Canem Systems Ltd Employee Reviews

Showing all 12 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low moral amoungst Management. Payed well
Journeyman Electrician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 September 2016
The work was steady, but employees tended to get pigeon holed. If you were good at say pulling wire you could be doing that for months throughout the whole site. The communication from upper Management to Journeyman was low and at times conflicting, leaving apprentices in the dark as to director to take. Long hours which did conflict with family life. They tended to lay employees off when they did not work out, giving them no reason, but never brought them back once with picked up.
Pros
Good benifts after 3 months/RRSP program
Cons
Long hours no job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad experience
Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Alberta14 July 2016
worked for a company and was leading a small crew teaching people and was doing lots before i worked for this company. Just a blue print and a list of things that needs to be done and off we go. Unfortunately due to economic reasons, the company went sour and everyone got laid off. I was pretty exited to start with this company and was hoping to stay for as long as possible. So just to give some examples of how i was treated. Asked where one of the rooms are within the first few days in a huge site, got the eye rolling treatment. Asked what info you need to put on the harness safety sheets (we used to just throw on the harness and work without safety sheets at my previous company), got yelled at and was told i should know this while the journeyman was throwing the harness around, the harness given to me did not have labels..... Tried my best to get things for the journeyman, running around getting stuff but the journeyman still threw things around, pretty much angry before work even started. Gave an idea to the journeyman and was told it was a stupid /bad idea and we couldn't do it just to overhear the journeyman telling the foreman "i have a great idea" and repeated word to word what i said. Horrible communication skills (pretty sure being in school for 8 years in college/ university and being able to lead a crew, im pretty sure my English is competent). Asked for clarification because the tin bashers were bashing away (say 5 ft away) and i couldn't hear a thing, just to see the jman go into a huge rage throwing things around and yelling at me. Common sense tells me if  more... the journeyman is trying to measure a long distance and the tape measure keeps falling i should help out to support the tape measure just to get yelled at for helping out. The list goes on and on but i guess it boils down to who you work with. there are definitely good sides to the company though.  less
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits, very poor morale
Office Administrator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 April 2016
The benefits were really good and they made an effort to have office events such as picnics, but the turn out was very low. Morale was awful because the managers gave out too much work for amount of people in the office. Raises were minimal at best (even before the economy went bad) and recognition for jobs well done was non existent. If you arrived on time and left on time you were criticized for not working over time (for free) even if your workload did not require over time.

Vacation and sick days were average and getting time off was relatively easy but they always wanted to know why you wanted the time off and what you were doing on your vacation.

They strongly recommended people not get part time jobs if they were in need of extra money, they said having a part time job would prevent you from advancing in the company.

Most co-workers were good and easy to deal with. There are a couple people in administration that are extremely difficult to deal with and always looking for the next back to stab.

They recently moved into their new office which is quite nice but are not willing to hire cleaning staff to properly clean the larger building (very cheap with the budget) and expect the receptionist to pick up the slack (not in her initial job description).

Some employees made an effort to bring the staff together for parties or group outings but management rarely participated.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Managers, morale, managers are very cheap
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Journeyman Electrician and Apprentice Electrician (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC23 October 2015
Working for Canem was great, they thought one how to be a great journey person electrician. Always giving a large experience of work, and supporting you to do projects on your own.
They were great.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of perks, standard hours of operation
Administrative Assistant/Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 June 2015
Working here has been a blast, however it is time for me to move on to something more.

There is nowhere to move up in the company, and for that I am looking for bigger and better opportunities. I want to excel and grow not only as an individual, but with a company as well.

There are no career opportunities. Great experience, and I have learned a lot. However I want to keep learning and become a greater asset for another company, where I can develop and move up.
Pros
Team Building Events
Cons
Office Politics
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
JOURNEYMAN ELECTRICIAN (Former Employee) –  Calgary17 February 2015
Excellent experience. High wages, good benefits and culture.
Overtime payed and 1.5. Great foreman, fun coworkers. Would definitely work for Canem again.
Pros
Wages, Benefits
Cons
No Jobs
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 January 2015
helped build a part of the UofA wich was nice
alot of pipe bending and wire pulling, not out of the ordinary for a electrician, good foreman
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable company offering employment to many electricians
Apprentice Electrician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB7 October 2014
Learnt a lot with this company on what it means to be an electrician and to have good work ethic.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Apprentice Electrician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 February 2014
great mentors, awesome people, great work environment, wage was decent, close to home
Pros
extra curricular activites team building skills pool tournaments paintball football games
Cons
no ot
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great commercial company
Electrical Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 November 2012
Learned a ton of new things
40 hours a week lots of time to play
great people to work with
Pros
great hours
Cons
the pay
Was this review helpful?Yes5No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
large commercial company
Sub-Foreman (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB1 August 2012
Being a big company, Canem is able to employee a lot of people which can really give you a chance to learn many ways to do a task.
Pros
big company, lots of work
Cons
company wants to head in new direction
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3Report

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 12 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
2.9
Culture
3.0

Canem Systems Ltd Reviews by Location