Canadian Tire Corporation Ltd Employee Reviews

Found 2,506 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible
Apprentice, janitorial, some welding (Former Employee) –  Cobourg, ON20 June 2017
it was a terrible place to work no one knew how to schedule and pay was too low for job being done . got fired from here for taking my scheduled vacation 2 weeks before i got my benefits .
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to start
Customer Service Representative & Cashier (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 June 2017
Canadian Tire is a great place to start working as cashier and customer service. The managers are welcoming and only want the best for you, and easy to get along with. As well as the other staff member are friendly. Sometimes the hours can be long but we always get regular breaks.
Pros
Learning
Cons
Busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a cashier providing great customer service
Canadian tire cashier (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON20 June 2017
I enjoyed working with the people I worked with was very disorganized at times but over great experience with customers and great experience with working with technology.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy the people I work with.
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS20 June 2017
I have worked with Canadian Tire for over three years now. I like to think that I know my job very well and it has been fun but I'm ready for something new.
Pros
Co-workers
Cons
Working every weekend
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Automotive Technician (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON19 June 2017
You'll need to be a focused problem solver who works well independently. Being reliable is key because the shop owner or manager will need to be able to trust you to get things done in a timely manner. Many of the diagnostic tests run by mechanics are computerized, so being comfortable with technology and adapting to change easily will be important. Generally you'll be working indoors in a well ventilated area but you'll be on your feet, stooping, crouching, and lifting heavy objects all day so be sure you're up to the task.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive but stressful
Cashier, Housewares associate (Former Employee) –  Napanee, ON19 June 2017
I really liked my job at Canadian Tire Napanee, although it had its downfalls. You always felt like you were under pressure and stressed out. I liked the job I had to do though! The customer service, the stocking shelves, everything was fun and productive. Overall, I liked my job there, just did not like constently feeling under pressure and unappricated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
really great employer
Seasonal Department/Customer service (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON19 June 2017
training was great. loved helping people out, I learned a lot of great skills there. management was good, co workers were great. I would love to work with employer again.
Pros
excellent employer
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good auto company to work ..
Auto Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON19 June 2017
sometimes slow and sometimes busy days..
managers and employees are ok ..
dealing with customers sometimes
its ok for learning about different models of car.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Project Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 June 2017
Relaxed work environment, great team members.
worked on a huge project; learnt quite a bit working there.
Had relevant support and coaching when needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starter job
Seasonal Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB18 June 2017
Canadian tire is a good first job but does not really make you want to work hard to move up in the company as they provide very like incentives to want to improve
Cons
Lots of hours, no pay increases
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work.
Customer Care Representative (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK17 June 2017
i worked for over 5 years as a cashier, it was a very good job since i was able to both work prat-time and continue for my education at the same time.
Pros
The Manager
Cons
streefull
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace for young workers
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee) –  Fredericton, NB16 June 2017
Candaian tire gave me a good start out job as a highschool student. Good mix of young and more experienced workers. As well the management is also very good to work for.
Pros
plenty of staff events
Cons
a few months of little hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace with good management
customer care (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON16 June 2017
Canadian tire was a good place to start gaining experience in retail, Easy going, patient management and a more simple system of inventory to get used to.
Pros
working in sports
Cons
weird hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job as a student
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Kanata, ON15 June 2017
My time as Customer Service Rep with Canadian Tire was a learning experience. Management was very flexible in order to balance work and school. I was fortunate to work with some great people including my customers.
Pros
Good People - bot customers and co-workers
Cons
Closing shifts were difficult while in school
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simple Job. Politics.
Customer Service Representative / Cashier (Former Employee) –  North York, ON14 June 2017
Simple day to day tasks, job duties always the same. I learned how to deal with difficult customers and co-workers. Workplace culture overall is neutral, management and those above do not care about their employees. Micromanagement. Hardest part of the job would be putting up with difficult customers and managements attitude and sarcasm. As a part-time cashier I would not recommend spending more than a year working for Canadian Tire as there are other companies that value their employees and offer benefits (e.g. Home Depot).
Pros
N/a
Cons
Micromanagement, no benefits, no appreciation for employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Customer Service/Office Worker (Current Employee) –  Stratford, ON14 June 2017
Good place to work with great staff and great management. Learned a lot about dealing with tough customers and good customer service. Good for students and people looking for part time jobs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very poor management and morale
Hardware Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Fort Erie, ON14 June 2017
The current owner/ GM - father son relationship has a very negative effect on the morale of the other employees. Both of which have very POOR people skills. Example ( harsh words and name calling) Great staff ! AWFUL upper management. Also note they will Never pay you a cent over minimum wage.
Pros
great stepping stone job
Cons
God awful upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management, great team-work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Mission, BC13 June 2017
ALthough the management was not doing a great job everyday, other team members won't hesitate to jump in and help whenever needed. The most enjoyable part of the job, for me, was seeing my customers leave the store satisfied.
Pros
Great pay
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good stable job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Bolton, ON13 June 2017
Excellent bosses great atmosphere. Works with your schedule needs . Understanding company . Wonderful experience family oriented great place to work and learn
Pros
Nice lunch hour
Cons
Weekend work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly
In-Store Service and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON13 June 2017
Cash out customers.
Provide product knowledge and warranty information when requested by consumer.
Direct customers to product location.
Clean and re-stock front end and cash area.
Balance end of shift cash.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
Can get tiring being on your feet. Can get very hot in store in summer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Canadian Tire Corporation Ltd. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 2,529 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5