Cargill Employee Reviews

Found 138 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and more knowledge work place
Industrial butcher/meat cutter (Former Employee) –  High River, AB Canada15 May 2015
8hours work 5 days a week
work hard
good
i learn to associate my other foreign co-worker
being alone in my position because luck of man power 2 or 3 person is needed
breaktime
Pros
free lunch sometimes
Cons
long hours due to machine failure
Was this review helpful?Yes11No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace environment
Poultry Preparer (Former Employee) –  London, ON12 May 2015
mostly packing finished cooked products, hanging chicken, removing thigh bones

I learned how chickens are butchered and turned into mcdonalds products


Most co workers were friendly towards me. Some are just racist but I usually ignored them

Hardest part of the job would be trying to take off thigh bones while conveyor belt moves

Most enjoyable part is trying out the cooked products
Pros
Get to try out the cooked products
Cons
hand cramps from nonstop cutting and bone removal, cold environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very safe place to work over the top !!!!!
General labor /Machine Operator/Lead Hand (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON18 March 2015
Early start to every morning !!!
Our production is getting busier and busier everyday!
An alarm went off and all the management and co-workers responded accordingly.
There is no hard pert about my job and the most enjoyable is the volume of production my team and i do everyday!!
Was this review helpful?Yes17No15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gym exercise
3rd Power Engineer (Former Employee) –  High River, AB17 March 2015
Very good management and good work team, now I connect with them usually to talk about the life and future plan.
The most enjoyable of the job was to operate the equipment controls
Was this review helpful?Yes6No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of OT
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 March 2015
I loved working here because i put in a lot of overtime hours. I also loved it because I worked continental shifts. I just didn't like the fact that it was quite far from my house and their safety. Once i had my interview and orientation they stress safety so much, but when I worked for them they really don't care about workers safety or their concerns.
Pros
Free Lunches, sometimes.
Cons
SAFETY IS A 7 ON A SCALE 1-10
Was this review helpful?Yes17No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to train you, then go elsewhere
Facility Manager (Current Employee) –  Canwood, SK4 March 2015
No recognition for effort, management hasn't got a clue. You will be simply a number if you work for Cargill. Great place to train and become proficient then get a job elsewhere for more money and less work, like all of their employees do.
Pros
Crash course in reality.
Cons
you will be used until you give up
Was this review helpful?Yes23No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place ever
Accountant (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg19 February 2015
Worked at Cargill in Accounts department for less than a year.

I would say this is the worst company I have worked with in my entire life. Atleast the people that I worked with were like that.

Extremely unprofessional and biased attitude of the management. Salary is also on lower side. Won't recommend to anyone.
Pros
Global presence
Cons
Bad management attitude, extremely biased.
Was this review helpful?Yes22No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No advancement possible (worst experience as a Plant Operator)
Plant Operator (Former Employee) –  Kindersley, Saskatchewan18 February 2015
This job is a low pay job. Duties in this job include working long hours out in the cold most of the times. Job is mostly cleaning like housekeeping in severe dust and cold conditions. Jumping on the rail cars in adverse weather conditions. It is a high risk job with low compensation.
I would not recommend this job for diverse employees. The management wouldn't allow you to advance.
This kind of job is always advertised as many people are not willing to take it.


Thanks for reading my review. I hope It will help many from falling into this trap.
Pros
This kind of job is always available at different locations.
Cons
Horrible management, Too low salary, Work at odd hours, not good for diverse employees
Was this review helpful?Yes30No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, good management
Forklift operator, robot operator (Former Employee) –  Spruce Grove, Alberta27 January 2015
A usual day at work (night shift) I made sure that the robot was operating smoothly, made sure that the coding was legible and that the product wrapper had wrap in it. I also was in charge of putting the finished product in the racking in the freezer. I have learned lots ranging from operation, proper and safe teardown of equipment, and how to operate the narrow aisle, counter balance, and walkie lift trucks. Management is very nice and they understand their stakeholders and their needs. The hardest part of the job would have been the robot operator. the most enjoyable part of the job was the people and the operation of the forklifts.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cargill make fun and activity
industrial meat cutter and box handler (Former Employee) –  High River, AB27 January 2015
very challenge everyday, learn to become work as team, health safety, time mange,
Pros
free lunch
Cons
busy enviroment so the time is very fast
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe Workplace, with nurse station and gym
Industrial Butcher (Current Employee) –  High River, AB11 January 2015
I enjoyed working at this company, management are friendly to employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy working medical & administrative day.
Health and Safety Administrator (Former Employee) –  London, ON16 December 2014
I worked with my colleague nurses to help the employee with a high quality medical services. All the medical files are charted electronically and manually. all appointments are scheduled and editted. All patients are triaged in proper way. All outlook work, faxes and telephone calles are handed in proper way.
Attending some training meeting.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very supportive company
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  High River, AB15 December 2014
Very supportive company. Takes care of its employees. Some immigrants new to Canada and started out with Cargill cutting meat were earning way more money compared to some people that grew up in Canada and working in offices.


Company provided free ESL classes to everybody, even to those who already spoke English were welcomed. I believe the more advance level that were offers were TOSEL.

One story that I heard one supervisor said that Cargill had paid for his high school grade 12 English and math course and even sent him the tutor.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning expirience
QA (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON11 December 2014
great summer job- lots of money and hours. perfect for college students looking for a job for the summer.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unionized enviroment
Payroll Administrator (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke1 December 2014
Working for unionized company made my work very interesting.
following collective agreement made day to day activities very easy and straight forward.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room for advancement
Fibre Analyst/Analytical Chemist (Former Employee) –  Strathroy, ON1 December 2014
Busy day, no recognition for good work
Poor salary, not competitive
Not a great diversity of knowledge/expertise
Safety considered a core value and proved as such
Quality needs improvement
Senior management focused on non-relevant issues and did not understand day-to-day needs
Pros
Good people, easy to work with personal commitments, good benefits, good safety culture
Cons
Not competitive pay, poor management, poor experience, quality
Was this review helpful?Yes14No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Industrial Butcher (Former Employee) –  High River, AB30 November 2014
Physically demanding job. Nice supervisors and opportunity for advancement when you win the job posting.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
kil foor maintenance
year Millwright (Former Employee) –  high river6 November 2014
kill floor maintenance, repair and all equipment and machines on the kill floor
Was this review helpful?Yes4No21Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment
General Labour (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON5 November 2014
Friendly environments to work in
• Everybody was really friendly; always helped each other out.
Pros
Sometimes free Snacks
Cons
Early start
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cargill is a privately owned firm. Their culture is different comparing to a public organization.
Trading Control Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 November 2014
Due to limited workers the hardest part of the job was multitasking and be able meeting deadlines everyday with min. mistakes.
The most enjoyable part of the job was process automation development using Excel vba to overcome shortage of staff.
Co-workers were very helpful and a team player when dealing with problems.
I have learned to be able to answer questions immediately and accurately on the trading floor.
Pros
enjoy the success of system process automation development
Cons
deadlines everyday and very challenging
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cargill. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 1,466 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6