Canadian Natural Employee Reviews

Found 161 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Safety Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB19 April 2017
One of the best jobs I had. People and co-workers were fun, and productive. Camp was ok, the main CNRL camp was nice. I learned lots when I was there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place with full satisfaction
Lead Automation & Control Systems Engineer (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB12 April 2017
Very good work place and culture
Well recognized
Good management
Enjoyed the schedule driven job and successful completion
Responsibilities were properly distributed
Quick decisions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent people to work with
Pipeline Inspector (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB12 April 2017
Busy company. Lots going on.

Learned a lot about environmental regulations with AER.

Learned lots about maintaining and repairing pipeline integrity.

Overall it was a very good experience working with Canadian Natural.
Pros
Good people to work with
Cons
Low end rates
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UNder paid and very little room for advancement
Gas well Operator (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, AB8 April 2017
As Canadian Natural grows, it buys more and more companies. Gaining new people from bigger companies. They amount of high end talent that enters the company high up. Leaves little opportunity to advance as a young talent.
They wages we also extremely low compared to peers working the same job in the same area for other companies.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Lead Panel Operator (Former Employee) –  fort mcmurray5 April 2017
Suncor is a great company. They treat their employees well, great benefit programs, employee recognition. Safety and workplace culture was held to a high standard. I loved the people and environment in which I worked in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Operations Accountant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 April 2017
Busy office, learned lots, great people to work with, sometimes challenging, sometimes too much politics like any other company
Micro managed too much
Pros
good hours & benefits
Cons
micro managed
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good money, not a lot of meaningful work.
Mineral Land Student (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 March 2017
In my time with CNRL I reviewed and reorganized files for the mineral land department. There was not much deviation from this task. It was easy to lose motivation, and although the management was friendly they did not assign much work.
Pros
Good pay, good accomodations, friendly coworkers and management.
Cons
Not much meaningful work or opportunities to learn.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
A&D Legal Counsel (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 March 2017
Great work environment, great people in the A&D department. Salaries are comparable. Consultants are included in the team activities which is always nice, makes you feel you are part of the team. I learned lots on the job.
Pros
Great work environment; work independently within team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
people work together and learn each other, a wonderful place to work
Commissioning/Process Engineer (Former Employee) –  Fort Mackay, AB16 March 2017
-always execute excellence
-always require 2:1 return on capital expenditure
-Lean SIX sigma is the tool widely used in the company
-Lowest oil producer among all oil sands companies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Accounts Payable Clerk (Current Employee) –  Bonnyville, AB15 March 2017
Great company to work for, management is awesome, kind and productive. Excellent benifits and salary. Originized and friendly work place. Always work to do to great work flow.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bed
Geotechnical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 March 2017
it is a good company. cnrl try to use few may power to complete more works. this is good for company growth. However, people works there may be under some pressures.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experiance
Sour Gas Plant Operator/Control Room Operator (Current Employee) –  Fairview, AB8 March 2017
All co-workers are very willing to help out in all situations and teamwork is huge reward of working at the CNRL dunvegan plant. Was the easiest learning experience I have ever had.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really enjoyable place to work.
Field operator (Former Employee) –  Bonnyville, ab10 February 2017
Learned quite a bit with Cnrl. They are very informative and are very hands on. Very good company to build a career with. Also working with Canadian natural, it's a great place to work independently. And builds self motivation skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 February 2017
great place to work. Management is fair for the most part. No major issues with anything or anyone. Company runs a tight ship financially which at times sucks bucks but is very appreciated during the tough economic times. CNRL has not laid off staff during these economic times due to how management watches spending. A+ for that!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a people company
Operations Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Horizon Site6 February 2017
Profit and production driven environment. Loss of production will probably mean an mid level employee will be let go. Uneven balance between fly in/fly out and locally based employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Operators Assistant (Former Employee) –  Maskwacis, AB30 January 2017
I learned a lot about oil and gas here, but was hired when the markets fell, and therefore was one of the first to go. Would liked to have had more experience here, but it was good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team camaraderie and excellent mentoring
Relief Operator/Summer Student (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB26 January 2017
Great summer student job- opportunity to learn about all aspects of relief operating in sour/sweet, hi/low gas field and plant. Mentoring and management was excellent, provided feedback and guidance when required. Camaraderie was excellent and all team players provided me the opportunity to learn and expand/increase my knowledge and skills.
Pros
Excellent opportunity to expand skillset and knowledge of oil/gas operations
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seem like a decent company to work for
Relief contract operator (Current Employee) –  Bow Island, AB24 January 2017
I'm only a relief operator for now and have done just a bit of that so to say a whole lot right now but for sure the little I've done I have to say so far so good
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people to work with
Richardson Executive Camp (Former Employee) –  Fort Mackay, AB30 December 2016
most days your workload changed from the previous with no explanation, there were many injuries from the harsh workload...and we never felt the company cared how we were ... it felt like...if one breaks we can get a new one tomorrow...
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
FOREMAN (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB25 November 2016
long hours and hard work. it pays off at this company. you usually stay and work until the job is done. pipeline is iffy though because you always worry about what job is next.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Canadian Natural. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 167 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.5
Culture
3.6

CEO Approval

86%
43 ratings
Add your rating