Cargill Employee Reviews

Found 76 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productive
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  High River, ABJune 29, 2013
for me this is a very interesting job because during my fist day of my work I thought I couldn't do it sense this is not an easy job. what I've learned from this job is how to perform different welding positions like horizontal, vertical and overhead position. the hardest part is you are doing the overhead welding jobs but for me its a nice job and I'm having fun working with other people
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes13No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Salary is insufficient to attract other qualified operators to safely operate the plant.
Plant Operator (Current Employee) –  High River, ABMay 24, 2013
The new boiler that was recently commissioned was a great learning experience and a valuable tool to making me a better shift supervisor. It is a new system which requires constant attention which is challenging.

The shift consists of keeping it running and trouble shooting any new problems which occur with a new facility.

Accessing other departments for help and gauging the seriousness of the problems is also a daily part of the job.
Pros
challenges of the commisioning of a new facility are very interesting.
Cons
the company is not making enough of an effort to hire other operators, and being on call twenty four hours a day for over 6 months is annoying.
Was this review helpful?Yes17No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work.
Package Handler, meat cutter (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ONApril 4, 2013
Co-workers are great to work with. Hardest part of the job Is trying to keep up with the line speed. Management are not on the same page with employees. Overall Cargill is not a good employer. A typical day at work is a very hard working day. Learned how to keep good hygiene in the workplace. The most enjoyable part of the job is working with fellow workers.
Pros
free occasional lunches, coffee and donuts
Cons
production lines run way to fast, alot of injuries.
Was this review helpful?Yes21No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of OT
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMarch 12, 2015
I loved working here because i put in a lot of overtime hours. I also loved it because I worked continental shifts. I just didn't like the fact that it was quite far from my house and their safety. Once i had my interview and orientation they stress safety so much, but when I worked for them they really don't care about workers safety or their concerns.
Pros
free lunches, sometimes.
Cons
safety is a 7 on a scale 1-10
Was this review helpful?Yes14No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gym exercise
3rd Power Engineer (Former Employee) –  High River, ABMarch 17, 2015
Very good management and good work team, now I connect with them usually to talk about the life and future plan.
The most enjoyable of the job was to operate the equipment controls
Was this review helpful?Yes5No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DON'T WORK FOR THIS COMPANY!!!!
slave to the grind (Former Employee) –  guelph, ontarioMarch 4, 2012
They mislead you!, they fire almost everyone before the 90day/3 month mark. They avoid paying wage increase and benifets by doing this, I worked there and witnessed many promises, and many fired, they do not want anymore people in the Union
Cons
oh boy, way to much to list
Was this review helpful?Yes20No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy working medical & administrative day.
Health and Safety Administrator (Former Employee) –  London, ONDecember 16, 2014
I worked with my colleague nurses to help the employee with a high quality medical services. All the medical files are charted electronically and manually. all appointments are scheduled and editted. All patients are triaged in proper way. All outlook work, faxes and telephone calles are handed in proper way.
Attending some training meeting.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Met some good co workers and friends, could be fun place to work
Live Procurment Co Ordinator (Former Employee) –  London, ONAugust 11, 2013
Good wages, and benefit package and good vacations
some areas were good to work in
there was room for change and advancement in some areas
Was this review helpful?Yes13No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
THIS IS A GOOD COMPANY AS WELL THEY HAVE GOOD BENEFITS
WARE HOUSE PRENTHISIS right now (Current Employee) –  right now WARE HOUSE PRENTHISISJanuary 13, 2013
I LIKE THIS COMPANY
THIS IS A GOOD COMPANY
THEY HAVE LOT OF JOB OPPERTUNITIES IN CARGILL
WORK ENVIORNMENT IS VERY GOOD
THERE IS ALSO JOB SECURITY
FRIENDLY ENVIRONMENT FOR US
CO WORKERS ARE VERY NICE AND FRIENDLY
Cons
+
Was this review helpful?Yes6No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
difficult jobs
meat cutter (Current Employee) –  High River, ABJune 1, 2014
very difficult job...do your job in per seconds for meat cutting ..working like a machine...
Pros
own lunch...
Cons
long hours stand
Was this review helpful?Yes30No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no
WALKIE RIDER (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONNovember 12, 2012
I WORKED WITH DIFFERENT PEOPLE FROM DIFFERERNT BACKGOUND, CULTURE ETC for more tha 10 years. I have experience on how to relate with people from all walls of life I worked in one company for more than 10years.iI'very hardworking regular and punctual.
Pros
free lunch, bowling etc
Cons
normal
Was this review helpful?Yes1No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience obtained
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  High River, ABJuly 3, 2014
wonderful experience in Emergency care of injuries
learned to be accountable for my actions
Pros
great meat gifts at christmas and other time throught the year
Cons
rigid management
Was this review helpful?Yes19No15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Meat Cutter (Current Employee) –  High River, ABJanuary 8, 2014
It gave me opportunity for work out physically. I enjoy working and interact with co workers, study different kinds of culture and tradition, then be prepared how to deal with them, to respect and be respected. The hardest so far was driving far from home to work place.
Was this review helpful?Yes21No12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work place is good and fun
Industrial meat cutter (Current Employee) –  High River, ABApril 18, 2014
good atmosphere my co-workers are good and friendly, hard work need to change my job to develop my career for me and my family.
Was this review helpful?Yes24No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Global organization with a very professional group of managers.
Ergonomist (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ONDecember 8, 2013
This was a demanding and challenging work environment requiring culture change (Ergonomic program development).
Was this review helpful?Yes11No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Continuous learning and promotion
Production Administration Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONMarch 17, 2014
I enjoyed to do my job, and it was my pleasure to work with the management.
Pros
free training
Cons
cold environment
Was this review helpful?Yes16No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bully tactics management
Millwright (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONSeptember 8, 2013
Management failed and blamed it on the 800 employees when it was them that messed up.
Pros
decent wages
Cons
total disrespect from management, no leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes30No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical general labour work
Production Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ONJuly 4, 2012
easy, mind numbing work. Many employees are talkative, but talk about degrading topics. Good for people with only a high school diploma. There are many opportunities to be promoted from within. Managers are kind, and helpful.
Pros
cheap, discounted meat prices for employees
Cons
freezing environment, loud
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unionized enviroment
Payroll Administrator (Former Employee) –  EtobicokeDecember 1, 2014
Working for unionized company made my work very interesting.
following collective agreement made day to day activities very easy and straight forward.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and exciting workplace
Accounting Analyst Intern (Former Employee) –  WinnipegJune 12, 2014
I enjoy everything, it is a very challenging and productive workplace to be with. I improved professionally and personally, especially my computer skills and dealing with different type of people.
Pros
supportive staff
Cons
bulk of work
Was this review helpful?Yes20No15Report

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 981 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.3
Culture
3.6