Find companies:
Canadian National Railway
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
61 reviews

Canadian National Railway Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Welder, Rail yard worker (Former Employee), VariousJune 8, 2012
Pros: pay, experience
Cons: sometimes not home for weeks
In 20+ years I have worked various positions till I ended up as welder. I worked warehouse, forklift, gangs, welding, foreman. It was the same yet always different. The company is very safety conscious.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful
employee (Current Employee), Jackson, MSMay 20, 2014
wonderful everything about the company on a day to day basis is wonderful
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
experience laden
Transportation Clerk/Lead Clerk (Current Employee), Markham, ILMarch 26, 2014
Working for this company has its pros and cons. But they are different for all. The management is what it is. You have you good and bad
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Telecommunications Network Operations Supervisor (Current Employee), Montréal, QCMarch 6, 2014
Good Work that trains staff. Leading edge technology and excellent co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great time ,very challenging
Contremaître (Former Employee), Montréal, QCFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: everything
I love this periode it was challenging and the most benfit for the worker get the job done and get out the way it should be done with all that comes with it
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On-board service
Brakeman (Former Employee), Homewood, ILFebruary 8, 2014
Pros: discussed upon interview
Cons: discussed upon interview
100% travel, fast pace work environment involving heavy customer service contact.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paying attention during work hours is a must. After hours: fishing fishing and more fishing, oh yeh
Canadian National Railroad track maintenanc (Current Employee), Winnipeg Manitob CanadaJanuary 18, 2014
Pros: away from the parties is not a bad idea.
Cons: occasional extreme cold weather
Canadian National Railroad is a great place to work. I enjoyed the demanding work schedule which included physical along with working as a team. Being organized is what makes the difference between having a bottom line. Working as a team saves money and time big time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different kind of lifestyle
Conductor (Current Employee), Stevens Point, WIJanuary 1, 2014
Its not a good lifestyle if you have a family or wanna hang out or spend time with anyone. CN does pay well but you pay for it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull moment...
engineer (Current Employee), stevens point, wiDecember 27, 2013
Pros: pay
Cons: the job itself
If you like being treated like DIRT then this is the job for you!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Conductor (Former Employee), Homewood, ILNovember 9, 2013
Pros: great pay
Cons: bad management
Pay is good but Management is Terrible!!! there is no work life balance, and you are expendable to the company and they will make sure you are aware of it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AWESOME JOB
Dispatch Planning Supervisor (Current Employee), Memphis, TNOctober 10, 2013
Pros: experience in all areas of the railroad
Cons: expensive health care, no advancement areas
I come in at 0545 am and run my reports. I talked to and emailed customers about their product comming in off the rail. I love my job I just want to be able to advance further in career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Transportation Clerk (Current Employee), Memphis, TN.September 19, 2013
Pros: 401 k, great health insurance
Cons: furloughs
My typical day working for CN was very fast paced. It was a very friendly but business oriented working environment. I learned a lot about the railroad. The management team was great and my coworkers were fabulous, but challenging at times. The hardest part of my job working for CN was learning the railroad language. The most enjoyable part was working – more... with a great group of people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
intense at times due to train schedules but still a fun place to work.
leadhand/Manager (Former Employee), canadaAugust 23, 2013
Pros: opportunities to move around within the company and learn new skills.
Organized shifts.
Ensured Health and Safety procedures strictly adhered to.
Resolved staff/client load issues.
Ensured smooth operation of in/out gate at Terminal.
I learned how to manage and organize time efficiently and effectively to meet with deadlines.
Having to work closely with management always found they were always approachable and helpful. – more... Amazing co-workers both in the offices and yard. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Locomotive Engineer (Former Employee), Green Bay, WIApril 30, 2013
Operating locomotive and trains in yard, local, industrial and road applications in compliance with all Federal and company rules and regulations. Perform walk around daily inspection of locomotives as needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
could be a decent place to work if the mechanics and ore dock operators had seperate seniority rosters.
Mechanic/Heavy Equipment Operator (Current Employee), Two Harbors,and Duluth MNMarch 22, 2013
Pros: long breaks and free lunches from time to time
Cons: management that thought they were better than everyone else
I enjoy working at a steady pace. My mechanical skills seemed to be a great fit for this job. I've learned a lot from my coworkers at CN. The Management shows a bit of favoritism for personal friends that are also coworkers. Some coworkers were great mentors to me and others were simply ignorant, manipulative backstabbers. the hardest part of the job – more... was probably dealing with the seniority roster between the ore dock operators and the mechanics. The most enjoyable and rewarding part of the job was knowing that I did the best I could do when the equipment was running well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management will make you hate this company
Carman (Current Employee), ChicagoFebruary 27, 2013
Pros: steady pay, good insurance and benefits
Cons: management is absolutely awful, forced overtime, not knowing when you go into work if you will be pulled out of service on a day to day basis
A job that can be enjoyable at times that is all negated by awful management. As an apprentice Carman you would expect to recieve thorough training, not here. they teach just enough for you not to get killed then your on your own and expected to perform the job at the same level of someone with 20+ years in. This company thrives on fear, they threaten – more... to pull you out of service or fire you for any random mistake you make. there is no structure at all. They do what they want and the union is useless. In this economy its a pretty secure job with decent pay and benefits if you can survive it! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Company to work for.....
Locomotive Electrician (Current Employee), Homewood IllinoisOctober 9, 2012
I think that the railroad industry in general is a stable and progressive place to work, but CN offers benefits and growth potentials that are exceptional. I have been embraced and recognized in ways that I have never experienced in the workplace. I only wish I'd come here 20 years ago.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice job but bad management
Carman (Current Employee), Jackson, MSSeptember 29, 2012
Its a great job that basically runs itself, the only thing its micromanaged to many bosses and not enough workers but all in all a great job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work
Yardmaster (Current Employee), fond du lacJuly 24, 2012
Pros: free water
Cons: everything else
If you want to work, this is the company, but I'll warn you that you will have to work all the time, they put golden hancuffs on you. They pay very well but if you want to leave and go to another railroad, you won;t be able unless you take huge cut in pay. If you have family, forget either them or these jobs. you will have a greuling schedule, the mangement – more... is unkind you are just a part in the machine their favorite words are to threanten your job, they manage by fear – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Empresa séria, dinâmica e muito comprometida.
ENFERMEIRA (Former Employee), Fortaleza, CEDecember 4, 2012
Pros: companheirismo-parceria
Cons: desconheço
Aprendi com a empresa que nunca devemos desistir, pois sempre temos algo à acrescentar.

About Canadian National Railway

The Canadian National Railway Company (reporting mark CN) (TSX: CNR, NYSE: CNI) is a Canadian Class I railway headquartered in – Read more

Canadian National Railway Photos