Cargill Employee Reviews

Found 82 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room for advancement
Fibre Analyst/Analytical Chemist (Former Employee) –  Strathroy, ON1 December 2014
Busy day, no recognition for good work
Poor salary, not competitive
Not a great diversity of knowledge/expertise
Safety considered a core value and proved as such
Quality needs improvement
Senior management focused on non-relevant issues and did not understand day-to-day needs
Pros
Good people, easy to work with personal commitments, good benefits, good safety culture
Cons
Not competitive pay, poor management, poor experience, quality
Was this review helpful?Yes14No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
kil foor maintenance
year Millwright (Former Employee) –  high river6 November 2014
kill floor maintenance, repair and all equipment and machines on the kill floor
Was this review helpful?Yes4No21Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience obtained
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  High River, AB3 July 2014
wonderful experience in Emergency care of injuries
learned to be accountable for my actions
Pros
Great meat gifts at Christmas and other time throught the year
Cons
rigid management
Was this review helpful?Yes20No15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and exciting workplace
Accounting Analyst Intern (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg12 June 2014
I enjoy everything, it is a very challenging and productive workplace to be with. I improved professionally and personally, especially my computer skills and dealing with different type of people.
Pros
Supportive staff
Cons
bulk of work
Was this review helpful?Yes21No15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
difficult jobs
meat cutter (Current Employee) –  High River, AB1 June 2014
very difficult job...do your job in per seconds for meat cutting ..working like a machine...
Pros
own lunch...
Cons
long hours stand
Was this review helpful?Yes31No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Understanding and managing change .
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  High River, AB29 May 2014
High risk fast pace , communicate with multiple departments and government agencies.
Delegate duties , acute safety responsibility , high pace execution.
Learn to lead.
Coach and develop trust with employees.
Align work and set goals valuing the company principals.

Give feedback and recognition - saying thank you.
Pros
Compensation, benefits, support.
Cons
Long hours, extreme stress and safety hazard .
Was this review helpful?Yes18No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work place is good and fun
Industrial meat cutter (Current Employee) –  High River, AB18 April 2014
good atmosphere my co-workers are good and friendly, hard work need to change my job to develop my career for me and my family.
Was this review helpful?Yes24No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Continuous learning and promotion
Production Administration Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 March 2014
I enjoyed to do my job, and it was my pleasure to work with the management.
Pros
Free training
Cons
Cold environment
Was this review helpful?Yes17No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned to become a good team player
Cryovac Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  High River, AB3 February 2014
Working in others made me a good team player. and a good team leader.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Meat Cutter (Current Employee) –  High River, AB8 January 2014
It gave me opportunity for work out physically. I enjoy working and interact with co workers, study different kinds of culture and tradition, then be prepared how to deal with them, to respect and be respected. The hardest so far was driving far from home to work place.
Was this review helpful?Yes21No13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Global organization with a very professional group of managers.
Ergonomist (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON8 December 2013
This was a demanding and challenging work environment requiring culture change (Ergonomic program development).
Was this review helpful?Yes11No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced work, high energy
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Toronto On.21 November 2013
If you are willing to work hard in a cold environment this is the job for you.
Pros
great benifits
Cons
Cold
Was this review helpful?Yes24No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Meat Packaging machine operator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 November 2013
Friendly co-workers, helpful and fun to be with. The most enjoyable part of the job was watching how the meat is being packed by a machine.
Was this review helpful?Yes20No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bully tactics management
Millwright (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 September 2013
Management failed and blamed it on the 800 employees when it was them that messed up.
Pros
Decent wages
Cons
Total disrespect from management, no leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes31No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Met some good co workers and friends, could be fun place to work
Live Procurment Co Ordinator (Former Employee) –  London, ON11 August 2013
Good wages, and benefit package and good vacations
some areas were good to work in
there was room for change and advancement in some areas
Was this review helpful?Yes14No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cargill is a nice place to work, but being in management, no overtime
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Beiseker, AB18 July 2013
Spring and Fall were very busy times with 10 to 16 hour days to keep the farmers going at their busy times
Was this review helpful?Yes16No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  High River, AB8 July 2013
Every day is a productive day, which you well need to be on top of your game.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The comapny is ok to work for.
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Toronto6 July 2013
A typical day at work is busy can be very stressful at times because of the amount of customers you have to deal with at times.
You must be highly efficient at all times. One mistake can be very costly.
Management could have been better in a lot of ways.
Staying focus on one task was not easy because of customer demands.
Satisfaction is the most enjoyable part of the day. When the customers are satisfied it feels good. You feel as if you accomplish something for the day.
Pros
Employees discount was excellent.
Cons
Yes, some days were long because you have to make sure the orders are filled and processed for that day.
Was this review helpful?Yes17No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productive
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  High River, AB29 June 2013
for me this is a very interesting job because during my fist day of my work I thought I couldn't do it sense this is not an easy job. what I've learned from this job is how to perform different welding positions like horizontal, vertical and overhead position. the hardest part is you are doing the overhead welding jobs but for me its a nice job and I'm having fun working with other people
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes14No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not horrible
Maintenance Lead Hand (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON11 June 2013
does not follow own and goverrment's safety requirements...
Was this review helpful?Yes20NoReport

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 1,027 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.3
Culture
3.6