Find companies:
Canadian National Railway
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
62 reviews

Canadian National Railway Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
intense at times due to train schedules but still a fun place to work.
leadhand/Manager (Former Employee), canadaAugust 23, 2013
Pros: opportunities to move around within the company and learn new skills.
Organized shifts.
Ensured Health and Safety procedures strictly adhered to.
Resolved staff/client load issues.
Ensured smooth operation of in/out gate at Terminal.
I learned how to manage and organize time efficiently and effectively to meet with deadlines.
Having to work closely with management always found they were always approachable and helpful. – more... Amazing co-workers both in the offices and yard. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay, good job but they own you.
Conductor (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMay 24, 2013
Pros: great pay and benefits, good coworkers, interesting work
Cons: immature management, no job security, highly irregular hours
I worked there over one summer as a conductor trainee. From the first encounter with a trainmaster, I got the feeling I was disposable. I was fired in the fall for the actions of another employee that they mistook as me. No warning and no investigation to my alleged demeanor. My many pleas to the company and union fell on deaf ears despite irrefutable – more... evidence. Every employee at CN can be replaced and they make you know it. Even 30+ year veterans get the boot when they don't tow the company line. Just a warning, never take them lightly, and never give them anything to burn you with. As many in the company say; they'll spend one thousands to train you and the next 30 years trying to fire you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CNs safety record
n/a (Former Employee), Across CanadaApril 30, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
And for people who defend CNs safety record.

Then explain why did CN rail use a locomotive that wasn't equipped with dynamic brakes when it was used on the mountains of Lilloet BC.

Watch CTVs W-five report "off the rails" and find out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For Customs Broker dept- Micromanaging "Hitler" style manager
admin (Former Employee), torontoApril 8, 2013
Think twice if you are applying for any position in customs brokerage department. You will wonder why everybody is leaving???
manager there think she own the company, giving CN a bad reputation. Otherwise any other depart in the management position is a plus. Operation I can't blame the bad comment because this company is sevice oriented. Always aiming – more... for number 1 and will always be number one. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and educational
rock scaller (Former Employee), British columbiaApril 4, 2013
Pros: $
Cons: job security
all around good work enviroment, learned alot about bio engineering and able to identify rock formations and danger points
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard job
track worker (Current Employee), Pictou, NSFebruary 20, 2013
Pros: went home for luch
Cons: worked my hours from morning to quiting time
it was a hard job very hard work. i worked hard there when it was a short time i was there.people were nice to worj with
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work fun
track worker (Current Employee), Pictou, NSFebruary 20, 2013
Pros: no free luches
Cons: just hours you work
i'm a harder wheni start something i finsh it what i start.don't like leaving anything unfinished.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work
Transportation Supervisor /Trainmaster (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCFebruary 12, 2013
Pros: salary, challenges every day
Cons: there really is no life work balance.
I have come away from CN Rail with a great knowledge of how the Railway network works.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor company for family orientated person
Rail Car Technician Apprentice (Carman) (Current Employee), Kamloops, BCJanuary 28, 2013
Pros: decent pay
Cons: terrible shifts, poor communication and employee/supervisor relationships
A typical day at work in the CN yard is being constantly monitered by supervisors. They have a rating system in place called p.m.r.c.; they are constantly looking for pmrc failures. If you fail you are automatically sent home no matter what the situation; you are left wondering if you have lost your job. Most new hires have not been trained properly – more... so they are gauranteed to fail one of these. The employees are constantly walking in fear trying to figure out what they did wrong when a supervisor scolds them and the supervisor will not explain the situation. This is a typical weekly occurance at CN. Must work all stats. Legally allowed to take stats off, but scolded when asking to do so. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable workplace
PROGRAMMER (Former Employee), Montreal QuebecDecember 18, 2012
it's beginning of my career.. nice workplace, co-workers (actually my mentors at the time) were very nice and helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work at.
Certified CN Inspector (Former Employee), Toronto, ONDecember 13, 2012
Pros: wage
Cons: working in the cold
its a fun place work at but very hard work as u have to work outside all the time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Going to work everyday is what I enjoy
heavy equipment operator (Former Employee), Toronto OnDecember 1, 2012
Pros: keep bussy is what i need
Cons: more vacation in the summer
Working with others ,trainning others on equipment .

Everyday is a new day and you never stop learning

Management is a big part of a smooth operation

Work together is the way to go .

Weather elements can be very difficult working

Going home to your family safe
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safe place to work
Heavy Duty Mechanic Truck and Auto tech (Current Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 27, 2012
Pros: retirement benefit
Cons: nightshift hours
Running repairs and scheduled maintenance easy day pass,learned ot deal with differnt driver and operator problem on the machines,takes procedures and guide lines from mnagement prosfective views on customer sevice priority,most of my college are self motivated and cooperative,big breakdown on machine could delay the train schedule,summer time is less – more... stress weatherwise. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away...run!
Electrician (Former Employee), Walker LRC, Edmonton, ABOctober 26, 2012
Pros: all about pension.
Cons: not a conducive environment, you'll be miserable the moment you start. start working.
A bit more like Shawshank prison, albeit with pension and company stock benefits. Management in Walker diesel shop are the worst you'll ever meet. No people skills, doesnt value their employees. Only time youll see the manager is when he'll hand you a cookie (desciplinary action). Forget about going to school, they'll move heaven and earth not to send – more... you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good money for single guys. Be prepared to lose your life.
Conductor (Former Employee), Smithers, BCOctober 12, 2012
Pros: 90, 000 to start, 110, 000 by year 2, 130, 000 by year 5
Cons: you'll probably die horribly
Amazing money right off the bat. Good job security. Takes a few years to be totally secure but after about 2 you're set or life. Great pension, but most guys don't live very long after 35 years of graveyards, poor diet, living in hotels, and going through a few wives. I went in thinking it wouldn't be me but here I am divorced and unhealthy, depressed, – more... looking for other work. Thanking god I got out.

By the way some stats: average of 3 people you'll kill in your career, just like any job things go bad and the trains weight upwards of 26,000 tonnes, for the first 2ish years depending on where you work it could be mostly outside, in the mountains, in the wind, in the rain, get the picture, management structure is fire first then maybe ask questions, the union will never let you lose your job no matter how stupid you are. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work here, learn a bit, and RUN!!!
Former Rail Car Mechanic Apprentice (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 7, 2012
Pros: paid lunches
Cons: cn looks good on a resume, and you can apply to better skilled trade jobs afterwards
- good camaraderie developed with co-workers
- Seniority is a joke, ie. more senior employees complaining about new hires getting Sunday, Monday off during orientations and training sessions
- rail car apprentices being promoted to supervisor positions after 1 month or less on the job
- easier to get blood from a stone than have a co-worker switch off – more... days with you
- management good with accommodating off days for personal reasons
- management respectful of decisions to resign from CN ie. they will not give you a hard time for resigning – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding
Brakeman/ Locomotive Engineer (Former Employee), Moncton, N.B.September 27, 2012
A good solid company with good benefits. Every day is different at this particular job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
profesional job
Locomotive Engineer (Former Employee), Belleville, ONSeptember 26, 2012
Pros: salary
Cons: being on call 24/7
drive locomotives with precision and be resposible for millions of dollars worth of equipement and freight. Being my own boss was great and having several people to work with always brought conversation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
BILINGUAL ACCOUNTS RECEIVABLE REP (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 6, 2012
Pros: many
Cons: (for some) new location - mississauga
Very competent, intelligent, sophisticated, responsible, sensitive management. Things ran smoothly and everything was fine tuned. Work load was expertly administered. Training was more than adequate and easily available. The staff included some parasites, but, on balance and comparatively, it was good too: mostly conscientious, dedicated, reliable, – more... and a credit to the company. Great union representatives, too ! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic workplace for union workers and managers alike.
train conductor (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 22, 2012
Pros: great fun operating locomotives
Cons: stressful and dangerous job
- building trains in the yard for 9 hours or more using a yard engine or going on a long haul to buffalo
- learned to function under high stress situations in a safety critical job
-Management style not very productive and very derogatory behaviour towards union workers
-co-workers are mostly great and the best part of work
-the hardest part of the – more... work was learning different yards and tracks when new and being called to different locations and times for shift work.
-the most enjoyable part of the work was operating the locomotive and doing a god job at the end of the day with all the trials and tribulations – less

November 27, 2012

I am trying to get a position as a train condutor, any tips or trade secrets that might help would be appreciated

About Canadian National Railway

The Canadian National Railway Company (reporting mark CN) (TSX: CNR, NYSE: CNI) is a Canadian Class I railway headquartered in – Read more

Canadian National Railway Photos