Canadian Tire Corporation Ltd Employee Reviews

Found 1,915 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 December 2016
handled cx returns exchanges and purchases. great team environment. left for school but would definitely work there again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
maintain bikes
mechanic (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB7 December 2016
great place to work.
work with tools.
need to be flexible with every bike you get.
learnt to work with new tools.
you can get used to troubleshooting quickly
Pros
great place to work
Cons
had to work alone as you just need one bike guy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for a first job
Hardware associate (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB6 December 2016
Good place for a young person to figure out responsibilities and everything else that you need going into the adult world.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON6 December 2016
i really like working in my department it was really fun and i loved my job and my responsibilities the job itself was very simple and straight forward however the management just wasn't for me
Pros
learned alot
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fellow employees were great but management and salary were abysmal
Warehouse Receiver (Former Employee) –  Pitt Meadows, BC5 December 2016
My co-workers were absolutely fantastic, everybody was so nice, and my workplace hours were very accommodating to my life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not flexible with work hours at all
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 December 2016
it was a good job and paid well just had way too many hours, and they weren't friendly with giving days off (as i am in high school)
Pros
nice environment
Cons
long shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very little regard given to staff commitment or development
Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON4 December 2016
CDN Tire is a franchise operation which results in frequent management/owner changes. Unfortunately it can be difficult adjusting to these changes. It appears that the trend is to hire part time students at minimum wage without benefits.
Pros
Vehicle service discounts
Cons
No salary increases. normal to go 2-3 years or longer without
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Canadian Tire Review
Garden Centre Employee (Former Employee) –  Thornhill, ON4 December 2016
My brief time at Canadian Tire was exhausting. Every day I would be tasked with a daunting requirement such as lugging soil rolls into a dumpster, or carrying heavy bags of soil to a customer's trunk. What I did learn however is the toughness of jobs out there, and the things they can expect. It prepared me for the world and the tough tasks that are ahead.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Heavy labour
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
canadain tire
Warehouse Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Vegreville, AB3 December 2016
learned the AS400 system plus the shipping and reciving in the costar system , unloading and loading of trucks and trailers , felllow staff was great to work with and always something new to learn and do . hardest part was waiting on trucks
Pros
friendly staff to each other
Cons
weired hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 December 2016
the word is i do not care about writing a review. I just want to find a good job. What is this. Why do I have to type 150 characters. I cannot believe this.
Pros
nothing
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Products are dusty and old
Employee (Former Employee) –  Wainwright, AB1 December 2016
You are treated like a slave. Products are old and dusty. Management is pretty much useless. Lazy employees aren't terminated especially when they are favored by management. Helpful workmates though! It just sad that the management are lazy and don't know anything and keep ordering employees around like a slave
Pros
Helpful workmates
Cons
Favoritism in Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place very productive
Wearhouse personnel (Former Employee) –  Sudbury, ON30 November 2016
All in all a great place to work great benefits and future plans , only down side was the wages.
Would recommend everyone to get involved with canadian tire.
Pros
Hour lunch
Cons
Pay rate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Associate
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON28 November 2016
Stocking shelves, hole count lists, putting labels and cleaning up. The job thought me the value of a dollar. Management was poor,took advantage of workers. Many Co-workers were good people who worked hard and easy to work with. Keeping up with multiple tasks from different management was hard, the most enjoyable part of working there were the people you meet.
Pros
Planed events
Cons
Some Management wasn't useful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Cashier/ Customer Service Personal (Former Employee) –  Cochrane, AB28 November 2016
I enjoyed working at canadian tire. All of the employees were really nice and I enjoyed spending my days with them, my only con was one of the managers and I had some issues with him sexually harassing me.
Pros
Lots of hours
Cons
Long Hours, harrasment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Entry Level Job
Housewares Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Hyde Park, ON24 November 2016
A very simple career to manage after probation. Does not require too many tasks, and as long as you have the required skills to perform a job at Canadian Tire well, as far as I am aware, having worked at one of their locations for a year, there is little to no trouble at all.
Pros
Good breaks, decent shifts, and very approachable staff
Cons
You may sometimes have to deal with many more customers than expected
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive positive environment
Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 November 2016
Progressive, leading edge company with high expectations. Rewards are commensurate with contributions to success of Canada.
Pros
Profit sharing.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Minimum Wage job
Team Leader/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 November 2016
It's a good job. The work that needs to be done is clear and predictable. Once trained you are left to do your thing on your own and serve customers. You also meet some cool staff members along the way and its a great employer for students because their hours are flexible.
Pros
nice people
Cons
cloopens
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a job
Cash Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB23 November 2016
It was a good job at the time but deffinitly not a long term position. The people are nice but management was not good. There was a lack of communication all the time.
Pros
nice staff
Cons
no communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned a lot about wholesale and retail and also communicating with customers about products.
Hardware Associate (Former Employee) –  Ancaster, ON23 November 2016
I learned a lot about wholesale and retail and also communicating with customers about products. Co workers were helpful at times. I enjoyed helping customers with their shopping but the hardest part of the job for me was doing stock for the first 2 weeks because of a renovation I didn't know where most products where.
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good fit for customer oriented person.
Auto Parts Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 November 2016
OK place to work. Can be very physically demanding and challenging in dealing with customers. Hours of work can be disruptive for social life. Rarely get 2 days in a row off. Was not a good fit for me.
Pros
Provides some nice holiday lunches, Christmas party
Cons
Physically and mentally demanding depending on the department.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 1,933 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5