Canadian Red Cross Employee Reviews

Found 136 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PIeasure working with seniors and building relationships with each one!
Personal Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Oxford, ON1 August 2017
I would do my best to make each client feel comfortable with me being in their home. I would go over and above to help them with personal care, cleaning, groceries etc.
Pros
Working with the elderly.
Cons
It was tough trying to survive on their wage.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor pay
Support Homemaker (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON27 July 2017
I was employed as a homemaker. Needed to provide my own transportation and received very few hours at a poor rate of $4 / hour. Working with the patients however was very enjoyable.
Pros
Patient interaction pleasureable
Cons
Poor pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Fund Raiser Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 July 2017
• Assisted with administrative duties, spent time interacting with patience, played and talked to children in care, involved in minor project to create more storage and expand the number of rooms within the hospital and several more miscellaneous duties.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good balance of work hours, and parenting responsibilities
Personal Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Port Hope, ON20 July 2017
I worked for Red Cross for many years, while my children were growing up, which gave me plenty of room to schedule both work and attend to the children's needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great meeting members/clients in community
PSW/PALLIATIVE CARE WORKER (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON16 July 2017
Low pay, however was great helping all types of clients in community. A very fulfilling job if enjoy helping others. Enjoyed working alone and making own hours
Pros
helping clients
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
4 hours in morning and 4 hours in early evening with break in mid afternoon
Driver (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON3 July 2017
The rewarding feeleing you get knowing that you're helping local clients in need on a daily basis makes the job very fulfilling. Well rounded great place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a life changing experience.
Case Worker Representative (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB22 June 2017
A typical day at work was to see clients and assess them based on their current needs. After discussing the clients situation, suitable resources were to be matched to their needs as a result of the disaster that had taken place. On average you would see about three or four clients a day, but I worked with the Indigenous Peoples team. This meant seeing up to eight clients a day six days a week.
The hardest part of the job was the long hours. The most enjoyable part of the job was making a positive change in the clients post disaster life.
Pros
Making a change and supporting the clients.
Cons
Long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable education
Instructor (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON19 June 2017
I like the fact that with the knowledge I have imparted, that I might have been able to change someones life. And cause a positive improvement to my students along the way.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Receptionist/Banker
Banker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB18 June 2017
I enjoyed working for the Canadian Red Cross, it was an amazing experience. I meet some really nice and caring people and the staff was always changing in the beginning as the Casework was done on a Volunteer 2 week program.
Pros
Meeting new people, having the sense that you were helping people in need out.
Cons
You had to be able to look at each individual situation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good opportunities for volunteer work
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Yarmouth, NS11 June 2017
I loved working and experiencing volunteer work through the Red Cross. The job has a great team who support each other and the community and other areas in the province.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the better homecare companies
Continuing Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS1 June 2017
They are pretty good at working with employees as far as schedules. They pay your benefits and they are very good. As far as home care goes they are one of the better companies in Halifax to work for.
Pros
flexible, good pay, great benefits
Cons
not guaranteed hours, management rude
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Red cross
Water safety instructor (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON15 May 2017
Working at Red Cross was a lot of fun! It was a good job with a great balance of in office work and on the road. You never got bored with Red Cross because you were always doing different tasks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to improve on one's technical skills while contributing to humanity
HELP Program Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB4 May 2017
A fun light hearted atmosphere. Set your own hours, snacks provided, a way to improve ones own technical skills while doing a small but meaningful part to ensure health, safety and dignity for a wide range of people
Pros
Snacks in Fridge, Contribution to humanity
Cons
repetitive work, no pay (all volunteer)
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was great working with the elderly people in my community
Personal Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Kapuskasing, ON21 April 2017
I loved working with the people, helping them in the hour of need.

It felt like I was doing something good in my life because I love helping others and this was a great place to be.
Pros
meeting new people every day
Cons
lack of time in a day
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working in clinics throughout Ontario
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 April 2017
Canadian Red Cross provided a change environment form the hospital. It was a pleasure to interact with the donors. Voluntarily giving blood is a value to be cherished
Pros
Working environment outside a hospital
Cons
Long hours traveling
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Violence & Abuse Prevention Facilitator (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON30 March 2017
A fast paced ever changing position. Learn new skills when ever presented. Management is great. I have been a part of an amazing team. The work culture of the job consists of working with many different people from many diverse backgrounds. The most rewarding part of the job is getting to meet new people, networking and building healthier relationship and environments.
Pros
Tarvel
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Environment
Data Entry Operator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, Alberta26 March 2017
While working at the Canadian Red Cross I learnt to manage my time to meet deadlines and multitask different jobs at one time.
The management at Canadian Red Cross were very cooperative and approachable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disaster Management in Fort McMurray AB
Caseworker (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB29 January 2017
Questionable hiring and firing practices.
Questionable/incomplete adherence to the Occupational Health and Safety Code.
Alleged discrimination in practice.
Pros
Reputable Organization. Support with living expenses provided.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and work oriented environment
Driver (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 January 2017
I loved working here. A very active and fast paced work environment. The customer interactions is very fun and enjoyable. Coworkers are always fun to work with and a benefit to look forword to working with.
Pros
great coworkers
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of comradery . We supported and helped each other.
Driver (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON7 January 2017
We were a team on blood clinics. Everyone knew their job. Equipment was unloaded and set up. People went to work and at the end of the day we loaded the equipment back in the Jumbo truck and the blood into the refrigerator truck and drove back to our home depot in Hamilton. There was a piano in the lounge and we had sing alongs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Canadian Red Cross. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 140 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.6
Culture
3.7