Canadian Tire Corporation Ltd Employee Reviews

Sort: Helpful | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Cashier and Propane Service (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON25 September 2017
fun place to work
good management
good training provided
excellent team
fair schedule
job feels secure
respected by manager, owner and fellow employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunistic Job
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC25 September 2017
Management positions are often promoted from within. Franchise business, so positions vary from store store. Many opportunities throughout store to learn and grow.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what you learned
Strategic Sourcing Specialist - IT (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 September 2017
The whole company revolves around its retail or franchise business. If there is a downtrend in the market, cost-cutting measures are instituted immediately and doesn't care who gets the axe.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great atmosphere
Senior Corporate Trainer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 September 2017
always positive atmosphere with positive attitude and great student mentality in all employees with good work ethics and always ready to teach with more enthusiasm.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable
STORE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC23 September 2017
I really loved the customers and the Canadian tire life. Canadian tire was one of my first jobs, my goal was to be a GM one day. Everyday is a different day when you go in. From handling the staff and the day day operations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people work there
Warehouse person - Order picker (Current Employee) –  brtampton22 September 2017
people are good. supervisory management not so good. some are good others are not.

management has contact meetings every 2 months to keep us up to date.

We are expected to pick and do housekeeping, for which we are not recognized. so our pts drops the more housekeeping we have to do.
we are not assigned modules, so we end up doing the previous shifts work which is not right or fair. we are help responsible for we are working, even if it is the previous shifts mess.
Pros
good atmosphere
Cons
slave work. too much emphasis on pts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this job!!
Automotive Department (Former Employee) –  High Level, AB22 September 2017
At first when i started i was a noob but as days went by i began to learn more and more everyday!! Management was very good, great environment with great and friendly people!,
Pros
free lunch, nice people
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love this job!
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  London, ON21 September 2017
My boss and co-workers are absolutely amazing. We laugh, and have fun all the while doing our job. Great positive energy all around. Never a dull moment, I feel very grateful for this opportunity.
Pros
Interaction with the public, fast paced environment, very organized and precise
Cons
Not enough hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amicale
Commis aux pièces (Former Employee) –  Beloeil, QC21 September 2017
L'ambiance de travaille Est bien ey décontracté bonne place
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Strathmore, AB20 September 2017
it was a great place to work but I moved, and I met a lot of nice people that would drive me home when It was cold. I also enjoyed the customers that came in
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-op position
Retail Clerk - Co-op (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON20 September 2017
Worked in the paint section under a co-op trial - was only there a couple of months - was a short term and not enough time to make a decision if this would be something I would enjoy
Pros
Learrning how to mix paint
Cons
Not enough time to make a judgement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People - Not Bad At all
AUTO PARTS MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Salmon Arm, BC20 September 2017
I truly enjoyed working here,
i wish i could have kept working.

oh well, they did there best to treat me well,

i do recommend them as an employer
Pros
Good People . Good Service. Good Workplace
Cons
They Fired Me for No reason at all .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice atmosphere
Customer Service/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB20 September 2017
Was a great place to work, managers were friendly and understanding. Unfortunately I had to move back home to Ontario and that is why I quit working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace!
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON19 September 2017
I enjoyed being a warehouse staff at Ctire, it was a fast paced but fun job. From picking orders to putting away overstock it very got repetitive. Only downside is the pay and the hours
Pros
Fun. Not repetitive, room to move up
Cons
Not many hours, Bad pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy fast pace work enviroment
Promo/ Fillcrew (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 September 2017
Filled, faced dump bins, located and bin capped all products. Worked on weekly flyer sales.
Helped customers with products.
Starting at 6 am you can accomplish more work
Management was excellent in resolving conflicts with customers, and staff.
The staff is very multi-culture.
Hardest part of the job is when someone does not locate and bin cap products or take them out of the system.
The 6 am start, 2 hours of uninterrupted work time each and every morning before the store opened.
Pros
10% Discount
Cons
Firing janitors and making employees do the cleaning plus their own work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Hardware Personnel (Former Employee) –  Moose Jaw, SK19 September 2017
An overall good company to work for. They treated their employees with respect and as family. The hours were flexible so you could work around family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the job will grow on you
Full Time Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 September 2017
Management sucks and no benefits.
easy to learn. managers are lazy and expect you to do a million things while they do nothing.you just need to learn how to suck it up.
Pros
no
Cons
lots
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work, nice people, almost like family, great sense of humour, very understanding of employees needs
Cash Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC18 September 2017
Great place to work, nice people, almost like family, great sense of humour. The managers are really nice, the owner is very hard working and had a open door policy
Pros
employee discount
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced work environment for those who can multitask.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Cranbrook, BC15 September 2017
A typical day of work consists of unloading and delivering freight to the shop floor and making sure it is appropriately managed and customers are looked after. I have learned how to manage others effectively as well as myself. The hardest part of the job is keeping one's department stocked and organised. The most enjoyable part is the craziness of working there during busy seasons, e.g., Christmas, Black Friday, etc.
Pros
Consistent schedule
Cons
No advancement. Management should be more vigilant.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place to work, high school environment
Mechanics Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Kanata, ON15 September 2017
management was family run, owners son was a very power hungry man, if you weren't in a good place with the family they looked down on you. management couldn't handle any constructive criticism, it was their way or you got written up for back talking. Canadian tire Kanata definitely has a high school environment if your not in the popular click, your looked down on and thrown under the bus whenever possible.
Cons
13 hour days
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Canadian Tire Corporation Ltd. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 2,744 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5

CEO Approval

77%
976 ratings
Add your rating