Find companies:
Canadian National Railway
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
64 reviews

Canadian National Railway Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
BILINGUAL ACCOUNTS RECEIVABLE REP (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 6, 2012
Pros: many
Cons: (for some) new location - mississauga
Very competent, intelligent, sophisticated, responsible, sensitive management. Things ran smoothly and everything was fine tuned. Work load was expertly administered. Training was more than adequate and easily available. The staff included some parasites, but, on balance and comparatively, it was good too: mostly conscientious, dedicated, reliable, – more... and a credit to the company. Great union representatives, too ! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic workplace for union workers and managers alike.
train conductor (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 22, 2012
Pros: great fun operating locomotives
Cons: stressful and dangerous job
- building trains in the yard for 9 hours or more using a yard engine or going on a long haul to buffalo
- learned to function under high stress situations in a safety critical job
-Management style not very productive and very derogatory behaviour towards union workers
-co-workers are mostly great and the best part of work
-the hardest part of the – more... work was learning different yards and tracks when new and being called to different locations and times for shift work.
-the most enjoyable part of the work was operating the locomotive and doing a god job at the end of the day with all the trials and tribulations – less

November 27, 2012

I am trying to get a position as a train condutor, any tips or trade secrets that might help would be appreciated

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting, Never boring
Rail Traffic Controller (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 20, 2012
Pros: being in control and being successful at my position
Cons: very reactive and not very proactive
I worked with many exceptional people. Every day brought new challenges, kind of like putting a puzzle together and having the pieces constantly change. You had to be on your toes to respond to ever changing situations and be vigilant in safety to make sure every employee in your care went home every night. The hardest part was dealing with impossible – more... expectations or stressful situations, such as a crossing fatality. Maintaining focus was difficult but required during these highly emotional times. The best part was woking with some of the best people in the industry and making the impossible possible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job,satisfaction gained when work well completed
carman (Former Employee), Concord, ONAugust 18, 2012
this job was rewarding. always learning something. enjoyed the physical and hands on portion of the work. safety oriented and imposed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and advance yourself
Inventory Maintainer, Mechanical Department (Former Employee), Moncton, NBAugust 15, 2012
Pros: being able to be effective
Cons: no cons
Handle any issues rearding material inventories, offlod wheel set with crane, unload and receive product into inventories, issue good
good and parts as required, fellow employees were great and the satisfaction of getting everything done was the most enjoyable part of the day,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an exellant place to work and has provided me and my family with an happy and exellant lifestyle
Customer service clerk (Former Employee), Prince George, BCJuly 18, 2012
Pros: exellant benefits, worked with a lot of nice people, first aid training, forklift training, class 2 liscense.
Cons: there was a lot of pressure to do the work and on a timely basis, this at times would cause a lot of stress.
The typical day started with a safety meeting and then it was off to work no days were the same. We basically were on our own we new what had to be done and worked hard to get it done. The management expected you to do the job and as long as you did they were happy. My co-workers were good and easy to get along with. The hardest part of the job was – more... at first learning it and then organizing how you were going to do the job in the most effective and timely way. The most enjoyable part of the job was getting it done and done right a sense of accomplishment. – less

March 10, 2013

Hello there, would you mind explaining about what kind of salary, I should be looking in this job. Your reply will be much appreciated.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Welder, Rail yard worker (Former Employee), VariousJune 8, 2012
Pros: pay, experience
Cons: sometimes not home for weeks
In 20+ years I have worked various positions till I ended up as welder. I worked warehouse, forklift, gangs, welding, foreman. It was the same yet always different. The company is very safety conscious.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful
employee (Current Employee), Jackson, MSMay 20, 2014
wonderful everything about the company on a day to day basis is wonderful
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
experience laden
Transportation Clerk/Lead Clerk (Current Employee), Markham, ILMarch 26, 2014
Working for this company has its pros and cons. But they are different for all. The management is what it is. You have you good and bad
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On-board service
Brakeman (Former Employee), Homewood, ILFebruary 8, 2014
Pros: discussed upon interview
Cons: discussed upon interview
100% travel, fast pace work environment involving heavy customer service contact.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different kind of lifestyle
Conductor (Current Employee), Stevens Point, WIJanuary 1, 2014
Its not a good lifestyle if you have a family or wanna hang out or spend time with anyone. CN does pay well but you pay for it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull moment...
engineer (Current Employee), stevens point, wiDecember 27, 2013
Pros: pay
Cons: the job itself
If you like being treated like DIRT then this is the job for you!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Conductor (Former Employee), Homewood, ILNovember 9, 2013
Pros: great pay
Cons: bad management
Pay is good but Management is Terrible!!! there is no work life balance, and you are expendable to the company and they will make sure you are aware of it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AWESOME JOB
Dispatch Planning Supervisor (Current Employee), Memphis, TNOctober 10, 2013
Pros: experience in all areas of the railroad
Cons: expensive health care, no advancement areas
I come in at 0545 am and run my reports. I talked to and emailed customers about their product comming in off the rail. I love my job I just want to be able to advance further in career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Transportation Clerk (Current Employee), Memphis, TN.September 19, 2013
Pros: 401 k, great health insurance
Cons: furloughs
My typical day working for CN was very fast paced. It was a very friendly but business oriented working environment. I learned a lot about the railroad. The management team was great and my coworkers were fabulous, but challenging at times. The hardest part of my job working for CN was learning the railroad language. The most enjoyable part was working – more... with a great group of people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Locomotive Engineer (Former Employee), Green Bay, WIApril 30, 2013
Operating locomotive and trains in yard, local, industrial and road applications in compliance with all Federal and company rules and regulations. Perform walk around daily inspection of locomotives as needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you like to work at a Zoo....then CN is the best!
CLERK (Former Employee), HOMEWOOD, ILLINOISApril 2, 2013
Pros: no free lunch
Cons: long hours, work every holiday, be treated like an animal
The most unprofessional business that I've ever worked for! Office environments have fights, people are using profanity all the time! Don't expect to get promoted unless you are NOT a minority! Expect to LOSE YOUR LIFE IN ALL ASPECTS....never see children, family, friends etc...and never be appreciated for your hard work! I've learned to identify what – more... I truely want in a good quality workplace. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
could be a decent place to work if the mechanics and ore dock operators had seperate seniority rosters.
Mechanic/Heavy Equipment Operator (Current Employee), Two Harbors,and Duluth MNMarch 22, 2013
Pros: long breaks and free lunches from time to time
Cons: management that thought they were better than everyone else
I enjoy working at a steady pace. My mechanical skills seemed to be a great fit for this job. I've learned a lot from my coworkers at CN. The Management shows a bit of favoritism for personal friends that are also coworkers. Some coworkers were great mentors to me and others were simply ignorant, manipulative backstabbers. the hardest part of the job – more... was probably dealing with the seniority roster between the ore dock operators and the mechanics. The most enjoyable and rewarding part of the job was knowing that I did the best I could do when the equipment was running well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management will make you hate this company
Carman (Current Employee), ChicagoFebruary 27, 2013
Pros: steady pay, good insurance and benefits
Cons: management is absolutely awful, forced overtime, not knowing when you go into work if you will be pulled out of service on a day to day basis
A job that can be enjoyable at times that is all negated by awful management. As an apprentice Carman you would expect to recieve thorough training, not here. they teach just enough for you not to get killed then your on your own and expected to perform the job at the same level of someone with 20+ years in. This company thrives on fear, they threaten – more... to pull you out of service or fire you for any random mistake you make. there is no structure at all. They do what they want and the union is useless. In this economy its a pretty secure job with decent pay and benefits if you can survive it! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Company to work for.....
Locomotive Electrician (Current Employee), Homewood IllinoisOctober 9, 2012
I think that the railroad industry in general is a stable and progressive place to work, but CN offers benefits and growth potentials that are exceptional. I have been embraced and recognized in ways that I have never experienced in the workplace. I only wish I'd come here 20 years ago.

About Canadian National Railway

The Canadian National Railway Company (reporting mark CN) (TSX: CNR, NYSE: CNI) is a Canadian Class I railway headquartered in – Read more

Canadian National Railway Photos