Find companies:
Canadian Tire Corporation Ltd
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
771 reviews

Canadian Tire Corporation Ltd Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good opportunity to gain experience.
Cashier and customer service representative (Current Employee), Oshawa, ON.June 30, 2014
Canadian Tire is a overall good place to work. The only thing that is not good is that the hours are not stable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Automotive Service Technician (Current Employee), Terrace, BCJune 29, 2014
Pros: great staff and management
Cons: wage
My review of Canadian Tire is that it is a wonderful place to work. Everyone is so nice and friendly it makes a long day go by a lot faster. Managers are very flexable for time off if it is needed. The hardest part of the job is not being able to exceed to my full potential. The most enjoyable part is being able to work in a team environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Provided Customer Service (Former Employee), Brampton, ONJune 28, 2014
i learned valuable skills and great knowledge.
most co-workers were great to work for/ work with. the only hard part was the first week of work, but it got way easier as time passed. the most enjoyable part was learning new skills and meeting new people, also helping people with stuff the may have needed or finding something for the customer. I loved – more... helping people knowing that they left with a smile. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Canadian Tire Financial Services was an interesting and growing place to work. I was there at a time of enormous growth. I always had good managers.
Clerk (Former Employee), Welland, ONJune 27, 2014
Pros: good atmospher, friendly co-workers, work that i liked, being an avid reader
Cons: there were none. i was lucky and always worked with lovely people
Arrive before 9:00 am to start work at 9.
Check for any requests for books from any of the staff.
Record the book and the staff member and put the book in the inter-office mail box.
Check for returned books
Record their return on the computer
Check for new books, if there are any type the condensed 'blurb' into the computer so that the staff can make – more... an informed choice as to which books to borrow.
Check to see which books are due to be returned and send a reminder note to the staff member
General tidying of the library
answering questions regarding the library material, which included books, CDs, and DVDs.
Most of the material was business oriented but there was a small percentage that was personal or self-help. The staff appreciated all of the library material.
My day was officially over at 5:00 but if help was needed, I would stay at work – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great part time position
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Port Colborne, ONJune 25, 2014
Pros: engaging, flexible
Cons: varying hours
I have been working at a Canadian Tire associate store for more than 6 years, as a job to put me through school. Working i this retail environment has helped me to develop many necessary skills that are applicable in both social settings and in professional settings. The job forces you to interact with people constantly, and to work as part of a team – more... to complete tasks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace to nothing
Receiver (Former Employee), Strathroy, ONJune 25, 2014
Cons: poor employer ethic, ridicule for not memorizing product numbers
all I was there for was to be a filler for a sick employee. so i can't say much about this job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Service à la clientèle/Caissière (Former Employee), Montréal, QCJune 25, 2014
Very stressful. Need a lot of patience. Great people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part Time Job
Customer Service, Tool Department (Former Employee), Sherwood Park, ABJune 25, 2014
High turnover rate
Low pay
Flexible hours

Primarily you help customers and stock shelves.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad workplace with bad owner and management
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Brampton,ONJune 25, 2014
Pros: friendly coworkers
Cons: long hours, rude management, rude owner, no employee benifits
Canadian Tire is a bad place to work at, The management is strict and the owner is very rude. One day the owner gave me a warning for going to the bathroom. The other day my manager was yelling at me for buying a drink and my shift was done. I cant believe it . I have had stressful times at work. The hours feel very long and you are nothing but a slave – more... at this place. I would say the job is not enjoyable after a couple of years or even months. You get no employee benefits even if you work for a long time. The coworkers are nice to talk to but the management and owner are very rude. They just care about making store profit . That is it! I would never recommend anyone working at Canadian Tire . It it better to take Canadian Tire off you list of jobs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced
Sales Associate/ Customer Service Rep/ Cashier (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 24, 2014
Putting back returns, helping customers find sale items, front face. Hardest part of the job was that the stores associate to customers ratio as there was a very high volume of customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, great people
Sales Associate in Seasonal Dept (Current Employee), CollingwoodJune 24, 2014
Pros: friendly staff, social committee events
A typical day at work would be putting away truck stock and serving customers. I've learned a lot about the ins and outs of the retail store from computer technology to day-to-day operations of making a store run smoothly. Management and my co-workers always work well together as a team, we act like a family when one person or group is struggling we – more... all pitch in to help. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
brampton ctc
Assistant Service Manager (Former Employee), Brampton, ONJune 23, 2014
good but not orginzed need more staff would not recomedn working from that one location
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
service advisor
Assist customers (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBJune 19, 2014
Pros: good job
Cons: terrible co-workers
give estimates on labour and parts to customers lookign for work on there car
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced- multi tasking environment
Customer Care Manager (Former Employee), Sheppard/LeslieJune 19, 2014
Fast paced
Multi tasking
A lot of duties dependent upon customer traffic
New products continuously
Micro Management style
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had a grat experience
Cashier (Former Employee), TorontoJune 17, 2014
I had a great experience working at Canadian Tire. I am still close to alot of the emplyoees and managers, I use to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Canadian Tire
Associate (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJune 17, 2014
Very flexible hours and generous pay. A great work place for students however management is a bit disorganized and a lack of recognition for hardworking employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative and fun.
International Transportation Specialist (Former Employee), Brampton, ONJune 16, 2014
Innovative and Fun. A lot of great work experiences acquired. Fantastic team member support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Canadian Tire
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 12, 2014
Working at Canadian Tire gave me a greater understanding of what it is like to work in a retail environment and how to cooperate and work with others. On a typical 4 hour shift I would have to help up to 80 different customers both in person and over the phone. My responsibilities were to serve the customer first and then take care of the tasks given – more... to me. These tasks include maintaining stocked shelves, performing carry-outs for heavier objects using a pallet truck or trolley cart, and merchandising for changing merchandise and seasons. The most enjoyable part of working there was helping customers get what they needed and learning how to make the most out of my shift. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had a basic job and only worked about 5 hours per week
General Laborer (Former Employee), Chatham, ONJune 10, 2014
Pros: short hours, this can be a really good thing or a really bad thing depending on who you are.
Cons: short hours again depending on who you are. poor pay.
I worked for the Canadian Tire Gas Bar for three months in the Summer of 2010, it was part time, but mostly I was on call. A typical day at work was cutting the lawn around the parking lot. There was no hard part. I never really got to know my co-workers, and it was easy for me to balance the Job Work and my life. Enjoyable part of the job was going – more... home after three/four hours of work on a Saturday/Sunday Morning. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CanTire
Senior infrastructure specialist (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJune 9, 2014
Pros: highly dynamic, using cutting edge technology, nice friendly environment, family oriented.
Cons: project based work
a fun energetic and challenging environment that pushes you to move forward to achieve the project goal, working with some fun and highly skilled technical people that makes coming to work everyday easy.

About Canadian Tire Corporation Ltd

Canadian Tire Corporation, Limited is one of Canada's most-shopped general retailers and the country's largest sporting goods – Read more

Canadian Tire Corporation Ltd Photos