Canadian Tire Corporation Ltd Employee Reviews

Found 2,421 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Tire and Lube Technician (Current Employee) –  Pickering, ON22 May 2017
I wish we could play music while working it makes the day go by faster and I can work better with the music but overall great place to work managers are great workers are great.
Pros
Sometimes free lunch
Cons
No music
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My favorite place to work by far
Commis de plancher (Former Employee) –  Atholville, NB21 May 2017
Canadian Tire is one of the most friendliest places to work
-The staff is incredible
-There's always something to do to keep you busy and on your feet
-The customers are great
-The hours are sufficient
-The management team is one of the bests that I ever had
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a very good place to work
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Dollard-Des Ormeaux, QC21 May 2017
Work at the DDO store is not great they do not train you at all. My first day there they put me on cash right away with no training I had to figure out how everything worked on my own. Also went ever something goes wrong they either fire you right away or give you a one week suspension even if it's not your fault.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Customer Service, cashier (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB21 May 2017
Great place to work, coworkers are very nice and very helpful, good training, lots of opportunity for advancement with the company and have benefits..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON19 May 2017
Fun place to work. The hours are very long but it does make a nice pay check in the end and all the co-workers are very friendly which makes the day go by faster
Pros
great people
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Place to Work
Cashier and Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Lakshore and leslie19 May 2017
Good Uniform
Good Hours
Good people
Bad wages (minimum)

If you start early or get late closing your shift due to any reason you wont get paid even if its 30mins late/early.
Pros
Profit sharing and 10% discount for employees
Cons
Minimum Wages
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a very fun and learning experience for me.i enjoyed my time working there even just for a period of time
Stock Person (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 May 2017
fun environment. everyone's helpful very well managed. you will learn evrything from when the company started as in everything.the management are very helpful and understanding.different types of people you will learn their customs and traditions until you really get to know them. the hardest part for me is when i just started im not familiar where to place the products but you;ll get used to it and begin to enjoy what you are doing. the most enjoyable part of the job is getting to know more people and having friendly co workers.
Pros
nice people
Cons
you have to finish unpacking the products and stay until you finish
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 May 2017
Friendly co-workers, great atmosphere, you're constantly on the go, the most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with new customers. You learn quickly how to maintain good interpersonal relationships and become more outgoing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Team Lead, Full time Seasonal Associate (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON17 May 2017
Great store located at the heart of Shoppers World in Brampton.

Great Staff and management team to be a part of.

Treat their employees with respect.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and a learning environment in retail industry
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON17 May 2017
Great workplace to start off of you are looking to secure a career in the retail industry.
Great place to improve on your communications and customer service skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The overall direction/strategy of the company not followed by all of management which causes confusion amougst employees
Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 May 2017
It was a great place to work but recent senior management hires has changed that to "okay" place to work.
Jobs are not posted and awarded to to individuals without interviews and bypassing internal resources.
Pros
Profit Sharing
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inconsistent scheduling, lack of training for my hired position
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON17 May 2017
Was hired to do customer service, yet months into my position I still was not trained to do customer service desk work, and was expected to share the same shifts and responsibilities as a cashier, filling in for high school kids and the like.

Good coworkers, customers were very difficult, management didn't seem to be communicative at all.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your average sales job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON16 May 2017
Coworkers were nice for the most part, my manager was nice. It was just an average floor position. Minimum wage job. No phones allowed on the sales floor though
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Stockman (Former Employee) –  Willowdale, ON16 May 2017
I liked the work and the people but I was sick with a sore throat so often from the dust but my doctors could never figure it out. I had to leave for my health. 5 years ago a doctor figured it out!
Pros
Great company. Loved the people and the work kept physically strong.
Cons
Dust and sore throats.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty good job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON16 May 2017
Canadian tire was a fun job with great people when I first started in the Garden center. Once brought inside, the job became a little bit dry and boring.
Pros
Great people
Cons
Can get boring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great part time job while in college.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  North Bay Canada16 May 2017
Great and fun place to work, excellent management at the time. Easy to work with scheduling and days off, as a college student at the time they were very courteous in catering to my particular needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Vancouver Canada15 May 2017
I would stock shelves, help customers, and work with great employees. The best part of the job was the friends I made. On really busy days for example during Christmas it would be very very busy and sometimes it would be hard to help all the customers but I did the best I could to make sure they got the best customer service. Management was very good. Some managers didn't communicate with other managers and that would be confusing at times. The work was somewhat fun and it was nice to see happy customers walk out the store with what they came to purchase in the first place
Pros
Free lunch once a month and donuts every week
Cons
Working overtime and dealing with disgruntled customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced enviroment and not enought employees
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Albion, ON15 May 2017
this place is a good place to start if you are looking for a job with experience because it has many different departments, I would help people and work different departments which was a good learning experience .
Pros
discounts
Cons
being overworked
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very productive place to work
Parts Person (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON15 May 2017
The management was never around when needed.

The hardest part was dealing with anger customers.

A typical day was to assist customers and face shelves.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Part Time Job
Sales Associate and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Port Coquitlam, BC15 May 2017
Good company with generally good flexibility. Managers can be moody but are most of the time nice to you yet mean to customers... they also seem to hate their jobs.
Pros
Good part time work
Cons
Mnagment doesnt care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Canadian Tire Corporation Ltd. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 2,443 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5

CEO Approval

78%
768 ratings
Add your rating