Canadian Tire Corporation Ltd Employee Reviews

Found 2,431 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Propane attendant
Propane attendant (Current Employee) –  Whitby, ON24 May 2017
Working as a propane attendant was fine, but it is a minimum wage job, so it would not be advisable for someone who needs enough money to sustain rent.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Shipper/Receiver (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON24 May 2017
Well oiled machine, customers and employees were made to feel apart of the family. Rewards were set up for employees who excelled in their department..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical after school job
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 May 2017
Management could care less about you, don't care what you have going on weather it is with school family or your health they will still ask you to come to work. terrible at scheduling will mess up your availability or try to guilt you to work days off.
Pros
easy after school work
Cons
rude management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical days work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB23 May 2017
I was a main cashier and rang in every product a customer wanted to purchase. If there was a product they needed help finding you would lend a hand in helping
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great source of physical fitness.
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Georgetown, ON23 May 2017
I love the people I work with. The job keeps me fit. But unfortunately, the pay isn't great and therefore I went back to school to learn a trade at which I'd already known and enjoyed, Medical Office Administration. I love the idea of helping people. I'm very motivating and positive.
Pros
Great to stay fit and to meet local people.
Cons
Long hours for little pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Wallaceburg, ON23 May 2017
Pros: Great environment, customers were nice, good benefits, hours were good, co-workers were very helpful and friendly, meet new people daily, discounts
Cons: Sore back from standing at cashier
Pros
Hours were good
Cons
salty attitudes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
table tenis
Shipper (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON23 May 2017
Got 2 breaks, and there was a ping pong table for the employees
to enjoy. 10 hour shifts from 3:45 to 1:45 am. Hardly any cut shifts so the money is good. four days a weeks and rotating shifts.
Pros
1/2 breaks are paid for.
Cons
Long hours with excessive heat.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co workers tend to be nice
Lube and Tire Technician (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ON23 May 2017
work is normally fast paced through the week, tends to slow down on weekends especially on Sundays. some weekdays the shop can be very slow and boring
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experience
Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON23 May 2017
glad i got to experience customer service, people i was working with was nice, and overall a nice environment to be working in. wish i could have expanded in more departments.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Très agréable
Commis aux articles ménagers (Former Employee) –  Hull, QC22 May 2017
J'ai beaucoup appris sur le service à la clientèle et sur le fonctionnement d'un grand magasin. L'équipe était très agréable et dynamique. L'environnement de travail était adéquat.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Tire and Lube Technician (Current Employee) –  Pickering, ON22 May 2017
I wish we could play music while working it makes the day go by faster and I can work better with the music but overall great place to work managers are great workers are great.
Pros
Sometimes free lunch
Cons
No music
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My favorite place to work by far
Commis de plancher (Former Employee) –  Atholville, NB21 May 2017
Canadian Tire is one of the most friendliest places to work
-The staff is incredible
-There's always something to do to keep you busy and on your feet
-The customers are great
-The hours are sufficient
-The management team is one of the bests that I ever had
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a very good place to work
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Dollard-Des Ormeaux, QC21 May 2017
Work at the DDO store is not great they do not train you at all. My first day there they put me on cash right away with no training I had to figure out how everything worked on my own. Also went ever something goes wrong they either fire you right away or give you a one week suspension even if it's not your fault.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Customer Service, cashier (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB21 May 2017
Great place to work, coworkers are very nice and very helpful, good training, lots of opportunity for advancement with the company and have benefits..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON19 May 2017
Fun place to work. The hours are very long but it does make a nice pay check in the end and all the co-workers are very friendly which makes the day go by faster
Pros
great people
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Place to Work
Cashier and Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Lakshore and leslie19 May 2017
Good Uniform
Good Hours
Good people
Bad wages (minimum)

If you start early or get late closing your shift due to any reason you wont get paid even if its 30mins late/early.
Pros
Profit sharing and 10% discount for employees
Cons
Minimum Wages
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a very fun and learning experience for me.i enjoyed my time working there even just for a period of time
Stock Person (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 May 2017
fun environment. everyone's helpful very well managed. you will learn evrything from when the company started as in everything.the management are very helpful and understanding.different types of people you will learn their customs and traditions until you really get to know them. the hardest part for me is when i just started im not familiar where to place the products but you;ll get used to it and begin to enjoy what you are doing. the most enjoyable part of the job is getting to know more people and having friendly co workers.
Pros
nice people
Cons
you have to finish unpacking the products and stay until you finish
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 May 2017
Friendly co-workers, great atmosphere, you're constantly on the go, the most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with new customers. You learn quickly how to maintain good interpersonal relationships and become more outgoing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Team Lead, Full time Seasonal Associate (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON17 May 2017
Great store located at the heart of Shoppers World in Brampton.

Great Staff and management team to be a part of.

Treat their employees with respect.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and a learning environment in retail industry
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON17 May 2017
Great workplace to start off of you are looking to secure a career in the retail industry.
Great place to improve on your communications and customer service skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Canadian Tire Corporation Ltd. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 2,453 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5

CEO Approval

78%
774 ratings
Add your rating