Cargill Employee Reviews

Found 157 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean and safe workplace
Cargill (Former Employee) –  Okotoks, AB9 September 2017
I used a powerhose to wash the meat off and use chemicals to scrab the stains..I traveled 45 mins to work and was alway on time, I was working night shift with cargill foods.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Meat Cutter (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 September 2017
a very good place to work and with good salary and work benefits and the company has offers good benefits and they have differrent working shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unexpected
Butcher work (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON5 September 2017
I worked here as a summer student in 2015. I was told I would never have to hold a knife during the interview and that I would be doing something else. I was wrong.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
employer of choice
Senior Billing Clerk (Current Employee) –  High River, AB11 August 2017
great benefits, a lot of job opportunities. been there for over 3 years now and i love working there. co-employees are all great. we have a strong team both day and night shifts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive cold storage meat packing plant
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  75 rexdale blvd10 August 2017
Operated wrapping machines, Packaged sausage meat. Coded labels. Management was very supportive. Keeping other employees happy was the hardest part. The lighting and the work space was easy to move around in.
Pros
Get paid of our work
Cons
very cold envirornment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and hard working place
MEAT CUTTER AND PACKER (Former Employee) –  High River, AB8 August 2017
very productive place and yes if you do not consder yourself as a hard worker you should not be there because the volume of work is very high per day and the production very high as well
Pros
free lunches from time to time
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Musical Events
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Cargill Food City Beach Road Negombo, Srilanka3 August 2017
i learnt a lot from Food City job like team work, customer dealing, Stock products on the shelves, Understood all responsibilities regarding safety in the work place.
Managed cashiering activities in areas of purchasing, returns, and exchanges, and enforce store policies.
the most enjoyable part is when some customer appreciate our work our services.
Pros
yes
Cons
some times
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON3 August 2017
Wish I still lived in Guelph. This facility is owned by Cargill Ltd which is the largest company in the top 500 with Walmart. They supply our regional beef and we also export to Japan and Sun Valley Productions which is Mcdonalds
Pros
gain lots of strength working for them
Cons
must not be afraid of cows
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
improving
Meat Cutter (Former Employee) –  High River, AB2 August 2017
Company respect the rules of collective agreement is a unionized company equal opportunity for employees to thrive respect human rights. good company to work
Pros
benefits, union, salary, safe place
Cons
heavy work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace culture
Senior Accountant (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB26 July 2017
Cargill is one of the best places to work in Canada. The workplace culture is one of best thing I enjoyed working there. People is very oriented to work as a team and support each other. One thing that keep me engaged working here was the passion for the Safety of all persons that work for the company, and the commitment to ensure everybody back home in a safety manner!!!
Pros
Best work culture
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor wage package and horrible pension
Maintenance Electrician (Current Employee) –  North Vancouver, BC15 July 2017
the 6-3 work shift is not conducive for raising a young family or having a life outside of work. We have tried to get them to switch to a 4 on 4 off shift but the union and company cant agree on anything. The environment here is toxic. If you have a trade keep looking if you don't then this place will pay you well if you can work the weird shift and ignore the toxic environment
Pros
its not the worst job out there
Cons
toxic, poor pension/wage package
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good benefits/ fun and easy to work my co-workers are all nice and friendly.,
Meat Cutter (Former Employee) –  High River, AB29 June 2017
Company provides great opportunity for advancement / good benefits
Friendly co-workers, always helpful when needed.
The hardest part of the job is to wake-up early ., lolz :)
Cargill has earned the reputation for being one of the best employers in Canada..,
Pros
challenging but exciting
Cons
no comment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this place is not a good place to work
Butcher, Labourer (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON26 June 2017
i have work at cargill for almost 4 years and i have never work in such an unorganized facility . the management is very rude and dont help any employees with safety
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Associate Accounting Analyst (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB27 May 2017
Cargill was a good place to work. Like any other job there are some downfalls but overall they do seem to care about their employees. The only issue I have is that now they want to outsource everything and should be an industry leader not follower and keep more jobs at home.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent employer, well treated their employees
Purchaser (Former Employee) –  High River, AB22 May 2017
Great place to work, good people, enjoyed going to work there, although I did not work there for a real long time. Great benefits, good pay, lots of perks.
Pros
Great employer, benefits, and pay
Cons
Long drive to work, smelly plant
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive beautiful and large lunch room with canteen unside
Sanitation Worker (Former Employee) –  London, ON4 May 2017
Work place is safe cold production plant, security guard are nice and most of all, they give you a great benefits and good salary , and secured company to work with.
Pros
Free lance
Cons
Part time
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace and safe work culture
Electrical officer (Former Employee) –  Bathinda Punjab India1 May 2017
I fell proud that i was a employee of Cargill india Pvt. Ltd. It completed so many projects during my short tenure in Cargill. I got appreciation from my plant manager for all these projects.
Pros
Free Lunchs
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
part-time admin
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK30 April 2017
I was hired on as a part-time admin assistant during a busy season. I was supposed to be responsible mostly for data entry, however a lady in my department kept stealing all my work.. Which I've always thought was peculiar. Either way, it's a drive out there but it's a laid back environment as long as you keep to yourself and get your work done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer work
Family Day Volunteer (Former Employee) –  London, ON13 April 2017
Great company that provides great flexibility and health coverage.
Family events such as the one i volunteered for are fun and show the companies initiative.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy working environment
Packaging Assistant (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON22 March 2017
1. Busy and cold working environment.
2. Friendly employee.
3. Learned management and how to finish everything on time.
4. working in the same line with my friend was enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cargill. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 1,771 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.3
Culture
3.6

CEO Approval

80%
613 ratings
Add your rating