Find companies:
Canadian National Railway
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
61 reviews

Canadian National Railway Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you like to work at a Zoo....then CN is the best!
CLERK (Former Employee), HOMEWOOD, ILLINOISApril 2, 2013
Pros: no free lunch
Cons: long hours, work every holiday, be treated like an animal
The most unprofessional business that I've ever worked for! Office environments have fights, people are using profanity all the time! Don't expect to get promoted unless you are NOT a minority! Expect to LOSE YOUR LIFE IN ALL ASPECTS....never see children, family, friends etc...and never be appreciated for your hard work! I've learned to identify what – more... I truely want in a good quality workplace. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard job
track worker (Current Employee), Pictou, NSFebruary 20, 2013
Pros: went home for luch
Cons: worked my hours from morning to quiting time
it was a hard job very hard work. i worked hard there when it was a short time i was there.people were nice to worj with
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work fun
track worker (Current Employee), Pictou, NSFebruary 20, 2013
Pros: no free luches
Cons: just hours you work
i'm a harder wheni start something i finsh it what i start.don't like leaving anything unfinished.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work
Transportation Supervisor /Trainmaster (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCFebruary 12, 2013
Pros: salary, challenges every day
Cons: there really is no life work balance.
I have come away from CN Rail with a great knowledge of how the Railway network works.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor company for family orientated person
Rail Car Technician Apprentice (Carman) (Current Employee), Kamloops, BCJanuary 28, 2013
Pros: decent pay
Cons: terrible shifts, poor communication and employee/supervisor relationships
A typical day at work in the CN yard is being constantly monitered by supervisors. They have a rating system in place called p.m.r.c.; they are constantly looking for pmrc failures. If you fail you are automatically sent home no matter what the situation; you are left wondering if you have lost your job. Most new hires have not been trained properly – more... so they are gauranteed to fail one of these. The employees are constantly walking in fear trying to figure out what they did wrong when a supervisor scolds them and the supervisor will not explain the situation. This is a typical weekly occurance at CN. Must work all stats. Legally allowed to take stats off, but scolded when asking to do so. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable workplace
PROGRAMMER (Former Employee), Montreal QuebecDecember 18, 2012
it's beginning of my career.. nice workplace, co-workers (actually my mentors at the time) were very nice and helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work at.
Certified CN Inspector (Former Employee), Toronto, ONDecember 13, 2012
Pros: wage
Cons: working in the cold
its a fun place work at but very hard work as u have to work outside all the time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Going to work everyday is what I enjoy
heavy equipment operator (Former Employee), Toronto OnDecember 1, 2012
Pros: keep bussy is what i need
Cons: more vacation in the summer
Working with others ,trainning others on equipment .

Everyday is a new day and you never stop learning

Management is a big part of a smooth operation

Work together is the way to go .

Weather elements can be very difficult working

Going home to your family safe
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safe place to work
Heavy Duty Mechanic Truck and Auto tech (Current Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 27, 2012
Pros: retirement benefit
Cons: nightshift hours
Running repairs and scheduled maintenance easy day pass,learned ot deal with differnt driver and operator problem on the machines,takes procedures and guide lines from mnagement prosfective views on customer sevice priority,most of my college are self motivated and cooperative,big breakdown on machine could delay the train schedule,summer time is less – more... stress weatherwise. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away...run!
Electrician (Former Employee), Walker LRC, Edmonton, ABOctober 26, 2012
Pros: all about pension.
Cons: not a conducive environment, you'll be miserable the moment you start. start working.
A bit more like Shawshank prison, albeit with pension and company stock benefits. Management in Walker diesel shop are the worst you'll ever meet. No people skills, doesnt value their employees. Only time youll see the manager is when he'll hand you a cookie (desciplinary action). Forget about going to school, they'll move heaven and earth not to send – more... you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good money for single guys. Be prepared to lose your life.
Conductor (Former Employee), Smithers, BCOctober 12, 2012
Pros: 90, 000 to start, 110, 000 by year 2, 130, 000 by year 5
Cons: you'll probably die horribly
Amazing money right off the bat. Good job security. Takes a few years to be totally secure but after about 2 you're set or life. Great pension, but most guys don't live very long after 35 years of graveyards, poor diet, living in hotels, and going through a few wives. I went in thinking it wouldn't be me but here I am divorced and unhealthy, depressed, – more... looking for other work. Thanking god I got out.

By the way some stats: average of 3 people you'll kill in your career, just like any job things go bad and the trains weight upwards of 26,000 tonnes, for the first 2ish years depending on where you work it could be mostly outside, in the mountains, in the wind, in the rain, get the picture, management structure is fire first then maybe ask questions, the union will never let you lose your job no matter how stupid you are. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work here, learn a bit, and RUN!!!
Former Rail Car Mechanic Apprentice (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 7, 2012
Pros: paid lunches
Cons: cn looks good on a resume, and you can apply to better skilled trade jobs afterwards
- good camaraderie developed with co-workers
- Seniority is a joke, ie. more senior employees complaining about new hires getting Sunday, Monday off during orientations and training sessions
- rail car apprentices being promoted to supervisor positions after 1 month or less on the job
- easier to get blood from a stone than have a co-worker switch off – more... days with you
- management good with accommodating off days for personal reasons
- management respectful of decisions to resign from CN ie. they will not give you a hard time for resigning – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding
Brakeman/ Locomotive Engineer (Former Employee), Moncton, N.B.September 27, 2012
A good solid company with good benefits. Every day is different at this particular job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
profesional job
Locomotive Engineer (Former Employee), Belleville, ONSeptember 26, 2012
Pros: salary
Cons: being on call 24/7
drive locomotives with precision and be resposible for millions of dollars worth of equipement and freight. Being my own boss was great and having several people to work with always brought conversation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
BILINGUAL ACCOUNTS RECEIVABLE REP (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 6, 2012
Pros: many
Cons: (for some) new location - mississauga
Very competent, intelligent, sophisticated, responsible, sensitive management. Things ran smoothly and everything was fine tuned. Work load was expertly administered. Training was more than adequate and easily available. The staff included some parasites, but, on balance and comparatively, it was good too: mostly conscientious, dedicated, reliable, – more... and a credit to the company. Great union representatives, too ! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic workplace for union workers and managers alike.
train conductor (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 22, 2012
Pros: great fun operating locomotives
Cons: stressful and dangerous job
- building trains in the yard for 9 hours or more using a yard engine or going on a long haul to buffalo
- learned to function under high stress situations in a safety critical job
-Management style not very productive and very derogatory behaviour towards union workers
-co-workers are mostly great and the best part of work
-the hardest part of the – more... work was learning different yards and tracks when new and being called to different locations and times for shift work.
-the most enjoyable part of the work was operating the locomotive and doing a god job at the end of the day with all the trials and tribulations – less

baggie – November 27, 2012

I am trying to get a position as a train condutor, any tips or trade secrets that might help would be appreciated

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting, Never boring
Rail Traffic Controller (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 20, 2012
Pros: being in control and being successful at my position
Cons: very reactive and not very proactive
I worked with many exceptional people. Every day brought new challenges, kind of like putting a puzzle together and having the pieces constantly change. You had to be on your toes to respond to ever changing situations and be vigilant in safety to make sure every employee in your care went home every night. The hardest part was dealing with impossible – more... expectations or stressful situations, such as a crossing fatality. Maintaining focus was difficult but required during these highly emotional times. The best part was woking with some of the best people in the industry and making the impossible possible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job,satisfaction gained when work well completed
carman (Former Employee), Concord, ONAugust 18, 2012
this job was rewarding. always learning something. enjoyed the physical and hands on portion of the work. safety oriented and imposed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and advance yourself
Inventory Maintainer, Mechanical Department (Former Employee), Moncton, NBAugust 15, 2012
Pros: being able to be effective
Cons: no cons
Handle any issues rearding material inventories, offlod wheel set with crane, unload and receive product into inventories, issue good
good and parts as required, fellow employees were great and the satisfaction of getting everything done was the most enjoyable part of the day,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an exellant place to work and has provided me and my family with an happy and exellant lifestyle
Customer service clerk (Former Employee), Prince George, BCJuly 18, 2012
Pros: exellant benefits, worked with a lot of nice people, first aid training, forklift training, class 2 liscense.
Cons: there was a lot of pressure to do the work and on a timely basis, this at times would cause a lot of stress.
The typical day started with a safety meeting and then it was off to work no days were the same. We basically were on our own we new what had to be done and worked hard to get it done. The management expected you to do the job and as long as you did they were happy. My co-workers were good and easy to get along with. The hardest part of the job was – more... at first learning it and then organizing how you were going to do the job in the most effective and timely way. The most enjoyable part of the job was getting it done and done right a sense of accomplishment. – less

Aman19 – March 10, 2013

Hello there, would you mind explaining about what kind of salary, I should be looking in this job. Your reply will be much appreciated.

About Canadian National Railway

The Canadian National Railway Company (reporting mark CN) (TSX: CNR, NYSE: CNI) is a Canadian Class I railway headquartered in – Read more

Canadian National Railway Photos