Cargill Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a good company with great benefits
Power Engineer (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC25 April 2016
I like working there with high job security and good benefits.
I work as a power engineer there. checking boilers, testing water, etc
managers are great and I'm feeling excited with working with my co workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Interesting
Employee Relations Specialist (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB30 March 2016
Human beings poses different challenges everyday. A typical day for me is full of issues that I enjoy so much dealing with. I like the fact that everyday is not the same and I love the challenges of being able to think things through. I have a manager that allows me to use my discretion on things. I only go to my manager to ensure that I don't derail from the overall picture. I learnt new things about human behaviour everyday. The hardest part of my job is being able to draft a unified policy for all employees in 17 business units in 78 locations all over Canada
Pros
Working remotely/Work Life Balance
Cons
More could be done on Employee Engagement/Loyalty
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Experience as an apprentice
Millwright Helper (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON2 March 2016
Great, workplace, great hours, great pay and great people. You are required to get tasks done at a timely matter. The most enjoyable part of the is being able to work on your own and with others
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
Great hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible
General Labourer (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON20 February 2016
Training is a joke

You are put on the extremely fast line and expected to be as fast as your co workers who have done that job a lot longer then you.
Salary is too low for the hard work.
Pros
nothing
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  London, ON10 February 2016
Training available
Teamwork orientation
Professionalism
Great staff
Reasonable salary
Efficiency
Work with quality
Fast paced
Flexibility
Variety of job tasks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
extremely poor canadian management
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 February 2016
"no advancement in career"
"people are promoted because of friendship not performance and education"
"a very rare wage increase, if there is only 15 cents"
"they don't care about your life status"
"payroll personnel cheat on your work hours"
Pros
getting paid on time
Cons
you get old without any progress. (wage and career)
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Early Morning shift work
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON2 February 2016
It was a good experience, Shifts always start at 6:30 so i became accustomed to early morning work. I learned to be time efficient and how to work at a very fast pace,
Pros
Discounts on meat
Cons
Hard on body
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company
Butcher (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 January 2016
Productive,ive learned to more be patient and work harder than ever. And to have a good companionship as a worker,as a dayshift worker
Pros
Free food and some benefits
Cons
Full time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Canadian management with careless treatment to employees
Planning (Former Employee) –  Canada18 January 2016
Poor Canadian management with careless treatment to employees. Employees are promoted mostly for friendship not due to their performance.
Manager adjust or change things according to their convenience not necessary following the company's policy.
Salaries for medium level employees are below the average in the industry.
Very stressful place to work. Poor or none training program. Learning by mistakes.
Hard part of the job, feeling hopeless for professional growth.
Pros
Well known Company
Cons
Poor Canadian Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
one of the best companies i have worked
Plant Administrator/ HR Generalist (Current Employee) –  Clavet, SK12 November 2015
it is one of the best companies i have worked by far. Managment is wonderful, co-workers are great. The only con is it is out of Saskatoon.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working place with customers
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 November 2015
It was hard cutting the animal meet such as,cow,beef.and selling the those types of cow.and i learned the cow is hard to cut.
Pros
Long hours
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer and Operational focused environment
Category and Account Manger (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON10 November 2015
Large American multi national with a strong presence in Canada with the food industry.
Good company to work for with a straight forward goal of high customer satisfaction in fill rates and quality.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic enviroment
Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 November 2015
Poor Management at my facility, weak and incompetent. Union dictates and senior management do not stand up. Have visited other facilities that are fantastic though so think this is location specific.
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cold and fast pace
lead hand (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON30 October 2015
I learned to organize food products, pick orders and ship to the customer on 52 foot trailers. Organize inventory. I became a team leader in the shipping department.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor employee development process, no tools to measure performance evaluation
Assistant Manager Grain (Former Employee) –  Kindersley, SK27 October 2015
Not much emphasis on employee development.
There is no measurement tool for performance review / evaluation process.
On boarding process and on job training is not adequate.
Work life balance is poor throughout the year.
Wages/salary is probably at the lowest end compared to the work/tasks performed & industry standards.
Employee safety was not the top priority at the grain terminals of Cargill. Lots of near misses and accidents resulting in critical injuries in one year.
Pros
Cant think of any
Cons
No trainings for employee development, poor work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, effictient
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON19 October 2015
productive workplace, employee security and safety were major keys at this work place. they made it easy for employees to communicate and solve issues with management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company policies & Management
Meat processor (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON11 October 2015
Management understanding when situations occurred that meant delay or storm road closures.
Enjoyed working with others, including Management, for the Annual United Way, help planning fun events for company "Fun-day events"
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Packaging of meat products
Packaging (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON28 September 2015
It was in a cold environment everyday thus, seasonal changes does not matter. Warm clothing worn everyday. Not an ideal job during the summer. Long hours mainly standing. Boring due to repetitive work at times. Good pay but the climate is just too cold.
Pros
Pot Luck Lunches
Cons
Long hours standing
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Straight forward Meat manufacturer.
Line worker (Former Employee) –  London, ON23 September 2015
A typical day at work at Cargill would unfortunately be anything but exciting, however the team of co-workers in many of the departments can lighting up the work experience. Supervisors and management are reasonable do care for their workers. Diversity of cultures making working at cargill refreshing as well.
Pros
Diversity, stability.
Cons
No room to grow.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
stuffer/bagger (Former Employee) –  High River, AB24 August 2015
You will meet different people with different attitude and that's the key of it, you will know how to manage and how to interact especially for big and crowded area. You will learn also how to manage your temper. The hardest part of job is mis communication. The most enjoyable part of the job is when the line is stop and where having joke time to co-worker.
Pros
free luch
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cargill. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 1,874 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.3
Culture
3.6