Canadian Tire Corporation Ltd Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice atmosphere
Customer Service/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB20 September 2017
Was a great place to work, managers were friendly and understanding. Unfortunately I had to move back home to Ontario and that is why I quit working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace!
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON19 September 2017
I enjoyed being a warehouse staff at Ctire, it was a fast paced but fun job. From picking orders to putting away overstock it very got repetitive. Only downside is the pay and the hours
Pros
Fun. Not repetitive, room to move up
Cons
Not many hours, Bad pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy fast pace work enviroment
Promo/ Fillcrew (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 September 2017
Filled, faced dump bins, located and bin capped all products. Worked on weekly flyer sales.
Helped customers with products.
Starting at 6 am you can accomplish more work
Management was excellent in resolving conflicts with customers, and staff.
The staff is very multi-culture.
Hardest part of the job is when someone does not locate and bin cap products or take them out of the system.
The 6 am start, 2 hours of uninterrupted work time each and every morning before the store opened.
Pros
10% Discount
Cons
Firing janitors and making employees do the cleaning plus their own work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Hardware Personnel (Former Employee) –  Moose Jaw, SK19 September 2017
An overall good company to work for. They treated their employees with respect and as family. The hours were flexible so you could work around family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the job will grow on you
Full Time Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 September 2017
Management sucks and no benefits.
easy to learn. managers are lazy and expect you to do a million things while they do nothing.you just need to learn how to suck it up.
Pros
no
Cons
lots
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work, nice people, almost like family, great sense of humour, very understanding of employees needs
Cash Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC18 September 2017
Great place to work, nice people, almost like family, great sense of humour. The managers are really nice, the owner is very hard working and had a open door policy
Pros
employee discount
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced work environment for those who can multitask.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Cranbrook, BC15 September 2017
A typical day of work consists of unloading and delivering freight to the shop floor and making sure it is appropriately managed and customers are looked after. I have learned how to manage others effectively as well as myself. The hardest part of the job is keeping one's department stocked and organised. The most enjoyable part is the craziness of working there during busy seasons, e.g., Christmas, Black Friday, etc.
Pros
Consistent schedule
Cons
No advancement. Management should be more vigilant.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place to work, high school environment
Mechanics Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Kanata, ON15 September 2017
management was family run, owners son was a very power hungry man, if you weren't in a good place with the family they looked down on you. management couldn't handle any constructive criticism, it was their way or you got written up for back talking. Canadian tire Kanata definitely has a high school environment if your not in the popular click, your looked down on and thrown under the bus whenever possible.
Cons
13 hour days
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy the fact that i can solve problems and work independently .
Maintenance Worker (Current Employee) –  Calgary15 September 2017
Overall a good working environment. I am able to work pretty much at my own pace however deadlines still need to be met so can be very fast paced. If not for the low wage and lack of performance reviews and or wage increase, I'd have no complaints.
Pros
Eight hr days with weekends off.
Cons
Definitely underpaid.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They've earned their nickname
Auto Parts Retail (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON13 September 2017
No room to advance in field of study, horrible hours and poor management in place no appreciation for their employees and no understanding of unexpected changes to work schedule
Pros
There are none
Cons
Few hours no advancement available
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stouffville Canadia
Merchandiser/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Stouffville, ON13 September 2017
The only reason most people would wanna work there would be the staff. Granted you're not gonna like everyone but if you maintain a positive you'll get along with most people. the work wasn't terrible it's just after working there for numerous years the jobs get kind of tedious
Pros
staff
Cons
1-2 Power trip managers
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Understanding and Homely Workplace
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Midland, ON13 September 2017
The past 3 years working at Canadian Tire have flown by, I was only supposed to be there through school and decided to stay and move up and around the store with different departments and tasks. The store is a wonderful place to work and you learn something new everyday whether it be about a staff member or a product. The hardest part of the job is the work load, but the staff are a family there, which makes that the most enjoyable part about working.
Pros
Staff members, understanding managers, fun environment.
Cons
Long hours-not enough pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working the floor, and cashier
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON13 September 2017
I would deal with customers as I was on the floor as a sales clerk, I had also done stock stocking shelves with items, also a bit of cash, I had also done labelling. And I had set up the flyers at the front of the store.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Trenton, ON12 September 2017
CTC has great customer service, coworkers are very accepting. Everyone gets along. Management is wonderful. Very attentive of staff. Great environment, I enjoyed going to work.
Pros
Fun teamamtes
Cons
short shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON12 September 2017
good place to work for gained a lot of experience here, however management was finicky sometimes they would cut hours for no given reason sometimes i would be flooded with hours
Pros
flexible
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Spruce Grove, AB12 September 2017
this job will make you want to pull all your hair out everything about it sucks never i repeat never work here. The owner is never there and the store manger does not know how to run the place. A day of work here is usually filled with stress and annoying mix-ups.
Pros
none
Cons
everthing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back, easy going, fun to come to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON11 September 2017
Management needed more training on being nice... People i worked with were very nice and it was laid back but the managers were unkind and treated people unfair
Pros
easy to get to
Cons
Management was not nice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tower Operator
Tower Operator Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC11 September 2017
Direct and schedule mechanics and staff; Invoicing, bookings, sales; Customer service. Establish contacts with outside parts suppliers and maintain relations with parts and automotive specialists.
Pros
Good comradery amongst the mechanics and staff.
Cons
Limited Salary and benifits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they could be a lot better
Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ON11 September 2017
I started off with high hopes and expectations, they made a lot of promises that they unfortunately could not keep. after a year of working there, i had yet to receive my raise and anything they promises, dont waste your time working here
Pros
lots of breaks
Cons
garbage pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
LOGISTICS MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Lindsay, ON11 September 2017
The upper management is horrible to work for. Harasses and bullies employees and changes desired requirements daily. False promises are made in regard to compensation and expectations.
Pros
customer service
Cons
too many hours expected for pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Canadian Tire Corporation Ltd. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 2,808 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5