Canadian Tire Corporation Ltd Employee Reviews

Found 2,442 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Ideal Work Day
Shipper/Receiver (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 May 2017
My ideal work day is
- work hard through work hours
- working with a great team
- reasonable overtime
- breaks throughout day with team
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible fun environment
Customer service and cashier (Former Employee) –  Kirkland, QC28 May 2017
Great first part time job with fun people. Super flexible and understanding when it comes to young students and needing time off. Great experience in customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a job for people who have special needs
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON28 May 2017
Treat their workers as machines instead of humans, they don't care about customer service, not a friendly environment, people quit frequently because of the way they are treated, never ge3 a raise no matter how long you've been working there
Pros
1 hour break on an 8 hour shift
Cons
gm is disrespectful towards employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn and work
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  London, ON27 May 2017
On a typical day I would help customers when they asked, I'd collect and put away carts. When asked of me, I would stock the shelves. Overall, it was a good experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of work for little pay.
Parts and Service advisor (Current Employee) –  Smiths Falls, ON27 May 2017
The work at Canadian Tire is great. You are out of the elements, with A/C in the summer and heat in the winter. However the pay is minimal and the benefits are overpriced. Management at my store is terrible. You can never do enough and they are always wanting more for nothing.. and all for minimum wage.
Pros
Excellent hours.
Cons
Little pay. No real benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun and full of excitement to work in this company
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB26 May 2017
This company were concern with their employee, they have scholarship for education and that really help them to achieve what they want in life. Very well when handling some complaints and will resolve it right away
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bon emploi pour commencer
Commis (Former Employee) –  Trois-Rivières, QC26 May 2017
Je suis restée 3 ans au magasin et, malgré mes efforts et ma motivation, je n'ai jamais réussi à gravir les échelons.
Pros
Collèges de travail très sympathiques
Cons
Peu d'avancement, salaire très bas (et jamais d'augmentation)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont bother
Bike Technician (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB26 May 2017
place sucked, managers were pricks, yelled at people for nothing, fired people over really stupid little stuff. stay away from here, not worth the time
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere and employees
Cashier/Housewares Associate (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge, ON26 May 2017
Great as a first job or if interested in pursuing a higher position within the company. It was very long ago when I worked there, much has probably changed.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first part time retail experience
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON25 May 2017
Not a long term career but a good place to start as a part time job beside school!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-op placement
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  London, ON25 May 2017
i had fun doing this co-op placement at Canada tire hypark road London Ontario it was so fun the employees where very friendly and my bosses we very friendly its a great place to do a co-op and to work
Pros
fun co-op
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Propane attendant
Propane attendant (Current Employee) –  Whitby, ON24 May 2017
Working as a propane attendant was fine, but it is a minimum wage job, so it would not be advisable for someone who needs enough money to sustain rent.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Shipper/Receiver (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON24 May 2017
Well oiled machine, customers and employees were made to feel apart of the family. Rewards were set up for employees who excelled in their department..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Store setting
Customer Service Representative/Shelf Stocker (Former Employee) –  Bridgewater, NS24 May 2017
Best part of the job was dealing with the customers and creating rapport so they would look for you next time. Canadian Tire isn't a bad place to work...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical after school job
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 May 2017
Management could care less about you, don't care what you have going on weather it is with school family or your health they will still ask you to come to work. terrible at scheduling will mess up your availability or try to guilt you to work days off.
Pros
easy after school work
Cons
rude management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical days work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB23 May 2017
I was a main cashier and rang in every product a customer wanted to purchase. If there was a product they needed help finding you would lend a hand in helping
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great source of physical fitness.
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Georgetown, ON23 May 2017
I love the people I work with. The job keeps me fit. But unfortunately, the pay isn't great and therefore I went back to school to learn a trade at which I'd already known and enjoyed, Medical Office Administration. I love the idea of helping people. I'm very motivating and positive.
Pros
Great to stay fit and to meet local people.
Cons
Long hours for little pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Wallaceburg, ON23 May 2017
Pros: Great environment, customers were nice, good benefits, hours were good, co-workers were very helpful and friendly, meet new people daily, discounts
Cons: Sore back from standing at cashier
Pros
Hours were good
Cons
salty attitudes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
table tenis
Shipper (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON23 May 2017
Got 2 breaks, and there was a ping pong table for the employees
to enjoy. 10 hour shifts from 3:45 to 1:45 am. Hardly any cut shifts so the money is good. four days a weeks and rotating shifts.
Pros
1/2 breaks are paid for.
Cons
Long hours with excessive heat.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co workers tend to be nice
Lube and Tire Technician (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ON23 May 2017
work is normally fast paced through the week, tends to slow down on weekends especially on Sundays. some weekdays the shop can be very slow and boring
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Canadian Tire Corporation Ltd. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 2,464 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5

CEO Approval

78%
780 ratings
Add your rating