Canadian Red Cross Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Personal support worker
Personal Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON2 October 2017
I was a personal support worker for red cross, did everything. loved helping my clients and they loved me:] worked for 2 yrs, then moved to bowmanville became stay at home mom.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like Family
Community Service Assistant (CSA) (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ON28 September 2017
It was a great experience working at the Red Cross. The staff all cared about each other, whether at a branch level or within a region. The clients and volunteers added to it also.
I learned a lot from all those around me daily.
Pros
Casual Work Enviroment
Cons
Sometime too Personal
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most fulfilling job I've ever worked
Data/Call Centre Supervisor/Manager (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC28 August 2017
Disaster management is a wonderful field to volunteer/work in.
Red Cross does so much to help those in need and being apart of something bigger than yourself is inspiring.
Pros
fulfilling, helping people, good hours
Cons
sensitive work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to work
Red Cross Homemaker (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ON21 August 2017
This company was a stepping stone for my career in the field. I realized that home care was not in my best interest but it would help me become experienced enough that I could gain access to a permanent fulltime position within am establishment without repetitive wear and tear on my vehicle and allowing me a set schedule as an employee.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PIeasure working with seniors and building relationships with each one!
Personal Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Oxford, ON1 August 2017
I would do my best to make each client feel comfortable with me being in their home. I would go over and above to help them with personal care, cleaning, groceries etc.
Pros
Working with the elderly.
Cons
It was tough trying to survive on their wage.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor pay
Support Homemaker (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON27 July 2017
I was employed as a homemaker. Needed to provide my own transportation and received very few hours at a poor rate of $4 / hour. Working with the patients however was very enjoyable.
Pros
Patient interaction pleasureable
Cons
Poor pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Fund Raiser Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 July 2017
• Assisted with administrative duties, spent time interacting with patience, played and talked to children in care, involved in minor project to create more storage and expand the number of rooms within the hospital and several more miscellaneous duties.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good balance of work hours, and parenting responsibilities
Personal Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Port Hope, ON20 July 2017
I worked for Red Cross for many years, while my children were growing up, which gave me plenty of room to schedule both work and attend to the children's needs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great meeting members/clients in community
PSW/PALLIATIVE CARE WORKER (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON16 July 2017
Low pay, however was great helping all types of clients in community. A very fulfilling job if enjoy helping others. Enjoyed working alone and making own hours
Pros
helping clients
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
4 hours in morning and 4 hours in early evening with break in mid afternoon
Driver (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON3 July 2017
The rewarding feeleing you get knowing that you're helping local clients in need on a daily basis makes the job very fulfilling. Well rounded great place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a life changing experience.
Case Worker Representative (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB22 June 2017
A typical day at work was to see clients and assess them based on their current needs. After discussing the clients situation, suitable resources were to be matched to their needs as a result of the disaster that had taken place. On average you would see about three or four clients a day, but I worked with the Indigenous Peoples team. This meant seeing up to eight clients a day six days a week.
The hardest part of the job was the long hours. The most enjoyable part of the job was making a positive change in the clients post disaster life.
Pros
Making a change and supporting the clients.
Cons
Long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable education
Instructor (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON19 June 2017
I like the fact that with the knowledge I have imparted, that I might have been able to change someones life. And cause a positive improvement to my students along the way.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Receptionist/Banker
Banker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB18 June 2017
I enjoyed working for the Canadian Red Cross, it was an amazing experience. I meet some really nice and caring people and the staff was always changing in the beginning as the Casework was done on a Volunteer 2 week program.
Pros
Meeting new people, having the sense that you were helping people in need out.
Cons
You had to be able to look at each individual situation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good opportunities for volunteer work
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Yarmouth, NS11 June 2017
I loved working and experiencing volunteer work through the Red Cross. The job has a great team who support each other and the community and other areas in the province.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the better homecare companies
Continuing Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS1 June 2017
They are pretty good at working with employees as far as schedules. They pay your benefits and they are very good. As far as home care goes they are one of the better companies in Halifax to work for.
Pros
flexible, good pay, great benefits
Cons
not guaranteed hours, management rude
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Red cross
Water safety instructor (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON15 May 2017
Working at Red Cross was a lot of fun! It was a good job with a great balance of in office work and on the road. You never got bored with Red Cross because you were always doing different tasks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You knew you were helping people
Program Clerk (Former Employee) –  St. Thomas, ON11 May 2017
Opened and closed the branch every day. Responsible for setting all rides and making sure they were completed to the customers satisfaction. Responsible for all volunteer interaction.
Pros
Excellent community involvement
Cons
Rsponsible for every part of the branch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to improve on one's technical skills while contributing to humanity
HELP Program Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB4 May 2017
A fun light hearted atmosphere. Set your own hours, snacks provided, a way to improve ones own technical skills while doing a small but meaningful part to ensure health, safety and dignity for a wide range of people
Pros
Snacks in Fridge, Contribution to humanity
Cons
repetitive work, no pay (all volunteer)
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was great working with the elderly people in my community
Personal Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Kapuskasing, ON21 April 2017
I loved working with the people, helping them in the hour of need.

It felt like I was doing something good in my life because I love helping others and this was a great place to be.
Pros
meeting new people every day
Cons
lack of time in a day
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working in clinics throughout Ontario
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 April 2017
Canadian Red Cross provided a change environment form the hospital. It was a pleasure to interact with the donors. Voluntarily giving blood is a value to be cherished
Pros
Working environment outside a hospital
Cons
Long hours traveling
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Canadian Red Cross. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 153 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.6
Culture
3.7