Cargill Employee Reviews

Found 148 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor wage package and horrible pension
Maintenance Electrician (Current Employee) –  North Vancouver, BC15 July 2017
the 6-3 work shift is not conducive for raising a young family or having a life outside of work. We have tried to get them to switch to a 4 on 4 off shift but the union and company cant agree on anything. The environment here is toxic. If you have a trade keep looking if you don't then this place will pay you well if you can work the weird shift and ignore the toxic environment
Pros
its not the worst job out there
Cons
toxic, poor pension/wage package
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good benefits/ fun and easy to work my co-workers are all nice and friendly.,
Meat Cutter (Former Employee) –  High River, AB29 June 2017
Company provides great opportunity for advancement / good benefits
Friendly co-workers, always helpful when needed.
The hardest part of the job is to wake-up early ., lolz :)
Cargill has earned the reputation for being one of the best employers in Canada..,
Pros
challenging but exciting
Cons
no comment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this place is not a good place to work
Butcher, Labourer (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON26 June 2017
i have work at cargill for almost 4 years and i have never work in such an unorganized facility . the management is very rude and dont help any employees with safety
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Associate Accounting Analyst (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB27 May 2017
Cargill was a good place to work. Like any other job there are some downfalls but overall they do seem to care about their employees. The only issue I have is that now they want to outsource everything and should be an industry leader not follower and keep more jobs at home.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent employer, well treated their employees
Purchaser (Former Employee) –  High River, AB22 May 2017
Great place to work, good people, enjoyed going to work there, although I did not work there for a real long time. Great benefits, good pay, lots of perks.
Pros
Great employer, benefits, and pay
Cons
Long drive to work, smelly plant
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive beautiful and large lunch room with canteen unside
Sanitation Worker (Former Employee) –  London, ON4 May 2017
Work place is safe cold production plant, security guard are nice and most of all, they give you a great benefits and good salary , and secured company to work with.
Pros
Free lance
Cons
Part time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace and safe work culture
Electrical officer (Former Employee) –  Bathinda Punjab India1 May 2017
I fell proud that i was a employee of Cargill india Pvt. Ltd. It completed so many projects during my short tenure in Cargill. I got appreciation from my plant manager for all these projects.
Pros
Free Lunchs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
part-time admin
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK30 April 2017
I was hired on as a part-time admin assistant during a busy season. I was supposed to be responsible mostly for data entry, however a lady in my department kept stealing all my work.. Which I've always thought was peculiar. Either way, it's a drive out there but it's a laid back environment as long as you keep to yourself and get your work done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer work
Family Day Volunteer (Former Employee) –  London, ON13 April 2017
Great company that provides great flexibility and health coverage.
Family events such as the one i volunteered for are fun and show the companies initiative.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative experience
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Alberta31 March 2017
My advice is to try as much as possible to stay away from Cargill. It's a very unstable company with high level of future uncertainty about its' employees. Managers in Alberta are relatively corrupted with no true values and cannot be trusted.

You might meet some really good people, but my experience with cargill was negative overall

While working with Cargill, I had the feeling that Cargill is a corrupted institution and they literally won't care at all about you nor anything else but money ! Be sure that you are very replaceable
Pros
learning
Cons
politics, lots of regulations and corrupted management
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy working environment
Packaging Assistant (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON22 March 2017
1. Busy and cold working environment.
2. Friendly employee.
3. Learned management and how to finish everything on time.
4. working in the same line with my friend was enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heartless Corperation
saw operator (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON3 March 2017
on normal work week, is ok. 40 hours, super fast environment. overtime can be posted as mandatory. up to 1.75 hours/day/week or 8 hours on Saturday.
Pros
pay is decent, benefits were good
Cons
mandatory overtime, management doesn't care about the people just the numbers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very High Efficiency Plant
Plant Electrician (Former Employee) –  Spruce Grove, AB13 February 2017
Safety wise, they are very particular in lock-tag out. safety is first priority in the plant. I have to rate this company as excellent one and food safety wise is number one.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
Electrician Journeyman (Current Employee) –  Jarvis, ON10 February 2017
had an injury do to cargills poor communications then I was treated very poorly. the midnight guy told me that the plant manager and maintenance super were saying I was faking it. Well I just had surgery .they made me use my vacation days for the injury.
Pros
buy cheap chicken nuggets
Cons
they want you on call 24/7
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the best
Gestionnaire (Former Employee) –  Chambly, QC8 February 2017
la gestion de cette entreprise est déficiente. Certains gestionnaires manquent énormément d'expérience et/ou sont carrément incompétent pour leur poste d'emploi. Dommage parce que ces personnes nuisent au développement et à l'évolution de l'entreprise. Ma pire expérience d'emploi.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good hours to work; poor working conditions
Will not disclose (Current Employee) –  Alberta1 February 2017
Management is very poor; Too many uncertified employees doing jobs that they should not be doing due to being uncertified; Poor working conditions (i.e. very unclean); A lot of internal racism directed at all races; Have very good benefits; Good working schedule for all employees.
Pros
Sometimes get free lunches and get discounted meats.
Cons
Very poor management and too many uncertified employees, which can make working environment unsafe.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Cargill
Industrial Electrician (Current Employee) –  High River, AB24 January 2017
Cargill is a great place to work.

Provides some level of job security and the people, being from differing parts of the globe, makes it fun to interact as a group.

Great team player. and team builders.

Accessible management and supervisors.
Pros
flexible work schedule
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A progressive leading edge company in world agricultural products
Agronomist (Former Employee) –  McLennan, AB17 January 2017
Learned about the fast-paced working team culture of the company. All of the employees are leaders in their specialized field. The selection and screening process was meticulous. Requiring 5 references to complete a survey for each hiring.
Safety training and protocol was second to none in the industry.
Company provides great opportunity for advancement and for relocating your Cargill employment if desired.
Cargill has earned the reputation for being one of the best employers in Canada.
Pros
Extensive training and certification provided and encouraged
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place in trimming, boxing and as saw operator
Omasum saw operator / Trimmer and Boxer Crew (Current Employee) –  High River, AB13 January 2017
a typical day at work is to prepare all boxes and machine to maintain the safety and quality of the product.
i learned is to be hardworking and reliable person of my supervisor
in management is great and very manageable in time and production
my co workers is very helpful and relevant
the hardest part of the job is when some of your co worker is absent and you are only the one to do the job well done.
the most enjoyable part of the job is when every body is working hard with the smile in our lips because of the jokes and still productive.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Saturday Overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very dirty enviroment
MILLWRIGHT (Former Employee) –  High River, AB10 January 2017
long hours in hot decaying enviroment
every day was a fire fight with employees with no experience
in millwright profession
a lot of extra work to do just to get back to where you need to be to start your day so at he end of the day your still behind
barring break downs the were a few out of 30 millwrights
like myself will to help other teams to lighten there work load
if you were fortunate to be on the same shift rotation
after hours were cut (union unfortunately) pay was good 34.80
per hour was not worth the daily head ache at 32 hours per week
Pros
you meet a variety of ethnic groups
Cons
its a slaughter house you need a good gut for it
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cargill. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 1,672 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.3
Culture
3.6