Find companies:
Canadian Tire Corporation Ltd
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
757 reviews

Canadian Tire Corporation Ltd Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning all the different things the store could offer
Commerical Sales (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABJuly 28, 2014
I loved working at Canadian Tire I worked hard because I wanted to My coworkers were awesome . The hardest part of my day was having to go home before I was ready. I enjoyed everything about my job . Management were excellent. There was nothing bad about my job. The only reason I let was we moved to a new town.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Supervisor/Cashier (Current Employee), Kingston, ONJuly 26, 2014
Great place to work to interact with customers and co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An experience like no other!
Lead Merchandiser & Department(s) Head (Current Employee), Mount Forest, ONJuly 26, 2014
Over the past 3 years I've worked at the Canadian Tire in Mount Forest (Store #066), also known as one of the smallest stores in Canada! I've worked as a student in the Garden Center, Department Head of Housewares, Sports and Seasonal (yes, at the same time), and Lead Merchandiser. Since our store is so small, so is our staff. That being said the staff – more... has to be knowledgeable in multiple departments and trained to do cash, mix paint, bincap, operate the computer programs (including the "green screen"), and much more. Working in such a small building has allowed me to gain skills, in areas such as merchandising and customer service, that I may have not learned in a larger store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is good environment to work with
Customer Service /Cashier (Current Employee), lloydminster,abJuly 26, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: up and down work schedule
it is like you play while you work.it is always busy but at the same time everyday is a learning experience with different customers.the work environment is so nice,colleagues help one another and treat each other as part of 1 family and never felt any discrimination despite of our different races.the management are supportive and willing to listens – more... about our concerns and needs.the hardest part of the job is how to handle customers with an attitude but you still keep calm and try to understand them.the most enjoyable part is the learning that you get from different customers,being able to interact with different kind of people and sometimes gaining friends as you are serving them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Oil changes tire rotation
Oil change and tire rotation (Former Employee), Hanmer, ONJuly 25, 2014
Pros: working with vehicles
Cons: wages
Daily I did oil changes and rotated tires. I learned how to do it faster. I enjoyed seeing different vehicles come in the shop and talking with new customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Warehouse Receiving Team (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 25, 2014
Pros: amazing crew, discounted price when you shop
Cons: management needs to be retrained for handling people / people skills
Typical day: set up the dock for receiving delivery, Ensure trucks are done in a timely manner, ensure stocks are complete

What i learned: learned some program and system on how to efficiently finish work on hand. how to utilize your crew strength

Co workers: My crew is fun to work with.

Hardest part: extensive labour

Most enjoyable: having fun – more... with my co workers while working. play some music to boost energy – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Using AS400 SYNON & RPG, got experience of inventory control, and retail marketing
Programmer AS400/SYNON (Contract) (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 24, 2014
The company has a well developed system. Most of the work is for maintenance and there is not a lot of new developments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Warehouse Clerk (Former Employee), Lachute, QCJuly 23, 2014
Pros: boss was great to work with, enjoyed working there
Cons: no pay (just a stage )
- moved inventory around warehouse
-stock shelves
-organized shelves
-changed location of stock
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strict and disrespectful
Promotional Sales Associate (Former Employee), Milton, ONJuly 23, 2014
Cons: little pay, long hours, disrespectful environment
You are expected to get the job your assigned done in a time frame that is unrealistic. Your looked down upon by management and not given much respect. The pay does not reflect the work required of the worker and very little assistance is given to direct/instruct the worker as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tire & Lube Technician
Tire & Lube Technician (Former Employee), Sault Ste MarieJuly 18, 2014
Install Tires
Repair Tires
General Fluid TopUps
Oil Changes
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of work with good people. Opportunity to advance is tough
Vendor Services (Former Employee), Brampton, ONJuly 18, 2014
Pros: good environment, full 40 hour week, lots of work
Cons: takes too long to be hired on
Only a hand full of people get hired on through the actual HR department. People are mainly hired through Agency's but it'll be a minimum of one year before you can reap any of those rewards.
Pay is great though even through the agencies but I'm sure hired on under their payroll will leave you set for the rest of their life. Lots of work but your surrounded – more... by good people – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cashier (Former Employee), Kitchener, ONJuly 18, 2014
Wouldn't have left, if it wasn't for school. Co-workers were great, and I enjoyed being there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), Kitchener, ONJuly 18, 2014
Started off as a labourer, and continued there as a cashier. Great people, and fun work environment. Would have continued on there; but unfortunately for school reasons, I was unable to stay until my designated date.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
retail (Former Employee), 3495 Lawrence aveJuly 17, 2014
a typical day at work for me would be coming in on time. Working hard being time efficient making sure everything is done right. If I finish my work early I ask for more work or go around and see if my co-workers or anyone needs assistants
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Mississauga and MiltonJuly 16, 2014
A very exciting place to work. No two days are alike and that is great for learning new things and meeting new people and enjoying what you do. The most enjoyable part of the day is meeting new customers and providing a sense of satisfaction to all whom you meet. I had the opportunity to be employed at both locations and some part time and full time – more... duties. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience In a retail setting
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Airdrie, ABJuly 15, 2014
Unfortunately company has not owned up to their commitments of wage increase and work advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job for students
Customer Service Cashier (Returns and Exchanges) (Former Employee), Sherwood Park, ABJuly 13, 2014
worked there many years ago. Great place while I was going to University,

Learnt a lot about customer service there.

Staff discount was also great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and a nice place to work and to learn and get more experiences
Représentante bilingue au service à la clientèle (Former Employee), Welland OnJuly 11, 2014
Pros: because i did a good job i was entitle to a free meal. i enjoyed it.
Cons: i could not hang up on customer until i resolve the issue so long hours doesn't matter
One customer called and she was an happy with the product she purchased for her dad, it was a gift but her father could not use it in his new car. At the time of purchase she was told that she could easily installed in the car but they did not mentioned to her that she will need to perforate a hole in other to install the back up camera. It was so frustrating – more... for her and her father, it was a brain new car and he didn't want to perforate his car. The customer went back to the store hopping someone will take the product back and refund the money but she couldn't get any help. So she called the main office and I spoke to her. I empathize with her, I told her how sorry I was for her father and her then explain to her about the warranty procedure. Then I asked her to send me a copy of her original receipt and told her I will be sending her a gift card for the value of the purchase so she could get something else for her father. she was very Happy. after receiving her gift card she called the office to make a positive feed back on the service I did provide to her. I was rewarded as the best customer service of the month because of her. My manager were so proud of me as I raised the bar, my co-worker were friendly and happy for me as I have been working so hard to get there. I had learned a lot, customer need to be treated whit respect and to be understood and further more to help them to get they issue resolved makes them grateful and satisfied.
The hardest part of the job is the fact that we don't know what to expect with customer. But we need to do our best to reach they expectation. The enjoyable part of the job is to make customer happy, to be able to resolve they issue and to feel valuable to someone in need. I had to leave the company as I was returning to school. Over all that was a really good experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good and productive company for the cutovers, but little employee rights and benifits.
Customer Experience Associate (Former Employee), Ottawa, Kanata, OntarioJuly 9, 2014
Pros: getting paid, and gaining skills.
Cons: long hours, and not much availability to change hours.
A typical day at work included being assigned to a certain quadrant. So either the, hard wear, sports, seasonal, automotive, or home improvement. depending on my assigned quadrant which was usually sports I would have to attend to questioning customers to help them find what they are looking for a quickly as possible. In the event that I did not know – more... where something was we had a computerized machine that we could find any product, and in the event that didn't work I usually had a college that did. The biggest thing I had to do was make sure I was using my time effectively. I had to make sure cutovers were being helped, but also that my section was clean, and I was checking my returns pile every three hours or so to put things back on shelves, and assist in the skate sharpening (in sports), if someone came in for that. The hardest part of the job was not being allowed to have breaks. I got really tired, really fast, and my behaviour was more edgy then usual at times because of it. The most enjoyable time was getting to help customers, and getting a good review because of it. Time management outside of work was difficult, but I managed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved the job looking for a new one though
sales associate (Former Employee), bramptonJuly 7, 2014
typical sale associate jobs. stocked shelves, counted new inventory. did inventory checks, organized aisle and maintained a clean working environment

1 2 3 4 5

About Canadian Tire Corporation Ltd

Canadian Tire Corporation, Limited is one of Canada's most-shopped general retailers and the country's largest sporting goods – Read more

Canadian Tire Corporation Ltd Photos