Find companies:
Canadian National Railway
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
69 reviews

Canadian National Railway Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paying attention during work hours is a must. After hours: fishing fishing and more fishing, oh yeh
Canadian National Railroad track maintenanc (Current Employee), Winnipeg Manitob CanadaJanuary 18, 2014
Pros: away from the parties is not a bad idea.
Cons: occasional extreme cold weather
Canadian National Railroad is a great place to work. I enjoyed the demanding work schedule which included physical along with working as a team. Being organized is what makes the difference between having a bottom line. Working as a team saves money and time big time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good befefits but no life balance.
Signals and Communication Maintainer (Former Employee), Viking, AlbertaNovember 27, 2013
Cons: long hours, working outside in the cold winter
Testing safety equipment for the railway. Working on my own and with others depending on the tasks and schedule of the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Work Equipment Operator (Former Employee), Montréal, QCNovember 5, 2013
Thoroughly enjoyed this job . Management was not the best . Safety practices have really taken a downward turn.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress in winter
Labourer /Conductor/Trainmaster (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 23, 2013
Pros: decent benifits
Cons: very long hours and high stress enviroment
The hardest part of the job is the 24 hour shifts. Very minimal down time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Campany Promotes failure
10 ton Boom Truck Driver/ Track Maintainer (Current Employee), Fort St John, BCOctober 9, 2013
Pros: full time employement
Cons: management
Supervisors are told to go out and look for 25 saftey failures/passes a month but must find 5 failures or are themselves failed. I have had fails on things that I dont even do for the company. Also management is supost to tell you when you fail but most times will not. This is a bad company to work for, they do not treat you well at all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review for CN RAil
Accounts Receivable Representative/Rate Clerk (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 30, 2013
CN Rail was a fantastic company to work for. I started as a data entry clerk and through in house training moved into Accounts Receiveable and then a Rate clerk. Both challenging positions but rewarding as well. I like to learn and this company offered me that challenge. Co-workers and management were great and offered great opportunities for advancement – more... if you were willing to learn and step up to to the challenge. One of the most enjoyable parts was the salary without a doubt. Still to this day it was the best paying job I had in my working career! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
intense at times due to train schedules but still a fun place to work.
leadhand/Manager (Former Employee), canadaAugust 23, 2013
Pros: opportunities to move around within the company and learn new skills.
Organized shifts.
Ensured Health and Safety procedures strictly adhered to.
Resolved staff/client load issues.
Ensured smooth operation of in/out gate at Terminal.
I learned how to manage and organize time efficiently and effectively to meet with deadlines.
Having to work closely with management always found they were always approachable and helpful. – more... Amazing co-workers both in the offices and yard. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay, good job but they own you.
Conductor (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMay 24, 2013
Pros: great pay and benefits, good coworkers, interesting work
Cons: immature management, no job security, highly irregular hours
I worked there over one summer as a conductor trainee. From the first encounter with a trainmaster, I got the feeling I was disposable. I was fired in the fall for the actions of another employee that they mistook as me. No warning and no investigation to my alleged demeanor. My many pleas to the company and union fell on deaf ears despite irrefutable – more... evidence. Every employee at CN can be replaced and they make you know it. Even 30+ year veterans get the boot when they don't tow the company line. Just a warning, never take them lightly, and never give them anything to burn you with. As many in the company say; they'll spend one thousands to train you and the next 30 years trying to fire you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CNs safety record
n/a (Former Employee), Across CanadaApril 30, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
And for people who defend CNs safety record.

Then explain why did CN rail use a locomotive that wasn't equipped with dynamic brakes when it was used on the mountains of Lilloet BC.

Watch CTVs W-five report "off the rails" and find out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For Customs Broker dept- Micromanaging "Hitler" style manager
admin (Former Employee), torontoApril 8, 2013
Think twice if you are applying for any position in customs brokerage department. You will wonder why everybody is leaving???
manager there think she own the company, giving CN a bad reputation. Otherwise any other depart in the management position is a plus. Operation I can't blame the bad comment because this company is sevice oriented. Always aiming – more... for number 1 and will always be number one. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and educational
rock scaller (Former Employee), British columbiaApril 4, 2013
Pros: $
Cons: job security
all around good work enviroment, learned alot about bio engineering and able to identify rock formations and danger points
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard job
track worker (Current Employee), Pictou, NSFebruary 20, 2013
Pros: went home for luch
Cons: worked my hours from morning to quiting time
it was a hard job very hard work. i worked hard there when it was a short time i was there.people were nice to worj with
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work fun
track worker (Current Employee), Pictou, NSFebruary 20, 2013
Pros: no free luches
Cons: just hours you work
i'm a harder wheni start something i finsh it what i start.don't like leaving anything unfinished.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work
Transportation Supervisor /Trainmaster (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCFebruary 12, 2013
Pros: salary, challenges every day
Cons: there really is no life work balance.
I have come away from CN Rail with a great knowledge of how the Railway network works.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor company for family orientated person
Rail Car Technician Apprentice (Carman) (Current Employee), Kamloops, BCJanuary 28, 2013
Pros: decent pay
Cons: terrible shifts, poor communication and employee/supervisor relationships
A typical day at work in the CN yard is being constantly monitered by supervisors. They have a rating system in place called p.m.r.c.; they are constantly looking for pmrc failures. If you fail you are automatically sent home no matter what the situation; you are left wondering if you have lost your job. Most new hires have not been trained properly – more... so they are gauranteed to fail one of these. The employees are constantly walking in fear trying to figure out what they did wrong when a supervisor scolds them and the supervisor will not explain the situation. This is a typical weekly occurance at CN. Must work all stats. Legally allowed to take stats off, but scolded when asking to do so. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable workplace
PROGRAMMER (Former Employee), Montreal QuebecDecember 18, 2012
it's beginning of my career.. nice workplace, co-workers (actually my mentors at the time) were very nice and helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work at.
Certified CN Inspector (Former Employee), Toronto, ONDecember 13, 2012
Pros: wage
Cons: working in the cold
its a fun place work at but very hard work as u have to work outside all the time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Going to work everyday is what I enjoy
heavy equipment operator (Former Employee), Toronto OnDecember 1, 2012
Pros: keep bussy is what i need
Cons: more vacation in the summer
Working with others ,trainning others on equipment .

Everyday is a new day and you never stop learning

Management is a big part of a smooth operation

Work together is the way to go .

Weather elements can be very difficult working

Going home to your family safe
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safe place to work
Heavy Duty Mechanic Truck and Auto tech (Current Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 27, 2012
Pros: retirement benefit
Cons: nightshift hours
Running repairs and scheduled maintenance easy day pass,learned ot deal with differnt driver and operator problem on the machines,takes procedures and guide lines from mnagement prosfective views on customer sevice priority,most of my college are self motivated and cooperative,big breakdown on machine could delay the train schedule,summer time is less – more... stress weatherwise. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away...run!
Electrician (Former Employee), Walker LRC, Edmonton, ABOctober 26, 2012
Pros: all about pension.
Cons: not a conducive environment, you'll be miserable the moment you start. start working.
A bit more like Shawshank prison, albeit with pension and company stock benefits. Management in Walker diesel shop are the worst you'll ever meet. No people skills, doesnt value their employees. Only time youll see the manager is when he'll hand you a cookie (desciplinary action). Forget about going to school, they'll move heaven and earth not to send – more... you. – less

About Canadian National Railway

The Canadian National Railway Company (reporting mark CN) (TSX: CNR, NYSE: CNI) is a Canadian Class I railway headquartered in – Read more

Canadian National Railway Photos