Find companies:
Canadian Tire Corporation Ltd
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
747 reviews

Canadian Tire Corporation Ltd Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cashier (Former Employee), Kitchener, ONJuly 18, 2014
Wouldn't have left, if it wasn't for school. Co-workers were great, and I enjoyed being there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), Kitchener, ONJuly 18, 2014
Started off as a labourer, and continued there as a cashier. Great people, and fun work environment. Would have continued on there; but unfortunately for school reasons, I was unable to stay until my designated date.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
retail (Former Employee), 3495 Lawrence aveJuly 17, 2014
a typical day at work for me would be coming in on time. Working hard being time efficient making sure everything is done right. If I finish my work early I ask for more work or go around and see if my co-workers or anyone needs assistants
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Mississauga and MiltonJuly 16, 2014
A very exciting place to work. No two days are alike and that is great for learning new things and meeting new people and enjoying what you do. The most enjoyable part of the day is meeting new customers and providing a sense of satisfaction to all whom you meet. I had the opportunity to be employed at both locations and some part time and full time – more... duties. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience In a retail setting
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Airdrie, ABJuly 15, 2014
Unfortunately company has not owned up to their commitments of wage increase and work advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job for students
Customer Service Cashier (Returns and Exchanges) (Former Employee), Sherwood Park, ABJuly 13, 2014
worked there many years ago. Great place while I was going to University,

Learnt a lot about customer service there.

Staff discount was also great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and a nice place to work and to learn and get more experiences
Représentante bilingue au service à la clientèle (Former Employee), Welland OnJuly 11, 2014
Pros: because i did a good job i was entitle to a free meal. i enjoyed it.
Cons: i could not hang up on customer until i resolve the issue so long hours doesn't matter
One customer called and she was an happy with the product she purchased for her dad, it was a gift but her father could not use it in his new car. At the time of purchase she was told that she could easily installed in the car but they did not mentioned to her that she will need to perforate a hole in other to install the back up camera. It was so frustrating – more... for her and her father, it was a brain new car and he didn't want to perforate his car. The customer went back to the store hopping someone will take the product back and refund the money but she couldn't get any help. So she called the main office and I spoke to her. I empathize with her, I told her how sorry I was for her father and her then explain to her about the warranty procedure. Then I asked her to send me a copy of her original receipt and told her I will be sending her a gift card for the value of the purchase so she could get something else for her father. she was very Happy. after receiving her gift card she called the office to make a positive feed back on the service I did provide to her. I was rewarded as the best customer service of the month because of her. My manager were so proud of me as I raised the bar, my co-worker were friendly and happy for me as I have been working so hard to get there. I had learned a lot, customer need to be treated whit respect and to be understood and further more to help them to get they issue resolved makes them grateful and satisfied.
The hardest part of the job is the fact that we don't know what to expect with customer. But we need to do our best to reach they expectation. The enjoyable part of the job is to make customer happy, to be able to resolve they issue and to feel valuable to someone in need. I had to leave the company as I was returning to school. Over all that was a really good experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good and productive company for the cutovers, but little employee rights and benifits.
Customer Experience Associate (Former Employee), Ottawa, Kanata, OntarioJuly 9, 2014
Pros: getting paid, and gaining skills.
Cons: long hours, and not much availability to change hours.
A typical day at work included being assigned to a certain quadrant. So either the, hard wear, sports, seasonal, automotive, or home improvement. depending on my assigned quadrant which was usually sports I would have to attend to questioning customers to help them find what they are looking for a quickly as possible. In the event that I did not know – more... where something was we had a computerized machine that we could find any product, and in the event that didn't work I usually had a college that did. The biggest thing I had to do was make sure I was using my time effectively. I had to make sure cutovers were being helped, but also that my section was clean, and I was checking my returns pile every three hours or so to put things back on shelves, and assist in the skate sharpening (in sports), if someone came in for that. The hardest part of the job was not being allowed to have breaks. I got really tired, really fast, and my behaviour was more edgy then usual at times because of it. The most enjoyable time was getting to help customers, and getting a good review because of it. Time management outside of work was difficult, but I managed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved the job looking for a new one though
sales associate (Former Employee), bramptonJuly 7, 2014
typical sale associate jobs. stocked shelves, counted new inventory. did inventory checks, organized aisle and maintained a clean working environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Event Supervisor (Current Employee), Kognitive marketingJuly 7, 2014
Pros: potentially making good money
Cons: long hours, 11 hour days
amazing team environment, everyone helps each other and there's are lots of opportunities to move up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable and challege
Fill crew (Current Employee), Fort St John, BCJuly 7, 2014
Pros: free launch
Cons: long hours
working at the store is have a patient, team work, hard work and communication.it is challenging, and fun. because you encounter lot of costumer and co-workers who is nicely and giving you a jokes and its a challenge because you need a patient to those have an bad attitude or rude people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a fun place to work
Clerk (Former Employee), London, ONJuly 3, 2014
Pros: the people you work with
Cons: working on sundays
Working with different people over my years with Canadian Tire was fun. Changing the sales every week to seeing what was new coming in the next year. There was always something different too many to list . The friends that I made there and my co-worker well she was a blast always something new she just would make you laugh every when you were sad. One – more... of the best things were the people that you saw everyday something different everyday – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ABC
Process Improvement Manager (Current Employee), Oakville, ONJuly 3, 2014
Manage the process improvement intitiave for the finance shared services. Accountable for all productivity projects across the different business units under the Canadian Tire umbrella of companies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to do an apprenticeship
Automotive Service Technician/ Apprentice (Former Employee), Uxbridge, ONJuly 2, 2014
Pros: great learning experience
Cons: coworkers borrowing the tools, and not returning them
Typical day at work is- grab a coffee, and wait until the work order is ready. Then i get the customer's car, and preform the required service to it. Management was good, and they offered help every step of the way. My coworkers were a varied bunch. For the most part, they were enjoyable. Hardest part of the job was not having any work in the middle – more... of the summer. The most enjoyable the job was when management would surprise us with a winter coat, and pizza lunches – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Warehouse Worker/Promotional (Former Employee), Strathmore, ABJuly 2, 2014
Receiving and unloading truck trailers in warehouse. Moving product to correct place in ware house ability to lift 200+ pounds at times. Fast paced. Moved into promotional, using products from warehouse to stage products on store floor which is appealing to customer. Signmaking for sales.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You learn lots
sports department (Former Employee), Whitecourt, ABJuly 2, 2014
Pros: the co- workers you had.
Cons: no repect givin no matter how hard you worked
A typical day would include stocking selves from the wear house or from what ever kind of truck we had in that day. helping custmers find the product they were looking for. If we did not have that product in finding out when it would be in for them.
Moving lots of heavy items, and keeping the stroe clean.
I learned alot about sporting equipment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good opportunity to gain experience.
Cashier and customer service representative (Current Employee), Oshawa, ON.June 30, 2014
Canadian Tire is a overall good place to work. The only thing that is not good is that the hours are not stable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Automotive Service Technician (Current Employee), Terrace, BCJune 29, 2014
Pros: great staff and management
Cons: wage
My review of Canadian Tire is that it is a wonderful place to work. Everyone is so nice and friendly it makes a long day go by a lot faster. Managers are very flexable for time off if it is needed. The hardest part of the job is not being able to exceed to my full potential. The most enjoyable part is being able to work in a team environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Provided Customer Service (Former Employee), Brampton, ONJune 28, 2014
i learned valuable skills and great knowledge.
most co-workers were great to work for/ work with. the only hard part was the first week of work, but it got way easier as time passed. the most enjoyable part was learning new skills and meeting new people, also helping people with stuff the may have needed or finding something for the customer. I loved – more... helping people knowing that they left with a smile. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Canadian Tire Financial Services was an interesting and growing place to work. I was there at a time of enormous growth. I always had good managers.
Clerk (Former Employee), Welland, ONJune 27, 2014
Pros: good atmospher, friendly co-workers, work that i liked, being an avid reader
Cons: there were none. i was lucky and always worked with lovely people
Arrive before 9:00 am to start work at 9.
Check for any requests for books from any of the staff.
Record the book and the staff member and put the book in the inter-office mail box.
Check for returned books
Record their return on the computer
Check for new books, if there are any type the condensed 'blurb' into the computer so that the staff can make – more... an informed choice as to which books to borrow.
Check to see which books are due to be returned and send a reminder note to the staff member
General tidying of the library
answering questions regarding the library material, which included books, CDs, and DVDs.
Most of the material was business oriented but there was a small percentage that was personal or self-help. The staff appreciated all of the library material.
My day was officially over at 5:00 but if help was needed, I would stay at work – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Canadian Tire Corporation Ltd

Canadian Tire Corporation, Limited is one of Canada's most-shopped general retailers and the country's largest sporting goods – Read more

Canadian Tire Corporation Ltd Photos