Find companies:
Canadian Tire Corporation Ltd
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
771 reviews

Canadian Tire Corporation Ltd Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Canadian Tire review
Cashier (Former Employee), Aurora, ONJune 7, 2014
Pros: i got paid.
Boring usually. My feet would hurt from standing for so long, but then you get used to it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promo Department Manager
Promo Department Manager (Current Employee), Edmonton, AlbertaJune 7, 2014
• Stock, organize and maintain the products within the store.
• Coordinates and organize the daily activities and duties of associates.
• Scans and prepares a report for incoming products shipments.
• Prepares paperwork, sign and sales notification for the department.
• Provide training to new associates
• Operate the forklift
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Order Picker (Former Employee), Brampton, ONJune 5, 2014
Pros: reputation, work culture, management
Cons: long hours.
The day started with pre - shift exercises. Then it was off to your assigned module and picking up the labels. My team lead Mike was very helpful and understanding and guided me through all the difficulties. The hardest part of the job was doing the housekeeping and work at the same time, but I soon got around to it. Co workers were mostly nice. The – more... ONLY reason I lost the job was that I exceeded the 10 days leave allowed in a one year contract. Yet, 4 memorable and worthy months. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mediocre
Seasonal department employee (Current Employee), NSJune 4, 2014
Canadian tire is a good first job. With no raises or benefits not a good career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of fun stuff
Service Advisor (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJune 3, 2014
While the place has a bad reputation - it's not all bad and they offer lots of incentives and have plenty of events to keep people united! Fun place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Service advisor
Service Advisor (Former Employee), FergusJune 2, 2014
I enjoyed the ability to help people get the auto service that they required, but I prefer the dental industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Going Staff, Easy work
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Exeter, ONJune 2, 2014
Pros: shorter days, easy work
Cons: grouchy customers
Canadian Tire is not really a hard job. It is pretty laid back. A typical day consists of helping customers, filling shelves, and assisting co workers. The management is knowledgeable about the store, policies etc. Some co workers are friendly, other are old grumps. I try and be nice to everyone and develop a good reputation. Hardest part would sometimes – more... be keeping busy. When the store is slow, every department looks good, and your department is cleaned and product is filled, there is not much else to do. Most enjoyable would be when you help a customer for more than ten minutes, and you know you've sent them away with confidence in your product and in yourself. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
quiet environment
promoter (Former Employee), kirkland,st charlesJune 2, 2014
typical day at work : Meetings in the mornings about sales
during my shift i would place our promotion items on shelves.

what I learned: How to price items & how to serve customers

The hardest part of my job : When their is nothing to do and no one to serve

The most enjoyable part of this job : Learning new things since this was my first job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
must have enjoyable workplace to give 110%
Inventory Control (Current Employee), Canmore, ABJune 2, 2014
Pros: excellent working conditions, owner is like one of the guys
Cons: trying to enjoy my work again
In Jan 2013 I had a double lung transplant at the time the owner of the Canmore store was the only person to take a chance on me so soon after surgery he let me start off slow and work at my own pace while I got stronger.My 16 years with CTC has taught many existing employees how CTC operates.A typical day begins at 5am with a walkthrough to assess – more... what areas need work putting them into a priority sequence ,scan for missing labels and holes,truck stock getting things ready for when the shift starts.If I have learned anything it is patience the only people with CTC knowledge are the owner the gm and myself so it is at times difficult to assign in a way that does not insult or worry a new employee.The hardest part of the job is me I visualize what needs to be done and do it which is often to the ire the owner I am just now learning to realize my limitations,Please do not take that the wrong way I have made a fantastic recovery from transplant and am stronger than most but at this time am only able to work 5 or 6 hours a day.Many of my co-workers work harder after working with me and forget about there owies. Mgmt.is why I am looking elsewhere the owner is aware of this the GM is very smart has very good ideas but his priorities are all mixed up instead of being harsh to those not doing their jobs{ its like he is afraid they will quit } he raises the standards for the employees that do not need constant pressure.He has a way of talking down to you, the better you are at a job the more critical he gets.
When I am given a module that requires fitting 16 feet of product into a 12 foot space the owner is the first to say can you do it,then immediately say I know you can.When I am done I can stand back and look at what I have done with pride knowing very few people can to the same thing.
. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Brampton, ONJune 1, 2014
At Canadian Tire an usual day at work would be stocking shelves and make sure the sale is filled. Cleaning the shelves is also something I do on a regular basis. I learned how to use the AS400. It is a great work environment and fantastic co-workers who are friendly. The most enjoyable part of the job is helping customers and satisfying there needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard place to work at
Cashier/ Customer Service (Former Employee), Brampton, ONMay 31, 2014
Pros: close to home
Cons: management
Typical day at work, dealing with customers, putting away product.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Brampton, ONMay 30, 2014
Ignorant , unwelcoming, unhelpful, accusational, lying management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay as part time work
Stockroom Worker (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBMay 30, 2014
Pros: part time job
Cons: part time not full time
Since it is a strenuous work, it is okay to have it as part time jobs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Cashier (Former Employee), Cold Lake, ABMay 28, 2014
If you want to work for great people this is the place to go. Very fast paced but fun place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers
Automotive Parts (Former Employee), Barrie, ONMay 27, 2014
Pros: draws / give aways. lots of pot luck days in the lunch room
Cons: pay rate
Great work atmosphere, less than stellar upper management.
direct mangers and coworkers were always happy and helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales associate, customer service
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Kirkland, QCMay 26, 2014
Pros: i liked helping the customers, learning how retail work.
Cons: looking for merchantdise in the back, very disorganised.
serving the customers, stocking shelves, carrying heavy boxes, looking for merchandise in the back. Learned that it was not as easy as I thought. Management was fair. Co-workers were not always honest, Hardest part of the job was lifting the and emptying the boxes. Most enjoyable was serving the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work with flexible hours
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONMay 23, 2014
Pros: freindly and helpful co workers
Cons: little to no supervision
Great place to work. Co-workers were more than willing to help the new people and the company overall seemed very welcoming. Hardest part of the job was the physically demanding reality of unloading trucks all day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright work place
Warehouse Worker & automotive department (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONMay 23, 2014
Everyday was an alright day at work. Did not learned much but it was a short term job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great part-time worklife experience
CASHIER (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONMay 23, 2014
Pros: the people you get to work with
Cons: no breaks on 4-hour shifts
A day in the life of a Canadian Tire cashier can be described in two words fast-paced. After dealing will millions of customers day after day it can become overwhelming at first but ultimately very rewarding. You have got to have patience and be empathetic. Always be on your toes though because you never what will happen next. You get to work with some – more... of the most amazing people in the world. The relationships you get to build are priceless and you never want to give them up for the world. Joking around on the PA system and calling department attendants 20 times over are just the littlest things that make the Canadian Tire experience an unforgettable one. The managers are cool and the atmosphere is easy-going, most of the time. When your lines are so long that they start to enter the other departments near by and you think it will never end are actually some of the greatest days you will have at Canadian Tire. At the end of the day the customers are what make you day. I recommend Canadian Tire as a great part-time job for anyone who may be seeking. The Canadian Tire money, oh the money... Well all I can say is, that is one thing I wish to forget. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They were good employers
Cashier / Customer Service Clerk (Former Employee), Cornwall, OntarioMay 23, 2014
Pros: people, customers, helping
Cons: management
Canadian Tire were good employers but it has it's flaws. I regret leaving but it was for the best.
Thank you.

About Canadian Tire Corporation Ltd

Canadian Tire Corporation, Limited is one of Canada's most-shopped general retailers and the country's largest sporting goods – Read more

Canadian Tire Corporation Ltd Photos