Cargill Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad workplace
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON4 February 2018
The people I worked with were friendly. The work is in a cooler (4oC for 8 hrs), so getting a freezer jacket is a good decision for working there and the job is standing the whole time so good work boots help.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great company to work for.
Office Administrator / Human Resources Proxy (Current Employee) –  High River, AB2 February 2018
Cargill has given me many opportunities to grow over the 20 years I have worked here. Thanks to their commitment to their employees, I have been able to expand my knowledge, provide essential support and be the best example of myself that I can be. They truly are a caring and supportive company and I appreciate all they have done for me.
Pros
lots of learning opportunities, good salary and benefits
Cons
hard to leave work at work!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice working atmosphere, nice peoples
Sanitary Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 January 2018
very nice working atmosphere, nice peoples
they give importance to every employees
respecting each other
and prioritisation of safetiness and sanitation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, diversed with good workplace culture
Purchasing administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON15 January 2018
a company with an open door policy and has a 360 feedbacks culture .
friendly employees , from the top hierarchy to the lowest .
good incentives ,
attractive salary base system
pensions and benefits
Pros
diveresed
Cons
growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
steady work
Lead Hand, Box Loadout (Former Employee) –  High River, AB14 January 2018
okay position but a very out of the way plant. You must have a car to get to this job. The amount of injuries on the job are unbelivable, due care must be taken when working this jom
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard job.
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON9 January 2018
This job is a very hard job. Fast paced and tkes a toll on your body. However it was worth it. days g by quick and most of the people are friendly. Management is great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Butcher/Meat Cutter (Current Employee) –  High River, AB5 January 2018
Productive,hardworking,honest,willing to be train,no absent,no late,treat like a family the company i’m Working,no written warning,willing to listen to my co-worker
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large meaty warehouses
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Montréal-Est, QC15 December 2017
Mostly physical labour, under heavy cold (6C) and a very slim salary/hours ratio.
Had to meet with my vessel at 5:30 sharp for an hour long ride to southshore Montreal, with no possibility of breakfast at work.
Pros
No apparent pros.
Cons
Physically demanding, very boring.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture
Automated systems Technologist (Former Employee) –  High River, AB2 December 2017
Cargill Meat solution located in High River AB, and have more than 1000 staffs, all of them work together as a friend and me proud to work with them as a team member.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
early days, mandatory OT
Labourer (Former Employee) –  guelph24 November 2017
Good career oppertunity. Hard to get in on time without ones own car. Early hours and mandatory OT are a major drawback for me. Managment, Pay, Culture and salary/benifits are all very good. Union Job
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a job
Split Saw Operator (Former Employee) –  High River, AB29 October 2017
I worked night shift since the wife worked days
most of what i did there i had done for years
Management is Management
most ppl were ok to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Senior Analyst Corporate Finance (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 October 2017
It is great to work for an organization that gives so much back to the community. I love seeing my regular customers and sharing the ups and downs of their favorite sports team, and I welcome the newbies and relish in their excitement of being at the 'Dome for the first time, especially the younger children at their first hockey game or concert.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice job
Meat Clerk (Former Employee) –  High River, AB19 October 2017
Had a great experience working here, a totally different environment compared to my previous jobs. The only con about it is their location is very far.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding job, fast paced enviroment
Sanitation Contractor (Former Employee) –  London, ON2 October 2017
worked night shift as a sanitation clerk, understood how to take apart sophisticated equipment clean sanitize and put it back together. most difficult time was the hours
Pros
learn about massive production facilities
Cons
strenuous movement and difficult on body
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace culture is less than desirable
Livestock Logistics Coordinator (Former Employee) –  High River, AB25 September 2017
Very difficult company to succeed within. Focus in based solely on negative results, with no recognition for achievements. Virtually impossible to succeed based on experience and/or qualifications. This company is a boy's club where success is measured by who you know, not your education, achievements or experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The place is nice but improvable
Digital muscle puller (Former Employee) –  High River, AB24 September 2017
Cargill is where my Parents work and I was amaze by the profound nationalism and respect of each other. I gain knowledge of knife skill and packaging. Most of my job was hard but it was all worth it.
Pros
Average salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn industrial equipment
Production worker (Former Employee) –  High River, AB21 September 2017
place where I learn how work under pressure in fast moving environment, managers and supervisors understood you and tried to help how it was possible, it was good time when I met nice people to work with
Pros
lot of recognitions for hard work
Cons
if there is down time you have to stay until everything is done
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean and safe workplace
Cargill (Former Employee) –  Okotoks, AB9 September 2017
I used a powerhose to wash the meat off and use chemicals to scrab the stains..I traveled 45 mins to work and was alway on time, I was working night shift with cargill foods.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Meat Cutter (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 September 2017
a very good place to work and with good salary and work benefits and the company has offers good benefits and they have differrent working shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unexpected
Butcher work (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON5 September 2017
I worked here as a summer student in 2015. I was told I would never have to hold a knife during the interview and that I would be doing something else. I was wrong.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cargill. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 2,400 reviews
5919
4764
3462
2119
1136

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture