Find companies:
Canadian Tire Corporation Ltd
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,103 reviews

Canadian Tire Corporation Ltd Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly work place
Cashier (Current Employee), Toronto,ONJuly 13, 2015
Pros: fun workplace
Cons: short hours
At Canadian tire i cash out customers, clean up the area, put away stock, label items.At Canadian tire my co-worker were very friendly as well as the management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HORRIBLE IF NEWLY HIRED
WAREHOUSE (Former Employee), WINDSOR ONJuly 9, 2015
Pros: ZERO
Cons: UNPAID 15 MINUTE BREAKS, HOT, DIRTY, LOW PAY, LOTS OF WORK
NO BREAKS WHAT-SO-EVER IF YOU WORK 5 HOURS STRAIGHT.

-no water fountain for anyone
-hot, dirty, no AC or fans, in backroom
-inventory is scattered in unorganized shelving locations

-stock is jammed everywhere-so if a box of chips came in with an expiration date of say 90 days--odds are it will never reach the sales floor.

-you must receive truck BY HAND and every product is physically touched-you are on receiving for 5-6 hours straight.

-scanners are confusing, often malfunction.

-you have to multi-task big time-gather all the carts, receive the truck, move skids, scan and put all product away, do carry outs, find product for customers and set it out in back room, place HEAVY items away by yourself up a ladder, ALL AT THE SAME TIME.

-YOU MUST carry a pen, marker, knife, scanning gun, scan card, pad of paper, work phone, keys, steel toed shoes, at ALL TIMES.

all this for slightly above minimum wage.

GOOD LUCK !
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People, easy going and not to difficult a job
sales associate in the tools department (Current Employee), olds albertaJuly 9, 2015
Pros: many hours
Cons: minimum wage and unchallenging/repatative work
My experience at Canadian Tire was adequate. I learned new skills and knowledge of businesses and products. I now know much about the retail industry and how it functions. All of my co-workers were likable and generally easy going including the managers. A typical day at work at Canadian Tire includes stocking shelves, creating product lists that are designed to help managers decide what products to order next and which ones to write off as missing. Helping customers that require assistance finding a product is a large part of the job. A lot of memorization skills are needed if someone wishes to be proficient at the job quickly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Steinbach, ManitobaJuly 8, 2015
Pros: Awesome people to work with.
Cons: Didn't pay the best
Loved the people learned a lot about retail. I worked in the sporting goods department which was fun. I had a awesome manager.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a great experience
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), New Glasgow, NSJuly 7, 2015
Pros: good coworkers
Cons: the owners were hard to deal with
This was one of the worst places I have ever worked, the owners were very degrading and like to show others how high up on the food chain they were by screaming and treating staff badly in front of costumers and coworkers, there were a lot of managers that were great and tried to help the staff any way they can,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Sales Associate (Former Employee), toronto ontarioJuly 6, 2015
Responsible for continually maintaining fully stocked shelves and organized displays
Assisted customers in a very timely manner
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cashier (Former Employee), Cambridge, ONJuly 6, 2015
The Canadian Tire I worked at had great people to work with. It was a very safe and fun workplace. I learned so much during the time that I worked there. It was hot in there though.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and the other staff was outstanding
manager (Current Employee), Cranbrook, BCJuly 6, 2015
Pros: Great staff, work one night a week still as closing manager
Cons: Couldnt have any more advancement opportunities
Yet again Canadian Tire was a great place to work, enjoy people and have great intrapersonal and sales skills. Problem was I got to assistant manager after 8.5 years but couldn't progress anymore. Was a manager at 17 years old and worked 6.5 years as one gaining experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Canadian Tire
Store Manager (Former Employee), Whitehorse, YTJuly 2, 2015
I thoroughly enjoyed working at Staples. My daily interactions with my associates was imperative so that I could monitor their performance to ensure they were meeting the companies expectations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mundane, Customers usually rude and hostile.
Parts desk, Tools/hardware (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MbJuly 1, 2015
Pros: 40 hours a week
Cons: low wage barely increases, bad customers
The job is exactly the same day to day. Customers are terrible mainly hostile and uncooprative when you attempt to help them. Good people do come in regularly but its usualy 50/50. The managers I had where nice, good to get along with and such. Except for one who like to bully employees.Dont expect much of a raise; 10 to 20 cents max.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked hard - rested little
Call Support Analyst, Level II (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 1, 2015
Pros: learned about many different facets of the company operations
Cons: Lack of job advancement
Our small team deployed new machines across Canada within a tight timeline. First and Second level support provided across entire company remotely when possible and locally, utilizing our previous work experience to resolve various technical issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee), McCowan and SheppardJuly 1, 2015
Interesting days work
Learn a lot about products and how to deal with customers
Management very good
Co-workers are friendly
When customers ask for an item that you don't have knowledge about
Always learning
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good stable part-time job...
Customer Care, Cashier (Former Employee), Brantford, ONJuly 1, 2015
Pros: Staff discounts on in store products, Excellent and very understanding manager
Cons: Long Hours, no room for career advancement
Shifts ran from 6 to 12 hours.
Learned invaluable customer service skills.
Management was extremely understanding and would usually try to work with the staff to make the work environment as comfortable as possible for all concerned.
Co-workers where for the most part reliable and trustworthy. Could be counted on to to arrive on time for shift changes.
Hardest part of the job: Dealing with irate customers.
Most enjoyable part of the job: working up a core of regular customers that resulted in a first name basis during transactions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Team member (Former Employee), Dundas, ONJune 30, 2015
Several interactions with customers on a regular basis. Due to the difference in age creating a close relationship with co-workers became a more difficult task. Although, a very friendly environment and management was very welcoming.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding workplace requiring consistent effort to accomplish the job
PalletFlow (Current Employee), Goreway, BramptonJune 29, 2015
The shifts are from 545am - 345pm. I'm out the door by 4:45 and then pick product to meet the quota for each cycle. It becomes tough to consistently focus on the job for 10 hours but the days go by quick. Need to be mentally and physically ready for the day. Good job but can be very tedious.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was alright working here
Responsible for Assisting people (Former Employee), Olds, ABJune 25, 2015
i liked working here since it was an easy job but the relationships that are going on there seem unfair seems they favorite people ..
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe and fun workplace
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee), St. Thomas, ONJune 24, 2015
Pros: schedualed breaks, friendly co-workers, free lunches, dress down day
Cons: unorganized store, unprofessional management
While working at Canadian Tire, I made friends within the staff and had an incredible work experience. The staff was all very helpful and made it easy to be productive at work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People and Good Work Environment
Service/Parts Advisor (Current Employee), West Kelowna, BCJune 23, 2015
Pros: Great People, Good Environment, Full Time Hours, Workable Time Table
Cons: Large Turnover, Insufficient Training, Low Wage, Management Issues
A good place to start to gain experience in the automotive industry, co workers are very friendly and have be trained to be a great service/parts advisor showing and giving customers the information they need and the parts they require to keep there vehicle maintained at there best. There is some issues with management and large turnover can make it frustrating to keep up a good work flow with minimal mistakes due to lack of training time and training in general
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
sales (Former Employee), mississauga ONJune 23, 2015
stock shelves and help customers
learned how to deal with customers.
hardest part is remembering where every items place is
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
basic retail experience
Full time sales associate in sports department (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJune 20, 2015
Pros: the people
Cons: no opportunity for advancement
Not a great place of employment, poor wages and poor quality of products. Stable employment opportunity for students and the likes, definitely not a career.

About Canadian Tire Corporation Ltd

Canadian Tire Corporation, Limited is one of Canada's most-shopped general retailers and the country's largest sporting goods – Read more

Canadian Tire Corporation Ltd Photos