Canadian Tire Corporation Ltd Employee Reviews

Found 2,508 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive fun work environment
Automotive Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON29 May 2017
Everyone is there to help if it's needed. Lots of fun working there with no real downside besides the stigma of Canadian Tire being a terrible place to get your car fixed.
Pros
Benefits, profit sharing, wages fair.
Cons
Working weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Caissière (Former Employee) –  Grand Falls, NB29 May 2017
I did love working there. It was a friendly place that you could neet knew people now and then. I was young back then no education. After years i decide to educate my self.
Cons
No long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Canadian Company
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  whitehorse, yukon29 May 2017
I have worked for many Canadian Tires, enjoyed everyone of them, the employees were always helpful and friendly, I worked as Customer Service Manager and would go back anytime they asked me
Pros
10 % off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Straightforward Workplace
Part-time employee (Former Employee) –  Cornwall, ON29 May 2017
Working in the Seasonal department was enjoyable and straightforward. The inventory and aisle layouts changed from season to season which always kept thing relatively fresh. The locations of items typically changed from year to year as well.

There were times when customer demands threatened to overwhelm employees, and times in which there were few customers at all. Managers always seemed to properly gauge customer interests and were prepared to deal with them.

I learned a lot about time management and efficiency.

The Garden Centre was always busy in the spring due to organizing shipment after shipment of plants, filling numerous shelves, and customers. The summer saw the department die down in activity unless a major shipment arrived or there was a big holiday sale. The manager was very well organized, patient, and an extremely fast worker.
Pros
Free water for garden centre eployees, forklift training, polite colleagues, good shift hours
Cons
Those customers that were irate, impatient, and overly demanding
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Hardware and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, NB29 May 2017
I liked working at Canadian tire. There was always something to do or people to help. You grow to know the customers and they needs and wants.
The management and owner always work with you when needing time off.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Ideal Work Day
Shipper/Receiver (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 May 2017
My ideal work day is
- work hard through work hours
- working with a great team
- reasonable overtime
- breaks throughout day with team
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible fun environment
Customer service and cashier (Former Employee) –  Kirkland, QC28 May 2017
Great first part time job with fun people. Super flexible and understanding when it comes to young students and needing time off. Great experience in customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a job for people who have special needs
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON28 May 2017
Treat their workers as machines instead of humans, they don't care about customer service, not a friendly environment, people quit frequently because of the way they are treated, never ge3 a raise no matter how long you've been working there
Pros
1 hour break on an 8 hour shift
Cons
gm is disrespectful towards employees
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn and work
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  London, ON27 May 2017
On a typical day I would help customers when they asked, I'd collect and put away carts. When asked of me, I would stock the shelves. Overall, it was a good experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of work for little pay.
Parts and Service advisor (Current Employee) –  Smiths Falls, ON27 May 2017
The work at Canadian Tire is great. You are out of the elements, with A/C in the summer and heat in the winter. However the pay is minimal and the benefits are overpriced. Management at my store is terrible. You can never do enough and they are always wanting more for nothing.. and all for minimum wage.
Pros
Excellent hours.
Cons
Little pay. No real benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun and full of excitement to work in this company
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB26 May 2017
This company were concern with their employee, they have scholarship for education and that really help them to achieve what they want in life. Very well when handling some complaints and will resolve it right away
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bon emploi pour commencer
Commis (Former Employee) –  Trois-Rivières, QC26 May 2017
Je suis restée 3 ans au magasin et, malgré mes efforts et ma motivation, je n'ai jamais réussi à gravir les échelons.
Pros
Collèges de travail très sympathiques
Cons
Peu d'avancement, salaire très bas (et jamais d'augmentation)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont bother
Bike Technician (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB26 May 2017
place sucked, managers were pricks, yelled at people for nothing, fired people over really stupid little stuff. stay away from here, not worth the time
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere and employees
Cashier/Housewares Associate (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge, ON26 May 2017
Great as a first job or if interested in pursuing a higher position within the company. It was very long ago when I worked there, much has probably changed.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first part time retail experience
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON25 May 2017
Not a long term career but a good place to start as a part time job beside school!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-op placement
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  London, ON25 May 2017
i had fun doing this co-op placement at Canada tire hypark road London Ontario it was so fun the employees where very friendly and my bosses we very friendly its a great place to do a co-op and to work
Pros
fun co-op
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Propane attendant
Propane attendant (Current Employee) –  Whitby, ON24 May 2017
Working as a propane attendant was fine, but it is a minimum wage job, so it would not be advisable for someone who needs enough money to sustain rent.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Shipper/Receiver (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON24 May 2017
Well oiled machine, customers and employees were made to feel apart of the family. Rewards were set up for employees who excelled in their department..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Store setting
Customer Service Representative/Shelf Stocker (Former Employee) –  Bridgewater, NS24 May 2017
Best part of the job was dealing with the customers and creating rapport so they would look for you next time. Canadian Tire isn't a bad place to work...
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical after school job
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 May 2017
Management could care less about you, don't care what you have going on weather it is with school family or your health they will still ask you to come to work. terrible at scheduling will mess up your availability or try to guilt you to work days off.
Pros
easy after school work
Cons
rude management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Canadian Tire Corporation Ltd. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 2,531 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5