Canadian Tire Corporation Ltd Employee Reviews

Found 2,341 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical retail part-time job
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC5 April 2017
Canadian Tire is a good place to work while still in school, they are great at scheduling around classes. When working at Canadian Tire your days will mostly be the same as do all retail jobs, you'd be tasked with giving the best service possible to each customer you come across. As well you'd be tasked to refill the shelves and making new locations for the new product the arrives. The management at Canadian Tire is pretty good, the managers are very understanding when it comes helping you out whenever you are needing it. Even when the problem is personal they are quite understanding and are there to give advice to solve the problem. The hardest part of the job is when someone asks you about something you do not know about and you tell them that then they get mad cause you do not know one thing about a specific product. The best part of this job is learning new things about the stuff you did not know about and the other employees. The employees are all kind to one another which makes the job that much easier.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great student job
INVENTORY CLERK (Former Employee) –  Renfrew, ON5 April 2017
working at Canadian Tire was a good first job experience. It allowed me to be responsible and work with the public. I worked with some really great people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult to progress further
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Pembroke, ON5 April 2017
Very difficult to progress further in the workplace, or to achieve a higher position. They do not promote within, and seek outside personnel for higher positions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Assist customers (Former Employee) –  Port Alberni, BC4 April 2017
Good work/life balance, great company to work for, very accommodating to worker needs. Would recommend to others looking to apply. They always recognize a job well done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
firtst job
Housewares Floor Staff (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 April 2017
was a great first ecperiance got to learn good comunication skills with customers and get to know what it was like to start working in a big store enviroment. was a good first job
Pros
was located in nice area
Cons
not many
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, very laid back, fun to work
Shipping and Receiving (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON4 April 2017
had a great time doing aisle management and printing signs, also enjoyed receiving products in the warehouse. management was substantial and very friendly.
Pros
flexible hours, great co-workers
Cons
repetitive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly managed
Sales associate in the seasonal department (Former Employee) –  Leaside, ON4 April 2017
The Canadian Tire in Leaside was very poorly managed. It was not enjoyable to work with others such as management. Its very difficult to work with people that cannot run a business.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is decent for a first job
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  London, ON4 April 2017
I have worked here for three years now and i love the fact that i have security within my workplace but i also used to walk into work with harsh anxiety because of the management.
Pros
job security
Cons
anxiety
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and Healthy work environment
Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 April 2017
A good place work and learn. All the staff is supportive and friendly. The workplace culture is professional. A good place to work with. The management of the company is helpful and provide good benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Personal opinion
Assist customers (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, AB3 April 2017
Personally I did not enjoy my time with Canadian Tire as the management wasn't great and the back room was a mess at all times and super dirty I started to feel unsafe being in the back room as things would constantly fall it was just a matter of time before someone would get hurt.
Pros
1 hour lunches
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work for retail
Cashier, Parts, Floor staff in every department (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, SK3 April 2017
If you were looking for your fist part time job I would highly recommend this job. Flexible scheduling, always willing to give you time off when needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely terrible
Labor Worker (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 April 2017
horrible managers, a lot of miscommunication due to the fact that they had "5" bosses that all thought about work differently. Co-workers were the only reason why it was workable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard worker
Fill Crew (Former Employee) –  Dufferin, ON3 April 2017
a day of work includes doing the job, helping other employees, asking your manager for help or more hours, i learned that in the workplace no matter what position your in you are always gonna have a boss. from my experience the workplace i been to is always multicultural, the hardest part of any job is usually staying with that job, working with some people depending where you go. the most enjoyable part of any job is making new friends, having conversations with your co workers, doing the job quick and being able to go home
Pros
half an hour lunch
Cons
15 minute break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work environment. Amazing boss
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB3 April 2017
In my almost a year at Canadian Tire. I had a enjoyable time. The boss was a lot better then my last. He would listen to my problems and my struggles, and tried to help me through them. A typical day would start at 6:30 with us unloading a trailer. In about an hour or two we would have that done. Then we had to sort out the stock and get it ready for the rest of the staff during the rest of the day. The manager would push us very hard at times, but she was very good at doing such. The hardest part of the job was lifting the 300 pound treadmills. The most enjoyable part of the day was when everything was put in its place, and you got to see the smile on the customers face when the finally got to pick up the product I had put there.
Pros
Free pizza
Cons
Waking up at 5am
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job for a high-school student
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON2 April 2017
Good hours for students (evenings and weekends no later than 9:30pm) Good experience with customer interactions and opportunities for movement through departments (cashier to customer service representative)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
AUTOMOTIVE APPRENTICE (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC1 April 2017
Very little learning , will try to keep you as an installer.
Poor leadership ,and managers with power trip issues. Terrible pay that would not matter if there was motivaion and teaching to further your career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Retail Job
Cashier / Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Williams Lake, BC1 April 2017
Excellent job, learn lots of customer service, and communication skills. Great work environment to learn how to deal with public, and problem solving.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what i think
Merchandiser / Fill Grew (Current Employee) –  Brantford, ON1 April 2017
people are ok to work with if you don't mind gossip talk and managers that don't believe any thing you say .they have ours if you want to work there ...because people come and go so fast and also they expect you do every thing .
Pros
work hrs are there
Cons
no pay increase
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Driven
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON1 April 2017
Learn how to work as a team and go above and beyond for the customer. Wonderful working for the Jumpstart charity and collecting CT money to donate. As a cashier the system is very simple and a great way to earn experience.
Pros
Good full hour days, team environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can Tire Review
McDonalds - Drive Thru and Window Clerk (Former Employee) –  Maple Ridge, BC1 April 2017
Working at Canadian Tire was fun and exciting! The management was very good. They were nice, calm, caring and always helped you achieve what you set out to achieve.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Canadian Tire Corporation Ltd. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 2,363 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5