Find companies:
Cargill
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
483 reviews

Cargill Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job opportunities with lots of potential
Dairy Team Lead - Western Canada (Current Employee), Camrose, ABFebruary 23, 2013
I really enjoy the freedom and ability to manage my business as I feel as long as I get the results - very results driven. Great team of co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, Used to have Christmas parties, Thank-you and rewards.
Material Handler//Distribution/Production (Former Employee), Etobicoke, ONJanuary 17, 2013
Pros: had job security, unionized, able to rotate jobs in house opportuinity
Cons: fast paced. some long hours, cold environment.
Early start times for day shift, learned a lot of different jobs and was able to join different teams,and gained a lot of knowledge.
Management was alright same as any place some good some bad, with different attitudes so handling people skills in some cases could of been better. Co-workers are arrangement of different ethnic groups so sometimes communication – more... was a problem, trying to get them to understand what they need to do. It was mostly up to your co-workers to show you what you need to do, we trained each other.
Hardest part was always fast paced, cold and when you did good or great they always wanted more an would speed things up.
Enjoyable parts were long term ee. it felt like family cause you r with them more, sometimes more then your own. Rewards program, able to communicate if things could b better an did get feedbacks. So sometimes you could c something you suggested actually b implemented, that felt great. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
THIS IS A GOOD COMPANY AS WELL THEY HAVE GOOD BENEFITS
WARE HOUSE PRENTHISIS right now (Current Employee), right now WARE HOUSE PRENTHISISJanuary 13, 2013
Cons: +
I LIKE THIS COMPANY
THIS IS A GOOD COMPANY
THEY HAVE LOT OF JOB OPPERTUNITIES IN CARGILL
WORK ENVIORNMENT IS VERY GOOD
THERE IS ALSO JOB SECURITY
FRIENDLY ENVIRONMENT FOR US
CO WORKERS ARE VERY NICE AND FRIENDLY
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very educational place to work trained there hourly staff
Owned and operated millwright business (Former Employee), High River, ABDecember 20, 2012
Pros: good staff communication
Cons: i did not live in high river so i had to do a lot of travel
fast paced envirement ,good preventative maintenance department ,I liked the way the work orders were set up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no
WALKIE RIDER (Former Employee), Toronto, ONNovember 12, 2012
Pros: free lunch, bowling etc
Cons: normal
I WORKED WITH DIFFERENT PEOPLE FROM DIFFERERNT BACKGOUND, CULTURE ETC for more tha 10 years. I have experience on how to relate with people from all walls of life I worked in one company for more than 10years.iI'very hardworking regular and punctual.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Team oriented work enviroment
Receptionist/Accounting Assistant (Former Employee), guelph, ontarioOctober 30, 2012
This workplace is a very fun, energetic, and team oriented. I was trained on multiple levels
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Worker
Level A general labourer (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 25, 2012
In my Opinion since I have been working for Cargil Foods for over 14 years I can utilize my skills in any Company or Job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and challenging workplace.
Wastewater Operator (Current Employee), High River, ABSeptember 14, 2012
Pros: we are served with equal rights
Cons: i go home late for i have to wait and help my co-worker when there is a problem.
in cargill, you are expecting for the unexpected because you don't know what happen during that day when you enter your shift for we are dealing with machines. I'm always prepared- physically, emotionally,intellectually and socially. I learned how to think broadly and manage my time and be flexible enough for changes in schedule like day or night for – more... 12 hours. We knew our job descriptions vey well as the management oriented us, gave us updates and oppotunities to voice out our problems at work and treated us equally. With the co-workers, we treat each other with respect and dignity. The hardest part of the job is when you are alone at your post at night but I've learned ways how to deal with it and survive for how many years and became productive. When you are recognized for the job you've done and job well done is the most enjoyable part for it boost your esteem and inspires you to keep it up. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cargill is a fun place to work.
FABRICATION SUPERVISOR (Former Employee), High River, ABSeptember 4, 2012
Pros: they respect employees and treat them as equal, and they care about the costumers.
Cons: they are trying to give employees a hard time and line is too fast.
cargill has a lot of opportunities,jobs are fair with the salary wage,they treat everyone as equal and with respect.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable and reputable multinational organization
Sales & Marketing (Former Employee), High River, ABAugust 21, 2012
Pros: salary, benefits, rrsp, courses
Cons: work environment, local career growth limited
Cargill High River is a good place to start a career in sales and marketing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical general labour work
Production Line Worker (Former Employee), Guelph, ONJuly 4, 2012
Pros: cheap, discounted meat prices for employees
Cons: freezing environment, loud
easy, mind numbing work. Many employees are talkative, but talk about degrading topics. Good for people with only a high school diploma. There are many opportunities to be promoted from within. Managers are kind, and helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong professional development opportunites, limited salary growth
Employee (Current Employee), LondonJuly 2, 2012
Pros: opportuntity & job security
Cons: salary growth is limited
Cargill's work atmosphere and culture is good. Employees are encouraged to take on new responsibilities and it's easy to take charge of your professional development. Cargill provides a stable paycheck but your salary growth is limited.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enhanced my laboratory skills
Laboratory Technician (Full time) (Former Employee), High River, ABApril 18, 2012
Pros: very interesting job, wastewater samples early in the morning
Cons: was not driving then
• Performed laboratory tasks of treating Wastewater such as DAF, clarifier and aeration samples
• Waste Water Treatment testing
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely high paced work place, a very diverse culture.
Slaughter Floor Supervisor (Former Employee), High River, ABApril 7, 2012
Pros: excellent opportunity for advancement.
Cons: culture
I started out with Cargill Foods when the plant just opened. Was a labourer and worked very hard. I was noticed and was promoted to Lead Hand with in a very short time. After a year of performing well I was again noticed and promoted to Slaughter Floor supervisor. The culture at Cargill Foods was not fair towards employees with whom the upper management – more... did not like, for what ever reason. I had to perform duties that were against my Ethics and Core Values. I stayed for seven years, but could not work in this culture any longer and had to find employment elsewhere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working there and the people I worked with.
Millwright (Former Employee), High River, ABMarch 19, 2012
I was able to work on a lot of different types of equipment. I learned to keep the machinery running in order to minimize down time. I enjoyed working there and the people I worked with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DON'T WORK FOR THIS COMPANY!!!!
slave to the grind (Former Employee), guelph, ontarioMarch 4, 2012
Cons: oh boy, way to much to list
They mislead you!, they fire almost everyone before the 90day/3 month mark. They avoid paying wage increase and benifets by doing this, I worked there and witnessed many promises, and many fired, they do not want anymore people in the Union
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good Benefits and Wages
Purchasing Manager (Current Employee), Milwaukee, WIAugust 17, 2014
Pros: benefits, wages
Cons: locations
Very good company to work for. great communication from plant level to corporate level. Very good benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a legal secretary/administrative assistant in a large corporate law firm
Legal Secretary/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Wayzata, MNAugust 17, 2014
Pros: working with good people, good benefits, good pay.
Cons: not given enough time to complete work by deadline.
I worked for 3 assigned lawyers in a large corporate law department. On a typical day, I would answer the phones, type up documents and correspondence, make copies, distribute mail, and fax and deliver documents. I learned how to type legal documents, keep track of their calendars, write some correspondence for the lawyers. The co-workers were friendly – more... and helped in time of need. The worst part of the job was when I was given assignments at the last minute with not enough time to complete them by deadline. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work.
Origination Merchant (Former Employee), Ottawa, ILAugust 17, 2014
Pros: good benefits and good salary
Cons: management favoring certain job classes
Internal politics made it very hard to do your job productively. Was ordered to trespass on a customers property & check if grain was in bins. Very unhappy being asked to something illegal & unethical
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great position, great people, but only temporary
Laboratory Technician (Current Employee), Minnetonka, MNAugust 13, 2014
Pros: great people, flexible schedule, corporate r&d exposure, networking, microbiology experience, lab management experience
Cons: contract only, no advancement opportunity, not privy to a great deal of project information, not particularly challenging or exciting
I have loved my time at Cargill so far; the people I work with are motivated, friendly and fun. The hours and schedule are very flexible, and I feel like part of the team. There are drawbacks to being a contractor, though; I cannot attend any company functions, I'm not allowed to know the details of the projects I help with, and there is no opportunity – more... for advancement. Additionally, there is plenty of work to be done, which is great; but none of it is particularly challenging or goal-oriented. Despite great networking and corporate research and development experience, I'm not really learning anything new here. – less

About Cargill

Cargill is a unique place you can grow your career, your experience and your abilities. Every day, we grow our reputation as a – Read more