Canadian National Railway Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Laval, QC10 September 2017
Great place to work, and great
Enjoyed my 37 years working at Canadian National very much
Met a lot of different people and made many friends
I highly recommend this company
Pros
Great atmosphere
Cons
Being displaced
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic employer
Welder Helper (Former Employee) –  Moncton, NB8 September 2017
Welder Helper, traveled the Ontario region
Replacing the parts of the soft spots of the rail line when required.
Physical labour - sledge hammering, hauling wastage away.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace
Conductor (Current Employee) –  Prince George, BC3 September 2017
If you can't bother to be called at 2 AM or hold of on drinking til your on rest/days off, don't bother applying.

Pay/benefits are fantastic, management can be rough depending on where you go, overall, recommended if you want to sign up for 30+ years of work.
Pros
Paid training, co-workers, pay, benefits, safety is prioritized
Cons
Management at times (not always)
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Place to Build a Career
Locomotive Engineer (Current Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB31 August 2017
Management is terrible, co-workers/pay are great. Hours kinda suck. Lots of on-call shift work and night time calls. Excellent pension and benefits though.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, long Hours and sometimes dangerous
conductor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 August 2017
Its been almost 9 years but when I left they (CNR) had given away are Go-train jobs in Toronto. Too bad they were great jobs and well staffed , Excellent crews. The jobs either freight or passengers could be difficult and dangerous but CNR had always extensively trained there employees. I hope that has not changed in the last 9 years.
Pros
good pay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many intelligent opportunities
Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB25 August 2017
When I started in the Transportation department I actually learned my job as an Operator to the level where I was accepted in my desire to be a Dispatcher (as my father had been).
Pros
Having others appreciate my work
Cons
A lot of distance travelling sometime required
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Money was great. Hours were rough on personal life
Conductor (Former Employee) –  Jasper, AB23 August 2017
This job wasn't for everyone. Tough on family and or personal life. But if you want to make good $$$$$$$$$$. It's perfect . Make sure you have an open minded wife and she is ok with you being away from home for 24 hrs
+
Pros
Cash
Cons
No life
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love this company
Heavy Duty Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 August 2017
Amazing salary and shifts rotations, great benefits and very diverse.
would love the opportunity to work there again. The company gives back to employees by helping them in stock purchases
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Railroading
Railway Conductor (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK21 August 2017
Working on call, away from home, outdoors and with some questionable people. The job itself is great, you can work with some pretty good and bad people. The hardest part is being on call.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employer
Thermite/welder (Current Employee) –  Ontario wide21 August 2017
Been at CN for almost 12 yrs. great experience. Learn lots of new things. This job brings you all over Ontario see new places meet lotsa people. Really enjoy working for CN
Cons
Working away from home.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress
Operator (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK15 August 2017
Using in house computer programs handling the day to day movement of trains and protection of train crews Paper work and communicating with crews. I learned so much on how to handle stress and prioritize. I met some amazing people through my days at CN
Pros
pay
Cons
shift work and swing shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok its where your working
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Lillooet, BC2 August 2017
depending on where you working and who is your supavisor or ats .some are just looking for people to fire to look good to hire ups. others are great teachers to learn from.
Pros
money stock options
Cons
people out to ding you with brownies
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Experience
Independent Contractor (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON28 July 2017
Worked as a broker at CNTL. learned a lot from last 11 years to handle different problem with customers and solve it in time frame. Road experience with different equipment was excellent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No balance
Assistant Track Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 July 2017
Average 14 hrs a day of work for 8 hrs pay. The work culture is very aggressive from upper management and you realize quickly that you do not matter as an individual.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Place to work
Logistics Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 July 2017
I had my first work experience here when I was 17 and stayed 24 years.

Great company that was a crown corporation then a private enterprise. I enjoyed the people and the exciting work here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High pace safe work place.
Trainmaster (Former Employee) –  Melville, SK11 July 2017
day would would start with mornng group call going over the days plan.
learned how to manage over 300 workers.
safe work place.
hardest part long days
Pros
good benefits
Cons
Long hours with little days off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Conductor (Current Employee) –  Prince George, BC7 July 2017
great place to work, always had fun. Management is a bit difficult at times but the wage and benefits are fantastic. if you like to work in a fast paced ever learning environment CN is the place for you
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mechanic
Field Technician (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 July 2017
Cn rail is an excellent job for security. it is not for family life. It is very unsafe, disorganized and full of confusion and BS. not a company i would recommend.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Locomotive Engineer (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS23 June 2017
Retired from CN Rail as conductor and locomotive engineer with 36 yrs of service. Currently 58 yrs old looking to work some more years in railway industry. Worked lots of yard switching and main line work as locomotive engineer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company - Job security
IT Auditor (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC17 June 2017
Great company - Job security - work life balance - decent benefits

It is not easy to get promotions

Base salary that you start with is the most important thing at CN. If you start with a good base , you are good for ever.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Canadian National Railway. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 377 reviews
587
4117
381
240
152

Ratings by category

2.7Work/Life Balance
4.2Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
3.0Culture