Canadian Tire Corporation Ltd Employee Reviews

Found 2,205 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was good to work with my department
Sales Associate (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 March 2017
it was really good with my department. my manager is cool, my co-worker is really helpful however, there is some management that i do not like.
Pros
some of the days like holiday we have a free lunch.
Cons
poor salary. i am sorry to say.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its Canadian Tire
Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Cold Lake, AB3 March 2017
Again, its Canadian Tire. just like any other big name retailer. Nothing good or bad to say, it was a job. They do have great deals though.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace environment
Installer (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON3 March 2017
typical day at work was to perform oil changes and routine vehicle maintenance. i enjoyed this job because i got to do something i enjoyed, and also gained knowledge and experience in the automotive field
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sexist
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB2 March 2017
I worked for Canadian Tire West during the setup of the new store, i worked hard and i even injured myself and worked through the pain. We were told that the hard workers would get a job offer once the store opened. once they began picking the people i noticed that 90% of them were all Women. I had worked so hard and got nothing in return
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
strict job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  London, ON2 March 2017
no fun at all,come at time and leave at time.that is all.
But overall experience was good ,i met new people daily.
Workplace was safe and other staff is friendly too.
Pros
good experience
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Cornwall, ON2 March 2017
I truly enjoyed my time working at the Gas Bar, I enjoyed the time spent with my coworkers as well as with the customers. The work was moderately challenging but never a problem. Mainly the job would consist of cashing out customers, stalking shelves, maintaining a clean environment both inside and outside of the store, and filling propane tanks. I have learned crucial interpersonal and problem solving skills as well as a great deal about responsibility on matters such as book keeping, handling money, and always respecting the customer even in difficult situations. I have worked there for 6 years and in that time I have seen three separate managers all of whom changed the dynamic, priorities, workplace culture, so above all I have learned to adapt.
Pros
Coworkers and regular customers to interact with
Cons
Long hours of standing without rest
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was amazing place to work and an amazing boss
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Brockville, ON2 March 2017
I would definitely work for them again. My boss was amazing had no problem cleaning the store changing gas prices or coming in on my days off . Had to clean bathrooms wash walls and clean off gas tanks
Pros
Amazing work able to move up
Cons
Counting smokes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok job but not great
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Brantford, ON2 March 2017
The job is ok. Hours aren't the best and are constantly fluctuating and depending on the manager you get you could have trouble. My current manager is very nice however she changes the schedule a lot with little or no notice. Several times I've gotten a call and been told the schedule has been changed and I'm supposed to be in in a hour because she changed the schedule on my days off. Or gotten into work and been told I'm there for a couple extra hours that day because she changed the schedule so instead of say 8-1 I'm now on 8-3.
Pros
Nice employees
Cons
Inconsistent schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-workers and management were good but didn't like the job
Hardware fill crew (Former Employee) –  Charlottetown, PE1 March 2017
I worked in the hardware department. When people wanted to know about light bulbs I was the one to ask. I learned some things about tools I didn't know. My manager was nice to me, the higher-ups didn't give me a hard time. Pay wasn't great, as low as they were allowed to pay. The hardest part about the job was finding things in the back. It was not as organised as it should have been. I worked with some nice folks there. I didn't really like the job all that much but I got pretty good hours and it was better than being unemployed.
Pros
I got paid
Cons
I got pain minimum wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not always friendly co workers
Cashier/Logistics Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON1 March 2017
Not that great when it comes to friendly co workers. Always drama, jealousies and gossip above and beyond normal behavior. Unfair treatment, no recognition and very impatient with new employees. However there are some that were kind and helpful and also helpful with customers, when not having a bad attitude in general. I wish it had been different as there were some staff members that were awesome! I'm sure not all locations and team members are the same and I make no claims that ALL locations are this way.
Pros
None
Cons
Struggle for hours and no sense of security.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace and a place that keeps me confident
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Stettler, AB28 February 2017
I learned that I am capable of doing anything I Truly put effort into!
I definitely learned to communicate with my co-workers throughout my months and built a stronger friendship with each of them!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can 100% say that this is the best job ive had.
Fill Crew (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL28 February 2017
Each day I find that I learn something new and that can help another customer or give assistance with a certain situation! ive found I gain lots of knowledge on many items or even brand names or companys which farther down the road help me find a solution for customers questions! making sure that every customer walks away with a smile on there facing saying "that chris guy really gave us a good idea" or even make them laugh!
Pros
early mornings and good pay!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good start job
Auto Parts Salesperson (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS28 February 2017
Canadian Tire is a good place to start your work future, but isn't a good place to stay and try to make a life from.The management is par and care more about themselves, and the workers would rather be somewhere else.
Pros
Learn about cars
Cons
management, unconsistent
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Life at Fort Frances Canadian Tire
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Fort Frances, ON28 February 2017
I loved my job there! I have a busy schedule and found that my supervisor was able to really cater to all our needs when it came to the work schedule! Loved all my co workers, and the environment was overall just a very positive space to work it! I'm so glad I had to opportunity to be a part of the CT family in Fort Frances!
Pros
Consistent breaks
Cons
older cash tills would sometimes shut down of course only when it was very busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was my first job
Machine operator (Former Employee) –  London, ON28 February 2017
First job, it was part time while I was still in school completing my gr 11 & 12. Im great full my time being there, it gave me my first experience with landscaping because I met someone within the company, his friend had his own landscaping company
Pros
Friendly workers
Cons
lunch room sucked
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an ok place to work.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  St. Albert, AB28 February 2017
It was an ok place to work. Good benefit program with health and profit share program. To many nights and weekends to work. But over all they treat people well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job, nothing more
Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB27 February 2017
Poor training, little room for advancement. Great if you're in school, flexible hours. Fairly easy work, but all on your feet isn't always easy.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyed
Cashier, Clean Store, Stock (Former Employee) –  Pembroke, ON27 February 2017
Was a very nice place to work, they had a very strong team of people, always happy when I went to work and always happy to leave, wasn't very happy with the hours and the creepy coustmers
Pros
Amazing staff
Cons
Creepy Costumers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awsome coworkers
Garden Centre Associate (Current Employee) –  Bowmanville, ON26 February 2017
awsome co- worker and meet differnt customers and your job can be the same or differnt depends on the day and some days your slow then some days they will pic up
Pros
co- workers
Cons
no hours some month
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for entry level, temporary job
TOOLS SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB26 February 2017
Typical Work Day involves assisting customers.
Hardest part of job is dealing with unhappy customers.
Simple work.
Teaches you aspects about customer service.
Pros
1 hour lunch
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Canadian Tire Corporation Ltd. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 2,225 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5