CAPILANO UNIVERSITY Employee Reviews in Canada

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Tutor/Mentor (Current Employee), North Vancouver, BCApril 7, 2016
It was great to work with my peers who required extra assistance. The work environment was flexible and the pay was more than competitive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice view. Thats about it.
Lab Technician (Former Employee), North Vancouver, BCFebruary 1, 2016
Pros: Beautiful scenery
Cons: Everything is old.
Poor teaching quality in physics lab makes a demotivating environment. Students better off taking different course.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible and fun work environment
International Student Recruitment Ambassador (Former Employee), North Vancouver, BCFebruary 24, 2015
- flexible hours
- learnt to represent my own school while working and completing my degree
- co-workers were very helpful and creative
- most enjoyable when I got to participate in decorating the office for occasions (valentine's, halloween, christmas, easter, etc)
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Work Environment
Information Technology - IT Service Delivery (Current Employee), North Vancouver, BCJanuary 24, 2015
Pros: comfortable work environment, life balance
Cons: limited work performance (refer to my roles)
It's enjoy to work at this place because working hours is 7 hours and after 4 pm only few people stay in the office. If working hours compared to my previous companies, I used to work until late around midnight and had tight deadline. Everyday was rush time, full of meeting and some reports need to be submitted. So, it's a good place to have more time for family or social activities outside the office.
I learned Canadian working style (actually depends on the character of the individual, office environment, work pressure in the office because it's similar with my previous experiences) such as communications if different ideas or giving compliment, handling the conflict, discussion, couching, etc.
I don't have any difficulty to accomplish my task. I enjoy to work in the company. No pressure and people like to smile :)
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Supervisor, Student Accounts (Current Employee), North Vancouver, BCOctober 30, 2014
Pros: a wide variety of extracurricular activities
Cons: open all year round
A great place to learn. I learn something new almost every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer experience helping students develop a business plan
Mentor (Former Employee), north vancouverJanuary 22, 2014
Excellent experience reviewing the basis of a business plan on international markets while helping students find the tools to succeed
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere
Computer Support Analyst (Former Employee), North Vancouver, BCSeptember 3, 2013
A typical day at Capilano is filled with questions from students, staff and faculty.

I learned how to excel in customer service and patience.

Management is management, red tape and politics.

My co-workers are on of the main reasons i stayed so long, excellent group if people, like a family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Facilities dept
Tradesman (Current Employee), FacilitiesJuly 31, 2013
Pros: nice coworkers - fellow tradesmen, groundskeepers etc
Cons: micro managing by managers. unsafe work enviroment, improper maintenance and care of equipment, no maintenance program, hard to get days off, repetative boring installs.
The facilities dept is stuck in the 60's. No safe work practices and poor management of equipment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brilliant School
early childhood music educator (Former Employee), North Vancouver, BCMay 27, 2013
Pros: pension, i learned a ton
Cons: had to teach saturdays, and never quite knew if one of my thursday classes would run do to low enrollment.
Program was designed by my coordinator 30 yrs ago. I learned so much from her and I hold her at very high esteem. Loved the families.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Supply Chain and Warehousing Instructor (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCApril 29, 2013
Prepare adult learners for employment in supply chain related careers via a 6 week Supply Chain Career Preparation Program.
Lead class to complete learning tasks successfully and maintain effective working relationships among learners.
Management of 6000 sqft practical training warehouse.
Curriculum Development.
Develop employment and work based training partnerships with industry.
Job Coaching, interviews, and Essential Skills assessments and training.
Claim this company page
Headquarters
North Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
Employees
501 to 1,000
Industry
Links
CAPILANO UNIVERSITY website