line worker (Former Employee) –  London, ON23 September 2015
A typical day at work at Cargill would unfortunately be anything but exciting, however the team of co-workers in many of the departments can lighting up the work experience. Supervisors and management are reasonable do care for their workers. Diversity of cultures making working at cargill refreshing as well.
Pros
Diversity, stability.
Cons
No room to grow.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
stuffer/bagger (Former Employee) –  High River, AB24 August 2015
You will meet different people with different attitude and that's the key of it, you will know how to manage and how to interact especially for big and crowded area. You will learn also how to manage your temper. The hardest part of job is mis communication. The most enjoyable part of the job is when the line is stop and where having joke time to co-worker.
Pros
free luch
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly and happy workplace
Temporary Worker (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB11 August 2015
Everyone was super friendly and happy in the early mornings. I enjoyed being in such a positive work environment. All the workers in the department were really nice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Trim Line (Former Employee) –  guelph4 August 2015
very very very fun fun fun place to work very very very fast paced and long long hours i learned how to use a knife and cut meat
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of overtime
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Jarvis, ON14 July 2015
good place to work. sometimes long hours. good pay and good benefits. co workers are also good people to work with. Don't always have a normal work week.
Pros
lots of overtime
Cons
once your inside you cant go outside
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
assembly line worker
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON30 June 2015
very fast paced environment
always have to be aware for your own safety and of others
management was very serious
the people working there were very nice people the best probably at any company iv worked at
Pros
3 breaks during day
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive, Physically demanding
Loader Operator (Current Employee) –  High River, AB22 June 2015
As a Loader Operator I start my everyday work by double checking all of my equipment, machine,loading areas for any safety hazard if there is a problem i will let them(supervisor, lead-hand, safety maintenance) know right-away; and after any operations i always end it by cleaning and making sure all things that i used is on proper place In every day work i learned to manage my time and prepare things in advance, so there will be no rushing. To my co-workers, I'd like to have conversation, and maintain harmonious relationship even we are different in so many ways; The hardest part of my job is a sudden order that you're not prepare to do or sudden change of plan, in the end i always smile on it, i always keep on mind " no pain no gain" ; I enjoyed my job because i learned many different things and be able to meet different people that i call family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic place to work...Vision and Guidelines fit my goals.
Customer Service Administrator/Web Champion (Current Employee) –  La Crête, AB29 May 2015
Overall wonderful company to work for. Salary/benefits are competitive, co-workers are a great group of people and management are great leaders.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and more knowledge work place
Industrial butcher/meat cutter (Former Employee) –  High River, AB Canada15 May 2015
8hours work 5 days a week
work hard
good
i learn to associate my other foreign co-worker
being alone in my position because luck of man power 2 or 3 person is needed
breaktime
Pros
free lunch sometimes
Cons
long hours due to machine failure
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 5Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cargill. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 1,769 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.3
Culture
3.6

CEO Approval

80%
610 ratings
Add your rating